فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الكويت / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الاستقلال

الاستقلال

آل صباح
.آل صباح, العائلة الحاكمة في دولة الكويت

ضعفت قدرة بريطانيا على حماية الكويت بشكل كبير بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية. ولم تعد المملكة المتحدة المدمّرة اقتصادياً قادرة على مواكبة المظاهر الإمبراطورية؛ فقد اضطرت عام 1947 إلى التخلي عن أعز البلاد التي تستعمرها إلى الدول السيادية الجديدة: الهند وباكستان. إلا أنها تمكنت من الاحتفاظ ببعض المواقع الاستيطانية في إمبراطوريتها السابقة في الشرق، من بينها مشيخات صغيرة في منطقة الخليج. اكتسبت هذه المشيخات أهمية إستراتيجية جديدة مع اكتشاف حقول نفط كبيرة ضمن أراضيها. كان أول اكتشاف للنفط في الكويت عام 1938، وبدأت الصادرات التجارية لهذه السلعة الثمينة عام 1946. وبحلول عام 1953، كانت الكويت أكبر منتج للنفط في منطقة الخليج. قدّرت احتياطياتها بـ 20% أو أكثر من احتياطيات العالم المعروفة.

كان “لثورة البترول” هذه انعكاسات بعيدة المدى. فعلى الصعيد الدولي، استقطبت حسد القوى الإقليمية، بينما أعطت حكام آل صباح الثقة – والقدرة المالية – لمحاولة إدارتها ذاتياً. عام 1961، كانت الكويت أولى المشايخ الخاضعة للبريطانيين التي تحصل على الاستقلال، والوحيدة التي أخذت زمام المبادرة بنفسها. وفي 19 حزيران/يونيو 1961، أصبح عبد الله الثالث (1895-1965) أول أمير لإمارة الكويت. عام 1962، تمت المصادقة على دستور وطني، وبعد مرور عام تم تنصيب أول مجلس أمة منتخب بشكل كامل. تم تعيين الأعضاء الخمسة عشر في مجلس الوزراء من قبل أمير البلاد، الذي احتفظ أيضاً بحق حل مجلس الأمة متى شاء عملياً. أشرفت البيروقراطية النامية باطّراد على تطور اقتصاد البلاد ودولة الرفاهية الحديثة.

الشيخ أحمد الجابر الصباح يدير دولاب فضي لإطلاق شحن أول نفط خام في 30 حزيران/يونيو 1946
الأمير الشيخ عبد الله السالم الصباح يوقع على إعلان الاستقلال مع المفوض السامي البريطاني السير جورج ميدلتون في 19 حزيران/يونيو 1961

يتم تفسير الميزات شبه الديمقراطية للدستور الكويتي من خلال تاريخ البلاد السياسي – مع طبقة التجار القوية فيه – والظروف الخاصة التي صيغ فيها هذا الدستور. سيطرت المشاعر الوطنية القومية العربية اليسارية على الخطاب السياسي في الشرق الأوسط في الوقت الذي حصلت فيه الكويت على استقلالها. وبما أن آل صباح احتاجوا الى إضفاء الشرعية على وضع الاستقلال الحديث في الكويت ودورهم كسلالة حاكمة – مع تهديد العراق بضم الدولة “غير الشرعية”– كانت العائلة المالكة على استعداد للتوصل إلى أية تسوية. كما كانت شخصية عبد الله الثالث السالم الصباح (1950-1965) عاملاً مهماً؛ فقد دعم حركة المجلس في ثلاثينيات القرن العشرين، إلا أن خلفاءه كانوا أقل حماساً بشأن مشاركة الجماهير في العملية السياسية. قام صباح السالم الصباح (1965-1977) بتعليق البرلمان والدستور عام 1976. وبسبب الاضطرابات السياسية الداخلية والإقليمية، أعاد جابر الأحمد الصباح (1977-2006) المؤسسات الحكومية عام 1981، ليعلقها مرة أخرى عام 1985.

الشيخ أحمد الجابر الصباح (1921-1950)
الأمير الشيخ عبد الله السالم الصباح (1950-1965)
الأمير الشيخ صباح السالم الصباح (1965-1977)
الأمير الشيخ جابر الأحمد الجابر الصباح (1977-2006)
image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Kuwait / Past to Present / Independence

Independence of kuwait

Al-Sabah
The Al-Sabah, ruling family of Kuwait.

Britain’s ability to protect Kuwait was seriously weakened after World War II. An economically devastated United Kingdom could no longer afford to keep up imperial appearances: in 1947 it had to cede its most cherished colonial jewels to the new sovereign nations of India and Pakistan. But the British managed to hold on to a few outposts of their former empire in the East, among them, the small sheikhdoms in the Gulf. These sheikhdoms had acquired new strategic importance with the discovery of large oilfields within their territories. The first oil discovery in Kuwait took place in 1938, and commercial exports of this valuable commodity took off in 1946. By 1953 Kuwait was the biggest oil producer in the Gulf. Its reserves were estimated at 20 percent, or more, of known worldwide reserves.

This ‘petroleum revolution’ had far-reaching implications. On an international level, it attracted the envy of regional powers, while it gave the Al Sabah rulers the confidence – and financial ability – to try to go it alone. In 1961, Kuwait was the first of the British controlled sheikhdoms of the Gulf to attain independence, and the only one to take the initiative itself.

Sheikh Ahmad al-Jaber al-Sabah turns a silver wheel to start Kuwait’s first crude oil shipment, on 30 June 1946
Emir Sheikh Abdullah al-Salim al-Sabah of Kuwait signs the Declaration of Independence with the British High Commissioner in the Gulf, Sir George Middleton, on 19 June 1961

On 19 June 1961, Abdullah III (1895-1965) became the first Emir (prince) of the Emirate of Kuwait. In 1962, a national Constitution was ratified, and a year later a fully elected National Assembly (Majlis al-Umma) was inaugurated. The fifteen members of the cabinet were appointed by the Emir, who also held the right to dissolve the National Assembly, practically at will. A steadily growing bureaucracy oversaw development of the country’s economy and a modern welfare state.

The semi-democratic characteristics of the Kuwaiti Constitution are explained by both the nation’s political history – with its a powerful merchant class – and the particular circumstances in which the document was born. Leftist, pan-Arab nationalist sentiments dominated the political discourse of the Middle East at the time Kuwait attained its independence. Since the Al Sabah needed to legitimize Kuwait’s newly independent status and their own role as ruling dynasty – as Iraq was threatening to annex the ‘illegitimate’ country – the family was willing to settle for a compromise. The personality of Abdullah III al-Salim al-Sabah (r. 1950-1965) was also an important factor: in the 1930s he had supported the Majlis Movement, but Abdullah’s successors were less than enthusiastic about public participation in the political process. Sabah al-Salim al-Sabah (r. 1965-1977) suspended both Parliament and Constitution in 1976. Because of domestic and regional political turmoil, the institutions were reinstated by Jaber al-Ahmad al-Sabah (r. 1977-2006) in 1981, only to be suspended again in 1985.

Sheikh Ahmad al-Jaber al-Sabah (r. 1921-1950)
Emir Sheikh Abdullah al-Salim al-Sabah (r. 1950-1965)
Emir Sheikh Sabah al-Salem al-Sabah (r. 1965-1977)
Emir Sheikh Jaber al-Ahmad al-Jaber al-Sabah (r. 1977-2006)

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.