فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الكويت / من الماضي الى الحاضر / انتخابات 2012

انتخابات 2012

السياسة الشيخ الكويت انتخابات
الشيخ صباح الأحمد الجابر المبارك الصباح. Photo by Ra’ed Qutena. ©Hollandse Hoogte

عكست نتائج انتخابات شباط/فبراير 2012 الغضب الشعبي تجاه الفساد والركود السياسي بين الحكومة ومجلس الأمة. ورغم فوز المعارضة، إلا أنها لم تحصل على مناصب في الحكومة الجديدة ولم يتم تعيين امرأة في منصب وزير. إلا أن نواب المعارضة واصلوا نضالهم. وخلال الأشهر الأربعة الأولى لمجلس الأمة، استدعى أعضاء البرلمان ثمانية وزراء للاستجواب، مما أسفر عن استقالة اثنين منهم.

في حزيران/يونيو 2012، عطّل الأمير صباح الأحمد الصباح مجلس الأمة ومجلس النواب لتجنب الخلاف بسبب المزيد من التصيد بين الحكومة والبرلمان الذي كان على وشك استجواب وزير الداخلية علناً، وهو عضو من عائلة الصباح الحاكمة. وبعد ذلك بوقت قصير، حكمت المحكمة الدستورية بعدم شرعية المراسيم التي كان الأمير قد أصدرها في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2011 لحل البرلمان ودعوة الكويتيين إلى الانتخابات التشريعية. وبالتالي، ألغيت نتائج الانتخابات وأعيد البرلمان السابق (المنتخب عام 2009). استقالت الحكومة في أعقاب حكم المحكمة. ورغم أن هذا التطور غير مسبوق، إلا أنه نموذج لحالة الاضطراب التي لا تزال تشل السياسة الكويتية.

احتجاجاً على حكم المحكمة، استقال على الفور أعضاء البرلمان من الإسلاميين والقبليين الذين حققوا فوزاً كبيراً في الانتخابات. ونظم ناشطو المعارضة مظاهرات أمام مجلس الأمة احتجاجاً على حكم المحكمة وطالبوا بإصلاحات دستورية شاملة وحكومة برلمانية بالكامل. تطالب المعارضة بحل البرلمان الموالي للحكومة والذي أعيد تنصيبه بعد اتهام أعضائه السابقين بالفساد. كما اتهمت المحكمة الدستورية بتجاوز صلاحياتها وتدخلها بالسياسة. وطالبت الحركات الشبابية، الناشطة منذ عام 2006، بحكومة منتخبة والسماح بالأحزاب السياسية ومجلس أحادي، وتطالب كتلة المعارضة الأغلبية بدعم هذه المطالب.

بعد خسارة مركز الأغلبية في البرلمان، خشيت المعارضة من أن تقوم الحكومة بتقليص عدد النواب الذين يمكن للناخبين اختيارهم في الانتخابات القادمة، كون الحكومة لم تعد تتعاون مع البرلمان الذي تهيمن عليه المعارضة. وهذا قد يجعل وصولهم إلى الأغلبية أكثر صعوبة في الانتخابات القادمة المتوقع إجراؤها في خريف عام 2012.

يضيف إلى الاضطراب السياسي الانقسام ضمن العائلة الملكية بين فرعي الجابر والسالم، بعد أن قام الأمير الحالي بتثبيت خلافة الجابر عام 2006. تمت تغذية هذا الانقسام من خلال مؤسسات عامة مثل مجلس الأمة. ويعتقد بعض المحللين أن أعضاء من فرع السالم يدعمون أعضاء البرلمان الذين يعرقلون الأعمال السياسية.

إحدى العوامل الهامة التي تحد من قوى المعارضة هي الافتقار إلى الإطار القانوني للأحزاب السياسية. فبالكاد يحصل أعضاء البرلمان على فرصة التنظيم والتركيز على المدى الأبعد. تتميز السياسة الكويتية إلى حد كبير بانقسامات بين الشيعة والسنّة، بين الكويتيين المستوطنين تقليدياً والكويتيين من أصل بدوي – الحضر مقابل البدو – وبين الجيل القديم والجيل الجديد الذي أصبح ناشطاً سياسياً مؤخراً. وهذا ما خلق جواً تتصارع فيه فصائل مختلفة على مصالحهم الخاصة بدلاً من تطوير الدولة ككل. ونتيجة إفراط البرلمان في استجواب الوزراء، بمن فيهم رئيس الوزراء، هيمنت الخلافات على المسار السياسي بين أعضاء البرلمان أنفسهم ومع الوزراء، بدلاً من النقاشات البنّاءة. وأدى ذلك إلى ركود تنمية البلاد التي هي في أمس الحاجة إليها، وخاصة خطة التنمية الحكومية لتنويع الاقتصاد القائم على النفط وتحويل الكويت إلى محور النقل في الخليج العربي. علاوة على ذلك، يدفع معظم أعضاء البرلمان إلى إجراءات شعبوية (قصيرة المدى)، بما فيها فوائد أعلى للمواطنين. وبينما تهدف هذه الإجراءات قصيرة المدى إلى إرضاء الناخبين الكويتيين، إلا أن الركود في السياسة الكويتية يعتبر مجازفة لنظام الصباح، كما تظهره المظاهرات الأخيرة والفوز غير المسبوق للمعارضة. وبينما سلطة المشرّعين الكويتيين أكبر بكثير من نظرائهم في باقي دول الخليج، إلا أن الركود خيّب آمال الكثيرين من الكويتيين.

عودة إلى الأعلى

مزيد من القراءة

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Kuwait / Past to Present / The 2012 elections

The 2012 elections

Politics Elections Sheikh Kuwait
Sheikh Sabah IV Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah. Photo by Ra’ed Qutena ©Hollandse Hoogte

The results of the February 2012 elections reflected popular anger against corruption and the political stalemate between the government and the National Assembly. Despite the opposition’s victory, it was not granted positions in the new government and no women were appointed as minister. However, opposition MPs continued their struggle. In the four short months of the Assembly’s existence, MPs filed as many as eight interpellations against ministers, two of whom resigned.

In June 2012, Emir Sabah al-Ahmad al-Sabah suspended the National Assembly for a month, to avoid the row from further escalating between the government and Parliament, that was about to publicly grill the interior minister, a member of Sabah ruling family. Soon afterwards, the Constitutional Court ruled that the decrees that the Emir had issued to dissolve Parliament and invite Kuwaitis to vote in legislative elections in December 2011, were illegal. Consequently, the results of the elections were scrapped and the previous Parliament (elected in 2009) reinstated. The government resigned in the wake of the court’s ruling. Although unprecedented, the development is typical of the state of turmoil that continues to paralyse Kuwaiti politics.

In response to the ruling, Islamist and tribal opposition MPs who had achieved a major victory in the elections, immediately resigned in protest. Opposition activists held demonstrations in front of the National Assembly to protest against the court ruling and to call for comprehensive constitutional reforms and a full parliamentary government. The opposition has been pushing for the dissolution of the reinstated pro-government Parliament as former MPs have been targeted for corruption. It furthermore accused the Constitutional Court of exceeding its mandate and being involved in politics. Youth movements, that have been active since 2006, demand an elected government, legalisation for political parties and a single constituency, and are pushing the majority opposition bloc to endorse these demands.

Unrest

Contributing to the political unrest is the division within the royal family between the al-Jaber branch and the al-Salem branch, after the current Emir safeguarded al-Jaber succession in 2006. This division conflict is being played out through public institutions such as the National Assembly. Some analysts believe that members of the al-Salem branch support obstructionist MPs.

An important factor limiting the opposition’s powers is the lack of a legal framework for political parties. MPs hardly get the chance to organize and focus on the longer term. Kuwaiti politics is highly characterized by divides between Shias and Sunnis, between the traditional settled Kuwaitis and Kuwaitis of Bedouin dissent – Hadhar vs. Badu – and between the old and the younger generation, which has recently become politically active. This has created an atmosphere in which various factions are battling over their own interests instead of the state’s development at large. Due to the Parliament’s excessive questioning of ministers, including the Prime Minister, the political discourse is dominated by rows among MPs and with ministers, instead of constructive discussions. This has resulted in stagnation of the much-needed development of the country, notably the government’s development plan to diversify the oil-based economy and make Kuwait the transport hub of the Gulf. Moreover, most MPs push for (short-term) populist measures, including higher citizen benefits. While these short-term measures are intended to satisfy Kuwaiti voters, the stagnation of Kuwaiti politics is risky for the al-Sabah regime, as seen in recent demonstrations and the unprecedented victory of the opposition. While the power of Kuwaiti lawmakers is far greater than their counterparts in the rest of the Gulf, the stagnation has left many Kuwaiti citizens frustrated.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.