فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الكويت / حقوق الإنسان في الكويت / سحب الجنسية غير المسبوق وحقوق البدون المهملة

سحب الجنسية غير المسبوق وحقوق البدون المهملة

 اعتصام تضامناً مع قائد المعارضة مسلم البراك, 3 تموز/يوليو 2014
اعتصام تضامناً مع قائد المعارضة مسلم البراك, 7 تموز/يوليو 2014

بعد فترة هادئة نسبياً، عادت المعارضة إلى الواجهة مجدداً في يونيو 2014 عندما احتشد آلاف المتظاهرين المناهضين للحكومة ضد الاختلاس المزعوم لمليارات الدولارات من الأموال العامة، حيث يُقال أنّ مسؤولين حكومين متورطين بهذا الشأن. استجاب المتظاهرون لدعوة زعيم المعارضة مسلم البراك، الذي اتهم أعضاء من الأسرة الحاكمة، وكبار المسؤولين السابقين، وبعض القضاة بالضلوع في عمليات مشبوهة.

تم توقيف البراك في 2 يوليو بتهمة التطاول على القضاء وأفرج عنه بكفالة بعد أسبوع. وخلال المظاهرات التي خرجت للتضامن مع البراك، تعرّض أربعة نشطاء في مجال حقوق الإنسان للضرب والإعتقال من قِبل قوات الأمن، وذلك وفقاً لمركز الخليج لحقوق الإنسان. كما فرقت السلطات مظاهرات تطالب بإطلاق سراح العشرات من المواطنين الذين اعتقلوا خلال احتجاجات سابقة.

تعدّ مزاعم الفساد من القضايا الكبرى الدائرة بين البرلمان المنتخب والحكومة التي تهيمن عليها الاسرة الحاكمة. في نوفمبر 2011، أجبرت المعارضة رئيس الوزراء الشيخ ناصر المحمد على الاستقالة، بسبب إدعاءها دفع ناصر أموالاً لبعض أعضاء البرلمان، الذين اتهمتهم المعارضة بتلقي رشاوى من أجل التصويت لصالح الحكومة. شكّلت المزاعم الجديدة بفساد المسؤولين وإهدار المال العام فرصةً مناسبة للمعارضة لتصعيد مطالبها نحو التغيير.

في إبريل الماضي، أطلق ائتلاف المعارضة خطة جماعية شاملة للإصلاح. اتفق أعضاء الائتلاف واسع النطاق، الذي يضم الإسلاميين والقوميين والليبراليين والنشطاء الشباب، على خطوات للمضي قدماً بالسياسة الكويتية. وكان الائتلاف قادراً على وضع الخلافات الأيديولوجية جانباً، على سبيل المثال دور الإسلام في الحياة العامة. ومثالاً على ذلك، خففت الحركة الإسلامية الدستورية، أو حدس (حركة الإخوان المسلمون) من إصرارها في أنّ تكون الشريعة الإسلامية المصدر الوحيد لجميع التشريعات. بدلاً من ذلك، فإنها تدعو إلى نظام برلماني كامل، ومشرّع أقوى، واستقلال القضاء، وقوانين جنائية منقحة.

وفي بيانها بعنوان “نحو إقامة نظام ديمقراطي برلماني كامل”، وصف ائتلاف تحالف المعارضة المظالم التي يعيشها المجتمع الكويتي منذ فترةٍ طويلة، حيث تسلل الفساد إلى جميع طبقات المجتمع: في اشارة الى الطريقة التي فُرض فيها القانون الانتخابي الجديد على الكويتيين ومزاعم دفع الحكومة الأموال لبعض النواب، وتؤكد المعارضة أنّ السلطة التشريعية أصبحت “أداة في يد السلطات” . وفي الوقت نفسه، انخفضت نوعية الخدمات العامة (التعليم والسكن والرعاية الصحية)، كما أنّ تعيين الأفراد في الوظائف الحكومية يتم على أساس العلاقات الشخصية (الواسطة) بدلاً من الكفاءة، مما أدى إلى حالة من الإحباط بين الشباب الكويتي الطموح. وعلاوة على ذلك، وفقاً للمعارضة، فإن النظام القضائي غير عادل وحقوق الإنسان مهملة.

القمع

واصلت السلطات الكويتية، التي تواجه المزيد من الدعوات للتغييرالسياسي ووضع حد للفساد، القمع الذي استهدف المعارضة والنشطاء على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي في وقتٍ سابق. ومنذ بدأت جماعات المعارضة، التي سبقت ما يسمى الربيع العربي، احتجاجاتهم لتحقيق الإصلاحات في عام 2011، قيّدت السلطات حرية التعبير على الإنترنت، وفي الصحافة، وفي الشارع. وفقاً لتقرير الاستعراض الدوري الشامل للكويت لمنظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش، يعتبر تتبع السلطات العدواني للأفراد الذين يستخدمون وسائل التواصل الإجتماعي لانتقاد الزعماء المحليين والأجانب والسياسة والسياسات المحلية أحد أهم مظاهر الإنحدار في مجال حقوق الإنسان في السنوات الثلاث الماضية.

ووفقاً لمركز الخليج لحقوق الإنسان، لاحقت السلطات، منذ يناير 2011، 60 فرداً على الاقل ممن عبرّوا عن آرائهم الإنتقادية عبر وسائل التواصل الإجتماعي، والمدونات، والاحتجاجات في الشارع. وألقي القبض على العشرات من مستخدمي وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي بسبب رسائل اعتبرت مسيئة للأمير أو الزعماء الأجانب أو الإسلام. في 27 أغسطس 2014، اعتقل على ذمة التحقيق، المدون وناشط حقوق الإنسان محمد العجمي، الذي رصد انتهاكات تتعلق بحقوق الإنسان خلال الاحتجاجات المناهضة للحكومة في تموز، بسبب إحدى تغريداته التي انتقد فيها سحب الجنسيات في الكويت.

استندت السلطات في ادعائها على المادة رقم (25) من القانون الكويتي للعقوبات لعام 1970، الذي ينص على عقوبات تصل إلى خمس سنوات سجن “لكل من يعترض علناً على حقوق وسلطات الأمير أو يُهينه”، إلى جانب القوانين التي تحظر إهانة حكام البلدان المجاورة أو سب النبي او الإسلام.

لطالما عُرفت الكويت، منذ أمدٍ طويل، بارتفاع سقف حريات الصحافة لا سيما عند مقارنتها بدول الخليج الأخرى. ومع ذلك، دائماً ما كانت تشكل الإنتقادات الموجهة للأمير، الذي يملك كلمة الفصل في السياسة، استثناءً من هذه القاعدة. يبدو أن السلطات في الآونة الأخيرة استغلال هذا الاستثناء لإسكات كل الأصوات المعارضة، وليس فقط انتقاد الأمير. ويبدو أن السلطات في الآونة الأخيرة تستغل هذا الاستثناء لإسكات جميع أصوات المعارضة، وليس فقط منتقدي الأمير.

سحب الجنسية

وفي أعقاب الاحتجاجات التي عمت الشوارع ضد الفساد، أوعزت الحكومة في يونيو إلى السلطات بقمع الشعب “الذي ينفذ أعمالاً تهدف إلى زعزعة الأمن والاستقرار في البلاد، وبالتالي تسبب الضرر لمؤسساتها”. وبعد أسبوع، أعلنت وكالة الأنباء الكويتية الرسمية سحب الجنسية الكويتية من خمسة أفراد، من بينهم نائب سابق من المعارضة، لأسبابٍ أمنية. وفي شهر أغسطس، تم تجريد عشرة كويتيين، ممن تم منحهم الجنسية، من الجنسية الكويتية حيث اتهموا رسمياً بعدم تلبية متطلبات المواطنة. وشمل ذلك رجل دين رفيع المستوى كان قد انتقد الحكومة لإذعانها لضغوط من قِبل الولايات المتحدة لتضييق الخناق على الدعم المالي الذي تقدمه للثوار في سوريا. يخول قانون الجنسية الكويتي الحكومة إلغاء مواطنة أي فرد وترحيله أياً كانت الظروف، بما في ذلك الحصول على الجنسية عن طريق الغش وتعزيز المبادئ التي تقوض مصلحة البلاد. وتشير هيومن رايتس ووتش إلى أنّ أحكام القانون تتعارض بشكلٍ مباشرة مع العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية ، الذي صادقت عليه الكويت.

أحمد جابر الشمري، أحد الخمسة الذين جردوا من جنسيتهم ومالك محطة “العالم” المستقلة وصحيفة “اليوم”، حيث تم بشكلٍ مؤقت إغلاق المنفذين الإعلاميين اللذين يملكهما لتحديهما التعتيم الإعلامي الذي أمرت به النيابة العامة في التحقيقات في مؤامرة مزعومة من قبل مسؤولين كبار للإطاحة بالحكومة.

وفي 29 سبتمبر، جردت الحكومة 18 كويتياً من الجنسية، من بينهم الناطق باسم كتلة العمل الشعبي المعارضة، سعد العجمي. ومن بين الثمانية عشر كويتياً، هناك 11 منهم ممن تم تجنيسهم، والذين وفقاً للحكومة، حصلوا على الجنسية عن طريق الاحتيال، بينما يحمل آخرون، من بينهم العجمي جنسيات مزدوجة، والذي يعتبر غير قانوني في القانون الكويتي. ومع ذلك، يتهم نشطاء الحكومة باستهداف ومعاقبة منتقدي النظام عن طريق سحب جنسياتهم.

وفي تطور آخر وفقاً لمنظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش، فرضت الحكومة قيوداً على حرية التعبير في الكويت وفقاً لقانون الاتصالات الجديد رقم 37/2014، الذي أعتمد في مايو 2014، والذي يعطي الحكومة صلاحيات كاسحة لحجب المحتوى ومنع الوصول إلى الإنترنت وسحب التراخيص من الشركات دون إبداء أسباب.

تعدّ هذه التطورات جزء من حملة أكبر تستهدف كل من الأفراد الذين يدعون إلى الإصلاح السياسي والمشتبه بتمويلهم للجماعات المتطرفة. تسبب هذا بفقدان الكويت، سريعاً، لسمعتها كواحدة من أكثر دول الخليج التي تحترم الحقوق، وذلك وفقاً لتصريحات جو ستورك، المدير التنفيذي لقسم الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا في هيومن رايتس ووتش. وبحملتها هذه، تنتهك السلطات الكويتية الدستور الكويتي الذي يضمن حقوق المواطنين: وفقاً للمادة (36) التي تنص على أن

لكل إنسان حق التعبيرعن رأيه ونشره بالقول أو الكتابة أو غيرهما ، وذلك وفقا للشروط والأوضاع التي يبينها القانون“.

البدون

مظاهرات البدون
مظاهرات البدون
وفي الوقت نفسه، فشلت السلطات الكويتية في منح عديمي الجنسية، الذين يصل عددهم في الكويت إلى أكثر من 100,000 فرد، حقوقهم الشرعية، بما في ذلك الحق في التعليم المجاني والرعاية الصحية والسكن، وأخيراً، الجنسية الكويتية.

“البدون” (من لا يحملون الجنسية) هم سكان الكويت منذ زمنٍ طويل ممن لا يحملون الجنسية الكويتية ولا يتمتعون بغالبية المخصصات والخدمات التي يتمتع بها المواطنون الكويتيون. قبل استقلال الكويت، في عام 1961، كانوا بدواً رُحل. في ذلك الوقت، لم يستطع العديد منهم الحصول على الجنسية. ولا تعترف الحكومة بحق هؤلاء السكان في الحصول على الجنسية الكويتية، بحجة افتقارهم إلى الوثائق اللازمة التي تثبت حقوقهم. بل في الحقيقة، لا تزال الحكومة الكويتية تدعي أخفائهم وثائق هويتهم الأصلية الصادرة سواء من المملكة العربية السعودية أو سوريا أو العراق. ومنذ عام 1986، جردت الحكومة “البدون” من حقهم في التمتع بجميع الخدمات العامة، بما في ذلك التعليم المجاني والسكن والرعاية الصحية، وحصرها بالمواطنين الكويتيين.

لا يتمتع “البدون” بحق الإقامة في الكويت، كما يقطنون أحياء رثة ومهملة على مشارف مدينة الكويت، مما يتناقض مع المنازل الفاخرة التي اعتاد عليها الكويتيين. وبما أنهم مجردون من حق العمل القانوني، يعتمد “البدون” على العمالة غير الرسمية أو على الدخل الذي يحصلون عليه من أقاربهم من المواطنين الكويتيين.

تم قمع الإحتجاجات الرئيسية الأولى للبدون المطالبين بحقوقٍ كاملة من قِبل السلطات الكويتية في فبراير 2011. منحت الحكومة “البدون” مزايا وخدمات مثل الرعاية الصحية والتعليم المجاني إلى جانب تسجيل الولادات والزواج والوفيات، إلا أنّ بعض “البدون” اشتكوا من وجود عقباتٍ إدارية فيما يتعلق بالحصول على هذه المزايا. ولا تزال السلطات تُشير إليهم باعتبارهم “مقيمين غير شرعيين” وترفض منحهم الجنسية. في عام 2013، صدر قانون لتجنيس 4000 “أجنبي”، إلا أنّ هذا لم يشمل سوى المواليد من أمهات كويتيات وأباء أجانب (الذين كانوا يعدّون في البداية من الأجانب).

في السنوات الأخيرة، شرع “البدون” بالإحتجاج في نطاقٍ ضيق، في حين تواصل السلطات قمع المظاهرات وفقاً للقانون الكويتي، الذي يمنع غير الكويتيين من المشاركة في التجمعات العامة.

في شهر مايو 2014، ورد عن الحكومة عرضها منح جنسية جزر القمر “للبدون” مقابل مزايا اقتصادية، على غرار اتفاقية مشابهة بين الإمارات العربية المتحدة وجزر القمر فيما يخص “البدون” في الإمارات. وهذا يعني أن عديمي الجنسية في الكويت سيصبحون عمال أجانب قانونيين، يخضعون للترحيل في حال ارتكبوا جرائم أو انتهاكات أخرى يعاقب عليها بالترحيل بموجب القانون الكويتي. انتقد هذا الإعلان بشدة من قِبل الناشطين الذين اتهموا الحكومة بالإتجار بالبشر.

وعلى الرغم من تبني تحالف المعارضة لقضية “البدون”، إلا أنّ “البدون” يشعرون بخيبة أمل، إذ لم تشّكل قضيتهم أولوية عندما سيطرت المعارضة على مجلس الأمة (البرلمان) في 2012. في الوقت الحاضر، تعتبر المعارضة، من منظورها، أن هناك قضايا أكثر أهمية لمعالجتها.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: YASSER AL-ZAYYAT ©AFP | YASSER AL-ZAYYAT ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Kuwait / Human Rights in Kuwait / Unprecedented Revoking of Citizenship, Bidoon Rights Neglected

Unprecedented Revoking of Citizenship, Bidoon Rights Neglected

 Demonstration in solidarity with opposition leader Musallam al-Barrak
Demonstration in solidarity with opposition leader Musallam al-Barrak, 7 July 2014

After a relatively calm period, the opposition came to the forefront in June 2014, when thousands of anti-government protesters rallied against the alleged embezzlement of public funds worth billions of dollars, which they said involved government officials. Protesters had responded to a call by the opposition leader Musallam al-Barrak, who accused members of the ruling family, former senior officials, and judges of being involved in corrupt transactions.

Al-Barrak was detained on 2 July for insulting the judiciary and was released on bail after a week. During demonstrations in solidarity with Musallam al-Barrak, four human-rights observers were beaten and arrested by security forces, according to the Gulf Centre for Human Rights. Authorities also dispersed demonstrations calling for the release of dozens of citizens arrested during earlier protests.

Allegations of corruption have been a major issue between the elected parliament and the government dominated by the royal family. In November 2011, the opposition forced Prime Minister Nasser al-Mohammed to resign, because of payments Nasser had allegedly made to members of parliament, whom the opposition had accused of receiving bribes in order to vote with the government. New allegations of official corruption and the squandering of public funds provided an opportune occasion for the opposition to step up its demands for change.

In April, the Opposition Coalition launched a comprehensive, collective plan for reform. The broad coalition, which includes Islamists, nationalists, liberals, and youth activists, agreed on steps to move Kuwaiti politics forward. The coalition has been able to set aside ideological differences, such as the role of Islam in public life. For instance, the Islamic Constitutional Movement, or HADAS (the Muslim Brotherhood) has dropped its insistence that Islamic Sharia law should be the only source of all legislation. The Coalition calls for a full parliamentary system, a stronger legislative, an independent judiciary and revised criminal codes.

In their manifest ‘Towards a Full Parliamentary Democratic System’, the Opposition Coalition describes long-time grievances in Kuwaiti society. Corruption has infiltrated all levels of society: referring to the way the new electoral law was forced upon Kuwaitis and the government (allegedly) has been paying certain MPs, the opposition asserts that the legislative branch has become ‘a tool in the hands of authorities’. Meanwhile, the quality of public services (education, housing, healthcare) has declined; government jobs are assigned to people on the basis of personal relationships (wasta), instead of competence, leading to frustrations among ambitious young Kuwaitis. Furthermore, according to the opposition, the justice system is unfair and human rights are neglected.

Repression

Kuwaiti authorities, faced with increasing calls for political change and an end to corruption, continued the repression that earlier targeted the opposition and those who spoke out on social media. Ever since opposition groups, predating the so-called Arab Spring, began their protests for reforms in 2011, authorities curbed freedom of expression on the Internet, in the press, and on the street. According to Human Rights Watch, in its Universal Periodic Review of Kuwait, the most significant human-rights regression in the last three years is the authorities’ aggressive prosecution of individuals who use social media to criticize local and foreign leaders and national politics and policies.

According to the Gulf Centre for Human Rights, authorities have, since January 2011, prosecuted at least 60 people who expressed critical views on social media, blogs, and in street protests. Dozens of social media users were arrested for messages deemed insulting to the emir, foreign leaders, or Islam. On 27 August 2014, blogger and human-rights activist Mohammed al-Ajmi, who monitored human-rights violations during anti-government protests in July, was detained, pending investigations into one of his tweets, in which he criticised the practice of the revocation of citizenship in Kuwait.

Authorities base prosecution on Article 25 of Kuwait’s 1970 penal code, which prescribes sentences of up to five years in prison for ‘anyone who publicly objects to the rights and authorities of the emir or faults him’, and introduces laws that prohibit insulting the rulers of neighboring countries, the Prophet Mohammed, or Islam.

Kuwait was long known for its high degree of press freedom, particularly when compared to other Gulf states. Criticism of the emir, who has the final say in politics, has, however, always been an exception. It seems that authorities have recently been exploiting this exception to silence all voices of dissent, not just criticism of the emir.

Revoking of citizenship

In the wake of street protests against corruption, the government in June instructed authorities to crack down on people carrying out ‘acts aiming to undermine the country’s security and stability, bringing harm to its institutions’. A week later, the official Kuwait News Agency announced that the citizenship of five people, including a former opposition MP, had been revoked, citing security reasons. In August, ten naturalized Kuwaitis were stripped of their citizenship, as they were officially accused of failing to meet the requirements for citizenship. It included a high-ranking cleric who had criticized the government for bowing to US pressure to clamp down on financial support to rebels in Syria.

The Kuwaiti Nationality Law empowers the government to revoke a person’s citizenship and deport him under various circumstances, including obtaining citizenship through fraud and promoting principles that undermine the well-being of the country. Human Rights Watch notes that the law’s provisions conflict directly with the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, which Kuwait has ratified.
Ahmad Jaber al-Shammari, one of the five who were stripped of their citizenship and owner of al-Yom news channel and newspaper, saw his media outlets shut down temporarily for defying a prosecutor-ordered media blackout about a secret probe into an alleged plot by senior officials to overthrow the government.
On 29 September, the government stripped 18 Kuwaitis of citizenship, including the spokesperson of the opposition Popular Action Bloc, Sa’ad al-Ajmi. Out of 18 Kuwaiti nationals, 11 were naturalised citizens who, according to the government, had obtained citizenship through fraud. Others, including al-Ajmi, had dual nationalities, which is illegal in Kuwaiti law. However, activists accuse the government of targeting regime critics by way of revoking their nationality.
Another development that, according to Human Rights Watch, curbs freedom of expression in Kuwait is the new telecommunications law, 37/2014, adopted in May 2014, which gives the government sweeping powers to block content, deny access to the Internet, and revoke licences without explanation.
These developments are part of a larger crackdown that targets both people who call for political reform and suspected financiers of extremist groups. This has caused Kuwait rapidly to lose its reputation as one of the most rights-respecting of the Gulf states, according to Joe Stork, Deputy Director for Middle East and North Africa of Human Rights Watch. With its crackdown, Kuwaiti authorities violate the Kuwaiti constitution, which guarantees citizens’ rights: Article 36 states that

“Every person has the right to express and propagate his opinion verbally, in writing, or otherwise, in accordance with the conditions and procedures specified by law”.

Bidoon

Bidoon protesting
Bidoon protesting
Meanwhile, Kuwaiti authorities have failed to grant Kuwait’s stateless, numbering over 100,000, their legitimate rights, including rights to a free education, health care, housing, and, ultimately, Kuwaiti citizenship.
Kuwait’s bidoon (Arabic, lit., ‘without’) are long-time residents of Kuwait who do not have Kuwaiti citizenship and lack most of the allowances and services enjoyed by Kuwaitis. Before Kuwait’s independence, in 1961, they lived as nomads; at that time, many of them failed to claim citizenship. The government does not recognise the right of these residents to Kuwaiti nationality, claiming they lack the proper documents proving their rights; in fact, it continues to claim that they have hidden their original identity documents issued by Saudi Arabia, Syria, or Iraq. Since 1986, the government has stripped the stateless of the right to all public services, including free education, housing, and health care, restricting it to Kuwaiti citizens.

Kuwait’s stateless, having no right of residence in Kuwait, live in shabby, neglected neighborhoods on the outskirts of Kuwait City, contrasting with the luxurious accommodation Kuwaitis are accustomed to. Without the right to legal employment, the bidoon depend on informal employment or on income from relatives who are Kuwaiti citizens.

The first major protests by bidoon demanding full rights were suppressed by Kuwaiti authorities in February 2011. The government did grant the bidoon benefits and services such as free health care and education and registration of births, marriages, and deaths, but some bidoon have complained about administrative hurdles to accessing these benefits. Authorities still define them as ‘illegal residents’ and refuse to grant them citizenship. In 2013, a law was passed to naturalize 4000 ‘foreigners’, but that benefited only children of Kuwaiti mothers and foreign fathers (who initially are deemed foreigners).

In recent years, bidoon have been protesting on a small scale, while authorities continue to crack down on demonstrations, citing Kuwaiti law, which bars non-Kuwaitis from participating in public gatherings.

In May 2014, the government reportedly offered to grant the bidoon citizenship of the Arab state of Comoros, in return for economic benefits, similar to a deal agreed to by the United Arab Emirates and Comoros, concerning the Emirati bidoon. That would mean that the stateless in Kuwait would become legal migrant workers, subject to deportation if they commit crimes or other violations punishable by deportation under Kuwaiti law. The announcement was criticized severely by activists, who accused the government of human trafficking.

Although the issue of the bidoon was embraced by the Opposition Coalition, the bidoon have been disappointed, as their cause was not a priority when the opposition dominated the National Assembly (the parliament) in 2012. For the time being, the opposition has, from its perspective, more critical issues to tackle.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: YASSER AL-ZAYYAT ©AFP | YASSER AL-ZAYYAT ©AFP

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!