فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الكويت / المجتمع ووسائل الإعلام والثقافة / الثقافة / الأدب

الأدب

مكتبة لبيع الكتب في مدينة الكويت‎
مكتبة لبيع الكتب في مدينة الكويت‎

نظراً إلى ماضيها غير المتحضر، لم تنتج الكويت ما يمكن تسميته بالأدب الكلاسيكي، ولكن بفضل مستوياتها التعليمية الرفيعة، أنتجت الكثير من الأدباء المعاصرين.

كان اسماعيل فهد اسماعيل (من مواليد عام 1940) من أوائل الأدباء الذي اشتهروا وذاع صيتهم في العالم العربي، وأكثرهم إنتاجاً في تاريخ البلاد؛ فله ما يزيد عن عشرين رواية ومجموعات من القصص القصيرة.

ومن بين المؤلفين الكويتيين الأكثر شهرة، نذكر طالب الرفاعي (من مواليد عام 1958)، وهو صحفي وكاتب وعضو في المجلس الوطني للثقافة والفنون والآداب. وينتج “جريدة الفنون” الشهرية. ومن مؤلفاته: ظل الشمس (1998)، المثيرة للجدل؛ ورائحة البحر (2002) التي فازت بجائزة الدولة التقديرية للآداب والفنون. وأصبحت فاطمة يوسف العلي (من مواليد عام 1953)، بعد تخرجها في الأدب العربي في جامعة القاهرة، الأديبة الأولى في الكويت. وهي عضو بارز في رابطة الأدباء الكويتيين.

ليلى العثمان (من مواليد عام 1945) كاتبة قصص قصيرة. أحياناً يدخل الروائيون والشعراء الكويتيون عالم الأخبار لا لامتيازاتهم الأدبية، وإنما لمحاربة القيود على حرية التعبير. عام 2000، أشارت منظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش إلى أن القضاء الكويتي حكم على ليلى العثمان والشاعرة عالية شعيب، أستاذة الفلسفة في جامعة الكويت، بالسجن لمدة شهرين لكتابات اعتبرتها المحكمة مسيئة للدين وخادشة للحياء العام،  مع أنهما ادعتا استشارة عدة أكاديميين في الشريعة الإسلامي لإثبات عكس ذلك.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: YASSER AL-ZAYYAT ©AFP

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Kuwait / Society, Media & Culture / Culture / Literature

Literature of Kuwait

Bookstore in Kuwait City
Bookstore in Kuwait City

Given its scarcely urbanized past, Kuwait has not produced what could be called classic literature, but, thanks to its high education level, Kuwait has produced several important contemporary writers.

Ismail Fahd Ismail (born 1940) was one of the first to establish a reputation in the Arab world and is the most prolific writer in the history of the country, with over twenty novels and numerous short-story collections.

Among the most notable Kuwait authors is Taleb al-Refai (b. 1958), journalist, writer, and a NCCAL employee. He produces the monthly arts magazine Jaridat al-Funun. His novels include Zill al-Shams (Shadow of the Sun, 1998), which was considered controversial. Raihat al-Bahr (The Scent of the Sea, 2002) nevertheless won the Kuwait National Award for Arts and Literature. Fatma Yousif al-Ali (b. 1953), after graduating in Arabic literature from Cairo University, became Kuwait’s first woman novelist. She is a prominent member of the Kuwaiti Literary Association.

Laila al-Othman (b. 1945) is a short-story author. Kuwaiti novelists and poets sometimes get into the news not for their literary merits but for running afoul of limitations on freedom of expression. In 2000, Human Rights Watch mentioned that a Kuwaiti court had sentenced Laila al-Othman and Kuwait University philosophy professor/poetess Aliya Shuayb to two months in prison for writings the court considered blasphemous and indecent, although both claimed they had consulted various Islamic legal academics confirming the opposite.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: YASSER AL-ZAYYAT ©AFP

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!