فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الكويت / المجتمع ووسائل الإعلام والثقافة / الثقافة / المتاحف

المتاحف

أعمال خشبية تقليدية على سفية الهاشمي الثاني، أكبر سفينة ضو في العالم، في مدينة الكويت / Photo Fanack
رأس محطم لتمثال صدام حسين في المتحف الوطني

ينعكس الغزو العراقي للكويت من خلال عدد من المتاحف. متحف الكويت الوطني للنصب التذكاري في الشويخ هو متحف مبتكر لذكرى الغزو العراقي ولاحقاً تحرير الكويت. ويعرض نسخة مصغرة من مدينة الكويت تروي قصة الغزو مع تأثيرات بصرية وسمعية. وهي تفضح “جرائم نظام صدام حسين” قبل وأثناء الغزو. ومتحف “شهداء القرين” هو نصب تذكاري آخر للغزو. وهو عبارة عن منزل في ضاحية سكنية في القرين حيث هوجمت مجموعة مقاومة كويتية من قبل القوات العراقية في 24 شباط/فبراير 1991. وبعد معركة طاحنة، هُزم الكويتيون من قبل العراقيين وتم تدمير المنزل. تم ترميم الفيلا وأصبحت متحفاً، حيث يمكن للزوار مشاهدة الدمار الذي لحق بالمنزل والمركبات وممتلكات الكويتيين والقوات العراقية.

يحتوي المتحف الوطني، الذي تضرر بشدة ونُهب خلال الغزو العراقي، على مجموعتين: الآثار والحياة الكويتية التقليدية. لا يزال المتحف قيد الترميم. ويتم في الوقت الراهن بناء جناح جديد وكبير لمجموعة دار الآثار الإسلامية الشهيرة. وفي الوقت الذي يتم فيه توسيع المتحف، يضم المركز الثقافي الأمريكي، في مستشفى الإرسالية الأمريكية السابق، مؤقتا مجموعة دار الآثار الإسلامية للأعمال الفنية الإسلامية. كما يحتوي المركز الثقافي الأمريكي على معارض أخرى وينظم دورات وفعاليات ثقافية.

يعرض متحف الهاشمي البحري عدداً من سفن الضو الشراعية التاريخية للخليج العربي، والتي كانت في السابق تستخدم لصيد اللؤلؤ ونقل المياه. وتعتبر سفينة الهاشمي الثاني نسخة عملاقة من سفن الضو الشراعية العربية، وهي معلم سياحي فريد على ساحل الكويت. يبلغ طولها 80,4 م وعرضها 18,7 م ووزنها 2500 طن، وبنيت عام 1997 كمبادرة خاصة للحفاظ على التراث البحري الكويتي للأجيال القادمة.

يضم متحف طارق رجب مجموعة تحف خاصة ورائعة من العالم الإسلامي، من الأزياء والمجوهرات إلى المخطوطات والسيراميك. تم افتتاح متحف طارق رجب للخط عام 2007، ويعرض مجموعة واسعة من الخطوط العربية.

يعتبر مركز Dickson House الثقافي على الساحل واحداً من المنازل القديمة القليلة المتبقية في الكويت. بني في الأساس لتاجر كويتي عام 1870، وكان بمثابة مكان إقامة المندوبين السياسيين البريطانيين في الكويت، وذلك منذ توقيع البريطانيين اتفاقاً مع مبارك الكبير عام 1899. عاش هارولد ديكسون، آخر مفوض بريطاني، في هذا البيت حتى عام 1959. يعرض Dickson House صور العائلة البريطانية التي كانت تعيش في المنزل ووثائق الاتفاقية التي وقعتها الحكومة البريطانية مع أمير الكويت. وتم تجديده من قبل المجلس الوطني للثقافة والفنون والآداب، وتم تحويله إلى متحف.

من الأماكن الثقافية الأخرى في الكويت: بيت لوذان، للفنانين الكويتيين المعاصرين والأنشطة الإبداعية للشباب؛ ومتحف العلوم والتاريخ الوطني؛ ومتحف الفن الحديث؛ الذي يحتوي على لوحات من الفترة الكويتية الحديثة في النصف الثاني من القرن العشرين. وتعتبر قرية يوم البحار على الساحل قرية قديمة أعيد بناؤها لعرض الفنون والحرف.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Al Hashemi Marine Museum | ©Amricani Cultural Centre – Dar al Athar al Islamiyyah

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Kuwait / Society, Media & Culture / Culture / Museums

Museums

Tradional woodwork of al-Hashemi II, the largest dhow in the world, Kuwait City / Photo Fanack
Damaged head of Saddam Hussein’s statue in the Kuwait National Memorial Museum

The Iraqi invasion of Kuwait is reflected in a number of Kuwait’s museums. The Kuwait National Memorial Museum in Shuwaikh commemorates the Iraqi invasion and liberation of Kuwait. It exhibits a miniature version of Kuwait City telling the story of the invasion with visual and audio effects. Exposing ‘Saddam Hussein regime crimes’ both before and during the invasion, the propaganda is not to be missed. The al-Qurayn Martyrs’ Museum is another memorial of the invasion. It is a house in the residential suburb of al-Qurayn where members of a Kuwaiti resistance group were attacked by Iraqi troops on 24 February 1991. Following a heavy battle, the Kuwaiti men were defeated by the Iraqis and their house destroyed. The villa was restored as a museum, where visitors can see the damage inflicted on the house and the vehicles and belongings of the Kuwaiti men and Iraqi troops.

The Kuwait National Museum, which was severely damaged and looted during the Iraqi invasion, has two collections, archaeology and traditional Kuwaiti life. The museum is still under renovation. A large new wing is being built to house the famous Dar al-Athar al-Islamiyya collection of Islamic art, which has been temporarily housed at the Amricani Cultural Centre, in the former American Mission Hospital. Amricani Cultural Centre also has other exhibitions and organizes courses and cultural events.

The Al Hashemi Marine Museum exhibits a number of historic dhows of the Arabian Gulf, formerly used for the pearling industry and for transporting water. The adjacent Al Hashemi II, a giant copy of an Arabian dhow, forms a unique landmark on the coast of Kuwait. With a length of 80.4 metres, a width of 18.7 metres and an estimated weight of 2,500 tons, it was built as a private initiative in 1997 to preserve Kuwait’s maritime heritage for future generations.

The Tareq Rajab Museum houses an impressive private collection of artifacts from the Islamic world, from costumes and jewellery to manuscripts and ceramics. The nearby Tareq Rajab Calligraphy Museum, opened in 2007, exhibits a wide range of Arabic calligraphy.

The Dickson House Cultural Centre on the coast is one the few remaining old houses in Kuwait. Originally built for a Kuwaiti merchant in 1870, it served as the residence for British political agents in Kuwait after the British signed an agreement with Mubarak al-Kabir in 1899. The last British commissioner Harold Dickson lived in the house until 1959. The Dickson House exhibits pictures of the family living in the house and documents of the agreement that the British government signed with the Kuwaiti Emir. It was renovated by the National Council for Culture, Arts and Literature and is now a museum.

Other cultural spots in Kuwait are Beit Lothan, for Kuwaiti contemporary artists and youth creativity activities, the Science and National History Museum, and The Museum of Modern Art, which contains paintings from the Kuwaiti modernist period of the second half of the 20th century. The Youm al-Bahhar Village on the coast is a reconstructed ancient village exhibiting arts and crafts.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Al Hashemi Marine Museum | ©Al Hashemi Marine Museum | ©Amricani Cultural Centre – Dar al Athar al Islamiyyah

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!