فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الكويت / المجتمع ووسائل الإعلام والثقافة / نظرة عامة على المشهد الإعلامي في الكويت

المشهد الإعلامي في الكويت

Kuwait media man reads newspaper
رجل يقرأ صحيفة في مقهى للشاي في مدينة الكويت، الكويت. Photo Ton Koene

المحتويات

حرية التعبير
التلفزيون
الإذاعة
الصحافة
وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي
المنشورات على الإنترنت

نُشرت أول صحيفة جماهيرية مطبوعة في الكويت والتي حملت عنوان “مجلة الكويت،” عام 1928. ظهرت مجموعة قليلة أخرى من المطبوعات خلال خمسينيات القرن الماضي، إلى جانب الإدخال المحدود للبث الإذاعي والتلفزيوني، إلا أنّ البيئة الإعلامية الكويتية بدأت بالتطور، بشكلٍ كبير، فحسب بعد إعلان استقلال البلاد عام 1961، الذي شهد تحول البلاد من الوصاية البريطانية إلى أمة مستقلة تماماً.

أدى استقلال الكويت الكامل إلى البدء بتنفيذ بُنية تحتية حديثة للإتصالات وإنشاء خدمة البث التلفزيوني الوطني في نوفمبر 1961، ببث برامج باللونين الأبيض والأسود لمدة أربع ساعاتٍ يومياً والتي سرعان ما اكتسبت شعبيةً في جميع أنحاء الخليج. كما أنشأت الحكومة أيضاً محطة الإذاعة الوطنية التي بثت محتوىً بالعربية والانجليزية والفارسية والأوردو. وإلى جانب ذلك، يعتبر عام 1961 عام ولادة الصحافة المطبوعة في الكويت، والذي تزامن مع تأسيس صحيفة الرأي اليومية. وبالمقارنة مع المطبوعات المتخصصة التي ظهرت قبل ذلك، كان محتوى وأسلوب صحيفة الرأي أقرب إلى المعايير الصحفية الحديثة.

وكما هو الحال في دول الخليج الأخرى، أدت الزيادة الهائلة في عائدات النفط في سبعينيات القرن الماضي إلى استثمارات كبيرة في تكنولوجيا الإعلام والإتصالات. وخلال هذا العقد، أصبحت الكويت ثاني دولة في الشرق الأوسط تمتلك محطة أقمار اصطناعية أرضية، حيث تمت زيادة ساعات البث، وأدخلت الألوان إلى التلفزيون في عام 1974. ازدادت قوانين الصحافة مع إصدار قانون المطبوعات والنشر لعام 1979، ليتم تكليف هيئة حكومية بالإشراف على الصحافة، ولكن سرعان ما بدأت الصحف المملوكة للقطاع الخاص بالسيطرة على السوق على حساب المطبوعات المملوكة للدولة.

تضررت البُنية التحتية للإتصالات في الكويت، سيما شبكاتها الإذاعية، بشدة من جراء الغزو العراقي للكويت في أغسطس 1990، إلا أنه سرعان ما تم إصلاح المرافق. وفي أعقاب إنتهاء حرب الخليج عام 1991، أطلقت الكويت شبكة أقمارٍ صناعية خاصة بها، الشبكة الفضائية الكويتية، وإن يكن بمدى بث محدود. وخلال التسعينيات، أصبحت القنوات الفضائية أكثر شعبيةً من القنوات التلفزيونية الحكومية الكويتية بين الجمهور المحلي، وهي الظاهرة التي أقر بها وزير الإعلام آنذاك، والذي أكد أنه ينبغي على التلفزيون الكويتي الوطني تقديم محتوى أكثر “تنافساً.”

وعلاوة على ذلك، كانت الكويت رائدةً بين دول الخليج فيما يتعلق بالإتصال بشبكة الإنترنت، فقد أنشئت شركة شبكة الخليج للإتصالات (جلف نت)، المملوكة لسعوديين، لأول مرة في البلاد عام 1991. أصبحت الكويت آنذاك أول دولةٍ في الشرق الأوسط تمنح حرية الوصول لشبكة الإنترنت لطلبة جامعة الكويت (التي كانت أولى زبائن شركة شبكة الخليج)، وبحلول عام 2003، بلغ تغلغل الإنترنت في البلاد بالفعل عتبة الـ10%. وفي عام 2016، وصل حوالي ثلاثة أرباع البلاد بشكلٍ منتظم لشبكة الإنترنت، وهو رقمٌ يتجاوز اليوم العديد من المنافسين في الخليج.

تمت إعادة صياغة النسخة الكويتية الأخيرة من قانون المطبوعات والنشر عام 2006، والتي واصلت ضبط محتوى وحجم صناعة المطبوعات في البلاد، حيث يحرّم القانون أي انتقادٍ للإسلام والنبي، وكذلك الأمير. إلا أن القانون لم يمنع توسع البيئة الإعلامية الكويتية المطبوعة في العام التالي والذي شهد ترخيص 6 مطبوعات يومية جديدة باللغة العربية، وهو أول توسع هام منذ ثلاثين عاماً.

حرية التعبير

تتمتع الكويت ببيئة إعلامية منفتحة نسبياً مقارنةً بجيرانها من دول الخليج، وتحتل المرتبة الأولى من بين جميع دول الخليج على مؤشر حرية الصحافة لمنظمة مراسلون بلا حدود لعام 2016. ومع ذلك، يُشير تصنيف البلاد في المرتبة 103 (من أصل 179) إلى أن الصحفيين الكويتيين يواجهون قيوداً على تقاريرهم الصحفية، وتبقى الصورة السلبية لبعض المواضيع، مثل الإسلام أو الأسرة المالكة، خارج نطاق التغطية.

تتمتع الكويت ببيئة إعلامية منفتحة نسبياً مقارنةً بجيرانها من دول الخليج، وتحتل المرتبة الأولى من بين جميع دول الخليج على مؤشر حرية الصحافة لمنظمة مراسلون بلا حدود لعام 2016. ومع ذلك، يُشير تصنيف البلاد في المرتبة 103 (من أصل 179) إلى أن الصحفيين الكويتيين يواجهون قيوداً على تقاريرهم الصحفية، وتبقى الصورة السلبية لبعض المواضيع، مثل الإسلام أو الأسرة المالكة، خارج نطاق التغطية.
تتمتع الكويت ببيئة إعلامية منفتحة نسبياً مقارنةً بجيرانها من دول الخليج، وتحتل المرتبة الأولى من بين جميع دول الخليج على مؤشر حرية الصحافة لمنظمة مراسلون بلا حدود لعام 2016. ومع ذلك، يُشير تصنيف البلاد في المرتبة 103 (من أصل 179) إلى أن الصحفيين الكويتيين يواجهون قيوداً على تقاريرهم الصحفية، وتبقى الصورة السلبية لبعض المواضيع، مثل الإسلام أو الأسرة المالكة، خارج نطاق التغطية.
تتمتع الكويت ببيئة إعلامية منفتحة نسبياً مقارنةً بجيرانها من دول الخليج، وتحتل المرتبة الأولى من بين جميع دول الخليج على مؤشر حرية الصحافة لمنظمة مراسلون بلا حدود لعام 2016. ومع ذلك، يُشير تصنيف البلاد في المرتبة 103 (من أصل 179) إلى أن الصحفيين الكويتيين يواجهون قيوداً على تقاريرهم الصحفية، وتبقى الصورة السلبية لبعض المواضيع، مثل الإسلام أو الأسرة المالكة، خارج نطاق التغطية.
تتمتع الكويت ببيئة إعلامية منفتحة نسبياً مقارنةً بجيرانها من دول الخليج، وتحتل المرتبة الأولى من بين جميع دول الخليج على مؤشر حرية الصحافة لمنظمة مراسلون بلا حدود لعام 2016. ومع ذلك، يُشير تصنيف البلاد في المرتبة 103 (من أصل 179) إلى أن الصحفيين الكويتيين يواجهون قيوداً على تقاريرهم الصحفية، وتبقى الصورة السلبية لبعض المواضيع، مثل الإسلام أو الأسرة المالكة، خارج نطاق التغطية.

تنص المادة (37) من الدستور الكويتي، التي أعيدت صياغتها في عام 1992، على أن حرية الصحافة “مضمونة،” إلا أنها “تخضع للشروط والأحكام المنصوص عليها في القانون.” وعلى هذا النحو، تكون أهمية الدستور ثانوية أمام قانون العقوبات وقانون الصحافة والنشر الذي يحظر نشر المعلومات التي تنتقد الإسلام أو الأمير، والتي تعتبر غير أخلاقية أو ينظر إليها على أنها تُثير الشقاق بين السكان. وفي السنوات الأخيرة، سنّت الحكومة الكويتية المزيد من التشريعات للحد من حرية التعبير، بما في ذلك قانون الوحدة الوطنية لعام 2012، الذي يجرم نشر المحتوى الذي يعتبر مسيئاً لطائفةٍ أو مجموعةٍ معينة، وقانون جرائم الإنترنت لعام 2015، والتي يتوسع باللوائح المحرمة من قانون الصحافة والمطبوعات ليشمل المنشورات على الإنترنت ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. النتيجة التراكمية في النهاية نظامٌ معقد من القوانين والأنظمة التي يمكن أن تجعل العديد من الممارسات الصحفية غير قانونية حسبما تشاء، بما في ذلك الأنشطة التي تبدو بسيطة مثل النقل عن الأمير دون إذنٍ رسمي، وهي جريمة يمكن أن تكون عقوبتها السجن.

وبطريقة مماثلة لدول الخليج الأخرى، كثفّت الحكومة الكويتية حملتها ضد الأصوات المعارضة بعد الإنتفاضات العربية عام 2011. وفي عام 2012، تم إغلاق قناة تلفزيونية جديدة، قناة النهج، التي يعتقد أنها تابعة لأعضاء المعارضة في البرلمان الكويتي الذي كان قد تم حله، بعد يومٍ واحد من إنطلاقتها. وفي وقتٍ لاحقٍ من ذلك العام، تم إغلاق قناة اليوم، وهي قناة تلفزيونية أخرى لها صلات مع المعارضة الكويتية، من قِبل الحكومة لأسباب “إدارية،” على الرغم من أن محامي القناة إدعى فيما بعد أن إغلاق القناة جاء “لدوافع سياسية.” كما وصلت الحملة على وسائل الإعلام الصريحة إلى الصحافة أيضاً، ففي عام 2014، تم بدايةً إيقاف صحيفة العالم اليوم ليتم في وقتٍ لاحق إغلاقها بعد كسرها التعتيم الإعلامي المفروض حول المؤامرة المزعومة لإنقلاب الحكومة. وفي عام 2015، تم إغلاق صحيفة الوطن، مع إشارة السلطات الكويتية لوجود “صعوباتٍ مالية،” ولكن الصحيفة التي دعمت بشكلٍ تقليدي الحكومة، اعتمدت لهجة أكثر انتقاداً تجاه السلطات في السنوات الأخيرة.

كما واجه الصحفيون الأفراد والمعلقون على الإنترنت أيضاً قمعاً حكومياً متزايداً، سيما على منشوراتهم على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. ففي يناير 2013، حُكم على المدون راشد العنزي والصحفي عياد الحربي في قضيتين منفصلتين، وبفارق أيامٍ قليلة، بالسجن لسنتين بتهمة “انتقاد حقوق وسلطات” الأسرة الحاكمة عبر تغريداتٍ على موقع تويتر. وفي الماضي، حكمت الكويت بفترات سجنٍ أطول على مدونيين، مثل الحكم بالسجن لعشر سنواتٍ على المدون حمد النقي بتهمة التطاول على النبي محمدعام 2012 على مدونته، والحكم بنفس المدة على لورنس الرشيدي، لتطاوله على أمير الكويت في أحد أشعاره. وفي عام2015، حُكم على المدون حامد بويابس بالسجن أربع سنوات لانتقاده المملكة العربية السعودية عبر تغريدةٍ له على تويتر.

التلفزيون

تتكون البيئة التلفزيونية المحلية في الكويت من الشبكات المملوكة للدولة والمملوكة للقطاع الخاص. اعتمد التلفزيون الحكومي البث الفضائي بالكامل في عام 1992. بعض أبرز القنوات كالآتي:

المملوكة للحكومة:

  • تلفزيون الكويت- القناة الأولى: القناة التلفزيونية الرئيسية في الكويت باللغة العربية. تبث القناة لقطاتٍ للفعاليات والاحتفالات الرسمية في الدولة، بالإضافة إلى البرامج الحوارية الموضوعية، والبرامج الثقافية والدينية.

  • تلفزيون الكويت- القناة الثانية: قناة تبث بشكلٍ حصري تقريباً باللغة الانجليزية، أو العربية مع ترجمة باللغة الانجليزية. تبث القناة كمية كبيرة من البرامج المستوردة (86%)، سيما من الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية والمملكة المتحدة وكندا وفرنسا، إلا أنها أيضاً بمثابة وسيلة لبث البرامج الكويتية لجمهورٍ أوسع خارج البلاد.

وسائل الاعلام في الكويت تلفزيون الكويت - القناة الثاني
تلفزيون الكويت – القناة الثاني. Photo Flickr ©Flickr
  • قناة إثراء الكويتية– مخصصة للبرامج الدينية وتغطية الفعاليات الإسلامية في الكويت. يتم تنسيق محتوى القناة مع وزارة الشؤون الإسلامية لردع الخطاب المتطرف بفعالية.

  • قناة العربي الكويتية– قناة مخصصة للبرامج الثقافية. تغطي قناة العربي الكويتية التقاليد والفعاليات الثقافية الكويتية.

المملوكة للقطاع الخاص:

  • الرأي– تأسست عام 2004 كأول قناة تلفزيونية خاصة في الكويت من قِبل مجموعة الرأي الإعلامية، والتي تنشر أيضاً صحيفة يومية تحمل نفس الإسم. تبث القناة الأخبار، والبرامج التعليمية والدينية بالإضافة إلى البرامج الترفيهية والمسلسلات الكويتية.

وسائل الاعلام في الكويت قناة الرأي
قناة الرأي. Photo Flickr ©Flickr
  • الصباح– تأسست عام 2009 باعتبارها قناة متخصصة في الغالب للأخبار والشؤون الجارية. كما تستضيف أيضاً حوارات حية حول القضايا السياسية الكويتية.

  • الرسالة– تأسست عام 2006 باعتبارها قناة فضائية دينية عربية يموّلها الأمير السعودي الوليد بن طلال. يتم تسجيل الكثير من محتوى القناة في الكويت، إلا أنه يتم بث المنتج النهائي من مصر. عمل الداعية الكويتي طارق سويدان مديراً للقناة إلى أن أقاله الأمير الوليد بسبب صلاته المزعومة مع جماعة الإخوان المسلمين.

  • قناة العدالة– تأسست عام 2006 من قِبل رجل الأعمال الكويتي الشيعي محمود حيدر. ينصب تركيز القناة في المقام الأول على القضايا السياسية الكويتية والترفيه كما تبث عدة برامج حوارية.

الإذاعة

حتى عام 2005، لم تكن هناك محطات إذاعية خاصة في الكويت. توفر الحكومة الكويتية تسع محطات إذاعية تلبي احتياجات الشريحة المتنوعة من السكان الكويتيين. تشتمل هذه على محطات تبث الموسيقى الغربية الحديثة والموسيقى الكويتية (Super Station) والمحتوى الديني (إذاعة القرآن الكريم)، والموسيقى العربية التقليدية (إذاعة الغناء العربي القديم، وإذاعة الغناء الشعبي الكويتي)، والمحتوى الإخباري والتعليمي (كويت إف إم).

كانت إذاعة مارينا إف إم أول محطة إذاعية خاصة في البلاد. تأسست في الكويت عام 2005، وسُميت باسم مركزٍ للتسوق، والذي يعدّ بمثابة مقر بثها. تبث المحطة الموسيقى والترفيه بشكلٍ أساسي. ومنذ ذلك الحين، ظهرت محطات إذاعية خاصة أخرى، إذ تركز الغالبية إما على البرامج الموسيقية أو الترفيهية أو على محتوىً يستهدف المجتمعات الوافدة في الكويت، حيث تبث باللغة الإنجليزية، والمالايالامية والهندية.

الصحافة

تُهيمن المنشورات الخاصة على الصحافة الكويتية، إلا أن الحكومة تحتفظ بالسيطرة من خلال ضمان أن جميع المنشورات المطبوعة ينبغي تسجيلها فضلاً عن الحصول على تراخيص من وزارة الإعلام. يمكن للحكومة بعد ذلك إلغاء التراخيص دون أمرٍ من المحكمة أو دون أي تفسير، في حين أن إنشاء صحيفة يتطلب رأس مالٍ يصل إلى حوالي 900 ألف دولار. الصحف الكويتية الأكثر شعبية هي على النحو التالي:

  • الرأي– تأسست عام 1961 وتعتبر أقدم صحيفة نشطة باللغة العربية في الكويت. وعلى مر تاريخ طبعاتها، حافظت الصحيفة على لهجة محافظة ودعمت بشكلٍ كبير الحكومة الكويتية والأسرة الحاكمة.

  • كويت تايمز– تأسست عام 1961 باعتبارها أول صحيفة باللغة الإنجليزية في منطقة الخليج.

الصحيفةمعدل التداول
الرأي96,000
الأنباء85,000
القبس81,000
الصباح65,000
عرب تايمز55,000
السياسة50,000
كويت تايمز43,000
الجريدة39,000

الجدول 1.  أكثر الصحف شعبية حسب التداول اليومي

(2015). المصدر: INJAZ Kuwait.

  • النهار– تأسست عام 2007 وتصف نفسها باعتبرها من المنشورات الليبرالية المستقلة. تم أيضاً تغريم الصحيفة عام 2010 لنشرها مقالاً اعتبر مسيئاً للأسرة الحاكمة.

  • الجريدة– تأسست عام 2007 بلهجة تحرير معتدلة. غُرم رئيس تحرير الصحيفة إلى جانب زميله رئيس تحرير صحيفة السياسة عام 2013 لنشرهما تفاصيل اجتماعٍ تم بين أمير الكويت والمسؤولين في الدولة دون موافقةٍ مسبقة.

  • السياسة– تأسست عام 1965 بموقف موالٍ للحكومة ومحافظ باعتدال. رئيس تحريرها هو أحمد الجار الله، الصحفي الكويتي البارز الذي يرأس أيضاً صحيفة عرب تايمز الناطقة باللغة الانجليزية.

  • القبس– تأسست عام 1972 حيث نقلت مقرها لفترة وجيزة إلى لندن خلال حرب الخليج عام 1990. وفي عام 1998، حُكم على رئيس تحريرها آنذاك، محمد الصقر، بالسجن لمدة ستة أشهر بسبب مزحة نشرت على صحيفة القبس. سبق أن حاز الصقر على جائزة حرية الصحافة الدولية التي تمنحها لجنة حماية الصحفيين عام 1992 عن تقريره حول حقوق الإنسان والقضايا السياسية “في مواجهة تهديدات الحكومة.” منذ ذلك الوقت، تبنت الصحيفة موقفاً أقل انتقاداً في ضوء تزايد القمع الحكومي.

  • الأنباء– حافظت الصحيفة التي تأسست عام 1976 على موقف موالٍ للحكومة إلى حدٍ كبير على مر تاريخ طبعاتها، إلا أنها مُنعت مؤقتاً عام 1987 وعام 1995 بعد إجراء مقابلاتٍ مع شخصيات سياسية كويتية مثيرة للجدل.

وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي

يعتبر الفيسبوك منصة التواصل الاجتماعي الأكثر شعبية في الكويت. فقد ذكرت التقارير أن البلاد ضمت أغلب مستخدمي تويتر لكل فرد في جميع أنحاء العالم بين عامي 2010 وبين 2012، إلا أنه من المحتمل انخفاض أعداد المستخدمين في المستقبل في ضوء عدة اعتقالات تمت لمستخدمين رفيعي المستوى. وأشار استطلاع للرأي أجرته وكالة الأنباء الكويتية في عام 2016 تزايد شعبية تطبيقات المراسلات الفورية مثل واتساب وسناب شات. ومع ذلك، ذكرت الحكومة الكويتية أن تبادل محتوىً غير مقبول على هذه المنصات قد يؤدي أيضاً إلى الملاحقة القضائية. وفي عام 2016، سجن ثلاثة من أفراد العائلة المالكة الكويتية لمدة خمس سنوات بعد إهانة أمير الكويت عن طريق الرسائل المرسلة في محادثة واتساب الخاصة.

المنشورات على الإنترنت

نمت شعبية وسائل الإعلام على الإنترنت بشكلٍ متزايد بما يتناسب مع نمو الإنترنت في الكويت. ومع ذلك، تحتفظ الحكومة الكويتية بحق إغلاق أو حجب أي موقع إلكتروني يعتبر “محرضاً على الإرهاب وعدم الاستقرار.” كما تُلزم شركات تزويد خدمة الانترنت العاملة في البلاد، من الناحية القانونية، بتثبيت الأنظمة التي تعمل على تصنيف المواقع الإلكترونية التي تعتبرها الحكومة غير إسلامية أو متطرفة، أو تروج لأفكار سياسية معينة.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Flickr | ©Flickr

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Kuwait / Society, Media & Culture / Kuwait’s Media Landscape: An Overview

Kuwait's Media Landscape

Kuwait media man reads newspaper
A man reads a newspaper in a teashop in Kuwait City, Kuwait. Photo Ton Koene

Contents

Freedom of Expression
Television
Radio
Press
Social Media
Online Publications

Kuwait’s first mass printed newspaper was titled “The Journal of Kuwait” and published in 1928. A handful of other publications emerged during the 1950s, alongside the introduction of limited radio and television broadcasting, but the Kuwaiti media environment only began to develop significantly after the country’s 1961 declaration of independence, which marked the country’s shift from British protectorate to a fully independent nation.

Kuwait’s full independence led to the roll-out of an updated communications infrastructure and the establishment of a national television broadcasting service in November 1961, with programmes in black and white for four hours a day that soon gained popularity across the Gulf. The government also established a national radio channel that broadcasted content in Arabic, English, Persian, and Urdu. 1961 is also considered the year of the birth of print journalism in Kuwait, with the daily publication Al-Rai. In comparison to the specialised publications that had come before it, Al Rai’s content and style were closer to a modern newspaper’s standards.

As with other Gulf states, huge increases in oil revenues in the 1970s led to significant investments in media and communication technology. During this decade, Kuwait became the second Middle Eastern country to have its own Earth satellite station, broadcasting hours were expanded, and colour television was introduced in 1974. Press regulations increased with the 1979 Press and Publications Law, entrusting a government body with supervising the press, however privately-owned newspapers quickly began to dominate the market, at the expense of state-owned publications.

Kuwait’s telecommunication infrastructure, in particular its radio networks, was severely damaged by the Iraqi invasion in August 1990, but facilities were quickly repaired. Following the end of the Gulf War in 1991, Kuwait launched its own satellite network, the Kuwaiti Space Network, albeit with limited transmission range. During the 1990s, satellite television became more popular than the Kuwaiti government’s television channels among domestic audiences, a phenomenon that was acknowledged by the then Information Minister, who stressed that national Kuwaiti television would have to offer more “competitive” content.

Kuwait was something of a pioneer among the Gulf states in terms of Internet connectivity. The (Saudi-owned) Gulfnet internet service was first established in the country in 1991. Kuwait then became the first Middle Eastern state to grant free access to the internet to students of Kuwait University (which was Gulfnet’s first customer), and by 2003 the country’s online penetration already stood at 10 percent. In 2016, around three quarters of the country had regular access to the internet, a figure now surpassed by several of its Gulf rivals.

Kuwait’s most recent version of the Press and Publications Law was redrafted in 2006, continuing to regulate the content and volume of the country’s print industry. It forbids any criticism of Islam and the prophet, as well as the emir. The law didn’t prevent Kuwait’s print media environment to expand the following year with the licensing of six new Arabic daily publications, the first important expansion in 30 years.

Click to enlarge. ©Fanack
Click to enlarge. ©Fanack
Click to enlarge. ©Fanack
Click to enlarge. ©Fanack

Freedom of Expression

Kuwait has a relatively open media environment in comparison to its Gulf neighbours, and is ranked highest of all the Gulf states in the Reporters Without Borders 2016 World Press Freedom Index.

However, its ranking of 103 (out of 179) indicates that Kuwaiti journalists face restrictions on their reporting and that negative portrayals of certain subjects, such as Islam or the ruling family, remain off-limits.

Article 37 of the Kuwaiti constitution, redrafted in 1992, states that the freedom of the press is “guaranteed”, but “subject to the stipulations and provisions prescribed by law”. As such the constitution is secondary in importance to the penal code and the Press and Publications Law, which prohibits the publication of information that criticises Islam or the Emir, is deemed immoral or seen as provoking dissension among the populace.

In recent years, the Kuwaiti government has enacted further legislation to curb freedom of expression, including the 2012 National Unity Law, which criminalises the publication of content deemed offensive to a particular sect or group, and the 2015 Cybercrime Law, which extends the prohibitive regulations of the Press and Publications Law to online publications and social media. The cumulative result is a complex system of laws and regulations that can render many journalistic practices illegal at will, including seemingly innocuous activities such as quoting the Emir without official permission, an offence that can be punishable of jail time.

In a manner similar to other Gulf states, the Kuwaiti government has intensified its clampdown on dissident voices following the Arab uprisings of 2011. In 2012, a new television channel, El-Nahg, believed to be affiliated with opposition members of the Kuwaiti parliament which had just been dissolved, was shut down a day after its launch. Later that year, Al-Youm, another television channel with links to the Kuwaiti opposition, was closed by the government for “administrative” reasons, although the channel’s lawyer later claimed the closure to be “politically motivated”. The clampdown on outspoken media outlets also extended to the press. In 2014, the newspaper Alam al-Youm was initially suspended and subsequently closed down after breaking an imposed media blackout on an alleged government coup plot. In 2015, the newspaper Al-Watan was shut down with Kuwaiti authorities citing “financial difficulties”. However the newspaper, which had traditionally supported the government, had adopted an increasingly critical tone towards the authorities in recent years.

Individual journalists and online commentators have also encountered increasing government repression, particularly for their posts on social media. In January 2013, the blogger Rashid al-Anzi and journalist Ayyad al-Harbi were both sentenced a few days apart in separate cases to two years imprisonment for “criticising the rights and powers” of the ruling family via Twitter. In the past, Kuwait has handed out even lengthier sentences to bloggers, such as the 10-year prison sentence administered to Hamad al-Naqi in 2012 for insulting the Prophet Muhammad on his blog, and the sentence of the same length issued to Lawrence al-Rasheed for undermining the Kuwaiti Emir in a poem. In 2015, journalist and blogger Hamid Buyabes was given a four-year prison term for criticizing Saudi Arabia via his Twitter account.

Television

The domestic Kuwaiti television environment consists of state-owned and private networks. State television fully adopted satellite broadcasting in 1992. Some of the most notable channels are as follows:

State-owned Channels

  • KTV1 – Kuwait’s primary channel broadcasting in Arabic. The channel airs footage of official state events and ceremonies, in addition to topical talk shows, cultural and religious programming.

  • KTV2 – A channel that broadcasts almost exclusively in English, or in Arabic with English subtitles. The channel airs a significant amount of imported content (86 percent), especially from the U.S., the U.K., Canada and France, but it also serves as an outlet to air Kuwaiti programmes to a wider audience outside of the country.

Kuwait media KTV1
KTV1. Photo Flickr
  • KTVEthraa – Dedicated to religious programming and coverage of Islamic events in Kuwait. The channel’s content is coordinated with the Ministry of Islamic Affairs to actively discourage radical discourse.

  • KTV Arabe – A channel dedicated to cultural programming. KTV Arabe covers Kuwaiti cultural traditions and events.

Privately-owned

  • Al-Rai – Established in 2004 as Kuwait’s first private television channel by the Al-Rai media group, also publishing a daily newspaper of the same name. The channel broadcasts news, educational, and religious programming in addition to Kuwaiti entertainment shows and soap operas.

Kuwait media al-rai tv
Al-Rai TV. Photo Flickr
  • Al-Sabah – Established in 2009 as a channel specialising predominantly in news and current affairs. It also hosts live debates on Kuwaiti political issues.

  • Al-Resalah – Established in 2006 as a pan-Arab religious satellite channel funded by the Saudi Prince Al-Waleed Bin Talal. Much of the channel’s content is recorded in Kuwait, however the final product is broadcasted from Egypt. Kuwaiti preacher Tareq al-Suwaidan served as director of the channel until Prince Al-Waleed dismissed him in 2013 for alleged links to the Muslim Brotherhood.

  • Al-Adalah – Established in 2006 by Shiite Kuwaiti businessman Mahmoud Haidar. The channel primarily focusses on Kuwaiti political issues and entertainment and airs several talk shows

Radio

Until 2005, there were no private radio stations in Kuwait . The Kuwaiti government provides nine stations that cater for the diverse Kuwaiti population. These include stations airing modern western and Kuwaiti music (Super Station) religious content (Al-Qur’an al-Karim), traditional Arabic music (Al-Ghana al-Arabi al-Qadim,, Al-Sha’biya), and news and educational broadcasting (Kuwait FM).

Marina FM was the country’s first private station. It was established in Kuwait in 2005, named after the shopping centre that serves as its broadcast headquarters. The station mainly airs music and entertainment. Other private radio stations have since emerged, and the majority either focus on music and entertainment programming or content aimed at Kuwait’s expat communities, broadcasting in English, Malayalam, and Hindi.

Press

The Kuwaiti press is dominated by private publications, however the government maintains control by ensuring that all print publications must register and obtain a license from the Ministry of Information. Licenses can then be revoked without a court order or any explanation, while the establishment of a newspaper requires capital of almost $900,000. The most popular Kuwaiti newspapers are as follows:

  • Al-Rai – Established in 1961 and the oldest active Arabic-language newspaper in Kuwait. Throughout its print history, the newspaper has maintained a conservative tone and has been largely supportive of the Kuwaiti government and ruling family.

  • Kuwait Times – Established in 1961 as the first English-language newspaper in the Gulf region.

NewspaperAverage Circulation
Al-Rai96,000
Al-Anbaa85,000
Al-Qabas81,000
Al-Sabah65,000
Arab Times55,000
Al-Seyassah50,000
Kuwait Times43,000
Al-Jarida39,000

Table 1. Most popular newspapers by daily circulation (2015). Source: INJAZ Kuwait.

  • Al-Seyassah – Established in 1965 with a mildly-conservative pro-government stance. Its editor-in-chief is Ahmed al-Jarallah, a prominent Kuwaiti journalist who also presides the English-language publication The Arab Times.

  • Al-Qabas – Founded in 1972, briefly moving its headquarters to London during the 1990 Gulf War. In 1998, the newspaper’s then editor-in-chief Muhammad al-Saqr was sentenced to six months imprisonment because of a joke published in Al-Qabas. Al-Saqr had previously been awarded the Committee to Protect Journalists’ International Press Freedom Award in 1992 for his reporting on human rights and political issues “in the face of government threats”. The newspaper has since adopted a less critical stance in light of increasing government repression.

  • Al-Anbaa – Established in 1976, the newspaper has maintained a largely pro-government stance throughout its print history, however it was temporarily suspended in 1987 and 1995 after carrying interviews with controversial Kuwaiti political figures.

  • Al-Sabah – Daily newspaper that was founded in 2007 following the Kuwaiti government’s efforts to expand the press sector. It is printed by the same company that runs the television station of the same name.

  • Al-Jarida – Established in 2007 with a moderate editorial tone. The newspaper’s editor-in-chief, along with his counterpart from Al-Seyassah, were fined in 2013 for publishing details of a meeting between the Kuwaiti Emir and state officials without prior consent.

  • Annahar – Founded in 2007 and describing itself as a liberal, independent publication. The newspaper was also fined in 2010 for publishing an article considered offensive to the ruling family.

Kuwait media al-anbaa newspaper
Al-Anbaa newspaper. Photo Flickr

Social Media

Facebook is the most popular social media platform in Kuwait. The country reportedly had the most Twitter users per capita worldwide between 2010 and 2012, however usership is likely to decline in the future in light of several high profile arrests of users. A survey by the Kuwait News Agency in 2016 also noted the rising popularity of instant messaging applications such as Whatsapp and Snapchat. However, the Kuwaiti government has shown that sharing unsanctioned content on such platforms can also lead to prosecution. In 2016, three members of the Kuwaiti royal family were jailed for five years after insulting the Kuwaiti Emir via messages sent in a private Whatsapp conversation.

Online Publications

Online media outlets have grown increasingly popular in proportion with the Internet growth in Kuwait. Yet the Kuwaiti government maintains the right to close down or block websites that are considered to be “inciting terrorism and instability.” Internet service providers operating in the country are legally required to install systems that filter out websites deemed by the government to be un-Islamic, extremist, or promoting certain political ideas.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.