فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / الاقتصاد / في لبنان، الطبقة الوسطى هم الفقراء الجدد

في لبنان، الطبقة الوسطى هم الفقراء الجدد

Lebanon- protests lebanon
متظاهرون مناهضون للحكومة مستوحون من الحركة الفرنسية “السترات الصفراء” يضعون أقنعةً بالعلم اللبناني في ساحة الشهيد في وسط بيروت، في 23 ديسمبر 2018. احتج مئات اللبنانيين ضد الأوضاع الاقتصادية المتدهورة. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

توفي سائق سيارة الأجرة اللبناني جورج زريق في 8 فبراير 2019 بعد أن أضرم النار في نفسه لعدم تمكنه من دفع الرسوم للمدرسة الخاصة لإبنته.

أثار موته العنيف في مدينة بكفتين الشمالية موجة من التعاطف والغضب، مما أشعل انتقادات الشعب للوضع الاقتصادي في لبنان وللحكومة. وفي 10 فبراير، نظمت مظاهرة تندد بوفاته أمام وزارة التعليم في العاصمة بيروت، لكن مسؤولين أمنيين فرقوا المحتجين.

كما سارع السياسيون للتعبير عن غضبهم، إذ قال سامي الجميل، رئيس حزب الكتائب المسيحي، إن زريق كان “شهيد الاستهتار وقلّة المسؤولية،” في حين وصف ميشال معوض، عضو تكتل لبنان القوي في البرلمان، انتحاره بـ”مأساة لبنانية غير مسبوقة تمثل أخطر العوارض الناتجة عن الدرك الذي وصلت إليه أوضاعنا الاقتصادية والاجتماعية.” بينما كتب الناشط فاروق يعقوب في منشورٍ له على الإنترنت: “علينا أن ننزل إلى الشارع ونشعل البلد مثلما أشعل جورج زريق النار في نفسه.”

يُذكرنا موت زريق بقيام البائع المتجول التونسي، محمد البوعزيزي، بإحراق نفسه في ديسمبر 2010 رداً على مصادرة بضاعته وتعرضه للمضايقة من قِبل السلطات. كان موته الفتيل الذي أشعل الثورة التونسية والربيع العربي، أما في لبنان، فمن غير المحتمل أن يحدث ذلك.

وفي لقاءٍ لنا في فَنَك مع آية مجذوب، الباحثة المتخصصة بشؤون لبنان والبحرين في هيومن رايتس ووتش، قالت: “لم يشعل إحراق زريق لنفسه إحتجاجاتٍ جماهيرية على غرار ما حصل عند موت البوعزيزي في تونس في عام 2011، بالرغم من تدهور الأوضاع الاقتصادية في البلاد.”

إلا أنها أضافت: “[موت زريق] هو تذكير صارخ بالفشل المستمر للحكومة اللبنانية في توفير أبسط الخدمات لمواطنيها. وقد أدى هذا الفشل الحكومي إلى نقص الخدمات ذات الجودة والكلفة المعقولة، مثل التعليم والرعاية الصحية. ونتيجةً لذلك، تحوّل بعض اللبنانيين إلى بدائل خاصة، لا يستطيع سوى عدد قليل منهم تحمّل تكاليفها، مما أدى إلى تفاقم عدم المساواة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية وتوسيع فجوة الثراء في لبنان.”

في حين عبر المدون نجيب عن رأيه بالقول: “[اقترح البعض أن زريق] كان يتوجب عليه نقل طفلته إلى مدرسة حكومية منذ فترةٍ طويلة. أعتقد أن هؤلاء الأشخاص لم يذهبوا قط لمدرسة حكومية من قبل. في حين أنه لا يوجد أي خطأ في المناهج والمعلمين في مدارسنا الحكومية، إلا أن المشكلة الحقيقية تتمثل في البيئة المروعة التي توفرها هذه المدارس للطلاب، والافتقار إلى الفرص في المستقبل.”

وقال وزير العدل إنه تم فتح تحقيق بملابسات وفاة زريق، إلا أن الأرقام الاقتصادية تتحدث عن نفسها. ووفقاً لتقرير برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي لعام 2018، يعيش 30% من اللبنانيين (1,5 مليون شخص) بأقل من 4 دولارات في اليوم، أو 120 دولاراً في الشهر، ويعيش حوالي 300 ألف شخص بأقل من 2,5 دولار في اليوم، وهو مبلغ غير كافٍ لتلبية احتياجاتهم الغذائية الأساسية. كما حافظت معدلات البطالة على ثباتها، حيث ارتفعت من 6,2% في عام 2016 إلى 6,3% في عام 2017، بمتوسط 7,56% من عام 1991 حتى عام 2017. ومع ذلك، بلغت نسبة التضخم 3,17% في يناير 2019، مع ارتفاع أسعار الطعام والمشروبات غير الكحولية بشكلٍ أسرع من السلع الاستهلاكية الأخرى.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، يواجه عددٌ متزايد من اللبنانيين الفقر المدقع، نتيجة عدم الاستقرار – بسبب الحرب في سوريا المجاورة – ومحدودية فرص العمل ونظام الرعاية الاجتماعية الضعيف. لكن الفجوة بين الأغنياء والفقراء آخذةٌ في الاتساع لأن الطبقة الوسطى تختفي ببطء. وعلى موقع دي دبليو، الموقع الإلكتروني للإذاعة الألمانية دويتشه فيله، قال منير راشد من الجمعية الاقتصادية اللبنانية، إن السبب الرئيسي لتقلص الطبقة الوسطى هو أن متوسط دخل الناس لم يرتفع خلال الحرب الأهلية من 1975 إلى 1990، أو بعد ذلك، بينما ارتفعت تكلفة المعيشة.

وقال إن الراتب الابتدائي لخريجي الهندسة يبلغ حالياً نحو 800 دولار في الشهر. وأضاف، “من المستحيل أن يلبي هذا المبلغ الاحتياجات الأساسية في لبنان اليوم. وهذا يعني أن المهنيين الشباب يبدأون شق طريقهم من أدنى سلم الدخل إذ يتطلب الأمر سنواتٍ عديدة لكسب 2000 دولار في مرحلةٍ ما.” وتابع القول، بالإضافة إلى ذلك، لا توجد وظائف كافية للشباب.

وأظهرت دراسة نُشرت في عام 2014 أن ثروة لبنان تقدر بمبلغ 91 مليار دولار، 48% منها مملوكة لنحو 0,3% من القوة العاملة المقدرة (8000 شخص). وفي هذه الأثناء، يمتلك 99,7% من اللبنانيين أكثر بقليل من النصف الآخر (46,4 مليار دولار).

في مقالٍ لها عن فيلم نادين لبكي الحائز على جائزة، كفرناحوم، والذي يحكي قصة حياة فتى يبلغ من العمر 12 عاماً في أحد الأحياء الفقيرة، سلطت الصحفية منى نجار الضوء على وضع “الفقراء فقراً غير مدقع.”

كتبت: “في منطقة بيروت الغربية المتنوعة اجتماعياً، حيث أعيش، أنا محاطة بأناسٍ يكافحون من أجل البقاء على قيد الحياة كل يوم، دون أن يتوسلوا أو يتحدثوا عن مشاكلهم… حتى أولئك الذين لديهم وظيفة ودخل ثابت يغطي نفقاتهم اليومية، بما في ذلك الرسوم المدرسية للأطفال، ليسوا بمأمن. وبسبب نظام الرعاية الاجتماعية سيء التطوير، يمكن لمرضٍ خطير في الأسرة أن يسبب تدهوراً حاداً وصولاً إلى انهيارٍ مالي. حتى أن الطبقة الوسطى لا يمكنهم اعتبار الرعاية الصحية من المسلمات في لبنان، فغالباً ما تنقل الصحف تقارير مروعة عن أشخاص بحاجةٍ إلى علاجٍ مستعجل ويتم رفض إدخالهم إلى المستشفى ما لم تدفع أسرتهم مبالغاً مالياً مقدماً. وكثيراً ما تعكس هذه التقارير صرخة غضب، إلا أنه سرعان ما تهدأ هذه الجلبة. الفقر في لبنان أكثر وضوحاً وأكثر انتشاراً مما هو الحال عليه في ألمانيا أو في أي مكانٍ آخر في أوروبا الغربية.

المصادر: World Bank Data and IMF. إضغط للتكبير. @Fanack

كما أنه أكثر تهديداً ويأساً وعديم الرحمة، إذ يمكن أن يهاجمك عندما لا تتوقع ذلك. فالفقر مقبولٌ باعتباره واحداً من العديد من مشاكل البلاد التي لا يمكن حلها منذ عقود. كما أن الدولة اللبنانية الضعيفة لا تضطلع بالمسؤولية. “ما في دولة” هو تعبيرٌ شائع في لبنان. ومثلما تعتبر الدولة غير قادرةٍ على حل أزمة النفايات أو السيطرة على النقص في الكهرباء والمياه، فإنه من غير المتوقع أن تعمل لدعم المستضعفين.”

في الواقع، البلاد موبوءةٌ بالفساد، إذ يدفع اللبناني، بالمتوسط، بخشيشاً (أموال بسيطة كرشوات للفاسدين) تصل قيمتها إلى حوالي 11 ألف دولار خلال حياته. مبلغٌ لا يستطيع معظم الناس توفيره.

وبحسب آية مجذوب: “وعدت الحكومة الجديدة بتنفيذ بعض الإصلاحات المطلوبة بشدة، لذا سنواصل تحميلها المسؤولية أمام وعودها ودفعها إلى تحسين توفير الخدمات الأساسية، بما في ذلك التعليم والرعاية الصحية.” ومن الجدير بالذكر أنه تم تشكيل الحكومة الجديدة بعد أزمة استمرت تسعة أشهر في أعقاب الانتخابات البرلمانية في مايو 2018، إلا أن المواطنين لا يزالون متشائمين بشأن كفاءة وزرائهم الجدد.

أما بالنسبة لعائلة زريق، فقد حصلت على مساعدةٍ على شكل هبة بقيمة 10 آلاف دولار وراتب شهري من سياسي كويتي– وهو “حلٌ” غير مفاجىء في بلدٍ يبدو غير راغبٍ أو غير قادرٍ على رعاية شعبه.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Economy / In Lebanon, Middle Class is the New Poor

In Lebanon, Middle Class is the New Poor

Lebanon- protests lebanon
Anti-government protesters inspired by the French movement “Yellow Vests” hold masks painted with the Lebanese flag demonstrate in Martyr’s square, in central Beirut, on December 23, 2018. Hundreds of Lebanese protested against deteriorating economic conditions. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

Lebanese taxi driver George Zreik died on 8 February 2019 after setting himself on fire for not being able to pay his daughter’s private school fees.

His violent death in the northern city of Bkeftine sparked an outpouring of both sympathy and anger, reigniting public criticism of Lebanon’s economic situation and the government. A demonstration condemning the death was held on 10 February in front of the Education Ministry in the capital Beirut but was dispersed by security officials.

Politicians were also quick to express their outrage. Samy Gemayel, head of the Christian Phalange party, said Zreik was “a martyr to irresponsibility and lack of accountability”, while Michel Moawad, a member of the Strong Lebanon parliamentary bloc, described his suicide is an “unprecedented Lebanese tragedy that reflects the worsening economic and social conditions in the country”. Activist Farouq Yacoub wrote in an online post: ‘We need to take to the streets and torch the country the way George Zreik torched himself.’

Zreik’s death is reminiscent of the self-immolation in December 2010 of Tunisian street vendor Mohamed Bouazizi in response to the confiscation of his wares and harassment by the authorities. His death was a catalyst for the Tunisian Revolution and the wider Arab Spring. In Lebanon, this will almost certainly not happen.

“Zreik’s self-immolation has not sparked mass protests in the way that Bouazizi’s did in Tunisia in 2011, despite the worsening economic situation in the country,” Aya Majzoub, Lebanon and Bahrain researcher at Human Rights Watch, told Fanack.

However, she added: “[Zreik’s death] is a very stark reminder of the Lebanese government‘s persistent failure to provide even the most basic of services to its citizens. This government failure has led to the lack of affordable, quality services, such as education and healthcare. Some Lebanese have, as a result, turned to private alternatives, which only a few can afford, exacerbating socioeconomic inequalities and widening the wealth gap in Lebanon.”

Blogger Najib had this view: ‘[Some suggest Zreik] should have moved his kid to a public school a long time ago. My guess is that those people have never been to a public school before. While there’s nothing wrong with our public-school curriculum and teachers, the real problem is the horrible environment these schools provide for students, and the lack of opportunities in the future.’

The justice minister said an investigation into Zreik’s death had been launched, but the economic numbers speak for themselves. According to a 2018 United Nations Development Program report, 30 per cent of the Lebanese population (1.5 million people) live on less than $4 per day, or $120 per month, and about 300,000 people live on less than $2.5 per day, which is insufficient to meet their basic food needs. Unemployment rates have remained steady, rising from 6.2 per cent in 2016 to 6.3 per cent in 2017, with an average of 7.56 per cent from 1991 until 2017. However, inflation stood at 3.17 per cent in January 2019, with the price of food and non-alcoholic drinks rising faster than other consumer goods.

A growing number of Lebanese face extreme poverty, the result of a lack of stability – in part due to the war in neighbouring Syria – few job opportunities and a weak welfare system. But the gap between the rich and poor is also widening because the middle class is slowly disappearing. On DW, the website of German broadcaster Deutsche Welle, Mounir Rached from the Lebanese Economic Association said a key reason for the shrinking middle class is the fact that people’s average income did not rise during the civil war from 1975-1990, or thereafter, while the cost of living has increased.

The starting salary of an engineering graduate is currently around $800 a month, he said. “It is impossible to make ends meet in Lebanon today on this. This means that young professionals start way at the bottom of the income scale and require many years to earn $2,000 at some point.” In addition, there are not enough jobs for young people, he said.

A study published in 2014 showed that Lebanon’s wealth is estimated at $91 billion, 48 per cent of which is owned by approximately 0.3 per cent of the estimated workforce (8,000 people). Meanwhile, 99.7 per cent of Lebanese own slightly more than the other half ($46.4 billion).

In an article about Nadine Labaki’s award-winning film Capharnaüm, which tells the story of a 12-year-old Beirut slum-dweller, journalist Mona Naggar highlighted the situation of the ‘non-extreme poor’.

She wrote: ‘In the socially diverse district of West Beirut, where I live, I am surrounded by people who struggle for survival daily, without begging or talking about their problems.…Even those who have a job and a regular income that covers the daily expenses, including the children’s school fees, are not safe. Because of the poorly developed welfare system, a serious illness in the family can cause a sharp descent into financial ruin. Not even the middle class can take good health care for granted in Lebanon.

Economy lebanon
Sources: World Bank Data and IMF. Click to enlarge. @Fanack

Newspapers regularly carry horrifying reports of people in need of emergency treatment being turned away at hospitals because their family cannot pay up front. The revelations always prompt an outcry, but the fuss quickly subsides. Poverty in Lebanon is more visible, more pervasive than in Germany or elsewhere in western Europe. It is also more menacing, desperate, merciless. It can strike when least expected. It is accepted as one of the country’s many decades-old unsolvable problems. The weak Lebanese state is not held responsible. Ma fi dawleh (“There is no state”) is an exclamation commonly heard in Lebanon. Just as the state is deemed incapable of solving the waste crisis or getting to grips with power and water shortages, it is not expected to act in support of vulnerable people.’

In fact, in a country plagued by corruption, a Lebanese person will pay an average of $11,000 during his or her life in bakhshish, or small corruption money. It is money that most cannot spare.

“The new government has promised to implement some badly needed reforms, so we will continue to hold them accountable to their promises and push them to improve the provision of essential services, including education and healthcare,” Majzoub said. The new government was formed after a nine-month deadlock following the May 2018 parliamentary elections, but citizens remain pessimistic regarding the efficiency of their new ministers.

For Zreik’s family, help has come in the form of a $10,000 donation and a monthly allowance  from a Kuwaiti politician – an unsurprising ‘solution’ in a country that seems unwilling or unable to take care of its own people.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO | ©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.