فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / الاقتصاد / لبنان: اللاجئون السوريون يكلفون الاقتصاد 4,5 مليار دولار سنوياً

لبنان: اللاجئون السوريون يكلفون الاقتصاد 4,5 مليار دولار سنوياً

Syrian refugees estinguish a fire in a camp in Lebanon
مجموعة من اللاجئين السوريين والمسؤولين اللبنانيين يقومون بإخماد الحريق الذي اندلع في مخيم للاجئين في بلدة المرج في البقاع الغربي , لبنان 1 يونيو 2015 . Photo AP | Associated Press

تستمر الأزمة السورية، التي دخلت عامها الخامس في مارس 2015، بالتأثير على السياسة والاقتصاد في لبنان. ولم ينجح البرلمان، الذي تم تمديد ولايته مرتين في غضون عامين، حتى الآن من انتخاب رئيس للدولة منذ مايو 2014 في سابقة هي الأولى من نوعها منذ انتهاء الحرب الأهلية (1975-1990). أما مجلس الوزراء، آخر معاقل السلطة، فقد ضعُف بسبب الانقسامات الداخلية ويبدو أنه ألقى بجميع أوراقه على الطاولة في محاولة لتجنب الإنهيار المفاجىء.

ومن الناحية الاقتصادية، لا تعتبر الصورة أكثر اشراقاً. وعلى الرغم من الإنتعاش الطفيف عام 2014، حيث قُدِّر النمو بنحو 2% مقارنةً بـ1,5% عام 2013 وفقاً لصندوق النقد الدولي، و0,9% وفقاً لتقديرات البنك الدولي، لا تزال البلاد متخلفة عن معدلات النمو التي وصلت أكثر من 8% عشية الصراع السوري. ووفقاً لصندوق النقد الدولي، سيستقر النمو عند هذا المستوى المتدني خلال العامين القادمين، ولن يصل إلى الـ3% قبل عام 2017. وعلى صعيدٍ آخر، يتواصل نمو الدين حيث وصل إلى ما يقرب 70 مليار دولار أو ما يعادل 145% من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي وهي من أعلى النسب في العالم بينما تتزايد معدلات البطالة والفقر وعدم المساواة.

وبوجود أكثر من 1,6 مليون لاجىء سوري يعيشون في البلاد، وذلك وفقاً لمختلف التقديرات فعلى سبيل المثال تصل نسبتهم أكثر من ثلث السكان المحليين، يواجه لبنان الذي يستضيف أيضاً ما يقرب من 400,000 لاجىء فلسطيني، واحدة من أصعب التحديات الانسانية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية في تاريخه. ويؤدي هذا الوزن السكاني إلى زيادة المنافسة في سوق العمل والإغراق الاجتماعي. ووفقاً لمسح أجري في عام 2013 من قبل اللجنة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية لغربي آسيا التابعة للأمم المتحدة (الإسكوايعيش 71% من اللاجئين السوريين في جيوب الفقر، في حين أن ثلاثة أرباع منهم لا يملكون مؤهلات وظيفية. وقد تمت ملاحظة خسارة تصل إلى 14% بالأجور بين العمال الأقل مهارة في ذلك الوقت، مما فاقم سوق العمل الهش أصلاً في لبنان سوءاً. ووفقاً للبنك الدولي، وفرت لبنان ما بين عامي (2005- 2009) 3800 فرصة عمل سنوياً حيث تم استيعاب السدس فقط من أصل 22,000 لبناني يدخلون سوق العمل سنوياً.

كما رفع تزايد معدلات البطالة من الفقر. ويُعتقد أن 170,000 لبناني (أي حوالي 4% من السكان) يعيشون تحت خط الفقر (أقل من دولار واحد يومياً) على مدى السنوات الماضية وذلك وفقاً للبنك الدولي. هذا بالإضافة إلى حوالي مليون لبناني (25% من السكان) ممن يعانون بالفعل من الفقر.

كما يظهر أيضاً تأثير الأعداد الهائلة من اللاجئين في نوعية الخدمات المتدنية التي تقدمها الدولة، حيث أن حوالي 57% من طلاب المدارس الحكومية في الوقت الراهن من السوريين، كما يستهلك اللاجئون أكثر من 26 مليون متر مكعب من المياه (أي 7% من إجمالي الاستهلاك اللبناني) وحوالي 300 ميجاواط من الطاقة الكهربائية. وقبل اندلاع الأزمة السورية، كان لبنان يعاني بالفعل من نقص وصل إلى 700 ميجاواط، حيث يبلغ الإنتاج المحلي 1500 ميجاواط في حين أن الطلب يصل إلى 2200 ميجاواط.

وتظهر الضغوطات جلية في قطاع الرعاية الصحية، إذ تعج المستشفيات الحكومية والخاصة باللاجئين منذ عام 2011. وفي عام 2013، ذهب نحو 40% من خدمات الطوارئ والرعاية الأولية إلى اللاجئين السوريين. وقد تغير الوضع قليلا منذ ذلك الحين.

ويترجم هذا الضغط السكاني بضغوطات مالية، فوفقاً للبنك الدولي، زاد الإنفاق العام مليار دولار خلال الفترة ما بين 2012 و2014، في حين قُدِّر العجز في الإيرادات بـ1,1 مليار دولار وبلغ إجمالي الخسائر المتصلة بالأزمة 7,5 مليار دولار خلال هذه الفترة.

ولم يسبب ارتفاع الإيجارات وتزايد البطالة أي حوادث رئيسية حتى الآن، ولكن برز تزايد في العِداء؛ فقد وقعت بعض الحوادث الفردية في البقاع على مدى الإثني عشر شهراً الماضية، بما في ذلك إحراق ممتلكات متعمد في إحدى المخيمات، إلا أن هذه ترتبط بشكل أكبر إلى التوترات بين السُنة والشيعة وليس إلى العوامل الاجتماعية الاقتصادية.

ويُقدر الأثر المالي والاقتصادي المرتبط فقط باللاجئين من قبل البنك المركزي بـ4,5 مليار دولار سنوياً. وفي بيان صدر مؤخراً، قال رياض سلامة، حاكم مصرف لبنان، وبناءً على دراسة قام بها البنك الدولي، أن كلفة اللاجئين السورين المباشرة على لبنان مليار دولار في العام، في حين تصل الكلفة غير المباشرة 3,5 مليار دولار. وقال أن التحسّن في التجارة الداخلية والاستهلاك لا يعوض التكاليف التي يتم تكبدتها.

الأثر الإيجابي

ومع ذلك، فقد ساهم اللاجئون السوريون أيضاً بالاقتصاد اللبناني وذلك وفقاً لبعض الخبراء الاقتصاديين. وكجزء من مشروع مع برنامج الأمم المتحدة للتنمية (UNDP)، قدّر الخبير الاقتصادي اللبناني كمال حمدان بأنّ الطلب من اللاجئين السوريين وحده ولّد ما نسبته 1,3% من النمو عام 2014، أي أكثر من نصف الإثنين بالمئة التي قدّرها صندوق النقد الدولي.

ومن ناحية أخرى، حركت الأزمة السورية بشكل غير مباشر، أنشطة مرفأ بيروت كنتيجة للإنخفاض الحاد في أنشطة الموانىء السورية في طرطوس واللاذقية. وارتفع عدد الحاويات بنسبة 8% في كل من عام 2013 و2014.

إقامة دائمة؟

يخشى محللون أن يواجه لبنان، على المدى الطويل، سيناريو مماثل للحالة الفلسطينية، حيث سيبقى أغلبية اللاجئين أكثر من نصف قرن بعد نزوحهم القسري.

ومؤخراً، قال الباحث الفرنسي فابريس بلانش أن على لبنان أن يكون على أتم استعداد لاستضافة مليون لاجىء سوري على الأقل بشكل دائم في حال بقي بشار الأسد في السلطة.

وعرض صندوق النقد الدولي، في أحدث تقرير له عن لبنان، فرضية العودة التدريجية للاجئين عام 2016، ومع ذلك سيبقى 30% من اللاجئين السوريين في لبنان عام 2019. ووفقاً لهذا السيناريو وبالنظر إلى متوسط النمو البالغ 3,7% سنوياً، ستنخفض البطالة حوالي 18% فقط مقارنة بما نسبته 20% في الوقت الراهن. وحتى في حال حصول نمو أكثر قوة، أي حوالي 5%، ستبقى نسبة البطالة أعلى من 15%.

وبعيداً عن الأثر الاقتصادي، فإن تجنيس اللاجئين السوريين في نهاية المطاف وعلى المدى الطويل يخل بالتوازن الطائفي الهش في لبنان، مما يجعل السُنة، الذين يشكلون في الوقت الحالي 25% من السكان (مقابل ما نسبته 30% حالياً من الشيعة)، أكثر أهمية من ناحية سكانية.

ونظراً لهذه الأوضاع، قررت الحكومة اللبنانية في وقتٍ مبكر هذا العام، تنظيم سوق العمل من خلال فرض إصدار تصاريح عمل للسوريين. ولتجديد إقاماتهم، يتوجب على اللاجئين الآن الإلتزام بعدم العمل أو يتوجب عليهم إيجاد صاحب عمل والتخلي عن وضعهم كلاجئين.

ومع ذلك، يعتقد بعض المحللين أن هذه التدابير قد تؤدي إلى نتائج عكسية وتشجع الإجرام أو الإرهاب. وتم الإعلان عن هذه التدابير بعد أن قررت الأمم المتحدة في أكتوبر الماضي خفض قيمة القسائم الغذائية الشهرية للاجئين من 30 دولاراً إلى 20 دولاراً للشخص الواحد.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©hollandse-hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Economy / Lebanon: Syrian Refugees Cost the Economy $4.5 Billion Every Year

Lebanon: Syrian Refugees Cost the Economy $4.5 Billion Every Year

Syrian refugees estinguish a fire in a camp in Lebanon
Syrian refugees together with Lebanese officials estinguish a fire which erupted in a refugee camp in the Western Bekaa valley town of al-Marj, Lebanon, 1 June 2015. Photo AP | Associated Press

The Syrian crisis, which entered its fifth year in March 2015, continues to weigh on the politics and economy of Lebanon. The parliament still has not managed to elect a head of state since May 2014; its mandate was extended twice in two years, for the first time since the end of the civil war (1975-1990). The cabinet, the last stronghold of power, has been weakened by internal divisions and seems to be playing all its cards to avoid a crash.

Economically, the picture is no brighter. Though a slight rebound was observed in 2014, with growth estimated at 2 percent, compared with 1.5 percent in 2013, according to the International Monetary Fund (IMF), and 0.9 percent according to the World Bank, the country still lags behind the growth rates of more than 8 percent on the eve of the Syrian conflict. According to the IMF, growth will stabilize at this lower level during the next two years and will not reach 3 percent before 2017. Debt continued to grow, reaching almost $70 billion, or about 145 percent of GDP, one of the highest ratios in the world, while unemployment, poverty, and inequality continued to increase.

With more than 1.6 million Syrian refugees living in the country, according to various estimates —i.e., more than one-third of the local population—Lebanon, which is already host to nearly 400,000 Palestinian refugees, is facing one of the toughest humanitarian, social, and economic challenges in its history. This demographic weight leads to competition in the labour market and to social dumping. According to a survey conducted in 2013 by the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia of the United Nations (ESCWA), 71 percent of Syrian refugees live in poverty, while three-quarters of them have no job qualifications. A loss of 14 percent of wages among less-skilled workers had already been noted by that time. This worsens an already fragile labour market in Lebanon. Between 2005 and 2009, Lebanon created 3800 jobs per year, according to the World Bank, absorbing only one-sixth of the 22,000 Lebanese who enter the market annually.

This growing unemployment has also increased the poverty rate. It is believed that 170,000 Lebanese (about four percent of the population) have fallen under the poverty threshold (of less than one dollar per day) over the past years, according to the World Bank. This is in addition to about one million Lebanese (25 percent of the population) who were already living in poverty.

The impact of the huge number of refugees is also felt in the quality of the already poor services provided by the state; about 57 percent of public school students are now Syrians, and refugees consume more than 26 million cubic metres of water (seven percent of total Lebanese consumption) and about 300 megawatts (MW) of electric power . Before the Syrian crisis emerged, Lebanon was already experiencing an annual shortage of 700 MW, with a local production of 1500 MW, against a demand of 2200 MW.

The pressure is also felt in healthcare. Public and private hospitals have been overwhelmed with refugees since 2011. In 2013, about 40 percent of emergency and primary-care services went to Syrian refugees. The situation has changed little since then.

This demographic pressure is translated into a financial one; according to the World Bank, public spending increased by $1 billion over the period 2012-2014 , while the shortfall in revenues was estimated at $1.1 billion and overall losses related to the crisis totalled $7.5 billion during this period.

Rising rents or growing unemployment have so far caused no major incidents, but there is a growing hostility; some isolated incidents have occurred in the Bekaa Valley over the last 12 months—including a case of arson in a camp—but these were related more to Sunni-Shiite tensions than to socio-economic factors.

The financial and economic impact related solely to refugees is estimated by the central bank at $4.5 billion every year. In a recent statement, Riad Salameh, the governor of the Banque du Liban, said, based on a study by the World Bank, that Syrian refugees impose a direct cost of about $1 billion a year and an indirect cost of $3.5 billion. He said that improvement in internal trade and consumption does not compensate for the costs incurred.

Positive Impact

Syrian refugees have, however, also contributed to the Lebanese economy, according to some economists. As part of a project with the United Nations Programme for Development (UNDP), the Lebanese economist Kamal Hamdan estimated that the demand of the Syrian refugees alone generated 1.3 percent growth in 2014, that is, more than half of the two percent estimated by the IMF.

The Syrian crisis has indirectly driven activity in the port of Beirut, as a result of the drastic decrease in activity in the Syrian ports of Tartous and Latakia. The number of containers increased by eight percent in both 2013 and 2014.

Permanent stay?

Analysts fear Lebanon will, in the longer term, face a scenario similar to the Palestinian case, in which a majority of refugees will remain more than a half century after their forced displacement.

The French specialist, Fabrice Balanche, recently said that Lebanon must be prepared to maintain at least one million Syrians on its territory, if Bashar al-Assad remains in power.

The IMF, in its most recent report on Lebanon, advanced the hypothesis of a gradual return of refugees beginning in 2016, saying, however, that 30 percent of Syrian refugees will still remain in Lebanon in 2019. According to this scenario and considering growth averaging 3.7 percent per year, unemployment would drop to only about 18 percent, compared with 20 percent at present. Even with stronger growth, of about five percent, unemployment would remain above 15 percent.

Beyond the economic impact, the eventual naturalization of Syrian refugees in the longer term would destabilize the fragile sectarian balance in Lebanon, making Sunnis—who currently comprise about 25 percent of the population (compared with the current 30 percent comprised by Shiites)—more important demographically.

Given this situation, the Lebanese government decided early this year to begin regulating the labour market by requiring a work permit of Syrians. To renew their residence, refugees must now commit not to work or must find an employer and give up their refugee status.

Some analysts believe that these measures might, however, be counterproductive and encourage criminality or terrorism. They come just after the UN decided to reduce, last October, the monthly food voucher for refugees in Lebanon from 30 to 20 dollars per person.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.