فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / الاقتصاد / الحكومة اللبنانية لا تحرك ساكناً في ظل الإنهيار المالي الذي يلوح في الأفق

الحكومة اللبنانية لا تحرك ساكناً في ظل الإنهيار المالي الذي يلوح في الأفق

Lebanon currency crisis
متظاهرون لبنانيون يشتبكون مع رجال شرطة مكافحة الشغب أثناء محاولتهم اختراق الحواجز الأمنية أمام رئاسة مجلس الوزراء خلال مظاهرة في ساحة الشهداء بوسط بيروت في 29 سبتمبر 2019. Photo: ANWAR AMRO / AFP ©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

يواجه لبنان أزمة عملاتٍ في عام 2019 تهدد بإرسال البلاد، التي تعاني بالفعل من وضعٍ اقتصادي متزعزع، إلى الإفلاس التام. فقد اندلعت الاحتجاجات، لكن يبدو أن قادة البلاد لا يرغبون أو لربما غير قادرين على الرد.

لمرتين حتى الآن، خرج الناس إلى شوارع بيروت، وطرابلس، ثاني أكبر مدن لبنان، وبعلبك، مطالبين الحكومة بإيجاد حلٍ للأزمة المالية الوشكية وارتفاع مستويات الفقر.

خلال الاحتجاج الأول في 29 سبتمبر، قال أحد المتظاهرين في بيروت لوكالة رويترز: “خرجنا للمطالبة بالعيش الكريم. نريد أن نقول للنواب والوزراء وجميع الطبقة الحاكمة أنه إذا كانوا لا يريدون رد ما سرقوا، فعليهم على الأقل التوقف عن السرقة حتى يتمكن الناس من العيش.”

فقد كان المتظاهر يتحدث عن الفساد الذي يعزى إلى الطبقة الحاكمة، حيث احتل لبنان المرتبة 143 من أصل 180 دولة في مؤشر مدركات الفساد الصادر عن منظمة الشفافية الدولية لعام 2017. كما سجلت البلاد 28 نقطة من أصل 100 فيما يتعلق بمستوى الفساد، إذ كلما اقتربت البلاد من الصفر كانت أكثر فساداً.

هذه السمعة تهم المواطنين اللبنانيين على نحوٍ أكبر، إذ بات العديد منهم يعانون من الحصول على أموالهم. فمنذ أكثر من 20 عاماً، تم ربط الليرة اللبنانية بالدولار لمنع التضخم المفرط والانهيار الاقتصادي بعد نهاية الحرب الأهلية في عام 1990، ويعادل الدولار الواحد معدلاً ثابتاً قدره 1500 ليرة.

في الأسابيع الأخيرة، تراجع سعر صرف الليرة وتحاول البنوك الاحتفاظ بأي مخزون تملكه من الدولارات، بينما يحاول المواطنون والمقيمون في لبنان سحب العملة من حساباتهم المصرفية.

يتفاقم انهيار العملة بسبب تدابير التقشف الحكومية مثل الضرائب الجديدة وارتفاع تكاليف الرعاية الصحية، بالإضافة إلى ضعف فرص العمل والنمو الاقتصادي.

وبحسب ما قاله لنا في فَنَك في 6 أكتوبر جاد شعبان، الاستاذ المشارك في الاقتصاد في الجامعة الأمريكية في بيروت، “هناك ركود ناتج عن ارتفاع أسعار الفائدة لجذب الدولار الأمريكي إلى الاقتصاد، وقد أدى هذا الارتفاع إلى تباطؤ الاستثمارات والنمو، وكذلك انخفاض النشاط الاقتصادي بسبب حالة عدم اليقين والاقتتال السياسي.”

وأضاف “ترافق الركود الاقتصادي مع ارتفاع الأسعار والتضخم، وهي ظاهرة تسمى ‘الركود التضخمي.‘ وفي حال لم تقم السلطات بسن إصلاحاتٍ اقتصادية ومالية ونقدية واسعة النطاق، فإن هذا الركود التضخمي سيستمر لفترة أطول من المتوقع ويسبب خسائر في الوظائف والدخل وارتفاع معدلات الفقر.”

وبعبارةٍ أخرى، فإن السكان الذين يعانون بالفعل مهددون بالفقر الذي يلوح في الأفق لأن القيادة لم تتخذ الخطوات الحاسمة والضرورية لحمايتهم اقتصادياً. ومن وجهة نظر شعبان، فإن حلول البنك الدولي وصندوق النقد الدولي وخبراء الاقتصاد النيوليبراليين ليست السبيل لحل المشكلة.

وقال شعبان أيضاً، “لا تعمل ميزانية التقشف في ظل الركود التضخمي، وبما أن القطاع الخاص لا ينفق على الاستثمارات وخلق فرص العمل- لأن القروض مرتفعة للغاية بسبب ارتفاع أسعار الفائدة بشكل كبير – لذلك تحتاج الحكومة إلى التدخل وزيادة إنفاقها على الكفاءة ومشاريع خلق الوظائف، من خلال السياسات العامة التوسعية وليس الإنفاق المهدر والفاسد،” مضيفاً، “الميزانية اللازمة لتمويل التوسع في الإنفاق العام ستأتي من ضرائب أعلى على الفوائد والعقارات وغيرها من مصادر أخرى للدخل المزعوم في أيدي أقلية من الأفراد الأثرياء للغاية.”

ومع ذلك، لا يبدو أن الحكومة تحرك ساكناً لتهدئة الذعر العام، حيث وصل الحد بـ بالسكان إلى إخفاء ملايين الدولارات في منازلهم. وفي هذا السياق، قال شعبان “تلعب الحكومة لعبة الانتظار والترقب، وتأجيل الحلول الحقيقية إلى أن يتم إنشاء حزمة مساعدات إقليمية – من خلال دول الخليج – أو حتى بدء التنقيب عن النفط والغاز، على الرغم من عدم ضخ هذه المشاريع أي أموال لمدة تتراوح ما بين خمس إلى سبع سنوات.”

فقد تم اكتشاف عدد من حقول النفط والغاز البحرية الكبيرة منذ عام 2009 في المياه القبرصية والإسرائيلية واللبنانية والمصرية. وفي فبراير 2018، وقع لبنان على أول الاتفاقيات لاستكشاف وإنتاج النفط والغاز في الخارج مع اتحاد شركات توتال- إيني- نوفاتيك للكتلتين 4 و9.

يغطي جزء من الكتلة 9 المياه المتنازع عليها مع إسرائيل المجاورة، التي تخوض حرباً مع لبنان منذ عام 1948، إلا أن اتحاد الشركات سبق وصرّح أنه لا توجد أي خطط للتنقيب في المنطقة المتنازع عليها.

على الرغم من وصفه بالحل المعجزة للانتعاش الاقتصادي في لبنان، إلا أنه لربما لن يكون هناك أي تأثيرٍ يذكر لاكتشافات النفط والغاز هذه في السنوات القليلة المقبلة، واعتماداً على كيفية إعادة توزيع هذه الموارد، ربما لن يشعر السكان بأي تأثير فعلي.

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، تحول الشعور باليأس إلى غموضٍ في أعقاب الخبر الذي كشفته ونشرته صحيفة نيويورك تايمز في 30 سبتمبر ومفاده أن رئيس الوزراء سعد الحريري قدم أكثر من 16 مليون دولار لعارضة ملابس البحر الجنوب أفريقية، كانديس فان دير مروي، التي ذكر التقرير أنه جمعتها علاقة رومانسية بالحريري بعد أن التقيا في أحد المنتجعات الفاخرة في جزر السيشيل، وذلك وفقاً لوثائق من إحدى محاكم جنوب إفريقيا التي حصلت عليها الصحيفة.

ووفقاً للمقال، “لم يكن رئيس الوزراء سعد الحريري في منصبه عندما أرسل الأموال لعارضة الأزياء ابتداءً من عام 2013. لذلك، لا يبدو أن التحويل قد انتهك أي قوانين لبنانية أو قوانين دولة جنوب أفريقيا. إلا أن كشف إحدى القضايا هذا العام من محكمة في جنوب إفريقيا عن الهدايا الضخمة التي تلقتها العارضة الشابة يتزامن مع أوقاتٍ صعبة للغاية للسيد الحريري، السياسي السُني الأهم في لبنان والحليف الأمريكي.”
بعد نشر المقال، قال الحريري في تعليقاتٍ أصدرها مكتبه، إنه “مهما شنوا من حملات ضدي ومهما قالوا أو كتبوا أو فعلوا سأستمر في العمل ولن أتوقف. صحيح أننا نمر بأوضاع اقتصادية صعبة ولهذا علينا اتخاذ قرارات جريئة وهذا أمر غير قابل للنقاش. كلما قمنا بإنجاز ما، يأتي من يهاجم هذا الإنجاز.”

فقد كشفت تعليقاته أن الطبقة الحاكمة بعيدة كل البعد عن واقع أولئك الذين من المفترض أنها تمثلهم.

وقال أحد العاملين في مجال الإعلام في منصة يمولها الحريري لموقع ميدل إيست إي الإخباري، “الجميع محبطون، وقلقون، خاصة بالنظر إلى الوضع الاقتصادي.” وأضاف، “[هذا] علاوة على القلق بشأن ما إذا كنا سنحصل على أموالنا أو متى […] ومع ذلك، كانت رؤية الأخبار التي تتحدث عن إنفاق 16 مليون دولار على شيء مريبٍ للغاية بمثابة الصفعة على الوجه في الوقت الذي لم يحصل فيه الناس على رواتبهم منذ شهور.”

وعلى الرغم من الإحباط المنتشر على نطاقٍ واسع والمخاوف بشأن المستقبل، فمن غير المرجح أن تؤدي إلى تحوّل مباشر لمسار الحكومة، أو حتى تغيير النظام بسبب التمرد.

وفي هذا السياق، قال شعبان: “الشعب اللبناني منقسم على أسسٍ طائفية، كما أنه دائماً ما يكون رهناً للطبقة الحاكمة التي توفر الخدمات الأساسية كشريان حياة.”

ويبقى أن نرى ما إذا كان الحفاظ على شريان الحياة هذا سيستمر لفترةٍ أطول أم لا.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Economy / No Action from Lebanese Government as Financial Collapse Looms

No Action from Lebanese Government as Financial Collapse Looms

Lebanon currency crisis
Lebanese protesters clash with riot policemen as they try to break through security barriers in front of the cabinet office during a demonstration in central Beirut’s Martyr Square on September 29, 2019. Photo: ANWAR AMRO / AFP ©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

Lebanon is facing a currency crisis in 2019 that is threatening to send the country, which is already on shaky economic ground, into complete bankruptcy. Protests have erupted, but the country’s leaders seem unwilling or unable to react.

Twice now, people have taken to the streets of Beirut, the second city Tripoli and Baalbek, demanding the government find a solution for the imminent financial crisis and growing levels of poverty.

During the first protest on 29 September, one protester in Beirut told Reuters news agency, “We went down to demand to live with dignity. We want to say to the MPs, the ministers and all the ruling class that if they don’t want to give back what they stole, they should at least stop stealing so the people can live.”

The protester was referring to the corruption attributed to the ruling class, with Lebanon ranking 143rd out of 180 countries on Transparency International’s Corruption Perceptions Index 2017. It also scores 28 out of 100 for the perceived level of sector corruption, 0 being very corrupt.

This reputation matters more and more to Lebanese citizens, many of whom are struggling to access their money. For over 20 years, the Lebanese lira has been pegged to the dollar to prevent hyperinflation and economic collapse following the end of the civil war in 1990, and $1 corresponded to a fixed rate of 1,500 lira.

In recent weeks, the lira peg has slipped and banks are trying to keep whatever supply of dollars they have, as Lebanese nationals and residents try to withdraw the currency from their bank accounts.

The currency collapse is being exacerbated by government austerity measures such as new taxes and higher health care costs, in addition to poor employment and economic growth opportunities.

“There is a recession caused by a rise in interest rates to attract US dollars into the economy, and this rise has slowed investments and growth, and also a drop in economic activity due to uncertainty and political infighting,” Jad Chaaban, an associate professor of economics at the American University of Beirut, told Fanack on 6 October.

“The economic recession has been accompanied with rising prices and inflation, which is a phenomenon called ‘stagflation’. If the authorities do not enact broad economic, fiscal and monetary reforms, the stagflation will last longer than expected and cause losses in jobs, incomes and a rise in poverty.”

In other words, an already struggling population is threatened by looming poverty as the leadership has not made the decisive and necessary moves to protect them economically. The recipes of the World Bank and International Monetary Fund and neoliberal economists are not the way to go, according to Chaaban.

“An austerity budget does not work in stagflation, since the private sector is not spending on investments and job creation – because loans are too high because interest rates are too high – so the government needs to step in and increase its spending on efficient and job-creating projects, through expansionary public policies and not wasteful and corrupt spending,” he said, adding, “The budget needed to finance the expansion in public spending would come from higher taxes on interest, real estate and other sources of annuitant income in the hands of a minority of extremely rich individuals.”

Yet the government does not seem to be doing anything to calm public panic, with people going so far as to hide billions of dollars in their homes. “The government is playing a wait-and-see game, postponing real solutions until a regional aid package is created – through Gulf countries – or until oil and gas drilling starts, although no money will be seen there for five-seven years,” Chaaban said.

A number of large sub-sea gas and oilfields have been discovered since 2009 in Cypriot, Israeli, Lebanese and Egyptian waters. In February 2018, Lebanon signed its first offshore oil and gas exploration and production agreements with the Total-Eni-Novatek consortium for offshore Blocks 4 and 9.

Part of Block 9 covers waters disputed with neighbouring Israel, which has been at war with Lebanon since 1948, but the consortium has said it has no plans to drill in the disputed area.

Although branded as the miracle solution for Lebanon’s economic recovery, any oil and gas discoveries are likely to have little effect in the next few years and, depending on how these resources are redistributed, maybe none on the actual population.

The sense of desperation turned to incredulity following the 30 September revelation by The New York Times that Prime Minister Saad Hariri gave more than $16 million to a South African bikini model, Candice van der Merwe, who said they had a romantic relationship after meeting at a luxury resort in the Seychelles, according to South African court documents obtained by the newspaper.

According to the article, ‘The prime minister, Saad Hariri, was not in office when he sent the money starting in 2013, and the transfer does not appear to have violated any Lebanese or South African laws. But the revelation in a South African court case this year of the extravagant gifts to a younger model comes during a difficult period for Mr. Hariri, the top Sunni Muslim politician in Lebanon and an American ally.’

Following the article’s publication, Hariri said in comments released by his office, ‘Whatever the campaigns they launch against me and whatever they say, write or do, I will continue to work. It is true that we are going through a difficult economic situation and therefore we have to take bold decisions. Every time we make an accomplishment, someone criticizes it.’

His comments reveal how far removed the ruling class is from the realities of those they are supposed to represent.

“Everyone’s frustrated, everyone’s anxious, especially given the economic situation,” a media worker at a Hariri-funded platform told the Middle East Eye news website. “[This is] on top of worrying about if or when we’re going to get paid. […] It’s nevertheless a bit of a slap in the face to see this news of spending $16 million on something very questionable at a time when people haven’t been getting their salaries for months.”

Despite the widespread frustration and concerns about the future, it is unlikely they will lead to an immediate change of direction by the government, or a change of regime due to a rebellion.

“The Lebanese people are too divided along sectarian lines, and also they are always kept dependent on the ruling class, which provides basic services as a lifeline,” Chaaban said.

It remains to be seen whether this lifeline will – or can – be maintained much longer.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO | ©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.