فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / الاقتصاد / هل يمكن للطاقة الشمسية حل أزمة الكهرباء في لبنان؟

هل يمكن للطاقة الشمسية حل أزمة الكهرباء في لبنان؟

Lebanon economy- solar power
حقل للطاقة الشمسية في لبنان. Photo mwessale/Flickr

أقر مجلس الوزراء اللبناني، في 28 مارس 2017، خطةً لإصلاح قطاع الطاقة الوطني، الذي دُمر خلال الحرب الأهلية في الفترة ما بين 1975-1990، والذي يعاني من الفساد منذ ذلك الحين. أحد التدابير التي طلبها سيزار أبي خليل، وزير الطاقة والمياه، هي توليد الطاقة الشمسية عبر إنشاء المرافق على الساحل. ومن المفترض لهذه المرافق أن تعزز الاهتمام والسوق المتناميين في مجال الطاقة الشمسية في لبنان.

بدأت قصة الطاقة الشمسية في لبنان في عام 2010، مع إطلاق خطة العمل الوطنية لكفاءة الطاقة للفترة 2011-2015 (NEEAP). اشتمل هذا على 14 مبادرة، نصفها للطاقة المتجددة بما في ذلك الطاقة الشمسية. وفي عام 2011، أصبح المركز اللبناني لحفظ الطاقة (LCEC)، وهو هيئة استشارية حكومية، الذي بدأ العمل به في عام 2005 كمشروعٍ مشترك بين وزارة الطاقة والمياه وبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي، مستقلاً. وقد عدّل المركز اللبناني لحفظ الطاقة (LCEC) خطة العمل الوطنية الأصلية لكفاءة الطاقة، وفي عام 2015، أطلقت الحكومة الجديدة، رسمياً في 12 يناير 2017، خطة وطنية جديدة تتألف من خطة العمل الوطنية لكفاءة الطاقة للفترة 2016-2020 وخطة العمل الوطنية للطاقة المتجددة للفترة 2016-2020 (NREAP).

وقال بيار الخوري، مدير عام المركز اللبناني لحفظ الطاقة لـFanack: “يتمثل هدفنا في الوصول إلى 12% من الطاقة المتجددة بحلول عام 2020، وقد حقننا بالفعل ما نسبته 6,7%.” وأضاف “تبلغ ميزانية الخطة الوطنية نحو 1,7 مليار دولار، إذ تستهدف 70-80% منها القطاع الخاص. فالهدف الأول للوزارة هو إشراك القطاع الخاص في جميع الانشطة.”

تستند النقاط الأربع للخطة الوطنية على الطاقة الكهرومائية وتوربينات الرياح وسخانات المياه بالطاقة الشمسية وألواح الطاقة الضوئية الشمسية (الكهروضوئية – الألواح الشمسية والمعدات اللازمة لتوصيلها بشبكة الكهرباء). وفي عام 2010، قدم البنك المركزي اللبناني قروضاً لمدة خمس سنوات دون فوائد لمساعدة الناس على شراء سخانات المياه بالطاقة الشمسية. ولا يزال هذا هو الحال، حيث تساهم الوزارة الآن بمبلغ إضافي قدره 200 دولار لتغطية تكاليف الشراء. وقال الخوري “لدينا هدف بايجاد مليون متر مربع من سخانات المياه التي تعمل بالطاقة الشمسية بحلول عام 2020.” وأضاف “بعد الطلب الهائل، تخطينا بالفعل، وإلى حدٍ كبير، أهدافنا السنوية.”

تولد الطاقة الشمسية الكهروضوئية حالياً أكثر من 40 ميجاواط، وذلك بفضل الحوافز مثل الآلية الوطنية لتمويل مشاريع كفاءة الطاقة والطاقات المتجددة (NEEREA)، وهي آلية تمويل وطنية تسمح للهيئات التابعة للقطاع الخاص تقديم طلبٍ للحصول على قروض مدعومة لمشاريع الطاقة المتجددة. وقال الخوري: “نهدف إلى الوصول إلى 150 ميجاواط بحلول عام 2020 مع هذه المعدات التي يتم تركيبها على الأسطح.” وأضاف “ولكن لتحقيق نتائج أكثر أهمية، نوجه جهودنا نحو محطات الطاقة الشمسية وحقول الطاقة الشمسية. ففي المساحات المفتوحة مثل الجبال ووادي البقاع، يمكننا بناء 12 محطة للطاقة الشمسية التي يمكن وصلها بشبكة الكهرباء الوطنية بقدرة إجمالية قدرها 180 ميجاواط. وقد دعا الوزير بالفعل إلى تقديم عروضٍ من شركات خاصة وتلقى 265 مناقصة. نكتب الآن مواصفات المشروع، الذي سيساعد هذه الشركات على تقديم مقترحات جادة.” كما يأمل أن تكتمل الإنشاءات بحلول نهاية عام 2018.

ويبدو أن هذه المبادرات والحوافز المختلفة تؤتي ثمارها. فوفقاً لتقرير حالة الطاقة الشمسية الكهروضوئية لعام 2016 في لبنان والذي أعده برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي، بلغت الطاقة الكهربائية المولدة من الألواح الشمسية الكهروضوئية في عام 2015 ما نسبته 0,47% من إجمالي الطاقة الكهربائية لشركة كهرباء لبنان، وهي شركة الكهرباء المملوكة للدولة، و0,11% من إجمالي توليد الكهرباء السنوي لشركة كهرباء لبنان. كما أشار التقرير إلى أنه “من عام 2010 وحتى نهاية عام 2015، نمت القدرة الكهربائية للطاقة الكهروضوئية الشمسية المركبة التراكمية بمعدل متوسط قدره 101% سنويا،” وأن “عدد مشاريع الطاقة الشمسية الكهروضوئية الجديدة ارتفع من 18 في عام 2011 إلى 94 في عام 2013 وإلى 259 في عام 2015 .”

تبرز الحاجة لمثل هذه المشاريع في بلدٍ ترتفع فيه أسعار الكهرباء فضلاً عن نقص العرض. ويتراوح انقطاع التيار الكهربائي اليومي من ثلاث ساعات في بيروت إلى 18 ساعة في الجبال، مما يجبر أولئك المقتدرين على شراء مولداتٍ شخصية. وذكر مقالٌ نشر في مجلة Energy Procedia في عام 2011 “من الواضح أن مؤسسة كهرباء لبنان تعاني من نقصٍ كبير في قدرتها الإنتاجية ومواردها البشرية، ولن تكون فعالة دون وضع استراتيجية وطنية تتضمن حلولاً جذرية.” ونتيجةً لذلك، فإن المزيد والمزيد من الشركات، والأفراد والمؤسسات الصحية، تتحول إلى الطاقة الشمسية كبديلٍ أرخص وأكثر موثوقية.

وقال مارون شرباتي، رئيس جمعية بيئتنا، المتخصصة في مجال الطاقة المتجددة، لـFanack: “كانت هناك زيادة كبيرة في الطلب على الطاقة المتجددة منذ عام 2010، وخاصة بالنسبة للمستشفيات والمصانع والشركات. وبفضل الحوافز التي يقدمها برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي والحكومة من خلال القروض المدعومة، فإن المزيد من الناس قادرين على التحول إلى تكنولوجيا الطاقة الشمسية الكهروضوئية.”

وأضاف: “أصبح الناس يعون مخاطر التلوث وأهمية البيئة ويحرصون على عدم تلويثها بالكربون. ولا تزال الوفورات التي يمكن تحقيقها على المدى الطويل (من حيث تكاليف الكهرباء) غير مجدية بما فيه الكفاية لأن التكنولوجيا مكلفة للغاية، ولكنها ستنخفض مع مرور الوقت إذا ما استخدمها المزيد من الناس.”

ووافقه الخوري قائلاً “إنها تجارة مزدهرة.” وأضاف “لبنان من بين أفضل عشر دولٍ في مجال استخدام سخانات المياه بالطاقة الشمسية، ونمونا السنوي للطاقة الشمسية الكهروضوئية من بين أعلى المعدلات في العالم. أنا حقاً فخورٌ بما يجري.”

شعورٌ بالفخر يشاركه به شرباتي، الذي أكد على حقيقة أنّ “إنفاق المال على الطاقة المتجددة بدلاً من الوقود الثقيل جيدٌ للبيئة تماماً كما هو لصحة الإنسان؛” منفعة كبيرة في بلد يحتل المركز الثالث عشر على مؤشر التلوث البيئي لعام 2017.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: mwessale ©Flickr | mwessale ©Flickr

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Economy / Could Solar Power Solve Lebanon’s Electricity Crisis?

Could Solar Power Solve Lebanon’s Electricity Crisis?

Lebanon solar energy farm
A solar farm in Lebanon. Photo mwessale/Flickr

On 28 March 2017, the Lebanese cabinet approved a plan to reform the national energy sector, which was devastated during the 1975-1990 civil war and has been plagued by corruption ever since. One of the measures requested by Cesar Abi Khalil, Minister of Energy and Water, is the generation of solar power via facilities on the coast. These facilities should reinforce a growing interest and market in solar power in Lebanon.

The story of solar power in Lebanon starts in 2010, with the launch of the 2011-2015 National Energy Efficiency Action Plan (NEEAP). This encompasses 14 initiatives, half of them for renewable energy including solar power. In 2011, the Lebanese Center for Energy Conservation (LCEC), a government advisory body that was initiated in 2005 as a joint project between the Ministry of Energy and Water and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), became independent. The LCEC drew up the original NEEAP and, in 2015, a new national plan that comprised the NEEAP 2016-2020 and the National Renewable Energy Action Plan 2016-2020 (NREAP), officially launched by the new government on 12 January 2017.

“Our objective is to reach 12 per cent of renewable energy by 2020, and we are already at 6.7 per cent,” Pierre El Khoury, director of the LCEC, told Fanack. “The national plan has a budget of around $1.7 billion, with 70-80 per cent of it targeting the private sector. It’s the ministry’s first target to include the private sector in all the activities.”

The four points of the national plan are based on hydroelectric power, wind turbines, solar water heaters and solar photovoltaic (PV – solar panels and the equipment to connect it to the electricity network). In 2010, the Lebanese Central Bank (BDL) offered five-year, interest-free loans to help people buy solar water heaters. This is still the case, with the ministry now contributing an additional $200 to cover the purchase costs. “We have an objective of one million square metres of solar water heaters by 2020,” El Khoury said. “Following massive demand, we are already way over our annual targets.”

Solar PV currently generates more than 40 megawatts (MW), thanks to incentives such as the National Energy Efficiency and Renewable Action (NEEREA), a national financing mechanism that allows private sector entities to apply for subsidized loans for renewable energy projects. “We aim to reach 150MW by 2020 with these rooftop installations,” El Khoury said. “But for more significant results, we are directing our efforts towards solar power stations and solar fields. In open spaces like the mountains and Beqaa Valley, we could build 12 solar power stations that we can connect to the national electricity network with a total capacity of 180MW. The minister has already called for offers from private companies and received 265 tenders. We are now writing the specifications for the project, which will help these companies to submit serious proposals.” He hopes that the constructions will be complete by the end of 2018.

These various initiatives and incentives seem to be paying off. According to the UNDP’s 2016 Solar PV Status Report for Lebanon, ‘solar PV electricity capacity in 2015 was 0.47 per cent of EDL’s [Electricité du Liban, state-owned company in charge of national electricity distribution] total electricity capacity and 0.11 per cent of EDL’s total annual electricity generation’. The report also stated that ‘from 2010 until the end of 2015, cumulative installed solar PV electricity capacity has grown by an average rate of 101 per cent per year’, and that ‘the number of new solar PV projects increased from 18 in 2011 to 94 in 2013 and to 259 in 2015’.

The projects are much needed in a country where electricity rates are high and the supply insufficient. Daily power outages range from three hours in Beirut to 18 hours in the mountains, forcing those who can afford it to buy personal generators. A 2011 article published in the journal Energy Procedia states that ‘it is obvious that EDL suffers a great shortage in its generating capacity and human resources and would not be effective without conducting a national strategy that includes radical solutions’. As a result, more and more companies, individuals and health institutions are turning to solar power as a cheaper and more reliable alternative.

“There has been a strong increase in demand in renewable energy since 2010, especially for hospitals, factories and businesses,” Maroun Charabati, president of Beeatoona, a company specialized in renewable energy, told Fanack. “Thanks to the incentives provided by the UNDP and the government through subsidized loans, more people are able to switch to solar PV technology.”

He added: “People are aware about pollution and the environment and are careful about their carbon footprint. The savings you could make on the long-term (in terms of electricity costs) are still not good enough because the technology is very expensive, but it will decrease with time if more people use it.”

“It’s a booming business,” El Khoury agreed. “Lebanon is among the top ten countries for solar water heater use and our yearly growth for solar PV is among the highest in the world. I am really proud of what is going on.”

It is a pride shared by Charabati, who underlined the fact that “spending money on renewable energy instead of heavy fuel is good for the environment but also for people’s health” – a major benefit in a country that ranks 13th in the 2017 Pollution Index.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: mwessale ©Flickr | mwessale ©Flickr



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!