فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / وُجوه / البطريرك الماروني بشارة بطرس الراعي: شخصية مثيرة للجدل في منطقة مضطربة

البطريرك الماروني بشارة بطرس الراعي: شخصية مثيرة للجدل في منطقة مضطربة

Lebanon faces- Bechara Boutros al-Rahi
بشارة بطرس الراعي. Photo Polaris

خلف بشارة بطرس الراعي، الذي ولد في 25 فبراير 1940 في حملايا، التابعة لجبل لبنان، نصر الله بطرس صفير، في منصب بطريرك أنطاكية الماروني ورئيس الكنيسة المارونية الكاثوليكية في 25 مارس 2011. ومع ذلك، يُعرف على أفضل وجه بقدرته على إثارة الجدل.

ارتاد مدرسةً للرهبة اليسوعية، وثم انخرط في صفوف الرهبة المريمية المارونية عام 1962 وسيّم كاهناً في عام 1967. ومن عام 1967 إلى عام 1975، كان مسؤولاً عن البرامج العربية لراديو الفاتيكان، وأيضاً في عام 1975، حاز على درجة الدكتوراه في الحقوق الكنسية والمدنية.

بدأ يكتسب مكانةً بارزة في عام 1986، عندما عيّن أسقفاً برتبة نائب بطريركي، لرئيس الكنيسة المارونية. وفي السنوات التالية تتالت التعيينات في تعاقبٍ سريع: في 9 يونيو 1990 انتخب أسقف مدينة جبيل الساحلية، وعام 2003 انتخب أمين سر السينودس الماروني، وفي عام 2009 عين رئيساً للجنة الأسقفية الكاثوليكية للإعلام. وبعد ثماني سنوات، وبعمر الـ71 عاماً، انتخب بطريرك المارونيين بأكثر من ثلثي الأصوات. وكما هو مألوف بالنسبة للبطريركيين المارونيين، أضيف إلى اسمه بطرس، الاسم المعرّب لبيتر، تيمناً بالقديس بطرس، أحد التلاميذ الاثني عشر والأسقف الأول لكنيسة أنطاكية قبل أن ينتقل إلى روما.

وخلال أحد الصلوات في الفاتيكان في 24 نوفمبر 2012، منح البابا بندكت السادس عشر، الراعي لقب كاردينال، ليصبح رابع بطريرك ماروني يتم منحه اللقب، وواحد من ستة كهنة، جميعهم غير أوروبيين، تم منحهم اللقب في ذلك اليوم. ومن غير المعتاد أن يختار البابا غير الأوروبيين فحسب، إلا أن منح اللقب كان يهدف إلى التعبير عن الطابع الدولي للكنيسة الكاثوليكية، كما صرح البابا. فقد قال أمام الرعية أنّ الكنيسة الكاثوليكية تنتمي إلى الجنس البشري بأكمله، وليس لمجموعة واحدة فحسب، وهي كنيسة لجميع الشعوب.

وبصفته كاردينال، كان الراعي مرشحا للبابوية بعد استقالة البابا بنديكتوس السادس عشر في 11 فبراير 2013، وشارك بصفته كاردينال ناخب في الانتخابات الرئاسية التي انتخب فيها البابا فرنسيس في الشهر التالي. بدأت علاقته مع البابا الجديد عندما سماه البابا كعضوٍ في مجمع التعليم الكاثوليكي في نوفمبر 2013.

وبعد ما يزيد بقليل عن الستة أشهر، أي في مايو 2014، أثار الراعي الجدل بسفره إلى إسرائيل للانضمام إلى البابا في جولته في الأراضي المقدسة. فلبنان لا يزال من حيث المبدأ في حالة حربٍ مع إسرائيل، على الرغم من توقيع هدنةٍ في عام 1949، ولم يقم أي بطريرك ماروني آخر قط بزيارة البلاد. دافع عن هذه الزيارة التي أدانها حزب الله باعتبارها “خطيئة تاريخية،” موضحاً لوكالة فرانس بريس أن “البابا سيزور الأراضي المقدسة والقدس. سيذهب الى أبرشية البطريرك، لذلك من الطبيعي أن يرحب البطريرك به.”

كما وسبق وأغضب معارضين النظام السوري بدعم حق حزب الله في حمل السلاح في لبنان، وحذر من استيلاء الإسلاميين على سوريا في حالة الإطاحة بالرئيس بشار الأسد. ونتيجةً لهذا التعليق، رفض الرئيس أوباما مقابلة الراعي خلال زيارته للولايات المتحدة، بعد أشهرٍ فقط من انتخابه في عام 2011 كبطريرك.

الدعم الدولي والمشاركة السياسية

حقق الراعي نجاحاً أكبر بالاجتماع مع قادة فرنسا. وباعتبار فرنسا مؤيدةً لمسيحيي الشرق الأوسط، فقد رحب الرئيس فرانسوا هولاند ثلاث مرات بالراعي في قصر الإليزيه، في أبريل 2013 و2015، وكان آخرها في مايو 2016. وبصفته كاردينال، التقى بالرئيس السابق نيكولا ساركوزي في عام 2011، عندما حصل على الصليب الأكبر من وسام جوقة الشرف. واستغل الفرصة لدعوة المجتمع الدولي إلى الاعتراف بـ”حياد لبنان،” في مواجهة عدم الاستقرار الإقليمي المستمر وتدفق نحو 1,5 مليون لاجىء سوري. وكانت تعليقاته موجهة أساساً إلى حزب الله، الذي يساعد في دعم نظام الأسد.

وعلى الرغم من استمرار الحرب في سوريا واعتراضات واسعة من السياسيين اللبنانيين، حضر الراعي اجتماع المجلس البطريركي عام 2015 في العاصمة السورية، دمشق. وخلال الاجتماع، دعا إلى السلام وتحدث عن محنة الملايين من اللاجئين فى المنطقة. وقال في عظته: “لنفكر معاً، ونوحد جهودنا وكلمتنا وصوتنا وعملنا، ونحمل مع شعبنا في سورية والعراق، وفي مختلف بلدان الشرق الاوسط حيث يعانون، نحمل معا صليب الفداء، وفينا رجاء كبير ان يوم الجمعة ليس اليوم الاخير. فبعد الموت القيامة.”

وعلى الرغم من أن تعليقاته وأعماله لا تزال تثير الجدل في الأوساط السياسية والدينية، يعتبر شخصية دينية موقرة لأكثر من مليون ماروني في لبنان. فقد كرّم في كتاب نشرته إيزابيل ديلمان في العام الماضي حمل عنوان وسط الفوضى: مقاومة مسيحي في الشرق (Au coeur du chaos. La résistance d’un chrétien d’Orient)، حيث توضح الكاتبة من خلال سلسلة من المقابلات، منصبه المعقد كممثلٍ ديني لمنطقة تواجه حرباً وصراعاً وفوضى.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: polaris ©Hollandse Hoogte | polaris ©Hollandse Hoogte

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Home / Lebanon / Faces / Maronite Patriarch Bechara Boutros al-Rahi: A Controversial Figure in a Turbulent Region

Maronite Patriarch Bechara Boutros al-Rahi: A Controversial Figure in a Turbulent Region

Lebanon faces- Bechara Boutros al-Rahi
Bechara Boutros al-Rahi. Photo Polaris

Born on 25 February 1940 in Himlaya, a locality of Mount Lebanon, Bechara Boutros al-Rahi succeeded Nasrallah Boutros Sfeir as the Maronite patriarch of Antioch and head of the Maronite Catholic church on 25 March 2011. Yet it is his ability to court controversy for which he is arguably best known.

He attended a Jesuit school, then entered the Mariamite Maronite Order in 1962 and was ordained as a priest in 1967. From 1967 to 1975, he was responsible for the Arabic programmes of Vatican Radio. Also in 1975, he received a PhD in canon and civil law.

He began gaining prominence in 1986, when he was consecrated as auxiliary bishop of Antioch, the primate of the Maronite church. In the years thereafter, the appointments followed in quick succession: on 9 June 1990, he was elected bishop of the coastal city Jbeil, in 2003, he was elected secretary of the Maronite synod and in 2009, he was appointed president of the Lebanese Episcopal Commission for the Media. Eight years later, aged 71, he was elected patriarch of the Maronites with more than two thirds of the votes. As is customary for Maronite patriarchs, he took the additional name Boutros, the Arabic version of Peter, after Saint Peter, one of the twelve apostles and the first bishop of Antioch before he moved to Rome.

During a service in the Vatican on 24 November 2012, al-Rahi was created a cardinal of the Catholic Church by Pope Benedict XVI, becoming the fourth Maronite patriarch and one of six priests, all non-Europeans, to be appointed that day. It is unusual for the pope to select only non-Europeans, but the appointments aim to reflect the international character of the Catholic Church, the pope said. The Catholic Church belongs to the whole human race, not just one group, and is a church for all peoples, he told the congregation.

As a cardinal, al-Rahi was a candidate for the papacy following the resignation of Pope Benedict XVI on 11 February 2013, and participated as a cardinal elector in the conclave that elected Pope Francis the following month. His relationship with the new pope began when the pope named him a Member of the Congregation for Catholic Education in November 2013.

A little over six months later, in May 2014, al-Rahi provoked controversy by travelling to Israel to join the pope on his Holy Land tour. Lebanon is still technically at war with Israel, although a truce was signed in 1949, and no other Maronite patriarch has ever visited the country. He defended the visit, which Hezbollah condemned as a ‘historic sin’, telling the French press agency AFP that “the pope is going to the Holy Land and Jerusalem. He is going to the diocese of the patriarch, so it’s normal that the patriarch should welcome him.”

He had previously angered opponents of the Syrian regime by supporting Hezbollah’s right to bear arms in Lebanon, and warning of an Islamist takeover of Syria if President Bashar al-Assad is overthrown. As a result of this comment, President Obama declined to meet al-Rahi during his visit to the United States, only months after his 2011 election as patriarch.

International Support and Political Involvement

Al-Rahi has had rather more success meeting the leaders of France. As France is a supporter of Middle Eastern Christians, al-Rahi was welcomed to the Elysée Palace three times by President François Hollande, in April 2013 and 2015 and, most recently, in May 2016. As a cardinal, he had already met former President Nicolas Sarkozy in 2011, when he was awarded the Grand Cross of the Legion of Honour. He used the opportunity to call on the international community to recognize Lebanon’s “neutrality”, in the face of continued regional instability and an influx of some 1.5 million Syrian refugees. His comments were aimed mainly at Hezbollah, which is helping to prop up al-Assad’s regime.

Despite the ongoing war in Syria and widespread objections from Lebanese politicians, al-Rahi attended the 2015 Assembly of Patriarchs in the Syrian capital Damascus. During the assembly, he called for peace and spoke of the plight of the millions of refugees in the region. “We shall reflect together united in thought, words and deeds. Together we shall carry the concerns of our people in Syria and Iraq as well as in various countries of the Middle East where suffering occurs, hopeful that the passion of Good Friday will be followed on the third day by the Resurrection,” he said in his homily..

Although his comments and actions continue to stir controversy in political and religious circles, he is a revered spiritual figure for Lebanon’s more than one million Maronites. He is celebrated in a book published last year by Isabelle Dillmann entitled Au coeur du chaos. La résistance d’un chrétien d’Orient (‘At the heart of chaos. The resistance of an Eastern Christian’). Presented as a series of interviews, it serves to elucidate his complex position as a religious representative of a region facing war, conflict and chaos.

image_pdfimage_print