فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / وُجوه / الممثل والمخرج المسرحي اللبناني هشام جابر: الرهان على الجمهور سر نجاح الفن الراقي

الممثل والمخرج المسرحي اللبناني هشام جابر: الرهان على الجمهور سر نجاح الفن الراقي

Hisham Jaber
Photo: Hisham Jaber ©Fanack

في أول شارع الحمرا بقلب بيروت العامر بالبشر، وتحت طابقين من سطح الأرض كمن أخفى كنزاً، يقع مترو المدينة؛ أحد أكثر المسارح المستقلة حيوية في العاصمة اللبنانية. فعلى مدى عقود، اجتذب شارع الحمرا الفنانين والمؤدين والشعراء والأكاديميين، وخلف هذه الحالة الفنية الثرية يقف فنان آمن بأن الفن الأصيل والراقي يستطيع أن يخلق مساحته وسط الفوضى، إنه هشام جابر، مؤسس ومدير مترو المدينة.

منذ بداية مشواره الفني الذي بدأه عام 2002، كان الدافع الرئيسي لهذه المسيرة الناجحة هو إيمانه الشديد بالجمهور. في الواقع، يُنتج جابر أعماله ويعرضها اعتماداً على ذوق الجمهور وشباك التذاكر وحده، مبتعداً عن مصادر التمويل الخارجية لينشأ فناً مستقلاً حقاً. كما أنه معروفٌ أيضاُ بتجاربه الجديدة، بل وأيضاً التدخل بالنوع المسرحي، إذ بدأ بعرض مسرحي يقف الجمهور فيه على خشبة المسرح بينما كان الممثلين فوق المقاعد.

كانت تلك هي البداية مع مسرحية “كولا، بربير، متحف، دورة،” والتي كانت مشروع تخرجه من قسم المسرح بكلية الفنون بالجامعة اللبنانية، وهي الكوميديا السوداء التي تناولت الحرب الأهلية (1975-1990) بين جيل عاشها وجيل آخر ولد في قلبها.

تستمر أعمال جابر المسرحية منذ ذلك التاريخ وحتى عام 2006، والتي قدم خلالها مسرحيات “صولو أو صولو” عام 2003 والتي تناولت الحرب الأهلية أيضاً وتأثيرها الاجتماعي على الناس والتي استخدم فيها التكنولوجيا واللقطات المصورة على خشبة المسرح، ثم “خبز عربي” عام 2005 والتي تروي قصة 5 شخصيات لبنانية يعيشون بعد 3 ملايين عام ويتفقون على هدم النظام السياسي فيأكلون بعضهم، ثم “قصة موت نجيب براكس”، التي قدمها في نفس العام.

إلا أنه بعد سلسلةٍ من التفجيرات والاغتيالات السياسية، التي حصلت غالبيتها في بيرت وضواحيها، انتقل جابر إلى مصر في عام 2006. تمثل مشروعه الأول في انتاج فيلم وثائقي عن فن السينما في مصر، لكنه في الحقيقة كان على موعد مع تاريخ الفن المصري الذي ظل لعقود طويلة قاطرة الفن في البلاد العربية من المحيط إلى الخليج. وبعد جهد بحثي عميق صنع جابر 12 فيلماً وثائقياً عن تاريخ السينما المصرية منذ بدايتها وحتى عام 2000، ليكتشف كنوزاً من الأعمال والشخصيات والأبطال ستُثري مشواره الفني. وأثناء إقامته في القاهرة بدأ في كتابة مسرحيته “عرض غير مُخصص للجمهور العريض،” قبل أن يُقرر العودة إلى بيروت عام 2008 ليستأنف دوره في صناعة الفن في بلده.

لطالما كان يحلم هشام بإقامة مكان ثقافي وفني يُقدم فناً حقيقياً راقياً. بدأ بتحقيق الحلم في اليوم الأول من عام 2010 بتأسيسه مترو المدينة. وفي مقابلةٍ مع فَنَك، قال لنا: “كنت مهموماً بمكانة الفن، وإيجاد مكان للفن الحقيقي غير المبتذل، فأنشأنا مترو المدينة، ذلك المترو الذي تتنوع محطاته بتنوع الأذواق في الفن، ليجد كل واحد من الجمهور المحطة التي تُناسب ذائقته الفنية بل ويُشارك في تطويرها برأيه واقتراحاته الدائمة.”

راهن جابر على الجمهور فلم يخذله، لسنوات وسنوات استمر مترو في تقديم العروض اعتماداً على إيرادات شباك التذاكر والخدمات المقدمة للجمهور من مطعم المترو وباره، وكانت البداية الصعبة ومُكلفة ورغم تذبذب الإيرادات صعوداً وهبوطاً إلا أنه لا يزال مصمماً على رهانه على جمهوره المتذوق للفن.

وخلال شهوره الأولى قدم مترو المدينة عدة عروض مسرحية وغنائية ناجحة كان منها “العميل الملتهب والراقصة المزدوجة وعام التفنيص وعين الشيطان وكباريه شوز”.

جاء عرضه الأكبر والأهم والأكثر نجاحاً واستمرارية “هشك بشك،” وهو عرض مسرحي غنائي يصور قاهرة المعز في بدايات القرن العشرين خلال العصر الذهبي للموسيقى المصرية. فقد كان من المُقرر أن يستمر العرض لمدة شهرين فقط لكنه فرض نفسه على قمة النجاح ليستمر لسبع سنوات حتى الآن ولا يزال يُعرض في أوقاتٍ مختلفة حتى الآن.

يقول هشام “هشك بشك هو نتاج التجارب والخبرات السابقة وكان وش السعد علينا وعوضنا عن كل الخسارات التي سبقته.”

وبجانب التأليف والإخراج، بدأ هشام بتطوير مشروع فني آخر، “مترو فون،” وهو مشروع لإحياء تاريخ لبنان الموسيقي من خلال إعادة الأعمال المنسية ولكن المهمة التي قام بها 16 مطرباً وملحناً مثل “فريال كريم، وسامي الصيداوي، وسامي حوّاط، ونهاوند وغيرهم. واكب هذا المشروع فرحة عارمة من أُسر وأهالي هؤلاء الفنانين بل وبعض الذين لا زالوا على قيد الحياة منهم وحضروا الحفلات الخاصة.

وأوضح جابر، “مترو فون هو بحث عن رحلة الفن وتاريخ صناعته في مصر وسوريا ولبنان،” وأضاف “لنكتشف ما غاب عنّا جميعاً بعد أن اكتفينا بالمنتج النهائي من الفنانين الذين لا يزالون حاضرين في الذهن الفني مثل فيروز وأم كلثوم، وأردنا التغلب على مُعضلة حب الجمهور للتراث الذي يعرفه بالبحث الدقيق المُشجع له على استكمال هذا البحث والتتبع لثبر أغوار تاريخ الفن.”

وتابع جابر القول، “هناك جزء من الطرب منسي في هذه المدينة، فأردنا أن نُعيده إلى مكانه بتقديم وجبة طرب دسمة لجمهور مشتاق لجلسات الطرب بمفهومها القديم وحفلاتها الطويلة، ورغم أنها كانت مغامرة أن تُقدم أغنية واحدة في حفلة كاملة لمدة ساعة إلا أنها كانت مغامرة ناجحة وناجحة جداً، فمنذ بدايته عام 2013 وحتى الآن لا يزال حضور الجمهور مبهر ومتجدد، فبعد أن كان مُقتصراً على كبار السن أصبح المسرح الآن يمتلئ بكل الفئات العمرية.”

وبجانب انشغاله بالفن الراقي وعمله على إعادته تقديم المشهد الثقافي اللبناني كان الفنانين نفسهم جزءاً من مشروعه، فأصبح آخر يوم سبت من كل شهر موعداً لاكتشاف المواهب الجديدة بمترو، حيث يقدم إليه كل من يتطلع إلى الدخول إلى عالم السحر، وكان لهذا فضل في اكتشاف كثير من الفنانين الذين صاروا اليوم نجوماً في سماء بيروت مثل شنتال بيطار وكوزيت شديد وروزيت وغيرهم.

وهو ما يقول عنه هشام “يجب أن يكون الفنان راضٍ كي يُقدم عملاً جيداً، نحن بالأساس شركة وليس جمعية وكل فنان مُشارك في عرض هو جزء من هذه الشركة وأجره جزء من تقدير المكان له وهو ما يجعله راضٍ عن نفسه وعن ما يقدمه.”

“لقد وجدت في مترو مساحة وذائقة موسيقية أحبها وألوان فنية أكسبتني خبرة ومهارات جديدة، فبجانب كوني عازفة أصبحت آخذ أدوار مسرحية داخل العروض، وأُصقِل حضوري على المسرح بمهارات مسرحية جديدة، ولقد كان لهشام دور كبير في فتح آفاق جديدة على أنواع وأساليب في الفن والموسيقى، أنا وكثير من الموسيقيين” تقول فرح قدّور، الفنانة والعازفة اللبنانية التي بدأت مشوارها في مترو المدينة.

وتُضيف قدّور “إن أهم ما يُميز هشام جابر هو أذنه الموسيقية، فهو يتمتع بذكاء شديد في اختياراته للمغنيين الذين سيقومون بتأدية أدوار المغنيين السابقين على سبيل المثال، كما أن له مهارات بحثية مبهرة، فهو لا يكتفي بالبحث السطحي عن الموسيقيين مثلاً، ولكنه يتنقل ويزور أمكان إقامتهم ويلتقي بأهلهم وأسرهم، ولقد كان لمترو ومشاريعه الفنية تلك دور عظيم في إثراء الفن في لبنان، فالمشهد الموسيقي والفني قبل مترو المدينة يختلف كثيراً كما بعده.”

بدوره، اختتم جابر حديثه معنا بالقول، “أعتقد بأن أهم ما صنعه مترو هو أنه أعطى أمل بإمكانية عمل شيء جيد وتقديم فن حقيقي، وهو ما أعاد الحياة بنسبة ما إلى الفن في لبنان وعادت المسارح تنافس السينمات الآن، لقد حلمنا بأن نُنشئ واحة في مدينة تضج بالمشاكل مُستغلين هوامش الحرية التي تتمتع بها، وأن نُعيد لصُناع الفن ثقتهم بالجمهور وخوض مغامرة الإنتاج اعتماداً على شباك التذاكر، ذلك الجمهور الذي سيعرف طريقه للفن الحقيقي وسط مشهد يمتلئ بألوان أخرى.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Fanack

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Faces / Lebanese Actor and Theatre Director Hisham Jaber: Betting on the Audience for Artistic Success

Lebanese Actor and Theatre Director Hisham Jaber: Betting on the Audience for Artistic Success

Hisham Jaber
Photo: Hisham Jaber ©Fanack

Two floors below al-Hamra Street in Beirut’s cultural heart is Metro al-Madina, one of the most vibrant independent theatres in the Lebanese capital. For decades, al-Hamra Street has attracted artists, performers, poets and academics. Operating against this rich artistic backdrop is Hisham Jaber, actor, director and founder of Metro al-Madina, who believes that art can create a unique space in the midst of chaos.

Since the beginning of his artistic career in 2002, Jaber’s main motivation has been his strong belief in the audience. In fact, he tailors his pieces according to the audiences’ tastes and the revenues generated from ticket and bar sales, staying away from external sources of funding to create art that is truly independent. He is also known for experimenting with and even inverting the genre. For one show, the audience stood on stage while the actors performed in the seating area.

His first production was Cola, Barber, Museum and Course, his graduation project for the Faculty of Arts at the Lebanese University. The play was a black comedy that examined the civil war (1975-1990) from the perspective of one generation that had lived through the war and another generation that was born in the middle of it.

He continued to produce theatrical works until 2006. Solo or Solo in 2003 also dealt with the civil war and its social impact and incorporated footage from the conflict. In 2005, he produced Arabic Bread about five Lebanese characters who come back to life after 3 million years and agree to destroy the political system by devouring one another. The Death of Najib Brax was presented the same year.

Following a series of bombings and political assassinations, most of them in and around Beirut, Jaber moved to Egypt in 2006. His first project was producing a documentary about Egyptian cinema, but it became an opportunity to delve into the history of Egyptian art, which for decades has been the locomotive of art across the Arab world. The project evolved into 12 documentaries charting the history of Egyptian cinema since its inception through to 2000.

Along the way, Jaber explored the works, performances and artistic figures that had inspired and enriched his own career. During this period, he began to write his play Not for the Public, before deciding to return to Beirut in 2008.

Jaber has always aspired to create a cultural and artistic arena that presents real and enduring art. His dream became a reality with the founding of Metro al-Medina in 2010. In an interview with Fanack, he said: “I was preoccupied with the prestige of art, and I was working to have a real venue for genuine art, not a cheap one, so we established Metro al-Madina, which was to have diverse stages and tastes of art, and the audience could choose the taste that suits it. The audience would even participate in the development of such art by contributing opinions and suggestions.”

Jaber bet on the audience, a risk that is still paying off a decade later. Although the fluctuating revenues present financial and creative challenges, Jaber remains convinced that art lovers will always support quality art that meets their tastes.

In its first months, Metro al-Madina presented several successful theatrical and musical performances, including The Flaming Agent, The Double Dancer, The Year of False News, Devil’s Eye and Cabaret Show.

The most important and successful production to date is Hishik Bishik, a cabaret show set in early 20th-century Cairo during the golden era of Egyptian music. Originally intended to run for two months, the show’s success allowed it to continue for seven years, and it is still regularly reprised.

“Hishik Bishik is the product of previous experiences, and it was a successful experience that compensated us for all the losses that preceded it,” Jaber said.

In addition to writing and directing, Jaber developed Metrophone, a project to revive Lebanon’s musical history by bringing back forgotten but significant works by 16 singers and composers including Faryal Karim, Sami al-Sidawi, Sami Hawat and Nahawand. The project was enthusiastically supported by the families and relatives of these artists, some of whom attended the concerts and even performed their songs themselves.

“Metrophone is a quest for art and the history of the industry of art in Egypt, Syria and Lebanon,” Jaber explained. “It helps us discover what we have all missed after we satisfied ourselves with the final products of artists who are still present [in our artistic memory], such as Fairuz and Um Kulthum. We wanted to overcome the dilemma of the public’s love of heritage, which the public knows very well, by thoroughly searching for the roots of the history of art.

Jaber continued, “There is a part of the music that has been forgotten in this city, so we wanted to bring it back to its rightful place by offering a strong dose of singing to a public that is yearning for long and old singing and music concerts. Although it was an adventure to perform one song at a one-hour-long concert, it was a very successful adventure. Since [Metrophone’s] inception in 2013, the audience turnout has been impressive and consistent. After the presence of the audience was limited to the elderly, the theatre is now full of all age groups.”

Jaber’s preoccupation with quality art and his efforts to reintroduce it to Lebanon’s cultural scene has always gone hand-in-hand with his interest in and fair treatment of the artists behind it. The last Saturday of each month is dedicated to discovering and nurturing new talent, which has helped to launch the careers of stars such as Chantal Bitar, Colette Chedid and Rosette.

“An artist needs to be satisfied to be able to perform well,” Jaber explained. “We are basically a company, not an association, and every artist involved in a show is part of this company, and the remuneration is part of the appreciation shown by the place for him or her. This makes artists satisfied with themselves and with what they present.”

Artist and musician Farah Qaddour, who got her start in Metro al-Madina, said, “I found in the Metro a space and a musical taste that I love and artistic colours that have allowed me to gain new experiences and skills as well as a stronger presence on stage by learning new theatrical skills. Hisham Jaber played a major role in opening new horizons on the types and techniques of art and music, for me and for many other musicians.”

She added, “What distinguishes Hisham Jaber most is his musical ear. He is very intelligent in his selection of singers who will perform the roles of [real-life] singers, for example, and he has impressive research skills. He is never content with a superficial search for musicians, but visits them wherever they are. Metro al-Madina and its art projects have played a great role in enriching art in Lebanon, as the music and art scene before Metro al-Madina was very different.”

Jaber concluded, “I think the most important achievement of the Metro was that it gave hope that something good can be done and that real art can be presented, which has brought life back to art in Lebanon and allowed theatres to compete with cinemas. We dreamed of creating an oasis in a city full of problems, exploiting the margins of freedom that the city has. This is in addition to restoring to the art makers their confidence in the audience and allowing them to take chances and produce art based on revenues. This audience will find its way to true art in a scene that is full of many other colours.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Fanack | ©Fanack

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.