فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / لبنان / وُجوه / جوليا بطرس: مُطربة لبنانية مثيرة للجدل وأيقونة الثورة

جوليا بطرس: مُطربة لبنانية مثيرة للجدل وأيقونة الثورة

Specials- Julia Boutros
المغنية اللبنانية جوليا بطرس أثناء حفلها الذي أقامته في 10 نوفمبر 2006 في بيروت ويعود ريعه لصالح ضحايا الهجوم الأخير الذي شنته إسرائيل على حزب الله. Photo AFP

“يا ثوارالأرض، ثوروا عالطغيان، ثوروا عالحرمان خلّي الغضب يدمّر، ريح الثورة تهدّم، تهدم الاصنام يا ثوار الارض…” هكذا يصدح صوت جوليا بطرس في ساحات وشوارع وأزقة الثورات في لبنان والعالم العربي.

ولدت جوليا بطرس في العاصمة اللبنانية بيروت في العام 1968، لعائلةٍ مسيحية ذات جذورٍ جنوبية، حيث كبرت وترعرت إلى جانب شقيقها الموسيقي زياد بطرس، الذي لحّن العديد من أغانيها، وشقيقتها المخرجة اللبنانية صوفي بطرس.

تلقت جوليا تعليمها في مدرسة راهبات الوردية، حيث أبانت عن موهبتها الموسيقية المبكرة وأنضمت إلى جوقة المدرسة لتصبح مرنمة فيها. وفي الرابعة عشر من عمرها، أي في العام 1982، أطلقت ألبومها الغنائي الأول باللغة الفرنسية من توقيع الموسيقار اللبناني إلياس الرحباني تحت عنوان ” C’est la vie.”

تزامن إطلاق جوليا بطرس لألبومها مع الإجتياح الإسرائيلي للبنان، لتصبح سريعاً صوت الأحرار وإنعكاساً لتتطلعات الشعب اللبناني بالسيادة والحرية والإستقلال ورفض الظلم والتبعية. فصدح صوتها وللمرة الأولى باللغة العربية ومن ألحان شقيقها زياد مطلقةً الصرخة لجنوبها المقاوم للاجتياح الاسرائيلي. في هذه الأغنية، التي أصبحت نشيداً ما زال يتردد صداه في مختلف الساحات العربية، غنت جوليا “غابت شمس الحق.”

في العام 2018 وبعد غياب طويل عن أرضها عادت جوليا بطرس إلى الجنوب، حيث تألقت على مسرح صور الأثري وأنشدت أروع أغانيها التي أنتجتها على مدى أكثر من ثلاث عقود من الزمن.

وفي عام 1987، أطلقت جوليا ألبوماً غنائياً ثانياً تحت عنوان “وين مسافر،” الذي اعتقد البعض أن هذه الأغنية كانت مهداة لحبيبها الذي أضحى فيما بعد زوجها، إلياس بوصعب، يوم قرر مغادرة لبنان للدراسة والعمل في الخارج. وعلى مدى العقد التالي، أصدرت بطرس أربع ألبوماتٍ غنائية: “حكاية عتب” في العام 1991، و”يا قصص” في العام 1994، و”القرار” في العام 1996، و”شي غريب” في العام 1998.

وفي عام 1996، دخلت جوليا القفص الذهبي بزواجها من بوصعب، الذي ينحدر من ضهور الشوير، وهي بلدة جبلية تقع إلى شرق بيروت. أصبح بوصعب رئيساً لبلدية ضهور الشوير قبل أن يصبح نائباً في البرلمان ونائب الرئيس التنفيذي للجامعة الأمريكية في دبي. وعلى الرغم من مغادرته لبنان لأكثر من عشر سنوات، إلا أنه لم يقع في حب أي فتاةٍ أخرى، بحسب ما صرحت به جوليا ذات مرة في إحدى المقابلات. وعند عودته، لاحقها، خاصة بعد أن تلقى إتصالاً من والدها قائلاً له “إذا قالتلك جوليا ما بدّها تحكيك ما تصدّق، رجاع احكيها،” فوضع خطة محكمة حتى تمكن من إقناعها الزواج به، وأنجبا ولدين هما سامر وطارق.

في الشكل وكما يظهر للعلن، يبدو زواج جوليا بطرس مثالياً، فلا يتفق ما يظهر للناس عن حياتها العاطفية مع فحوى أغانيها الرومانسية التي لا تقل أهمية عن أغانيها السياسية والثورية. تقول جوليا في إحدى أغانيها، “أنا مش إلك بقفص صغير بدك ياني كون وأنا بدي طير.” ثم تضيف في أغنيةٍ أخرى لتقول “لا بأحلامك لا بأوهامك رح ترجع يوم تلاقيني.”

في عام 2000 شهد لبنان تحرير منطقة الجنوب اللبناني من الإحتلال الإسرائيلي. لم تتمكن جوليا من إخفاء فرحتها بهذا النصر فأقامت حفلاً غنائياً في الجنوب اللبناني إحتفالاً بهذا النصر. وفي نفس العام، حصلت على وسام الأرز الوطني لمساهمتها الفعالة في المقاومة من خلال فنها وصوتها لتفتتح بذلك ألفية جديدة كانت مليئة بالإنتاجات الفنية. فقد أصدرت بين العامي 2001 و2016 ثمانية ألبوماتٍ غنائية لاقت معظم أغانيها رواجاً واسع النطاق.

ولعل أبرز هذه الألبومات هو ألبوم “أحبائي،” الذي أصدرته عقب حرب إسرائيل على لبنان في العام 2006، التي عرفت بحرب تموز.

ففي السياسة لا تخفي جوليا بطرس، بالرغم من كونها مسيحية، دعمها للمقاومة الإسلامية المسلحة أو ما يعرف بحزب الله، وقد ظهر هذا الدعم جلياً في مناسبات عديدة. فبعد الحرب الإسرائيلية على لبنان التي إستمرت لأكثر من ثلاثين يوماً بعض خطف جنديين إسرائليين من قبل عناصر حزب الله على الحدود اللبنانية الجنوبية، دمرت الكثير من البنى التحتية والمنشأت اللبنانية والعسكرية وأسفر عنها الكثير من القتلى والجرحى.

وسط كل هذا الدمار، قررت جوليا بطرس إصدار ألبوم غنائي تحت عنوان “أحبائي،” وأحيت مجموعة من الحفلات الغنائية في عدة بلدانٍ عربية. كلمات أغنية “أحبائي” مستوحاة من إحدى رسائل الأمين العام لحزب الله السيد حسن نصرالله “لرجال الله في الميدان،” حسب تعبيره. فصدح صوت جوليا بطرس في أرجاء الوطن العربي منشدتاً: “بكم سنغير الدنيا ويسمع صوتنا القدر بكم نبني غداً أحلى بكم نمضي وننتصر.”

يومها لم تكن الحرب في سوريا قد بدأت، ولا الحرب في اليمن، ولا أحداث 7 مايو 2008 قد حدثت في بيروت. آنذاك، كان هناك إجماعٌ على صورة الأمين العام لحزب الله السيد حسن نصرالله أكثر مما بات عليه الحال بعد تدخله في الحرب في وسوريا.

وبعد ثلاث سنواتٍ من الحملة من خلال موسيقاها، تمكنت جوليا من جمع نحو ثلاثة ملايين دولار أميركي كما أعلنت والتي عاد ريعها لدعم عوائل الشهداء.

تلعب السياسة دوراً أساسياً في الحياة الإجتماعية اللبنانية إذ إنها تؤثر بشكل مباشر على حياتهم اليومية. كما ينقسم الشارع اللبناني بين مؤيدٍ ومعارضٍ لسياسة حزب الله الداخلية والخارجية، ويؤخذ البعض من المعارضيين لهذه السياسة على جوليا بطرس دعمها العلني للمقاومة ولتصرفات حزب الله وأمينه العام السيد حسن نصرالله، فيعتبر البعض أن حفلات جوليا بطرس أقرب إلى المظاهرة، الثورة أو التمجيد بحزب الله وجمهوره، بدل أن تكون حفلاتها حفلات فنية صرفة. فهم يعتبرون أن “مَا لِقَيْصَرَ لِقَيْصَرَ وَمَا لِلّهِ لِلّهِ،” أي بمعنى آخر يجب على الفن أن يبقى في الفن والسياسة في السياسة.

وعلاوةً على ذلك، فإن جوليا صديقة لأسرة الأسد الحاكمة في سوريا، كما تعتبر الربيع العربي اختراعاً إسرائيلياً يهدف إلى تشتيت العرب عن قضيتهم الرئيسية، أي احتلال فلسطين. هذا ما دفع الكاتبة السورية ديمة ونوس لنشر مقالٍ في الصحيفة الإلكترونية، المدن، بعنوان “جوليا بطرس… صديقة المستبد،” حيث كتبت “ليس كلام جوليا بطرس غريباً. الغريب هو أن تظهر لتعلن موقفاً مؤيداً لثورة الشعب وانتفاضته الحقيقية ضد نظامه القمعي والمتوحش.”

لا تقتصر المعارضة على ميول جوليا السياسية على تجربتها في ديارها فحسب، ففي الأردن، على سبيل المثال، وقبل حفلها هناك عام 2018، تصدر وسم أردنيون_ نرفض_ وجود_ جوليا المواقع الإلكترونية، معبراً عن غضب النشطاء لعلاقتها الوثيقة مع الأسد ودعمها للنظام السوري.

بل ذهب ياسر أبو هلالة، المدير العام السابق لقناة الجزيرة، إلى أبعد من ذلك، مشيراً على تويتر: “هذا الوسم #اردنييون_نرفض_وجود_جوليا يمثلني، من تلتقط صور مع #بشار_الأسد[الرئيس السوري] تماماً مثل من تلتقط صور مع نتياهو ل[رئيس الوزراء الاسرائيلي]، من يقف ضد التطبيع [مع اسرائيل] يقف ضد التشبيح. سيمتلئ المدرج بالآلاف [من محبي جوليا بطرس] ولن يفكروا بنصف مليون قتلهم بشار، أن تكون مع #فلسطين يعني أن تكون مع المظلوم بمعزل عن جنسه أو مذهبه.”

من جهته، قال الناشط على تويتر أحمد دراوشة: “بالمناسبة، لم تذكر #جوليا_بطرس كلمة فلسطين في أغانيها ولا مرّة. لم تغنّ لفلسطين، غنّت للجيوش غنّت للعدو المجهول وللحرية المحدودة وللثورات الافتراضيّة، وغنّت للسلاح، أي نعم، للسلاح لا لفلسطين.”

ومع ذلك، يُجمع كل من المؤيدين والمعارضين أن جوليا تتمتع بصوتٍ جميل بالإضافة إلى التزامها الفني والأخلاقي. فقد استخدم صوتها في العديد من الاحتجاجات والمظاهرات التي تُقيمها الأحزاب السياسية والجماعات المدنية. فقد غنت في السابق: “أنا بتنفس حرية .. ما تقطع عني الهوا… ولا تزيدا كتير عليي .. أحسن ما نوقع سوا… ما بتقدر أبدا تلغيني .. بدك تسمعني و تحاكيني… مافيك تلون هالكون .. عبعضو بذات اللون.”

وفي وجه هذه المعارضة، ناضلت جوليا بطرس للحفاظ على القضايا الإنسانية والاجتماعية التي اعتنقتها منذ الطفولة، وهي الدفاع عن الحق في الحرية والكرامة والسيادة.

لكن التحدي الأكبر الذي يواجهها هو الحفاظ على إرثها الفني، خاصة مع ظهور الفنانات اللواتي يعتمدن بشكلٍ كبير على مظهرهن بدلاً من صوتهن في تسويق أغانيهن، حيث أن الأغلبية منهنّ يفتقرنّ إلى المضمون إلا أنهنّ يتمتعن بشعبيةٍ كبيرة في لبنان. لذلك، سيكون من المهم لها أن تستمر في جذب جمهورٍ واسع في الوطن وعبر العالم العربي، ذلك أنه ينظر إليها كأيقونة للثورة تتأرجح ما بين الخط الفاصل للفن والسياسة.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Faces / Julia Boutros: Controversial Lebanese Singer and Revolutionary Icon

Julia Boutros: Controversial Lebanese Singer and Revolutionary Icon

Specials- Julia Boutros
Lebanese singer Julia Boutros performs late 10 November 2006 in Beirut during a concert for the benefit of young victims of the recent Israeli offensive against Hezbollah. Photo AFP

“O revolutionaries of the earth, rebel against tyranny and deprivation. Let your anger destroy because the revolution tears down the idols, O revolutionaries of the earth.”

These lyrics by Julia Boutros were heard in streets and squares across Lebanon and the Arab world during the Arab Spring.

Boutros was born in the Lebanese capital Beirut in 1968 to a Christian family from southern Lebanon. Her brother Ziad is a musician and has composed many of her songs. Her sister Sophie is a film director.

Boutros was educated at the Rosary Sisters School, where she first showed her musical talent and became a cantor in the school choir.

In 1982, at the age of 14, she released her first album in French, titled C’est la vie, which carried the signature of Lebanese musician Elias Rahbani.

The release of the album coincided with the Israeli invasion of Lebanon , and Boutros became the voice of the Lebanese people’s aspirations for freedom, sovereignty and justice. She then sang in Arabic for the first time, and her brother Ziad composed the music. The song was intended to show solidarity with southern Lebanon, which was resisting the Israeli invasion. In the song, which became a hit across the Arab world, she sang that ‘the sun of truth has gone down’.

In 2018, after a long absence from Lebanon, Boutros returned to the south of the country, where she gave a memorable concert in the ancient city of Tyre, singing songs from a career spanning more than three decades.

In 1987, Boutros released a second album, Where Are You Travelling? Some believe that the title track was dedicated to her lover and later husband, Elias Bou Saab, after he left Lebanon to study and work abroad. Over the following decade, Boutros released four albums: A Story of Blame in 1991, O Stories in 1994, The Decision in 1996 and Something Strange in 1998.

In 1996, Boutros married Bou Saab, who comes from Dhour el-Chouier, a mountain town to the east of Beirut. He was the mayor of Dhour el-Chouier before becoming a member of parliament and executive vice president of the American University in Dubai. Although he left Lebanon for more than ten years, he did not fall in love with any other girl, Boutros once said in an interview. On his return, he pursued her, especially after he received a telephone call from her father who told him that if Julia said that she did not want to speak to him, he should not believe her and should try and speak to her again.

He set about convincing her to marry him. They eventually had two sons, Samer and Tarek.

From the outside, Boutros’ marriage appears to have been successful. Yet this public image is inconsistent with the content of her romantic songs, which were no less important than her political and revolutionary songs. In one song, she sings, ‘I am not yours, and you cannot put me in a small cage, while I want to fly freely.’ In another song, she sings, ‘Not in your dreams or illusions, you will see me again one day.’

In 2000, the Israeli occupation came to an end. Boutros celebrated the victory by organizing a concert in southern Lebanon. The same year, she won the National Cedar Medal for her active contribution to the resistance through her music, heralding a new millennium of artistic productions. Between 2001 and 2016, she released a further eight albums, most of which were very popular. Perhaps the most prominent was My Beloved People, which she released following the war with Israel in 2006, known as the July war.

Politically, Boutros, although she is Christian, openly supports Hezbollah, the armed Islamic resistance movement. Such support has been evident on many occasions. The war with Israel, which lasted for more than 30 days following the abduction of two Israeli soldiers by Hezbollah on the southern Lebanese border, destroyed much of the country’s infrastructure and facilities and left many people dead or wounded.

In the midst of this destruction, Boutros released My Beloved People, and she gave concerts in several Arab countries. The lyrics of the title track were inspired by a message from Hezbollah Secretary General Sayyed Hassan Nasrallah, who addressed “the men of God in the field”. In the song, Boutros asked: ‘What price should we pay to change the world and make fate hear our voice? What price should we pay to build a more beautiful future? And what price should we pay to keep going and win?’

The song preceded the wars in Syria and Yemen and the 7 May 2008 incidents in Beirut. At the time, Nasrallah was more popular than after he intervened in the war in Syria .

After three years of campaigning through her music, Boutros was able to able to raise $3 million, which she donated to the families of martyrs.

Politics plays a major role in Lebanon as they directly affect daily life. Lebanese society is divided between supporters and opponents of Hezbollah’s internal and external policies. Some of these opponents denounce Boutros’ support of the movement and consider her concerts to be more like pro-Hezbollah rallies than purely artistic events.

They believe in the saying ‘Give to Caesar what is Caesar’s, and to God what is God’s.’ In other words, art should stay within the boundaries of art, and politics should stay within the boundaries of politics.

Moreover, Boutros is a friend of Syria’s ruling al-Assad family and she regards the Arab Spring as an Israeli invention intended to distract Arabs from their main cause, the occupation of Palestine. This prompted Syrian writer Dima Wannus to publish an article in the Al-Mudun online newspaper titled ‘Julia Boutros, Friend of Tyrant’.

Wannus wrote that Boutros’ opinion was not new and it would have been strange for her to show support for the true revolution of the people and their uprising against their repressive and savage regime.

Opposition to Boutros’ political leanings is not limited to her home country. In Jordan, for example, ahead of her concert there in 2018, the Twitter hashtag #Jordanians_We Reject_Julia_Presence was trending, expressing the anger of activists at her close relationship with the al-Assad and her support for the Syrian regime.

Yasser Abu-Hilalah, former general manager of al-Jazeera, went further, posting on Twitter: ‘I support the hashtag #Jordanians_We Reject_Julia_Presence. Taking pictures with [Syrian President] Bashar al-Assad is like taking pictures with [Israeli Prime Minister] Benjamin Netanyahu, and whoever supports normalization [with Israel] is like those supporting thuggery. The auditorium will be filled with thou-sands of [fans of Julia Boutros] and they will not think of the half a million people who were killed by Bashar al-Assad. To be on the side of Palestine means to be on the side of the oppressed, regardless of their race or sect.”

For his part, Twitter activist Ahmad Darawshah said: “Julia Boutros did not mention the word ‘Palestine’ in any of her songs, not even once. She did not sing for Palestine; she only sang for armies and for the unknown enemy, unlimited freedom and virtual revolutions, and she only sang to glorify the weapon, yes the weapon, not Palestine.”

However, both supporters and opponents unanimously believe that Boutros has a beautiful voice as well as artistic and ethical commitment. Her voice has been used in many protests and demonstrations held by political parties and civil groups. It was she who once sang: ‘I breathe freedom, so do not deny me that air, otherwise, we will die together… You can never abolish me; you have to listen to me and speak to me…. This is a colourful world and we cannot make it one colour only.’

In the face of this opposition, Boutros has struggled to preserve the humanitarian and social causes that she has embraced since childhood, namely defending the right to freedom, dignity and sovereignty.

But her more serious challenge is maintaining her artistic legacy, particularly with the rise of female artists who largely rely on their appearance rather than voice to market their songs, most of which lack content yet are quite popular in Lebanon. Therefore, it will be important for her to continue to attract a broad followers at home and across the Arab world because she is seen as a revolutionary icon who blurs the line between art and politics.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.