فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / وُجوه / نبيه بري: الناجي الأكبر في لبنان

نبيه بري: الناجي الأكبر في لبنان

Lebanon- Nabih Berri
المصدر: AFP ©AFP ⁃ Mahmoud ZAYYAT

ولد نبيه بري في سيراليون عام 1939 لوالدين مغتربين، وأصبح محامياً في لبنان بعد تخرجه عام 1963. وقبل الحرب الأهلية اللبنانية (1975-1990)، بدأ بالانخراط في حركة أمل الجديدة، التي قادها في عام 1980. وهو رئيس البرلمان منذ عام 1992.

تأثرت حياة بري ومسيرته بالتاريخ اللبناني، ولكن أيضاً بتطور المجتمع الشيعي في البلاد، الذي لم يكن يتمتع بالكثير من التأثير السياسي ما قبل الحرب الأهلية بالرغم من كون الشيعة ثالث أكبر جماعة دينية. ونظراً لنظام التمثيل النسبي في لبنان، يتقلد منصب الرئيس دوماً مسيحي ماروني، ورئيس الوزراء مسلم سُنيّ ورئيس البرلمان شيعي. تحسنت مكانة الشيعة في البلاد مع وصول رجل الدين الشيعي، إيراني المولد، موسى الصدر، وحسين الحسيني، مما منح المجتمع الشيعي شعوراً بالهدف وباتت أمل تحمل مسمى “حركة المحرومين” في عام 1974.

تعتبر حركة أمل وحزب الله أكبر حزبين شيعيين في لبنان. فقد كانا حلفاء منذ الحرب الأهلية، عندما كان حزب الله يعتمد على المساعدات العسكرية من إيران، في حين كان لحركة أمل، برئاسة بري، دورٌ شرعي في الحكومة. ومع ذلك، تعتمد قوة أمل على رأسمالية المحاباة، بينما استفاد حزب الله من إفلات المليشيات والأحزاب ما بعد الحرب من العقاب. وعلى الرغم من التنافس المستمر على النفوذ، إلا أن أياً من الحزبين اتخذ أي خطواتٍ للإنفصال.

أثناء نشاطه السياسي كطالب، انضم بري إلى حركة البعث العربي عند تخرجه، إلا أنه انجذب إلى حركة أمل فيما بعد بسبب جاذبية الصدر. وعند اندلاع الحرب فقدت الحركة أهميتها، ومع ذلك، فإن اختفاء الصدر في أغسطس 1978 أثناء رحلةٍ إلى ليبيا وتتويجه بطلاً أعاد تنشيط الحزب. فقد أصبح الشيعة متورطين، بشكلٍ متزايدٍ، في الحرب وبدأوا في تنظيم دفاعهم وتحالفهم. وفي هذا السياق، أصبح بري زعيماً جديداً لأمل.

ولا يزال الشيعة يصفون أفعال وقرارات بري خلال الحرب بالحاسمة. ففي فبراير 1984، وبعد أن هاجمت القوات الحكومية مناطق شيعية، دعا إلى إنهاء القتال، حيث تمت الاستجابة لدعوته ذلك أن العديد من الجنود كانوا من الشيعة. وبالتعاون مع الزعيم الدرزي وليد جنبلاط، سيطر بري بعد ذلك على بيروت الغربية وعزز موقفه بدعمٍ من سوريا، الحليف الرئيسي للشيعة.

وفي عام 1984، أصبح بري وزيراً للعدل ووزيراً للجنوب. ولكن على الرغم من توقيع اتفاق دمشق الثلاثي مع جنبلاط وزعيم الميليشيات المارونية إيلي حبيقة، استمرت الحرب الأهلية، مما هدد مصداقيته. كما اشتبك مع الحزب القومي الاشتراكي الدرزي، ثم مع حزب الله حول مسألة النفوذ والاشتباكات بين الميليشيات، وتم تهميشه سياسياً من قبل الرئيس الحالي ميشال عون، الذي شكل حكومةً عسكرية إلى أن تم حل حكومته في نوفمبر 1989. تم تعيين بري وزيراً للموارد المائية والكهربائية، فضلاً عن تقلده منصب وزير الإسكان والتعاونيات حتى ديسمبر 1990، وثم وزيراً للدولة لمدة ستة أشهر في عام 1992 قبل أن يصبح رئيساً للبرلمان في العام نفسه.

واصل بري صعوده السياسي على مدى العقد التالي، حيث فاز في الانتخابات البرلمانية لعام 2000 في الجنوب بقائمته الخاصة، لائحة المقاومة والتنمية، ومرةً أخرى في عام 2005. كما فاز في انتخابات عام 2009 بقائمته “التحرير والتنمية.” وفي انتخابات مايو 2018، ترشح حزبه ببرنامجٍ يركز على الحفاظ على السيادة اللبنانية، ومكافحة الجريمة والمخدرات، وتعزيز قوة الجيش. وفي عدة مناسبات، دعا المغتربين إلى التصويت لصالح القوائم المرتبطة بحزب الله وحركة أمل، إذ قال: “في كل الحالات انتبهت واستدعي انتباهكم الآن الى ان وطنكم الام بكل جهاته وتوجيهاته إعتبر مما حصل وانتبه اليكم ليس كقوة مالية فحسب كقرش ابيض في اليوم الاسود، بل كقوة بشرية انتخابية تحتاج اليها كل فئاته وتحالفاتها […] لا تخافوا من الإنتخابات بل خافوا عليها.”

وإلى جانب تأييده للتوازن الطائفي والحصة الدينية للسلطة في البلاد، يؤيد بري أيضاً الخدمات العامة، حيث وقف في عاميّ 2013 و2014 مع المعلمين والموظفين المدنيين والجنود لرفع رواتبهم. كما تربطه علاقات قوية مع سوريا وحليفتَي سوريا، إيران وروسيا، اللتان ظهرتا على لوحات الإعلانات في جنوب لبنان إلى جانب لوحات الإعلانات التي تدعو إلى إعادة انتخاب فلاديمير في روسيا.

يُنظر إلى بري على أنه ذكيٌ ومخلصٌ وصادق، إلى جانب امتلاكه غرائز سياسية جيدة والقدرة على التغيير عند الحاجة من أجل الحفاظ على موقعه وحزبه. ومع ذلك، لا تخلو الأجواء من وجود خصومٍ سياسيين له. ففي أواخر يناير 2018، وصفه وزير الشؤون الخارجية، جبران باسيل، بـ”البلطجي.” دفع هذا التعليق المئات من أنصار بري إلى النزول إلى شوارع العاصمة بيروت ومدينة صور الجنوبية للاحتجاج على التيار الوطني الحر الذي يقوده باسيل، والذي أسسه عون. فقد كان بري يعارض انتخاب عون في عام 2016 واتهمه بالسعي “للإطاحة بالشيعة السياسية” في لبنان، محذراً من أن مثل هذه المحاولة قد تؤدي إلى حربٍ أهلية جديدة. ومن أجل احتواء الموقف، طلب بري في النهاية من أنصاره التوقف عن الاحتجاج في 1 فبراير.

من المُقدر بقاء بري في السياسة، كحال معظم زعماء الحرب في لبنان، إلى أن يلفظ أنفاسه الأخيرة. بل إن مشاركته المكثفة ومنصبه الحالي طويل الأمد في البرلمان، يجعل منه شخصيةً لا يمكن تجنبها في الحياة السياسية اللبنانية.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Mahmoud ZAYYAT | ©AFP ⁃ Mahmoud ZAYYAT

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Faces / Nabih Berri: Lebanon’s Great Survivor

Nabih Berri: Lebanon’s Great Survivor

Lebanon- Nabih Berri
Photo AFP

Born in Sierra Leone in 1939 to expatriate parents, Nabih Berri became a lawyer in Lebanon after graduating in 1963. Before the Lebanese civil war (1975-1990), he became involved with the new Amal Movement, which he led from 1980. He has been the parliamentary speaker since 1992.

Berri’s life and career have been shaped by Lebanese history but also by the evolution of the country’s Shiite community, which had little political influence before the civil war despite being the third-largest religious group. Due to Lebanon’s system of proportional representation, the president is always a Maronite Christian, the prime minister a Sunni and the parliamentary speaker a Shiite. The Shiites’ position improved with the arrival of the Iran-born cleric Musa al-Sadr and Hussein al-Husseini, who gave a sense of purpose to the community and founded Amal as the ‘movement of the dispossessed’ in 1974.

Amal and Hezbollah are the two largest Shiite parties in Lebanon. They have been allies since the civil war, when Hezbollah was dependent on military aid from Iran, and Amal, with Berri at the helm, had a legitimate role in the government. Yet Amal’s power relies on crony capitalism, while Hezbollah gained from the post-war impunity for militias and parties. Despite ongoing competition for influence, the two parties have not taken any steps to separate.

A politically active student, Berri joined the Arab Baath Movement upon graduating but was later attracted to the Amal Movement by al-Sadr’s charisma. When the war broke out, the movement lost significance. However, al-Sadr’s disappearance in August 1978 during a trip to Libya and his subsequent elevation to hero reinvigorated the party. The Shiites became increasingly involved in the war and started organizing their own defence and alliances. It was in this context that Berri became Amal’s new leader.

Berri’s actions and decisions during the war are still considered as decisive by the Shiites. In February 1984, after Shiite areas were attacked by government forces, he called for an end to the fighting. His call was heeded because many of the soldiers were Shiites. In cooperation with the Druze leader Walid Jum-blatt, Berri then took control of Beirut West and bolstered his position with support from Syria, a key Shiite ally.

In 1984, Berri became minister of justice and minister for the South. Yet despite signing the Damascus tripartite agreement with Jumblatt and the Maronite militia leader Elie Hobeika, the civil war continued, threatening his credibility. He clashed with the Druze Socialist Party, then with Hezbollah for questions of influences and clashed between militias, and was politically sidelined by Michel Aoun, the current president, who formed a military government until his cabinet was dissolved in November 1989. Berri was appointed minister of hydraulic and electric resources as well as of housing and cooperatives until December 1990, then minister of state for several months in 1992 before becoming the parliamentary speaker the same year.

He continued his political climb over the following decade, winning the 2000 parliamentary elections in the south with his Resistance and Development list and again in 2005. He also won the 2009 elections with his Liberation and Development list. In the May 2018 elections, his party ran on a programme focused on preserving Lebanese sovereignty, fighting crime and drugs, and strengthening the army. On several occasions he called on expatriates to vote for the lists affiliated with Hezbollah and Amal. He said: “In all cases, I ask for your attention because your country has learned a lesson and has paid attention to you, not only as a financial force but also as an electoral force that all groups and alliances are in need of. […] Don’t be afraid of the elections, but be afraid for them [if you do not vote].”

Close to the confessional balance and religious share of the country’s power, he is also pro-public service, and in 2013 and 2014 stood with teachers, civil servants and soldiers to increase their salaries. He also has strong ties with Syria and Syria’s allies Iran and Russia, appearing on billboards in southern Lebanon next to billboards calling for Vladimir’s re-election in Russia.

Berri is perceived as intelligent, dedicated and honest, with good political instincts and the ability to change when needed in order to maintain his position and party. However, he is not without his political opponents. In late January 2018, Foreign Affairs Minister Gebran Bassil called Berri a “thug”. The comment prompted hundreds of Berri’s supporters to take to the streets of the capital Beirut and the southern city of Tyre to protest against the Free Patriotic Movement, led by Bassil and founded by Aoun. Berri was opposed to Aoun’s election in 2016 and accused him of seeking to “topple political Shiism” in Lebanon, warning that such an attempt could lead to a new civil war. In order to contain the situation, Berri eventually asked his supporters to stop protesting on 1 February.

Berri is meant to last in politics, like most of Lebanon’s warlords, until his last breath. His heavy involvement and current long-lasting position in the Parliament make of him an unavoidable figure of Lebanese political life.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.