فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / وُجوه / نشيد مقاومة نادين لبكي

نشيد مقاومة نادين لبكي

تعتبر نادين لبكي واحدةً من أنجح المخرجين العرب في الذاكرة الحديثة، فقد حازت الناشطة اللبنانية البالغة من العمر 45 عاماً على إشادةٍ من النقاد على أحدث أفلامها “كفرناحوم” الحائز على جوائز، والذي يحكي قصة فتى لبناني فقير يبلغ من العمر 11 عاماً يدعى زين، الذي يفر من والديه المسيئين له ومن ثم يقاضيهم بسبب جلبه إلى هذا العالم وفشلهم في الاعتناء به.

طاقم الممثلين بالكامل ظهروا لأول مرة على الشاشة، باستثناء لبكي نفسها، التي لعبت دور محامية زين. معظمهم كانوا من اللاجئين أو أشخاص لا يمتلكون وضعاً قانونياً. فزين، على سبيل المثال، هو في الواقع لاجىء سوري ارتاد المدرسة لفترةٍ قصيرة فقط وكان أمياً أثناء تصوير الفيلم. أما يوردانوس شيفيراو، التي لعبت دور رحيل، وهي والدة أحد الرضع، هي أيضاً لاجئة غير شرعية من إريتريا كانت تعمل بشكلٍ غير قانوني في مطعم قبل أن تلتقي بها لبكي.

الناقد السينمائي في صحيفة نيويورك تايمز أ. سكوت، وصف كفرناحوم بـ”الحكاية مترامية الأطراف المأخوذة من الحياة الواقعية،” وفيلم “يتجاوز تقاليد الأفلام الوثائقة أو الواقعية.” ففي نهاية المطاف، لا يناسب الفليم أي نوع تقليدي.

وقالت لبكي لصحيفة لوس أنجلوس تايمز داخل مقر الأمم المتحدة في نيويورك بعد عرض الفيلم: “لم يكن الممثلون يمثلون.” وأضافت “يأتي الممثل إلى موقع التصوير على أتم الاستعداد، ويعرف حواره، ويكون مستعداً لأن يكون شخصاً مختلفاً، ليكون مكان شخصٍ آخر. لم يكن هؤلاء الأشخاص يمثلون: فالأوضاع تشبه إلى حدٍ كبير ما عاشوه في حياتهم الحقيقية، ولم يشعروا أنهم أصبحوا شخصاً آخر.”

Lebanon- Nadine Labaki
Photo AFP

جزءٌ من عامل الجذب، وأيضاً إثارة الجدل، التي تحيط بفيلم كفرناحوم أنه يعرض وصفاً حقيقياً لبيروت. ففي حين يصف العديد من السياح بيروت بباريس الشرق الأوسط، إلا أن الحقيقة المجردة أقل جاذبية. أو بالأحرى، تحمل بيروت بعض التشابه مع العاصمة الفرنسية بكيفية تهميشها وإهمالها للفقراء على نحوٍ متزايد.

يتجلى ذلك من خلال أحد المشاهد الافتتاحية لكفرناحوم، التي تظهر الأطفال وهم يركضون ويلعبون بقطعٍ معدنية في أحد الأحياء الفقيرة في بيروت. تُشير لبكي إلى أن المشهد البائس، يُظهر المدينة كما هي ويعكس عنوان الفيلم.

فقد قالت للإذاعة الوطنية العامة “(كفرناحوم) تستخدم عادةً في الأدب الفرنسي للدلالة على الفوضى، للدلالة على الجحيم، وعدم النظام.”

ومع استضافة لبنان لأكثر من مليون لاجىء، قالت لبكي إن مشاهد التسول لأطفال الشوارع أجبرتها على إنتاج فيلمٍ عن واقعهم اليومي. تتذكر يوماً ما عندما كانت عائدة إلى المنزل من حفلةٍ في الصباح الباكر ومرت بجانب أم وطفلها اللذان كانا يغفوان إلا أنهما لم يتمكنا من النوم.

وقالت للإذاعة الوطنية العامة، “لم نمنحهم الحق في النوم. صدمني ذلك: كل ما سيعرفه هذا الطفل خلال السنتين أو الثلاث سنوات القادمة هو هذا الرصيف الذي يبلغ طوله نصف متر. إنه ملعبه الوحيد.”

أمضت لبكي، التي حركتها الرغبة للكشف عن معاناتهم، أربع سنواتٍ في بناء علاقاتٍ مع أكثر الأسر المهمشة في بيروت. في رحلتها، رأت الظلام االذي يُطبق على اللاجئين والأشخاص غير المسجلين. فغالباً ما تكون هذه الأحياء غير معروفةٍ للمقيمين الذين يعيشون ويجتمعون في أحياء بيروت المعروفة والنابضة بالحياة.

وعلى الرغم من صدقه، يصف بعض النقاد كفرناحوم بـ” بورنوغرافيا الفقر،” وهو وصفٌ يزعج لبكي. من وجهة نظرها، إن البديل الوحيد لعدم إظهار الأحياء الفقيرة في بيروت- التي تشكل جزءاً كبيراً من المدينة- هو بعدم عرض أي صورٍ مزعجة على الإطلاق.

وبحسب ما قالته لصحيفة جلوب أند ميل، “أعترف أني لم أكن مكانهم. إلا أني أمضيت أربع سنواتٍ أتحدث إليهم، لأصبح صوتهم.”

في حين أن لبكي لم تعش أبداً في الشارع، إلا أنها عانت من مشقةٍ غير مسبوقة. نادين، التي ولدت عام 1974، أي قبل عامٍ فحسب من الحرب الأهلية التي استمرت 15 عاماً، نشأت على صوت الرصاص والقنابل التي تردد صداها حولها. للتأقلم مع الحرب، كانت تستأجر في الغالب أشرطة فيديو من متجرٍ مجاور لبيتها، مما منحها مهرباً من الصراع.

في سن الـ12، أدركت لبكي أنها ترغب في أن تصبح مخرجة أفلام، ويعتبر كفرناحوم ثالث أفلامها الكبرى ولربما الأكثر إثارةً للجدل. وإذا ما وضعنا إتهامات كون الفيلم “بورنوغرافيا الفقر” جانباً، إلا أن النقد الأكثر صدقاً للفيلم يفترض ضمناً أن على الفقراء عدم إنجاب الأطفال، بدلاً من لعنهم فحسب العوامل الاجتماعية والسياسية التي توّلد وباء الفقر في بيروت.

لكن ما لا يمكن الاعتراض عليه هو أن كفرناحوم غيّر حياة الناس. وقالت لبكي إن الفيلم كان يتشاور مع الأمم المتحدة منذ البداية. ففي نهاية المطاف، يتطرق الفيلم إلى القضايا التي حاولت الأمم المتحدة التخفيف منها منذ أمدٍ طويل، بما في ذلك فقر الأطفال وإهمال الأطفال وعمل الأطفال وأزمة اللاجئين السوريين التي أدت إلى اجتثاث مئات الآلاف من الأطفال من بيئتهم وتعرضهم للصدمة.

وقال لبكي لصحيفة لوس أنجلوس تايمز: “ساعدت [وكالة الأمم المتحدة للاجئين] زين على الوصول إلى النرويج.” وأضافت “إنه هناك الآن، مع والديه، يطل على البحر. تشبه هذه قصةً خيالية.”

كما تساعد الأمم المتحدة أيضاً الأطفال الآخرين الذين ظهروا في الفيلم، مما يعطي لبكي الأمل في أن حياتهم يمكن أن تتغير للأفضل أيضاً. أما بالنسبة لبقية الأطفال المحرومين في لبنان، يمكن للفيلم تقديم الكثير لمساعدتهم في محنتهم.

هذا لا يعني أن لا قيمة لزيادة الوعي، فقد أعرب الناقد سكوت من صحيفة نيويورك تايمز عن أسفه من أن شراء وبيع الأطفال- وهو موضوع مهيمن جداً في الفيلم- يعكس الواقع البائس حيث الروابط البشرية لا تعدو أكثر من كونها مجرد صفقاتٍ بشرية.

وكما يقول، فإن الأسوأ من ذلك هو أن الفيلم يُبين كيف يتم الدفع بأطفال الشوارع ليصبحوا “ماديّين بارعين،” الأمر الذي يتجلى بمحاولات زين دائماً عقد صفقةٍ ما أو محاولته الوصول لشيء ما في كل مرة كان يتعامل فيها مع أحد البالغين أو أحد أقرانه.

ومع ذلك، يعتقد النقاد أن كفرناحوم نجاحٌ لا لُبس فيه. وكما يقول سكوت، هو ليس مجرد قصة خيالية أو عمل فني، بل هو أيضاً صيحات احتجاج ونشيدٌ للمقاومة.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Faces / Nadine Labaki’s Anthem of Resistance

Nadine Labaki’s Anthem of Resistance

Nadine Labaki is one of the most successful Arab directors in recent memory. The 45-year-old Lebanese activist has received critical acclaim for her latest award-winning film, “Capernaum”, which tells the story of an impoverished 11-year-old Lebanese boy named Zain who flees his abusive parents and then sues them for bringing him into the world and failing to care for him.

The entire cast were first-time actors, with the exception of Labaki herself, who played Zain’s lawyer. Most were refugees or people without legal status. Zain, for instance, is in fact a Syrian refugee who has been to school only for a short time and was illiterate at the time the film was being made. Yordanos Shiferaw, who plays the mother of an infant, Rahil, is also an undocumented refugee, from Eritrea, who was working illegally at a restaurant before she was cast by Labaki.

The New York Times film critic A.O Scott called “Capernaum” a ‘sprawling tale wrenched from real life’ and one ‘that goes beyond the conventions of documentary or realism.’ The film, after all, doesn’t fit into a traditional genre.

“The [actors] weren’t acting,” Labaki told the Los Angeles Times inside the United Nations Headquarters in New York following a screening of the film.

Lebanon- Nadine Labaki
Photo AFP

“An actor comes to the set being prepared, knowing his lines, prepared to be a different person, to be in someone else’s shoes. These people weren’t acting: The situations are so similar to what they’ve lived in their real lives, they didn’t feel they were becoming someone else.”

Part of the appeal – and controversy – surrounding “Capernaum” is that it shows a very real depiction of Beirut. While many tourists describe Beirut as the Paris of the Middle East, the naked truth is less flattering. Or rather, Beirut bears some resemblance to the French capital by how it increasingly marginalizes and neglects the poor.

That is evident from one of “Capernaum”’s opening scenes, which shows children running and playing with pieces of metal in a Beirut slum. The dystopian scene, notes Labaki, captures the city as it is and reflects the film’s title.

“‘Capernaum’ is used usually in French literature to signify chaos, to signify hell, disorder,” she told National Public Radio (NPR).

With Lebanon hosting well over a million refugees, Labaki said that the sights of begging street children compelled her to produce a film about their daily reality. She remembers one encounter when she was coming home from a party in the early morning and passed by a mother and her child that were dozing off but couldn’t sleep.

“We were not giving them the right to sleep. It struck me: Everything that this kid is going to know for the next two, three years is this half-a-meter sidewalk. It’s his only playground,” she told NPR.

Motivated to expose their ordeal, Labaki spent four years building relationships with Beirut’s most marginalized families. On her journey, she saw the dark confines where refugees and undocumented persons languish. These districts are often unknown to residents that live and gather in Beirut’s vibrant yet gentrified districts.

Despite its honesty, some critics call “Capernaum” ‘poverty porn,’ a label that deeply troubles Labaki. In her view, the only alternative to not showing the impoverished neighbourhoods of Beirut – which comprises a large chunk of the city – is not showing any disturbing images at all.

“I agree that I haven’t been in their shoes. But I spent four years talking to them, to become their voice,” she told the Globe and Mail.

While Labaki has never lived on the street, she has endured unprecedented hardship. Born in 1974 – just a year before the Lebanon’s 15-year civil war – she grew up with the sound of bullets and bombs echoing around her. To cope with the war, she often rented video cassettes from a shop in her building, lending her an escape from the conflict.

By the age of 12, Labaki knew she wanted to become a film maker. “Capernaum” is now her third major film and perhaps the most controversial. Putting accusations of ‘poverty porn’ aside, a more honest critique of the film is that it implies poor people shouldn’t have children, rather than solely condemn the social and political factors spawning the poverty epidemic in Beirut.

But what can’t be disputed is that “Capernaum” has changed people’s lives. The film, said Labaki, was consulting with the UN from the very start. The film, after all, touches on issues that the UN has long tried to mitigate, including child poverty, child neglect, child labor and the Syrian refugee crisis which has uprooted and traumatized hundreds of thousands of children.

“The [UN refugee agency] helped Zain get to Norway,’ Labaki told the LA Times. “He’s there now, with his parents, overlooking the sea. It’s like a fairy tale.”

The UN is also helping other kids featured in the film, giving Labaki hope that their lives can change for the better too. But for the rest of the underprivileged children in Lebanon, the film can only do so much to help their ordeal.

That doesn’t mean there is no value in raising awareness. Scott, the critic from the NYT, laments that the buying and selling of children – a very dominant theme in the film — reflects the despairing reality where human bonds amount to little more than human transactions.

Worst still, he says that the film shows how street children are pushed to become ‘shrewd materialists,’ which is depicted by how Zain always tries to strike a deal or work an angle whenever he is dealing with adults or peers.

That said, critics believe that “Capernaum” is an unequivocal success. It’s not only a fairy tale and an opera, claims Scott, but it’s also a howl protest and anthem of resistance.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.