فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / وُجوه / ريا الحفار الحسن: “أول امرأة” في عالم السياسة اللبنانية

ريا الحفار الحسن: “أول امرأة” في عالم السياسة اللبنانية

Lebanon- Raya Haffar al-Hassan
ريا الحسن، أول وزيرة للداخلية في لبنان والعالم العربي، تحضر اول اجتماع وزاري في القصر الرئاسي في بعبدا، شرق العاصمة بيروت في 2 فبراير 2019. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

في عام 2009، كانت أول امرأةٍ تعيّن وزيرةً للمالية في لبنان، واليوم، تم تعيينها أول وزيرة للداخلية والبلديات، مما يجعلها أول امرأة لبنانية تظفر بهذا المنصب الهام في الحكومة. خطوة أولى للبلد الصغير، وخطوة كبيرة لريا الحفار الحسن.

ريا الحسن، المولودة عام 1967 لأسرة سُنيّة، تتبع حالياً تحالف 14 آذار، وهو تحالفٌ من الأحزاب السياسية التي تجمعها معارضتهم للنظام السوري، برئاسة رئيس الوزراء سعد الحريري من خلال تيار المستقبل، الذي يتزعمه الحريري أيضاً. وهي متزوجة من جناح الحسن ولديها ثلاثة أطفال. في 31 يناير 2019، تم تعيينها رسمياً كوزيرة للداخلية والبلديات في الحكومة الجديدة، المؤلفة من 30 عضواً. ومن الجدير بالذكر أنه تم تشكيل الحكومة بعد ما يقرب من تسعة أشهر من الجمود في أعقاب الانتخابات العامة في مايو 2018. يجعلها هذا التعيين أول إمرأة تتولى المسؤولية رسمياً عن الأجهزة الأمنية القوية في العالم العربي.

وعلى الرغم من كونها مسؤولةً عن الأمن، إلا أن خلفيتها في الأصل هي التجارة والتمويل. فقد حصلت على درجة البكالوريوس في إدارة الأعمال من الجامعة الأمريكية في بيروت عام 1987 وحاصلة على ماجستير إدارة الأعمال في التمويل والاستثمارات عام 1990 من جامعة جورج واشنطن في الولايات المتحدة. منذ ذلك الحين، كان مشوارها المهني مثمراً، سواء في المؤسسات الخاصة أو العامة. بدأت بالعمل كمساعدٍ لوزير المالية ومنسقة تنفيذ الشؤون المالية بين عامي 1995 و1999، ثم أصبحت مساعدة مدير العلاقات بقسم الخدمات المصرفية في بنك لبناني خاص. كما تطرقت إلى التنمية الدولية من خلال عملها لبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي كاختصاصية برنامج للحوكمة الاقتصادية واستهداف الفقر في عام 2005. اعتادت الظفر بالمركز الأول في بعض المناصب، وترأست أكبر مشاريع الشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص في البلاد والتي تهدف إلى تطوير مدينة طرابلس الساحلية.

لم يقتصر عملها على المصارف الخاصة وانتقلت إلى مهمات عامة أخرى، وعلى وجه الخصوص كمستشارة لوزير الاقتصاد والتجارة من عام 2000 إلى عام 2003 وعضو في مكتب رئيس الوزراء في الفترة من 2005 إلى 2009، وقادت مشاريع مختلفة وأشرفت على إصلاحات إدارة النفقات. كرست حياتها لعملها في عام 2009 عندما تم تعيينها وزيرة مالية، التي كانت سابقة بالنسبة للمرأة في لبنان، ومرةً أخرى في الحكومة الجديدة عام 2019.

ويعدّ منصبها الجديد شرفاً تعترف به الحسن وتأخذه بمزيدٍ من الحرفية. وخلال حفل التسليم والتسلم من سلفها نهاد المشنوق في 6 فبراير، قال الحسن:” كأول وزيرة للداخلية في لبنان عليّ أن أثبت قدرة المرأة على تولي حقيبة وزارية استثنائية.” وأضافت “سأسعى لترك بصمتي الخاصة.”

وقالت إن أولوياتها تتمثل في تحسين التعاون بين الأجهزة الوطنية، وحماية حقوق الإنسان ومعالجة مشاكل المرور الشهيرة في لبنان، فضلاً عن تطرقها لتحسين الظروف في السجون اللبنانية والتصدي للعنف المنزلي والعنف ضد المرأة على نطاق أوسع. لكن ستتمثل مهمتها الأساسية في إدارة العديد من الأجهزة الأمنية المتنافسة في كثير من الأحيان، والحفاظ على الاستقرار في وضعٍ صعب: حتى وقتٍ قريب، اضطرت البلاد إلى التعامل مع الجماعات المتشددة وانعكاسات الحرب المجاورة في سوريا على المناطق الحدودية.

كما تمثلت خطوتها الأولى كوزيرةٍ للداخلية في التخلص من عدد من حواجز الطرق الاسمنتية، التي أقيمت لأسباب أمنية، وأدت إلى تعطيل حركة المرور في وسط بيروت لفترةٍ طويلة، بما في ذلك تلك الموجودة أمام الوزارة. كما أصبحت رئيسة السجون وقوى الأمن الداخلي، وكلاهما تعرضا لمزاعم تتعلق بانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان، إذ تواصل قوات الأمن الداخلي اضطهاد مجتمع المثليين في البلاد، واتهمتهم منظمات مثل هيومن رايتس ووتش بتعذيبهم. غير أن الحسن زعمت أن التدابير الأمنية “لا ينبغي أن تتداخل مع حريات الأفراد وحرية التعبير.” ربما يشير ذلك إلى تغييرٍ ايجابي في أساليب السلطات اللبنانية في التعامل مع الأمن، لكن من السابق لأوانه القول ما إذا كانت ستحصل على النفوذ والحرية للعمل كما وعدت.

فقد جاء ترشيحها كجزء من إرادة أوسع نطاقاً لممثلي الدولة لتحسين تمثيل المرأة في السياسة، كما أعلن رئيس الوزراء سعد الحريري من دبي في 10 فبراير: “على اللبنانيين أن يعتادوا على أن المرأة يمكنها أن تتسلم وظائف كبرى في الدولة.” فقد أظهر استطلاعٌ حديثٌ أن أكثر من 80% من المستجيبين البالغ عددهم 847 يوافقون على أن المرأة ممثلة تمثيلاً ضعيفاً في السياسة اللبنانية، ولكن ضمن نفس المجموعة، يعتقد 65% فقط أنه ينبغي تمثيل المرأة في مجلس وزراء البلاد. ومع ذلك، حقق عدد النساء في الحكومة الحالية رقماً قياسياً، مع أربع نساء بدلًا من اثتنين في السابق. وإلى جانب الحسن، حملت فيوليت الصفدي حقيبة وزيرة دولة لشؤون المرأة، وهي وظيفة سبق أن شغلها رجل؛ ومي شدياق، التي فقدت ذراعها وساقها في محاولة اغتيالٍ في تفجيرٍ عام 2005، وزيرة الدولة لشؤون التنمية الإدارية، وندى بستاني وزيرة الطاقة والمياه.

بعد تعيينها، شكرت الحسن معلمها وزعيمها السياسي سعد الحريري بالقول، “بصراحة كان الأمر مفاجأة لي ولكني فخورة أيضاً […] السيد سعد الحريري وثق بي مرتين بإعطائي وزارتين صعبتين. يبرهن هذا ثقته بقدرات المرأة.”

وفي مقابلةٍ أُجريت على شاشة التلفزيون في مارس 2012، أعلنت الحسن أن وجود امرأتين في مجلس الوزراء في ذلك الوقت لم يكن كافياً، مضيفةً: “نحن نعرف حقيقة أنه من الأفضل دائماً أن يكون هناك مشاركة نسائية أكثر في المؤسسات العامة بشكلٍ عام وبالطبع في مجلس الوزراء […] ووجودهن في مناصب للمشاركة في صنع السياسة وليس فقط عدم استلامهن محافظ.”

الضغوطات الملقاة على عاتق الحسن كبيرة، إذ لا يتعين عليها فقط إدارة وزارة مهمة ومحفوفة بالمخاطر في منطقةٍ تتعرض دوماً للحرب والنزاعات، ولكن ينبغي عليها إثبات، لأنها امرأة، أن بإمكانها النجاح كحال أي من نظرائها من الرجال. نموذج الحسن وقيادتها يمكن أن يغير وجه التمثيل السياسي النسائي في لبنان. بالرغم من الضغوطات الكبيرة، إلا أنها تبدو على أتم الاستعداد للتحدي.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Faces / Raya Haffar al-Hassan, the First Woman of Lebanese Politics

Raya Haffar al-Hassan, the First Woman of Lebanese Politics

Lebanon- Raya Haffar al-Hassan
Raya al-Hasan, the first female Interior Minister in Lebanon and the Arab world, attends the first cabinet meeting at the presidential palace in Baabda, east of the capital Beirut on February 2, 2019. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

Back in 2009, she was the first woman appointed Minister of Finance in Lebanon. Now, she has been named first female Minister of Interior and Municipalities, making her the first Lebanese woman to attain such an important position in the government. A first step for the small country, and a big one for Raya Haffar Al Hassan.

Born in 1967 into a Sunni family, Raya Al Hassan is currently part of the March 14 alliance, a coalition of political parties united by their opposition to the Syrian regime, headed by Prime Minister Saad Hariri through the Future Movement, also led by Hariri. She is married to Janah Al Hassan and has three children. On January 31 2019, she was officially appointed as Minister of Interior and Municipalities in the new government, composed of 30 members. It was formed after almost nine months of deadlock following the May 2018 general elections. This appointment also makes her the first female official in charge of powerful security agencies in the Arab world.

Although she is in charge of security, her background is in trade and finance. She received a bachelor degree in business administration from the American University of Beirut in 1987 and an MBA in finance and investments in 1990 from George Washington University in the US. Since then, she has had a fruitful career, both in private and public institutions. She started out by being assistant to the Minister of Finance and Coordinator of Implementation for Fiscal Activities between 1995 and 1999, then became assistant relationship manager and senior credit officer at a private Lebanese bank. She’s also touched international development with her work for the United Nations Development Program (UNDP) as a Program Specialist for the Economic Governance and Pro-Poor portfolio in 2005. She is used to being the first in certain positions, and she has chaired one of the country’s biggest private public design projects aimed at developing the port city of Tripoli.

She didn’t stick to private banking and moved on to other public missions, notably as an adviser to the Minister of Economy and Trade from 2000 to 2003 and office member of the Prime Minister from 2005 to 2009, leading different projects and supervising expenditure management reforms. Her career was consecrated in 2009 when she was appointed Minister of Finance, a first for women in Lebanon, and a second time in the new government of 2019.

Her new appointment is an honor that Al Hassan acknowledges and takes further with professionalism. At the handover ceremony from her predecessor Nohad Machnouk on February 6, she said: “As the first female minister of Interior, I have to prove the woman’s ability to assume an exceptional portfolio”, adding: “I will seek to have my own very special touch”.

She said her priorities would be to improve cooperation between national agencies, to protect human rights and tackle Lebanon’s famous traffic problems, as well as making a point of ameliorating conditions in Lebanese prisons and addressing domestic violence and more broadly violence against women. But her main mission will be to manage multiple, often competing security agencies, and maintain stability in a tricky situation: until recently, the country had to deal with militant groups and spillover in border areas from the war next door in Syria.

Her first step as Minister of the Interior has been to get rid of a number of heavy roadblocks, set up for security reasons, which have for a long time disrupted the flow of traffic in central Beirut, including in front of the ministry. She has also become the head of prisons and the Internal Security Forces, both of which have been dogged by allegations of human rights violations. The ISF also continues to persecute LGBTQ people and has been accused of torture by organizations such as Human Rights Watch. Yet Al Hassan has claimed that security measures “should not interfere with people’s freedoms and the freedom of expression”. Maybe that will indicate a change for good in the Lebanese authorities’ ways of handling security, but it is too early to say if she will have the leverage and freedom to act as she promised.

Her nomination is part of a broader will by the State representatives to improve representation of women in politics, as PM Saad Hariri declared in Dubai on February 10: “Lebanon needs to get used to women taking on big roles in the country”. A recent survey showed that more than 80% of the 847 respondents agree that women are underrepresented in Lebanese politics. Yet of the same group, only 65% think that women should be able to sit in the country’s Cabinet. The number of women in the government at this time is at a record high, with four women instead of two previously. Alongside Al Hassan, Violette Safadi is State Minister for women’s affairs, a post previously held by a man; May Chidiac, who lost her arm and leg in an assassination attempt in a 2005 bombing, is State Minister for administrative development, and Nada Boustani is Energy and Water Minister.

After her appointment, Al Hassan thanked her mentor and political leader Saad Hariri by saying: “To be honest, it was a surprise but I am proud too of course […] Mr Hariri has trusted me twice by giving me two difficult ministries. It demonstrates his trust in women’s capabilities.”

In an interview given on TV on March 2012, Al Hassan declared that two women in the Cabinet at the time were not enough, adding that: “We know for a fact that it is always better to have more women participation in public institutions in general and of course in the Council of Ministers […] And having posts that are involved in policy making and not just having no portfolios”.

Pressure is heavy on Al Hassan’s shoulders, as she will have to manage not only an important and risky ministry in a region always shaken up by war and conflicts, but to prove that as a woman, she can do it as well as any male counterpart. Al Hassan’s example and lead could change the face of female political representation in Lebanon. It is a lot of pressure to handle, but she seems prepared for the challenge.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO | ©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.