فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / وُجوه / سعد الحريري: لاعبٌ محلي، بيدقٌ إقليمي

سعد الحريري: لاعبٌ محلي، بيدقٌ إقليمي

Lebanon- Lebanon-faces-Saad Hariri-fanack-AFP
سعد الحريري. Photo AFP

تم ترشيح سعد الحريري (47 عاماً)، الذي هو أولاً وقبل كل شيء رجل أعمالٍ يمكن لمصالحه المالية الشخصية التدخل في منصبه العام، من قِبل رئيس الدولة اللبنانية، العماد ميشال عون في 18 ديسمبر 2016. فغالباً ما يكون من الصعب الحفاظ على منصب الحريري، المحبوب والذي تتم السخرية منه على حد سواء.

فقد تولى سعد الحريري، زعيم تيار المستقبل، وهو حزبٌ سياسي سُنيّ ويشكل العامود الفقري لتحالف 14 آذار المناهض لسوريا، ونجل رئيس الوزراء السابق رفيق الحريري الذي تعرض للاغتيال، منصب رئيس الوزراء (الذي يجب أن يكون مسلماً سُنياً وفقاً لنظام التمثيل النسبي في البلاد) بداية في الفترة ما بين 2009- 2011 ومجدداً في ديسمبر 2016.

تزوج سعد في عام 1998 من لارا العظم، وهي ابنه رجل الأعمال وقطب المقاولين السوري الثري وذو النفوذ، بشير العظم، ولديه ثلاثة أطفال منها. وفي نوفمبر 2017، قدر صافي ثروته بـ1,5 مليار دولار.

أنهى تعليمه في كلٍ من لبنان وفرنسا والمملكة العربية السعودية، التي يحمل جنسياتها جميعاً، ثم حصل على شهادة دولية في إدارة الأعمال من جامعة جورج تاون في عام 1992. ومع استعداده لتولي شؤون الأعمال التجارية لأسرته، بدأ بالإشراف على أعمال البناء في شركة سعودي أوجيه، وهي شركة مقاولات ملكٌ لوالده ومقرها السعودية، إلى أن تم تعيينه المدير العام بعمر الـ26. ومن هناك، قام بتوسيع الشركة في مجال الاتصالات السلكية واللاسلكية، إلا أنه تم دفعه إلى المعترك السياسي بعد أن تسبب انفجار سيارة مفخخة في مقتل والده في بيروت.

بيد أنه لم يحقق نجاحاً سياسياً كبيراً إلى أن حان موعد الإنتخابات البرلمانية اللبنانية في يونيو 2009، والتي حاز فيها حزبه على مقاعد الأغلبية في البرلمان. وقد تم تعيينه رئيساً للوزراء في الشهر نفسه من قبل الرئيس السابق ميشيل سليمان (2008-2014)، إلا أنه لم ينجح في تشكيل حكومة. استقال، ليتم ترشيحه بعد ذلك مجدداً وأجبر على تشكيل حكومة وحدة وطنية مع حزب الله الشيعي بعد ستة أشهرٍ تقريباً من ترشيحه الأول. وباعتباره زعيماً لتيار المستقبل، يعارض الحريري التحالف مع حزب الله، المدعوم من سوريا وإيران، إلا إذا ما أجبر على ذلك. وعليه، اضطر على مضض إلى تشكيل حكومة الوحدة الوطنية هذه.

لم تدم حكومة الوحدة الوطنية طويلاً، وذلك لإنسحاب مجموعة تضم 11 وزيراً من حزب الله والأحزاب المتحالفة معه من مناصبهم في يناير 2011، مما أجبر الحريري على الخروج من الصورة وبدلاً من ذلك دُفِع بنجيب ميقاتي إلى منصب رئيس الوزراء في يونيو من ذلك العام. تبع ذلك في ديسمبر 2012 ، إصدار الحكومة السورية مذكرات توقيف بحق كلٍ من الحريري ونائب كتلة المستقبل عقاب صقر ومسؤول الجيش السوري الحر لؤي المقداد بتهمة تسليح وتقديم الدعم المالي للجماعات السورية المعارضة. وعليه، رفض الحريري هذا الأمر ووصف الرئيس السوري بشار الأسد بـ”الوحش،” وذلك أثناء وجوده في فرنسا حيث كان يعيش آنذاك بعد أن فرض على نفسه منفىً سياسي ذاتي.

قرر العودة من المنفى في أغسطس 2014، معلناً عن دعمٍ مالي سعودي للقوات المسلحة اللبنانية “للحفاظ على أمن لبنان” ضد الجهاديين على الحدود اللبنانية السورية. وبعد ذلك بعامين، عُيّن رئيساً للوزراء مرةً أخرى، حيث بدا أن كل شيء يسير في الاتجاه الصحيح على الرغم من مشاكله التجارية.

ظهر ولاؤه للمملكة العربية السعودية مرةً أخرى في حادثةٍ غريبة في أوائل نوفمبر 2017، إذ أعلن استقالته في خطابٍ متلفز من العاصمة السعودية الرياض، وألقى باللوم على إيران لزرعها “الفوضى والدمار” في لبنان ووصف حزب الله بـ”ذراع إيران.” فعائلته ترتبط بعلاقاتٍ مع المملكة منذ عام 1978، وهو العام الذي أسست فيه شركة سعودي أوجيه، إلا أن القيود المالية في السعودية دفعت شركته إلى إغلاق أبوابها. وكان من الممكن أن تؤدي استقالته إلى أزمةٍ كبيرة تعصف بلبنان، وسط تكهناتٍ باحتجازه رهينة لدى السعودية. وفي جميع أنحاء البلاد، رفرفت لافتاتٌ تضامنية تحمل شعار “كلنا سعد.” وبحسب رويترز، “قالت مصادر مقربة من الحريري إن السعودية خلصت إلى أن على رئيس الوزراء… الاستقالة من منصبه لأنه لم يكن مستعداً لمواجهة حزب الله.”

وفي تحولٍ مثير للأحداث، تحدث الحريري مرةً أخرى على شاشة التلفزيون لتعليق استقالته بعد ثلاثة أسابيع، وتحدث عن “الإجماع الوطني” وعلاقات لبنان مع “الإخوة العرب.” عاد إلى لبنان في 6 ديسمبر 2017، ولم يقدم أي تفسيرٍ أو تفاصيل عن إقامته في المملكة العربية السعودية، والتي ذكر مراراً وتكراراً إنه على علاقة جيدة بها.

وكأن شيئاً لم يكن، إذ عادت الحياة إلى طبيعتها في لبنان وتحولت الأنظار إلى الإنتخابات البرلمانية المزمع عقدها في مايو 2018، وهي أول انتخاباتٍ تُعقد منذ يونيو 2009. ومنذ ذلك الحين أعلن الحريري عن حصةٍ نسائية في الانتخابات المقبلة، مشيراً إلى تغييرٍ حقيقي محتمل في السياسة، كما هنأ عبد الفتاح السيسي على إعادة انتخابه رئيساً للبلاد. وفي ضوء تأثير الحريري المحدود على السياسة اللبنانية وسياق وصوله إلى هذا المنصب الرفيع في المقام الأول، لربما قد حان الوقت ليعترف بأنه أكثر ملاءمةً لإدارة الأعمال التجارية.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ANWAR AMRO ©AFP | ANWAR AMRO ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Faces / Lebanon’s Saad Hariri: Local Player, Regional Pawn

Lebanon’s Saad Hariri: Local Player, Regional Pawn

Lebanon- Lebanon-faces-Saad Hariri-fanack-AFP
Saad Hariri. Photo AFP

Nominated as prime minister by Lebanese President Michel Aoun on 18 December 2016, Saad Hariri (47) is first and foremost a businessman whose private financial interests can interfere with his public role. Both adored and mocked, his position is often hard to maintain.

Leader of the Future Movement, a Sunni Muslim political party from the anti-Syrian March 14 alliance, and son of the assassinated former Prime Minister Rafik Hariri, Saad Hariri himself became prime minister (always a Sunni due to the proportional representation system), first from 2009-2011 and again in December 2016.

In 1998, he married Lara al-Azem, the daughter of Bashir al-Azem, an influential and wealthy Syrian construction magnate. He has three children with her. As of November 2017, his net worth was estimated at $1.5 billion.

He completed his education in Lebanon, France and Saudi Arabia, all three of which he is a citizen of, and then received an international business degree from Georgetown University in 1992. Ready to step into the family business, he oversaw construction work at Saudi Oger, a Saudi-based construction company owned by his father, until being appointed general manager at 26. From there, he expanded the company into telecommunications but was pushed into politics after a car bomb killed his father in Beirut.

But it was not until the  Lebanese general elections of June 2009 that he made the political big time when he led his party to a parliamentary majority. He was named as prime minister the same month by former president Michel Sleiman (2008-2014) but did not manage to form a government. He resigned, was nominated again and pushed to form a unity government with the mainly Shia Hezbollah almost six months after his first nomination. As leader of the Future Movement, Hariri is against allying with Hezbollah, which is supported by Syria and Iran, except when he is forced to. He had to form this unity government but did so reluctantly.

The unity government did not last, as a group of 11 ministers from Hezbollah and allied parties withdrew from their posts in January 2011, forcing Hariri out of the picture and instead pushing Najib Mikati into the post of prime minister in June that year. This was followed, in December 2012, by a warrant issued by the Syrian government for the arrest of Hariri, Future bloc deputy Okab Sakr and Free Syrian Army official Louay Almokdad on charges of arming and providing financial support to Syrian opposition groups. Hariri dismissed the warrant and called Syrian President Bashar al-Assad a “monster”, as he was already living in France in a sort of self-imposed political exile.

He decided to return from exile in August 2014,  announcing the Saudi financial backing of the Lebanese armed forces “to preserve Lebanon’s security” against jihadists on the Lebanese-Syrian border. Two years later, appointed prime minister once again, everything seemed to be going in the right direction despite his business issues.

His allegiance to Saudi Arabia was demonstrated again in a bizarre incident in early November 2017. In a televised speech from the Saudi capital Riyadh, he resigned, blaming Iran for “disorder and destruction” in Lebanon and calling Hezbollah “Iran’s arm”. His family has had ties with the kingdom since 1978, the year Saudi Oger was founded, but financial constraints in Saudi Arabia led his company to close. His resignation could have led to a major crisis in Lebanon, amid speculation that he was being held hostage  by Saudi Arabia. All over the country, solidarity banners fluttered bearing the slogan ‘#IamSaad’ in Arabic. According to Reuters, ‘Sources close to Hariri [said] Saudi Arabia [had] concluded that the prime minister … had to go because he was unwilling to confront Hezbollah.’

In a spectacular turn of events, Hariri spoke again on TV to suspend his resignation three weeks later, speaking about “national consensus” and Lebanon’s relations with its “Arab brothers”. He returned to Lebanon on 6 December 2017, giving no explanation of or details about his stay in Saudi Arabia, with which he repeatedly said he was on good terms.

As if nothing had happened, life in Lebanon went on and attention turned back to the parliamentary elections in May 2018, the first since June 2009. Hariri has since announced a women’s quota in future elections, signalled a possible real change in politics and congratulated Abdel Fattah al-Sisi on his re-election as Egyptian president. In light of Hariri’s limited impact on Lebanese politics and the context of his access to the top position in first place, it may be time for him to admit that he is better suited to business.

image_pdfimage_print