فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / الحكم والسياسة / بعد 29 شهراً من الفراغ السياسي، لبنان ينتخب رئيساً جديداً

بعد 29 شهراً من الفراغ السياسي، لبنان ينتخب رئيساً جديداً

انتخابات في لبىان رئيس ميشال عون
أنصار حزب التيار الوطني يحتفلون بانتخاب ميشال عون رئيساً للبنان، بيروت، لبنان، 31 أكتوبر 2016. Photo Ratib Al Safadi / Anadolu Agency ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Ratib Al Safadi

انتخب البرلماني اللبناني الجنرال السابق في الجيش رئيساً للبلاد، بعد تحولٍ مفاجىء في تحالفات الأحزاب السياسية المقسمة في أرجاء البلاد.
خرج التصويت الذي أجري في 31 أكتوبر 2016، وهو التصويت رقم 46 منذ انتهاء ولاية الرئيس ميشال سليمان في مايو 2014، بأغلبية الثلثين المطلوبة لصالح ميشال عون. فقد كسر التصويت الجمود السياسي الذي ترك المؤسسات السياسية بالكاد تعمل، ومنع تمرير التشريعات لأكثر من عامين.

فمن ضمن ترتيبات تقاسم السلطة الطائفي في البلاد، يُحجز كرسي الرئاسة لمسيحي ماروني، ورئاسة الوزراء لمسلمٍ سُنّي، ورئاسة البرلمان لمسلم شيعي. ويعود تاريخ هذه الصيغة إلى 22 نوفمبر 1943، عندما خصص الميثاق الوطني، وهو اتفاقٌ غير مكتوب أرسى الأسس السياسية لمرحلة لبنان ما بعد الاستقلال، السُلطة السياسية وفقاً لنظامٍ طائفي على أساس تعدادٍ سكاني عام 1932.

كانت الجهود الرامية لتغيير هذا النظام في جوهر السياسة اللبنانية لعقود. فقد سعت الجماعات الدينية الأكثر تفضيلاً في هذا الاتفاق إلى الحفاظ عليه، بينما سعى أولئك الذين اعتبروا أنفسهم محرومين، إما لتعديله بعد تحديث البيانات السكانية الرئيسية أو إلغائه تماماً. أدى هذا إلى تمردٍ فاشل عام 1958 وحربٍ أهلية اندلعت عام 1975 واستمرت لما يقرب 15 عاماً. ومع ذلك، ما شكل بداية نهاية الحرب الأهلية، تصنيف العديد من أحكام الميثاق الوطني في اتفاق الطائف عام 1989، مما كرّس الطائفية باعتبارها عنصراً أساسياً في الحياة السياسية اللبنانية.

يمنح الدستور اللبناني البرلمان الحق في انتخاب رئيسٍ لفترة واحدة مدتها ست سنوات. فبعد انتهاء ولاية سليمان، عُقد البرلمان 45 مرة إلا أنه فشل في انتخاب خلفٍ له بسبب عدم اكتمال النصاب. ووفقاً للمادة (49) من الدستور، يُنتخب رئيس الجمهورية بالاقتراع السري بغالبية الثلثين من مجلس النواب في الدورة الأولى، ويكتفي بالغالبية المطلقة في دورات الاقتراع التي تلي. وفي حال انعدام نص يحدد النصاب اللازم لانتخاب الرئيس، يكون الدستور مفتوحاً للتفسيرات. تُشير إحدى التفسيرات إلى أنّ النصاب القانوني الذي يشكل أغلبية 50% زائد واحد (وهو المطلوب لعقد أي اجتماعٍ في البرلمان)، كافٍ لعقد اجتماعٍ انتخابي رئاسي برلماني. تفسير آخرٌ يُشير إلى أنّ النصاب القانوني هو أغلبية الثلثين من مجموع الأعضاء (128) في البرلمان.

تم استخدام التفسيرات المختلفة للمادة (49) بشكلٍ رئيسي من قِبل نواب حزب الله الشيعي وحلفائهم من التيار الوطني الحر كأسباب لتأخير العملية الانتخابية. فقد قاطعوا مراراً جلسات البرلمان، لأنهم لم يستطيعوا ضمان انتخاب مرشحهم، ميشال عون، مؤسس التيار الوطني الحر والجنرال في الجيش خلال الحرب الأهلية، كرئيس. المعسكر المنافس بقيادة رئيس الوزراء السابق السُني سعد الحريري، رشح في البداية رئيس القوات اللبنانية، سمير جعجع، المنافس المسيحي اللدود لعون وعدوه السياسي منذ فترةٍ طويلة. ومع ذلك، فشل أيضاً الحريري وجعجع في جمع أغلبية الثلثين المطلوبة لانتخاب جعجع.

وفي محاولةٍ لكسر الجمود، أعلن الحريري، رئيس تيار المستقبل وقوى 14 آذار وأكبر كتلة برلمانية، في فبراير 2016 أنه يؤيد ترشح سليمان فرنجية من تيار المردة وتحالف 8 آذار، للرئاسة. كان يأمل الحريري أن دعمه لفرنجية، الذي يتمتع بعلاقات وثيقة مع بشار الأسد في سوريا، من شأنه أن يشجع حزب الله على الالتفاف حول فرنجية، وبالتالي تدمير التحالف بين حزب الله والتيار الوطني الحر الذي يشكل حجر زاوية في تحالف 8 آذار. فشلت المبادرة وبقي الجمود.

رداً بالمثل، وفي ضوء العلاقة المريرة بين جعجع وفرنجية- حيث اتهم الأخير جعجع باغتيال والده عام 1978 فيما بات يُعرف بـ”مجزرة إهدن“- أيد جعجع عون. فبعد حوالي 30 عاماً من الصراع وتعطل الاتصالات، والتي وصلت ذروتها خلال الحرب الأهلية، أعلن القائدين المسيحيين تعاونهما، فيما اعتبر مصالحة “تاريخية.”

وبدعم جعجع، الذي لا يزال هو نفسه مرشحاً رئاسياً، ازدادت فرص انتخاب عون. ومع ذلك، رفض فرنجية التنحي، ليقتصرالسباق الرئاسي عليه وعلى عون. واصل حزب الله والتيار الوطني الحر مقاطعة جلسات البرلمان، فقد اتُهم حزب الله منذ فترةٍ طويلة من قِبل المحللين السياسيين وسياسي 14 آذار بتفضيل الفراغ السياسي على انتخاب أي رئيس. ولكن، لطالما كان عون مرشح حزب الله رقم واحد، حتى بعد أن أيّد الحريري فرنجية.

فقد أعلن الحريري دعمه رسمياً لفرنجية في فبراير 2016. وواصل دعمه حتى شهر أكتوبر، عندما أدرك أنّ من المستحيل استقطاب النصاب القانوني المطلوب إذا ما كان مرشح الرئاسة أي شخصٍ آخر غير عون.

وأعلن الحريري في 21 أكتوبر 2016 أنه قرر تأييد منافسه السابق لأن جميع الخيارات الأخرى قد استنفذت، مشيراً إلى أن لبنان بحاجة إلى الحماية من الأزمة المندلعة في جارته، سوريا. ويعتقد المحللون أن صفقةً تمت بين الاثنين قد تنطوي على عودة الحريري كرئيسٍ للوزراء، في خطوةٍ تهدف إلى ضمان مستقبل الحياة السياسية لكلا الرجلين.

يُمثل انتخاب العسكري المخضرم البالغ من العمر 81 عاماً نهاية صراعٍ دام عشر سنواتٍ شنه الحريري وحلفاؤه ضد حزب الله المدعوم من إيران؛ صراعٌ كان فيه الدعم المالي والسياسي للملكة العربية السعودية غايةً في الأهمية. ولكن مع تحوّل الأولويات الإقليمية في المملكة نحو مواجهة إيران في اليمن والبحرين وسوريا، وتقلص الميزانية بسبب الانخفاض العالمي في أسعار النفط، بدأ هذا الدعم ينضب.

ولسنوات، عارض النظام الحاكم في السعودية وحلفائه من اللبنانيين السُنة أي دورٍ سياسيٍ أكبر لعون. ولكن، مع غرق الرياض بحروبٍ طويلة الأمد في المنطقة، اعترف المسؤولون السعوديون بهدوء أن لبنان لم يعد أولوية، مما مهد الطريق لصعود عون للرئاسة.

وبالرغم من ذلك، فمن مصلحة كلٍ من إيران والمملكة العربية السعودية أن يراقبا عن كثبٍ ما ستؤول إليه نتائج الانتخابات، إذ أن أياً منهما لا ترغب في نقل صراعٍ آخر على أعتاب أبوابهم.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Ratib Al Safadi | ©Hollandse Hoogte ⁃ Ratib Al Safadi

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Governance & Politics / After a 29-month Political Vacuum, Lebanon Elects a New President

After a 29-month Political Vacuum, Lebanon Elects a New President

Lebanon elections Michel Aoun as president
Supporters of the Free Patriotic Movement celebrate after the election of Michel Aoun as president of Lebanon, in Beirut, Lebanon, 31 October 2016. Photo Ratib Al Safadi / Anadolu Agency

Lebanon’s parliament has elected a former army general as president, following a surprising shift in allegiances across the country’s divided political parties.

The vote on 31 October 2016, the 46th since President Michel Suleiman’s term came to an end in May 2014, produced the required two-thirds majority in favour of Michel Aoun. The vote breaks the political deadlock that has left many state institutions barely functioning and prevented legislation from being passed for more than two years.

In the country’s sectarian power-sharing arrangement, the presidency is reserved for a Maronite Christian, the prime minister must be a Sunni Muslim and the parliamentary speaker a Shia Muslim. This formula dates back to 22 November 1943, when the National Pact, an unwritten agreement that established the political foundations of post-independence Lebanon, allocated political power according to a confessional system based on the 1932 census.

Efforts to change this system were at the centre of Lebanese politics for decades. The three religious groups most favoured by the pact sought to preserve it, whereas those who saw themselves as disadvantaged sought either to revise it after updating key demographic data or abolish it entirely. This resulted in a failed rebellion in 1958 and a civil war that broke out in 1975 and lasted for almost 15 years. Nonetheless, in what marked the beginning of the end of the civil war, many of the provisions of the National Pact were codified in the 1989 Taef Agreement, perpetuating sectarianism as a key element of Lebanese political life.

The Lebanese constitution gives parliament the right to elect a president for a single six-year term. After Suleiman stepped down, parliament convened 45 times but failed to elect a successor due to the lack of a quorum. According to Article 49 of the constitution, the president shall be elected by secret ballot and a two-thirds majority of the Chamber of Deputies (the parliament). After a first ballot, an absolute majority shall be sufficient. In the absence of a provision designating the quorum needed to elect the president, the constitution is open to interpretation. One interpretation suggests that a quorum constituting a majority of 50 per cent plus one (that required for any meeting of parliament) is sufficient for a parliamentary presidential electoral meeting. Another argues that the quorum is a two-thirds majority of the total members (128) of parliament.

The different interpretations of Article 49 were used mainly by Shia Hezbollah MPs and their allies of the Free Patriotic Movement (FPM) as reasons to delay the election process. They repeatedly boycotted the parliamentary sessions, because they could not guarantee the election of their candidate, Michel Aoun, founder of the FPM and an army general during the civil war, as president. The opposing camp led by Sunni former Prime Minister Saad Hariri initially nominated the head of the Lebanese Forces (LF) Samir Geagea, Aoun’s Christian arch-rival and long-time political nemesis. However, Hariri and Geagea also failed to gather the two-thirds majority needed to elect Geagea.

In an attempt to break the deadlock, Hariri, head of the March 14 alliance’s Future Movement and the biggest parliamentary bloc, announced in February 2016 he was endorsing Sleiman Frangieh of the March 8’s Marada Movement for president. Hariri hoped that support for Frangieh, who has close ties to Syria’s Bashar al-Assad, would encourage Hezbollah to rally around Frangieh and in so doing destroy the Hezbollah-FPM alliance that forms the cornerstone of the March 8 coalition. The initiative failed and the deadlock remained.

In retaliation, and compounded by the bitter relationship between Geagea and Frangieh – the latter accuses Geagea of assassinating his father in 1978 in what became known as the ‘Ehden massacre’ – Geagea endorsed Aoun. After nearly 30 years of conflict and communication breakdowns, which reached a head during the civil war, the two Christian leaders announced their cooperation, in what was seen as a ‘historical’ reconciliation.

With the support of Geagea, himself still a presidential candidate, Aoun’s chances of being elected increased. Yet Frangieh refused to step aside, restricting the presidential race to himself and Aoun. Hezbollah and FPM continued to boycott the parliamentary sessions. Hezbollah has long been accused by political analysts and March 14 politicians of preferring a political vacuum over any president. But Aoun had always been Hezbollah’s number one candidate, even after Hariri endorsed Frangieh.

Hariri officially announced he was backing Frangieh in February 2016. He continued to back him until October 2016, when he realized it would be impossible to attract the required quorum if the candidate was anyone other than Aoun.

Hariri said on 21 October 2016, he had decided to endorse his former rival because all other options had been exhausted, adding that Lebanon needs protecting from the crisis in neighbouring Syria. Analysts suspect that the two made a deal that could mean the return of Hariri as prime minister, a move designed to ensure the future of both men’s political careers.

The election of the 81-year-old military veteran marks the end of the decade-long struggle waged by Hariri and his allies against the Iranian-backed Hezbollah, a struggle in which Saudi Arabia’s financial and political support has been crucial. But with the kingdom’s regional priorities shifting towards confronting Iran in Yemen, Bahrain and Syria, and a shrinking budget due to the global fall in oil prices, that support is drying up.

For years, the Saudi monarchy and its Sunni Lebanese allies opposed a greater political role for Aoun. Yet as Riyadh became mired in protracted wars in the region, Saudi officials quietly acknowledged that Lebanon was no longer a priority, paving the way for Aoun’s ascent to the presidency.

Nevertheless, it is in the interests of both Iran and Saudi Arabia to keep a close eye on how the election results play out, as neither wants another conflict on their doorstep.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Ratib Al Safadi ©Hollandse Hoogte | Ratib Al Safadi ©Hollandse Hoogte

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update