فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / الحكم والسياسة / السياسة ضد الدين: تفاصيل النظام الطائفي في لبنان

السياسة ضد الدين: تفاصيل النظام الطائفي في لبنان

Lebanon demos
متظاهرون لبنانيون مناهضون للحكومة يلوحون بالعلم اللبناني خلال مظاهرة في وسط بيروت في 17 نوفمبر 2019. Photo: Patrick BAZ / AFP

تتميز الحياة السياسية في لبنان منذ بدايتها بالطائفية والعرقية. يناهز عدد الأحزاب المُرخصة في البلاد الثمانين حزباً، على الرغم من عدد السُكان القليل نسبياً، والذي لا يزيد حالياً في أغلب التقديرات عن 6 ملايين نسمة في ظل عدم وجود إحصاء رسمي في البلاد منذ عام 1932.

يأتي الدين المسيحي في المرتبة الأولى لعدد الأحزاب المنتمية له والتي يصل عددها إلى 18 حزباً. أبرزها:

التيار الوطني الحُر: ويُعرف بالتيار العوني نسبة إلى مؤسسه العماد ميشال عون، والذي يشغل منصب رئيس الجمهورية حالياً. تأسس الحزب في بداية الأمر في باريس، حيث المنفى السابق لزعيمه ومؤسسه، عام 1994. وتم تأسيسه الرسمي عام 2006 بترخيص من وزارة الداخلية بعد عودة عون من المنفى ونجاحه في الانتخابات البرلمانية عام 2005، ويستحوذ على أكبر كتلية نيابية حالياً بعدد 29 نائباً من أصل 128.

حزب القوات اللبنانية: وهو حزب نشأ عام 1976 في بداية الحرب الأهلية كذراع عسكري للجبهة اللبنانية (وهو تحالف يميني يتألف بشكلٍ أساسي من حزب الكتائب)، لمواجهة منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية والحركة الوطنية اللبنانية. وقد تم اغتيال مؤسسه، بشير الجميل، عام 1982 بعد أقل من شهر على انتخابه رئيساً للجمهورية. يرأسه حالياً سمير جعجع، ويستحوذ على كتلة برلمانية تُقدر بـ 14 نائباً.

حزب الكتائب اللبنانية: وهو حزب تأسس كحركة قومية على يد بيار الجميل عام 1936 قبل أن يتحول إلى حزب سياسي رسمي عام 1952. يُنسب إلى الحزب عملية بوسطة عين الرمانة، والتي قُتل خلالها مجموعة من الفلسطينيين في 13 أبريل عام 1975 والتي تُعتبر الشرارة الأولى للحرب الأهلية التي استمر 15 عاماً. يرأس الحزب حالياً سامي الجميل، حفيد مؤسس الحزب وأحد أعضاء البرلمان الثلاثة المنتمين للحزب حالياً.

تيار المردة: أُنشىء التيار عام 1968 على يد طوني فرنجية كإحدى الميليشيات المسيحية المُسلحة خلال الحرب الأهلية. كما كان كجزءاً من الجبهة اللبنانية حتى انفصاله عنها عام 1978 بعد اشتباكاتها مع الكتائب اللبنانية. يرأس التيار حالياً سليمان طوني فرنجية، نجل المؤسس وأحد أعضاء البرلمان الثلاثة المنتمين للحزب حالياً.

حزب الوطنيين الأحرار: وهو الحزب الذي أسسه رئيس الجمهورية الأسبق كميل شمعون بعد انتهاء ولايته الرئاسية عام 1958. فقد كان أحد أعضاء الجبهة اللبنانية حتى اشتباك ذراعه العسكري (ميليشيا نمور الأحرار) مع القوات اللبنانية عام 1980. يرأسه حالياً دوري شمعون، وهو النائب الوحيد عن الحزب في البرلمان الحالي.

الكتلة الوطنية اللبنانية: تأسس الحزب عام 1943 على يد إميل إده. كان يمثل كتلة سياسية كبيرة في ستينيات القرن الماضي حيث شكل ثُلث البرلمان تقريباً بمشاركة حزب الكتائب وحزب الوطنيين الأحرار عام 1968. رفضت الكتلة الاشتراك في الحرب الأهلية أو في اتفاق الطائف الذي ساهم في إنهاء الحرب، ويرأسه حالياً كارلوس إده، حفيد المؤسس، وليس له أي مقاعد برلمانية حالياً.

وبجانب هؤلاء، هناك 12 حزباً سياسياً ينتمي غالبية أعضائهم للدين المسيحي إلا أن قوتهم السياسية ضعيفة وهم أحزاب: الديمقراطي المسيحي، والتضامن، والوعد، والتنظيم، وحراس الأرز، وحركة التغيير، وجبهة الحرية، وحركة لبناننا، والمنظمة الديمقراطية الآرامية، وحركة الوجود المسيحي الحُر، والمسيحي القومي، والمشرق.

أما الأحزاب ذات الأغلبية المسلمة فتنقسم إلى:

الأحزاب الشيعية:

حركة أمل: “أمل” اختصارٌ لاسم “أفواج المقاومة اللبنانية.” تأسس الحزب في البداية عام 1974 كذراع عسكري لحركة “المحرومين” التي أسسهما الإمام موسى الصدر وحسين الحُسيني. وبعد اختفاء الصدر في ليبيا عام 1978 تولى رئاسة الحركة حتى الآن نبيه برّي، والذي يشغل منصب رئيس مجلس النواب اللبناني منذ عام 1992. كان للثورة الإيرانية عام 1978 أثرٌ كبير في تزايد شعبية الحركة، وقد خاض مقاتلو الحركة معارك ضد الاحتلال الإسرائيلي عام 1982. كما حدثت اشتباكات مسلحة مع الفلسطينيين فيما عُرف بحرب المخيمات خلال الحرب الأهلية من عام 1985 وحتى 1988. تستحوذ الحركة على 16 مقعداً برلمانياً.

حزب الله: تأسس الحزب عام 1982 على يد كل من رجل الدين محمد حسين فضل الله، وراغب حرب، وعباس الموسوي وصبحي الطفيلي. وقد تولى الأخير منصب أول أمين عام بين أعوام 1989 و1991، وجاء بعده عباس الموسوي الذي اغتاله الاحتلال الإسرائيلي بعد 9 أشهر من توليه المنصب وذلك عام 1992. خلف الموسوي حسن نصر الله، الأمين العام الحالي للحزب. يرتبط الحزب أيدولوجياً وسياسياً وعسكرياً بإيران، وهو ما أعلنه صراحةً نصر الله منذ عام 1985 في بيان قال فيه “إن الحزب ملتزم بأوامر قيادة حكيمة وعادلة تتجسد في ولاية الفقيه، وتتجسد في روح الله آية الله الموسوي الخميني مفجر ثورة المسلمين وباعث نهضتهم المجيدة.”

كان لحزب الله دور كبير في صد الغزو الإسرائيلي عن لبنان منذ عام 1982 وحتى خروجه من الجنوب اللبناني عام 2000. يُصنف الحزب كمؤسسة إرهابية في بعض الدول مثل الولايات المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة وكندا، وكذلك بعض المنظمات الدولية مثل جامعة الدول العربية ومجلس التعاون الخليجي. كما يُصنف الحزب كأكبر قوة عسكرية غير حكومية في العالم، وله 13 نائباً في البرلمان اللبناني.

ويُعتبر الثنائي الشيعي، حزب الله وحركة أمل، أكبر ممثل للطائفة سياسياً في لبنان مع وجود أحزاب شيعية أخرى صغيرة مثل الحزب الديمقراطي الاشتراكي، والتيار الشيعي الحُر وحزب الانتماء.

الأحزب السُنيّة:

تيار المُستقبل: يُعتبر التيار أكبر قوة سياسية سُنية في لبنان منذ تأسيسه عام 1995 على يد رئيس الوزراء السابق رفيق الحريري، الذي تم اغتياله عام 2005، وتسلم من بعده زعامة التيار نجله سعد الحريري رئيس الوزراء الحالي –حكومة تصريف الأعمال. يُعرف عن الحزب علاقته الوثيقة بالمملكة العربية السعودية، ويستحوذ على 21 مقعداً برلمانياً في البرلمان الحالي.

الجماعة الإسلامية: تعتبر ثاني أقوى تيار سياسي سُني في لبنان، ويُعرف عنها انتمائها الفكري لجماعة الاخوان المُسلمين. تأسست عام 1964 على يد فتحي يكن، ويشغل منصب الأمين العام حالياً إبراهيم المصري، ولها مقعد برلماني واحد حالياً.

جبهة العمل الإسلامي: بعد انفصال فتحي يكن عن الجماعة الإسلامية قام بتأسيس جبهة العمل الإسلامي عام 2006 بمشاركة مجموعة من قيادات تيارات وقوى إسلامية سُنية كان منهم بلال سعيد شعبان، أمين عام حركة التوحيد الإسلامي، وهاشم منقارة، رئيس مجلس القيادة بحركة التوحيد الإسلامي، وعبد الناصر جبري، رئيس حركة الأمة، وزهير عثمان الجعيد رئيس جبهة العمل المقاوم، وعبد الله الترياقي أمين عام تيار الفجر. يشغل زهير الجعيد حالياً منصب المنسق العام للجبهة، ولها مقعد برلماني واحد حالياً.

ومن بين القوى السياسية السُنية اللبنانية الأُخرى البارزة، التيار السلفي، وجمعية المشاريع الخيرية الإسلامية، وحزب الحوار الوطني، وحزب الاتحاد، والتحرر العربي، وحزب النجادة، وحزب التوحيد الإسلامي، وحركة لبنان العربي، والمؤتمر الشعبي اللبناني، وحزب التحرير وحزب شبيبة لبنان العربي.

الأحزاب الدرزية:

يُمثل مجتمع الدروز اللبناني الأحزاب التالية:

الحزب التقدمي الاشتراكي: وهو الحزب الذي أسسه كمال جنبلاط بمشاركة عدد من السياسيين عام 1949. ورغم أن توجه الحزب ومؤسسه اشتراكي علماني، إلا أن الغالبية العُظمى من أعضاءه من الطائفة الدرزية ويشغل رئيسه وزعيمه الحالي منصب زعيم الدروز في لبنان. شارك الحزب من خلال ميليشيا مسلحة في الحرب الأهلية إلى جانب الفلسطينيين وفي مواجهة الموارنة وحزب الكتائب، وقد اغتيل مؤسسه وزعيمه في 16 مارس 1977، ويستحوذ الحزب حالياً على 9 نواب في البرلمان الحالي.

الحزب الديمقراطي اللبناني: أسسه طلال أرسلان عام 2001، ويُعد أكبر المنافسين للحزب التقدمي الاشتراكي داخل الطائفة الدرزية. ويشغل أرسلان منصب الرئاسة فيه منذ تأسيسه وكذلك هو أحد النائبان البرلمانيان عن الحزب حالياً.

وهناك عدة أحزاب ذات أغلبية دُرزية ايضاً إلا أنها ذات قوة محدودة، وهي: الحزب الجمهوري المُستقل، وحركة النضال اللبناني العربي، وتيار الوحدة.

الأحزاب ذات الأغلبية العلوية:

تعتبر الطائفة العلوية من أقل الطوائف الإسلامية عدداً ولها ثلاثة أحزاب سياسية تتسم بالضعف، وهي: الحزب العربي الديمقراطي، وحركة الشباب العلوي، وجمعية الفرسان الخيرية، وجميعهم ليس له أي تمثيل برلماني حالي.

أما عن الأحزاب القومية والعرقية فهناك الكثير منها أيضاً، وأهمها:

الأحزاب القومية:

حزب البعث: يُعتبر امتداداً وفرعاً لحزب البعث الذي تأسس في سوريا عام 1947 على يد مشيل عفلق وصلاح البيطار. للحزب قيادة قُطرية تضم جميع فروع الحزب في سوريا ولبنان والعراق وغيرها حيث لا يعترف بالحدود بين الدول العربية. حصل الحزب على مقعدين برلمانيين في مجلس النواب اللبناني الحالي.

الحزب السوري القومي الاجتماعي: حزبٌ يدعو إلى إقامة دولة “سوريا الكُبرى،” والتي تضم منطقة الهلال الخصيب. وهو امتداد لحزب سوري يحمل نفس الاسم والتوجه، وقد أسسه أنطوان سعادة عام 1932، ويستحوذ على 3 مقاعد برلمانية في مجلس النواب اللبناني.

كما يوجد العديد من الأحزاب القومية الأخرى مثل حزب الطليعة وتجمع اللجان والروابط الشعبية. هذا بالإضافة إلى أحزاب قومية أخرى تنتمي إلى الفكر الناصري وهي: المرابطون، وحزب الاتحاد، واتحاد قوى الشعب العامل، والتنظيم الشعبي الناصري، والاتحاد الاشتراكي العربي، وحركة الناصريين الديمقراطيين.

الأحزاب ذات الأغلبية الأرمنية:

حزب الطاشناق: يُسمى أيضاً الحزب الثوري الأرمني، وقد تأسس الحزب عام 1890 في تبليسي- جورجيا، ثم انتقل الكثير من أعضائه إلى لبنان بعد وقوع المذابح للأرمن على يد الدولة العثمانية. يعتبر أقوى قوة أرمنية في لبنان حالياً حيث يستحوذ على مقعدين برلمانيين حالياً.

حزب الرامغافار: تأسس في مدينة وان التركية عام 1921، ثم انتقل إلى لبنان. للحزب مقعد برلماني واحد حالياً في مجلس النواب.

حزب الهنشاك: وهو حزب تأسس عام 1887 في جينيف بسويسرا وانتقل إلى لبنان عام 1980. كان قد تأسس على فكرة المطالبة باستقلال أرمينيا عن الخلافة العثمانية مثل باقي الأحزاب الأرمنية في ذلك الوقت. استمر الحزب في العمل السياسي في لبنان وليس له أي تمثيل نيابي حالي.

كما يوجد بعض الأحزاب والقوى السياسية ذات الأغلبية الكردية مثل الحزب الديمقراطي الكردي وحزب رزكاري، وأخرى ذات أغلبية سريانية وهو حزب الاتحاد السرياني، وآشورية وهو التنظيم الآرامي الديمقراطي.

الأحزاب اليسارية أو العلمانية:

ومن بين الأحزاب ذات الميول اليسارية أو العلمانية التي لا يغلب عليها طائفة ولا عرق حركة الشعب، والحزب الشيوعي اللبناني، والكتلة الدستورية، وحركة التجدد الديمقراطي، والحركة العلمانية اللبنانية ومنظمة العمل الشيوعي.
هناك تقسيمين للأحزاب والقوى السياسية الرئيسية في لبنان هي، تحالفي 8 آذار و14 آذار، واللذان تكونا عقب اغتيال رئيس الوزراء السابق رفيق الحريري في عام 2005.

ويضم تيار 8 آذار كل من: التيار الوطني الحُر، وحزب الله، وحركة أمل، والحزب الديمقراطي اللبناني، والطاشناق، والحزب القومي السوري، وحزب البعث، وتيار المردة، وتيار العزم، وتيار الكرامة، وجمعية المشاريع الإسلامية، والتنظيم الشعبي الناصري.

وفي مواجهته تحالف 14 آذار ويضم: تيار المستقبل، والقوات اللبنانية، وحزب الكتائب، وحزب التقدم الاشتراكي، وحركة التجدد الديمقراطي، والكتلة الوطنية اللبنانية، وحركة اليسار الديمقراطي، وحزب الوطنيين الأحرار.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Patrick BAZ ©AFP | Patrick BAZ ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Governance & Politics / Politics vs. Religion: Untangling Lebanon’s Sectarian System

Politics vs. Religion: Untangling Lebanon’s Sectarian System

Lebanon demos
Lebanese anti-government protesters wave the national flag during a demonstration in downtown Beirut on November 17, 2019. Photo: Patrick BAZ / AFP

Political life in Lebanon is marked by sectarianism and ethnicity. There are about 80 licensed parties, despite the relatively small population. This currently stands at around 6 million, although no official census has been held since 1932.

Christianity ranks first in terms of the number of parties – estimated to be 18 – affiliated with it. The most prominent of these are:

Free Patriotic Movement: Also known as the Aounist Movement, after its founder General Michel Aoun, who is currently Lebanon’s president. The party was initially founded in 1994 in Paris, where Aoun was living in exile. It was officially established in 2006 after Aoun returned to Lebanon and successfully ran in the 2005 parliamentary elections. The party is currently the largest parliamentary bloc, with 29 out of 128 seats.

Lebanese Forces: The Lebanese Forces was established in 1976 at the beginning of the civil war as a military arm of the Lebanese Front (a right-wing coalition, mainly composed of the Kataeb Party) to confront the Palestine Liberation Organization and the Lebanese National Movement. Its founder, Bashir Gemayel, was assassinated in 1982, less than a month after he was elected president of the country. The party is currently headed by Samir Geagea and holds 14 seats in parliament.

Kataeb Party: The Kataeb Party was founded as a nationalist movement by Pierre Gemayel in 1936 before becoming an official political party in 1952. The party is blamed for the Ain al-Rummanah incident during which a group of Palestinians was killed on 13 April 1975, which was considered the first spark of the ensuing 15-year civil war. The party is currently headed by Sami Gemayel, grandson of the party’s founder and one of the party’s three members of parliament.

Al-Marada Movement: This movement was established in 1968 by Tony Frangieh as one of the Christian armed militias during the civil war. It was part of the Lebanese Front until its split in 1978 following clashes with the Kataeb Party. The movement is currently headed by Suleiman Tony Frangieh, son of the founder and one of the party’s three members of parliament.

National Liberal Party: The National Liberal Party was founded by Camille Chamoun after the end of his presidential term in 1958. He was a member of the Lebanese Front until his military arm (the Free Tigers) clashed with the Lebanese Forces in 1980. The party is currently headed by Dore Chamoun, the party’s only member of parliament.

Lebanese National Bloc: The Lebanese National Bloc was founded in 1943 by Emile Edda. He represented a large political bloc in the 1960s, holding almost one third of the parliamentary seats along with the Kataeb Party and the Free Patriotic Movement in 1968. The bloc refused to be part of the civil war or the Taif Accord that helped end the war. It is currently headed by Carlos Edda, the founder’s grandson, but does not currently have any parliamentary seats.

Besides these parties, there are 12 political parties that are mostly Christian, but their political power is weak. These are: the Christian Democratic Party, the Solidarity Party, the Promise Party, the Tanzim Party, the Cedar Guards Party, the Movement for Change, the Freedom Front, Our Lebanon Movement, the Aramaic Democratic Organization, the Christian Free Presence Movement, the Nationalist Christian Party and the al-Mashriq Party.

The Muslim-majority parties are divided as follows:

Shia parties

Amal Movement: ‘Amal’ is an acronym that stands for the ‘Lebanese Resistance Regiments’. The party was initially established in 1974 as a military arm of the ‘deprived’ movement founded by Imam Musa al-Sadr and Hussein al-Husseini. Since al-Sadr’s disappearance in Libya in 1978, the movement has been headed by Nabih Berri, also the parliament speaker since 1992. The Iranian Revolution in 1978 had a major impact on the movement’s growing popularity, and the movement’s fighters fought against the Israeli occupation in 1982. Armed clashes also took place between the movement’s fighters and the Palestinians in what is known as the War of the Camps, a sub-conflict in the civil war, from 1985 to 1988. The movement has 16 seats in parliament.
Hezbollah: Hezbollah was founded in 1982 by cleric Muhammad Hussein Fadlallah, Ragheb Harb, Abbas al-Musawi and Subhi al-Tufayli. The latter assumed the position of first secretary general of Hezbollah between 1989 and 1991. He was succeeded by al-Musawi who was assassinated by Israel in 1992, nine months after assuming the position. Al-Musawi was, in turn, succeeded by Hassan Nasrallah, who is the incumbent secretary general. Hezbollah is linked to Iran ideologically, politically and militarily, as Nasrallah explicitly stated in 1985 when he said, “Hezbollah is committed to the orders of the wise and just leadership embodied in velayat-e faqih [a Shia Islamist system of governance that justifies the rule of the clergy over the state] and the spirit of God, Ayatollah Khomeini, the initiator of the revolution of Muslims and the promoter of their glorious renaissance.”

Hezbollah played a major role in repelling the Israeli invasion from 1982 until Israel’s withdrawal from southern Lebanon in 2000. Hezbollah is designated as a terrorist organization by countries such as the United States, the United Kingdom and Canada, in addition to some international organizations such as the Arab League and the Gulf Cooperation Council. It is also classified as the largest non-governmental military force in the world. It has 13 deputies in parliament.

Hezbollah and the Amal Movement together represent the majority of Lebanon’s Shia Muslims although smaller Shiite parties such as the Socialist Democratic Party, the Free Shiite Movement and the Party of Belonging also have a presence.

Sunni parties

Future Movement: The Future Movement has been the largest political force in Lebanon since its establishment in 1995 by former Prime Minister Rafik Hariri, who was assassinated in 2005. His son Saad Hariri, the incumbent head of the caretaker government, took over the leadership of the movement. The movement, which holds 21 parliamentary seats, is known for its close relationship with Saudi Arabia.

Jemaah Islamiyah: This is the second most powerful political movement in Lebanon, known for its intellectual affiliation with the Muslim Brotherhood. The movement was founded in 1964 by Fathi Yakan. The current secretary general is Ibrahim al-Masri. The party has one parliamentary seat.

Islamic Action Front: After Fathi Yakan’s separation from Jemaah Islamiyah, he founded the Islamic Action Front in 2006 with the participation of a group of Sunni Islamist leaders and forces, including Bilal Saeed Shaaban, secretary general of the Islamic Tawhid Movement; Hashim Manqarah, chairman of the Leadership Council of the Islamic Tawhid Movement; Abdul Nasser Jabri, head of the Ummah Movement; Zuhair Othman al-Juayd, head of the Resistance Action Front; and Abdullah al-Tiryaqi, secretary general of the Fajr Movement. Al-Juayd is currently the general coordinator of the front, which has one parliamentary seat.

Other notable Sunni political forces include the Salafist Movement, the Association of Islamic Charitable Projects, the National Dialogue Party, the Union Party, the Arab Liberation Party, the Najadah Party, the Islamic Tawhid Movement, the Arab Lebanon Movement, the Lebanese People’s Congress, the Hizb al-Tahrir Party and the Lebanese Arab Youth Party.

Druze parties

Lebanon’s Druze community is represented by the following parties:

Progressive Socialist Party: This party was founded by Kamal Jumblatt with the participation of a number of politicians in 1949. Although the party and its founder are secularist and socialist, the majority of its members are Druze and its current president is the leader of the Druze community. The party’s armed militia fought alongside the Palestinians in the civil war against the Maronite Christians and the Kataeb Party. Jumblatt was assassinated on 16 March 1977. The party is represented by nine deputies in parliament.

Lebanese Democratic Party: Founded by Talal Arslan in 2001 and the Progressive Socialist Party’s largest rival within the Druze community. Arslan, who has been the head of the party since its establishment, is one of its two members of parliament.

There are several other Druze-dominated parties with limited power. These are the Independent Republican Party, the Lebanese Arab Struggle Movement and the Unity Movement.

Alawite-majority parties

The Alawite sect is considered one of the smallest Muslim communities and has three weak political parties. These are the Arab Democratic Party, the Alawite Youth Movement and the al-Fursan Charitable Society, none of which has parliamentary representation.

As for nationalist and ethnic parties, they are many, the most important of which are:

Nationalist parties

Baath Party: This is an extension and branch of the Baath Party founded in Syria in 1947 by Michel Aflaq and Salah al-Bitar. The party does not recognize borders between Arab countries and has a regional leadership that includes all branches of the party in Syria, Lebanon, Iraq and elsewhere. The party holds two parliamentary seats.

Syrian Social Nationalist Party: This party advocates the establishment of a ‘Greater Syria’, which includes the Fertile Crescent region. It is an extension of the Syrian party with the same name and orientation, founded by Antoine Saadah in 1932. The party has three parliamentary seats.

There are many other nationalist parties such as the Vanguard Party and the Grouping of Committees and Popular Leagues. This is in addition to other nationalist parties that adhere to the Nasserist ideology, which are: the Mourabitoun, the Union Party, the Union of Working People’s Forces, the Nasserist Popular Organization, the Arab Socialist Union and the Nasserist Democratic Movement.

Armenian-majority parties

Tashnak Party: Also called the Armenian Revolutionary Party, the Tashnak Party was founded in 1890 in Tbilisi, Georgia and many of its members moved to Lebanon after the Armenian massacres committed by the Ottoman Empire. This is the most powerful Armenian party in Lebanon, and it currently holds two parliamentary seats.

Ramgavar Party: This party was founded in the Turkish city of Wan in 1921 before relocating to Lebanon. The party currently has one parliamentary seat.

Hanshak Party: This party was founded in 1887 in Geneva, Switzerland and moved to Lebanon in 1980. It was founded on the Armenian demand for independence from the Ottoman Empire, like other Armenian parties at the time. The party has continued to work politically in Lebanon but currently has no representation in parliament.

There are also some Kurdish-majority parties and forces, namely the Kurdish Democratic Party and the Razkari Party, and Syrian-majority parties, such as the Syriac Union Party and the Assyrian Democratic Organization.

Leftist or secular parties

Among the leftist or secular parties that are not dominated by a certain sect or ethnicity are the People’s Movement, the Lebanese Communist Party, the Constitutional Bloc, the Movement for Democratic Renewal, the Lebanese Secular Movement and the Communist Action Organization.

Lebanon’s main political parties and forces can be divided into two: The 8 March and 14 March coalitions, which were formed following Rafik Hariri’s assassination in 2005.

The 8 March coalition includes: the Free Patriotic Movement, Hezbollah, the Amal Movement, the Lebanese Democratic Party, the Tashnak Party, the Syrian Nationalist Party, the Baath Party, the al-Marada Movement, the al-Azm Movement, the al-Karama Movement, the Association of Islamic Charitable Projects and the Nasserist Popular Organization.

The 8 March coalition’s main rival is the 14 March coalition, which includes: the Future Movement, the Lebanese Forces, the Kataeb Party, the Progressive Socialist Party, the Movement for Democratic Renewal, the Lebanese National Bloc, the Democratic Left Movement and the National Liberal Party.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Patrick BAZ ©AFP | Patrick BAZ ©AFP

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update