فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / لبنان / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الإنتخابات اللبنانية: القادمون الجدد يتطلعون إلى عزل الحرس القديم / منظمات المجتمع المدني تأمل في تغيير ميزان القوى في الانتخابات اللبنانية

منظمات المجتمع المدني تأمل في تغيير ميزان القوى في الانتخابات اللبنانية

Lebanon- Trash crisis Lebanon
متظاهرون لبنانيون يلوحون بالعلم اللبناني ويرددون هتافات خلال مظاهرةٍ نظمتها جماعات المجتمع المدني، احتجاجاً على أزمة النفايات المستمرة في البلاد Photo AFP

تتزايد أعداد جماعات المجتمع المدني التي تُقدم مرشحين للانتخابات البرلمانية المزمع عقدها في 6 مايو 2018 في لبنان، أملاً في تحدي ميزان القوى التقليدي على السلطة في البلاد.

فقد أثارت أزمة النفايات عام 2015، والتي أدت إلى اندلاعٍ احتجاجاتٍ في العاصمة بيروت وخارج مكبات النفايات، الحاجة إلى تعبيرٍ جديد عن الفاعلية. فعلى سبيل المثال، أطلقت حملة طلعت ريحتكم، وهي حملة بدأت من وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي من قِبل جماعاتٍ بيئية ومجتمعية انتقدت فيها الحكومة لفشلها في التخلص من النفايات المتراكمة في شوارع بيروت، الرغبة في تغييرٍ حقيقي في السياسة اللبنانية. وفي السنوات الثلاث التالية، أصبح الأشخاص الذين كانوا جزءاً من الحملة ومنظمات المجتمع المدني نشطين سياسياً على نحوٍ متزايد.

فعلى سبيل المثال، خسرت حركة بيروت مدينتي المستقلة الإنتخابات البلدية في مايو 2016 بفارقٍ ضئيل، حيث حصلت على 40% من الأصوات. وفي أكتوبر 2016، تم إطلاق مجموعة سياسية جديدة مستقلة حملت اسم سبعة من قِبل بعض الأشخاص المشاركين في حملتي طلعت ريحتكم وبيروت مدينتي. أما بالنسبة للانتخابات البرلمانية لعام 2018، سيمثل التحالف الوطني، وهو تحالفٌ يضم 11 من منظمات المجتمع المدني بقيادة سبعة، جزءاً كبيراً من هذا المجتمع المدني. كما تم تشكيل قوائم أخرى للمجتمع المدني في مناطق مختلفة من لبنان، بشكلٍ مستقل عن التحالف الوطني.

وفي هذا الصدد، قالت منى خنيصر، منسق مشروع برنامج المجتمع المدني والسياسات في معهد عصام فارس، “انطلاقاً من الحاجة إلى التنظيم السياسي والتعاون في مبادرة دائمة، ما فتئت الجهات الفاعلة في المجتمع المدني ومجموعات وشبكات الناشطين تتداول في استراتيجيات داخلية وآمال في التأثير على التغيير من خلال الانتخابات البرلمانية المقبلة.” وأضافت “لقد أجبرت الإحباطات المتكررة بين ما يسمى ناشطو المجتمع المدني بقدرتهم المتصورة على إحداث تغيير في النظام من خلال معارك واحدة، العديد من العمليات الانتخابية ومنطق التغيير التدريجي من الداخل. فقد كشفت خبرة النشطاء الطويلة في مجال الدعوة وحملات القضية الواحدة لهم عن العوائق الهيكلية وعدم الاستعداد السياسي للانضمام إلى المطالب العامة، وتعتبر احتجاجات أزمة النفايات في عام 2015 تذكير أخير واحد.”

لبلدي، إحدى القوائم في التحالف الوطني في بيروت، والتي أعلنت عن مرشحيها وبرنامجها السياسي في 10 مارس. فالأهداف الرئيسية للبرنامج مؤسساتية، بما في ذلك إلغاء الطائفية، وتنفيذ اتفاق الطائف (الذي أنهى الحرب الأهلية عام 1989)، وفصل السلطة التنفيذية عن السلطة القضائية والتشريعية، وتحسين البنى التحتية الأساسية لخلق فرص العمل، وإدخال نظام مصرفي ومالي جديد، والإسكان والتعليم، والسيادة والأمن.

وفي هذا الشأن، قال الخبير في تطوير السياسة العامة والمرشح عن قائمة لبلدي، طارق عمّار، “إنها حركة سياسية جديدة لا ترتبط بالإيديولوجيات السياسية التقليدية.” وأضاف “نركز على احتياجات الناس وأولوياتهم. تغطي مجموعاتنا كل لبنان، وهذا تحدي كبير. نحن متأكدون من وجود بعض أعضاء البرلمان [من التحالف الوطني]، ولكن في الوقت الراهن نحن بحاجة إلى التضامن وحشد الناخبين لنتمكن من إحداث فرق.”

أما في بعبدا، أحد الأحياء جنوب بيروت، فقد أطلق بول أبي راشد، وهو ناشط بيئي ورئيس جمعية الأرض- لبنان، قائمةً مستقلة حملت عنوان صفحة جديدة للبنان مع المهندس الدكتور أجود العياش، والأستاذة في قانون الأعمال ألفت السبع. ولم تكتمل القائمة بعد إذ لا زالوا يتقربون من أشخاص آخرين ممن سيكونوا قادرين على تمثيل كل من أولوياتهم الست، ألا وهي: البيئة، والمجتمع والاقتصاد، والصحة، والإصلاح السياسي والأمن.

وقال أبي راشد: “نحن نبني برنامجنا على أهداف التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030.” وتابع قوله “نعتقد أنها لحظة جيدة لأن الأحزاب السياسية التقليدية لم تظهر سوى الإخفاقات. نريد المشاركة لأنهم لم يستمعوا أبداً إلى حلولنا لمشاكل لبنان، وبدأ المواطنون يدركون ذلك. أعتقد أن الناس يشعرون بالاشمئزاز بسبب تصرفات النواب الحالية، مما قد يمنحنا فرصة ما.”

وفي المتن، شرق بيروت، أعلنت نادين موسى، وهي محامية وأول إمرأة في لبنان تترشح لمنصب الرئيس، ترشحها بقائمة مستقلة حملت اسم تنعيش، بالرغم من أنها تفكر بالإنضمام إلى مجموعة أخرى من مجموعات المجتمع المدني في وقتٍ لاحق. ونادين موسى واحدة من 111 إمرأة ترشحن للانتخابات هذا العام. ويتضمن البرنامج السياسي للقائمة تحقيق استقلال النظام القضائي، وتأمين حقوق المواطنين من خلال ضمان حصولهم على أساسيات الحياة، وحماية الأماكن العامة، واتخاذ قرار جديد بشأن موارد النفط والغاز في لبنان.

وقالت موسى “وفقاً لاستطلاعات المعهد الديمقراطي الوطني، فإن الشعب اللبناني يعطي الأولوية للضمان الاجتماعي وفرص العمل ومحاربة الفساد.” وأضافت “أعتقد أن الناس قد غيروا رأيهم عندما كانت الأوضاع عام 2009 جيدة. عندما أتحدث إلى الناس في منطقتنا، على سبيل المثال، بدأوا بتقبل مفهوم العلمانية، وهو أمرٌ جديد. كما يساعدنا قانون التصويت الجديد أيضاً، لأنه مع إدخال النظام النسبي، نحتاج الآن إلى 13 ألف صوت فقط بدلاً من 50 ألف صوت للوصول إلى نتيجة. وستلعب الأحزاب التقليدية مرةً أخرى على الخوف باعتباره عنصراً قيّماً، مثل التهديدات من الدول الأجنبية، ولكن هل ينبغي لنا أن نستمر في العيش في ظل الخوف؟ يجب أن نعتمد أكثر على ذكاء الناس بدلاً من عواطفهم.”

حتى وإن نجح هؤلاء المستقلون في قيادة الحوار وجذب الناخبين، إلا أن هناك مسألة أخرى لا بد من معالجتها، ألا وهي النظام السياسي نفسه. ومن وجهة نظر خنيصر “إذا ما افترضنا أن الفوز في الانتخابات يعني ضمناً اكتساب السلطة أو تحقيق التغيير، إلا أن هذا قد يكون فرضيةً مضللة وأملاً مخادعاً.” وتابعت القول “من المتوقع أن تبقى غالبية المقاعد في قبضة الأطراف الطائفية التقليدية، التي صممت قانوناً يناسب احتياجاتها، في حين تقدم فحسب تنازلاتٍ صغيرة للحفاظ على الحد الأدنى من الشرعية للنظام.”

ولكن حتى دون وجود أغلبية في البرلمان، فضلاً عن الانقسامات السياسية وعدم وجود تأثير فوري عملي، يمكن للمجتمع المدني على الأقل أن يتخذ أول ما يمكن أن يكون خطواتٍ عديدة نحو حياةٍ سياسية أكثر تنوعاً في لبنان.

image_pdfimage_print

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Past to Present / In Lebanon Elections, Newcomers Look to Unseat Old Guard / Civil Society Groups Hope to Shift Balance of Power in Lebanese Elections

Civil Society Groups Hope to Shift Balance of Power in Lebanese Elections

Lebanon- Trash crisis Lebanon
Lebanese protesters wave the national flag and shout slogans during a demonstration organised by civil society groups, to protest against the country’s ongoing trash crisis. Photo AFP

A growing number of civil society groups are putting forward candidates for the 6 May 2018 parliamentary elections in Lebanon, hoping to challenge the hold on power by traditional forces.

The garbage crisis of 2015, which resulted in protests in the capital Beirut and outside landfills, sparked the need for a new expression of activism. You Stink, a social media campaign launched by community and environmental groups criticizing the government for its failure to get the rubbish of Beirut’s streets, triggered a desire for real change in Lebanese politics. In the three years since, people who were part of the campaign as well as civil society organizations have become increasingly politically active.

For example, the independent Beirut Madinati (My City) narrowly lost the municipal elections in May 2016, with 40 per cent of the votes. In October 2016, a new independent political group called Sabaa (Seven) was launched by some of the same people involved in You Stink and Beirut Madinati. For the 2018 parliamentary elections, the National Coalition, an alliance of 11 civil society groups led by Sabaa, will represent a large part of this civil society. Other civil society lists have also been formed in different parts of Lebanon, independently of the National Coalition.

“Coming out of the need to organize politically and unite in a lasting initiative, so-called civil society actors, groups and networks of activists have been deliberating internal strategies and hopes of affecting change through the next parliamentary elections,” said Mona Khneisser, project coordinator of the Civil Society and Policy-making Program at Issam Fares Institute. “Recurrent frustrations among the so-called civil society activists in their perceived ability to affect change in the system through single battles, has compelled several towards the electoral process and the logic of gradual change from within. Activists’ long experience in advocacy and single-issue campaigning had revealed to them the structural impediments and political unwillingness to accede to public demands, the trash crisis protests in 2015 [being] one recent reminder.”

One of the lists in the National Coalition is LiBaladi (For My Country) in Beirut. It announced its candidates and political programme on 10 March. The main goals of the programme are institutional, including the abolition of sectarianism, implementing the Taif Agreement (which ended the civil war in 1989) and separating the executive from the judiciary and legislative branches; improving basic infrastructures to create jobs; introducing a new banking and financial system, housing and education; and sovereignty and security.

“It’s a new political movement not bound to the traditional political ideologies,” said Tarek Ammar, an expert in the development of public policy and a LiBaladi candidate. “We focus on people’s needs and priorities. Our groups cover all Lebanon, this is a big challenge. We are sure to have some parliament members [from the National Coalition], but for now we need solidarity and mobilized voters to be able to make a difference.”

In Baabda, a district south of Beirut, Paul Abi Rached, an environmental activist and president of T.E.R.R.E. Liban, launched the independent list Safha Jadida li Lubnan (New Page for Lebanon) with engineer Dr Ajwad Ayash and business law professor Olfat al-Sabeh. The list is not complete yet as they are approaching other people who will be best able to represent each of their six priorities: environment, society and economy, health, political reform and security.

“We base our programme on the 2030 Sustainable Development Goals,” Abi Rached said. “We think it’s a good moment because the traditional political parties have shown mainly failures. We want to participate because they never listened to our solutions to Lebanon’s problems, and citizens started to realize that. I think people are disgusted by their current MPs’ actions, which might give us a chance.”

East of Beirut in Matn, Nadine Moussa, a lawyer and the first woman in Lebanon to run for president, announced her candidacy with the independent Tan3eesh (Live Better) list, although she is thinking about joining forces with another civil society group at a later date. She is one of 111 women running this year. The list’s political platform includes achieving the independence of the judiciary system, securing citizens’ rights by ensuring they have access to life’s essentials, protecting public spaces, and a new decision on Lebanon’s oil and gas resources.

“According to surveys from the National Democratic Institute, Lebanese people are prioritizing social security, job opportunities and fighting corruption,” Moussa said. “I think that people have changed their mind since 2009 was a good time. When I speak to people in my region, for example, they are starting to accept the concept of secularism, which is new. The new voting law helps too, because with the introduction of the proportional system, now we need only 13,000 votes instead of 50,000 to get to a result. The traditional parties will again play on fear as their main asset, like threats from foreign countries, but should we keep on living in fear? We have to rely a bit more on the people’s intelligence instead of their emotion.”

Even if these independent candidates manage to lead the debate and attract voters, another issue is the political system itself. “Assuming that winning elections automatically implies winning power or realizing change may be a misguided assumption and a misled hope,” Khneisser said. “The majority of seats are predicted to remain within the grasp of traditional sectarian parties, who have designed a law tailored to their needs, while making only minor concessions to maintain a minimum level of legitimacy for the system.”

But even without a majority in parliament, political divisions and no practical immediate impact, civil society can at least take the first of what is likely to be many steps towards a more diverse political life in Lebanon.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.