فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / حزب الله في لبنان، ما بين مطالب الثوار والدعم الإيراني

حزب الله في لبنان، ما بين مطالب الثوار والدعم الإيراني

Lebanon demos
متظاهرون لبنانيون يشتبكون مع قوات الشرطة خلال مظاهرةٍ خارج مقر مؤسسة كهرباء لبنان في العاصمة اللبنانية بيروت في 11 يناير 2020. Photo: ANWAR AMRO / AFP

في 17 أكتوبر 2019 اندلعت انتفاضة شعبية كبيرة في لبنان طالبت بإصلاحاتٍ اقتصادية وسياسية وتغيير النظام الحاكم، الذي بُني على محاصصة دينية رسخت قواعد الطائفية والفساد. كما طالب الثوار بإبعاد لبنان عن التدخلات الخارجية التي لطالما كانت سبباً رئيسياً في تدهور أوضاعها الاقتصادية- الاجتماعية والاقتصادية. وفي القلب من كل ذلك كان موقف حزب الله، الحزب الشيعي السياسي القوي والجماعات المسلحة الذي يخضع بحكم بنيانه إلى حسابات أخرى تتعلق بصلته الوثيقة بالجمهورية الإسلامية في إيران ومشاريعها ومغامراتها الإقليمية.

حزب الله والثورة

تعامل حزب الله بدايةً مع مشهد خروج عشرات الآلاف من اللبنانيين إلى الشوارع والساحات بكثيرٍ من الحذر. ولكن، سرعان ما تحول الحذر إلى رفض ومواجهة، فالحزب لم يرِد تغيير الوضع السياسي القائم الذي يتمتع فيه بقوة ونفوذ كبير بالشراكة مع حلفاءه وفي مقدمتهم حركة أمل الشيعية والتيار الوطني الحُر المسيحي.

وفي نفس الوقت، كان هناك تخوف من مواجهة الحراك وتكرار سيناريو 7 مايو عام 2008، عندما سيطر الحزب على لبنان بقوة السلاح رداً على قرارات حكومية بمصادرة شبكة اتصالات حزب الله الخاصة وتغيير قائد جهاز أمن مطار بيروت، بسبب مزاعم بعلاقاتٍ تربطه بالحزب. أفقدت تلك الواقعة الحزب كثيراً من شعبيته داخل البلاد وجعلت سلاحه في دائرة الاستهداف الدائم بتهمة استخدامه داخلياً في السياسة وليس لحماية أمن لبنان كما يدعي دائماً.

كما كان هناك توجسٌ من الحزب حال معاداته للحراك منذ انطلاقه خوفاً من فقدان جزء كبير من شعبيته داخل بيئته الحاضنة المتمثلة في الطائفة الشيعية والتي خرج منها عدد ليس بقليل وفي أماكن نفوذ الحزب مثل محافظات النبطية وصور. ومن ناحية أخرى، رأى الحزب أن الحراك يمكن استخدامه في تحقيق بعض المطالب التي لا يرغب في الخوض فيها بنفسه مثل محاربة الفساد خوفاً على شراكته السياسية مع بعض التكتلات والأحزاب والقوى.

إلا أنه سريعاً ما تغير خطاب الحزب نحو الحراك على عدة مراحل. بدايةً، كان هناك رفضٌ صريح لبعض المطالب كالانتخابات البرلمانية أو الرئاسية المبكرة، مخوفاً من نشوب حربٍ أهلية. تلاها اتهام الحزب للحراك بتلقي أموال من السفارات الأجنبية، ودعوة كل جماهير حزب الله للانسحاب من الساحات والشوارع والخروج من الحراك بشكل نهائي. وأخيراً، الصمت عن الاعتداءات المتكررة من أنصاره على المتظاهرين ومحاولات فض الاعتصامات وغيرها من مظاهر العنف، وهو ما رآه الكثيرون أنه بدافع خوف حزب الله من تعالي المطالب بنزع سلاحه. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، دعم حزب الله حسان دياب، وزير التعليم السابق والأستاذ الجامعي، بعد تسميته رئيساً جديداً للحكومة، الأمر الذي يرفضه الحراك وترفضه كثير من القوى السياسية باعتبار أن هذا يمنح الحزب- وبالتالي إيران- سيطرةً أكبر على الحكومة في بيروت.

Hezbollah
أنصار حزب الله الشيعي يرفعون أيديهم تأييداً بينما يلقي زعيم الحزب خطاباً على الشاشة، في الضاحية الجنوبية للعاصمة اللبنانية بيروت في 5 يناير 2020. Photo: ANWAR AMRO / AFP

في حديث لـفَنَك، يقول فواز طرابلسي، المؤرخ واستاذ العلوم السياسية بالجامعة الأمريكية في بيروت، إن “موضوع سلاح حزب الله لم يدخل مباشرة في هذا الحراك الشعبي؛ ما يدخل هو سياسات حزب الله الذي أعلن أمينه العام [حسن نصر الله] منذ الأيام الأولى تمسكه بالنظام والسلطة القائمة وبالحكومة وأثار الشكوك على الحراك لجهة تدخل جهات غربية وأمريكية فيه، داعياً جماهيره الى مغادرة الشوارع. ذلك أن جماهيره لم تقل شكوى من تردي الاحوال المعيشية والبطالة والفساد وقد عبّرت عن ذلك بأعنف تعبير خلال الايام الاولى من الانتفاضة. وكان الهاجس الأول لقيادة حزب الله هو ألا يتكرر في لبنان ما حصل في العراق من غضبة جماهيرية وانفكاك قطاعات واسعة من الشيعة عن الاحزاب الحاكمة.”

وأضاف: “يصعب اتهام حزب الله بأنواع الفساد التي مارستها سائر الطبقة الحاكمة، إلا أنه مسؤول بالتأكيد عن التغطية على تلك السياسات خلال السنوات الطويلة من مشاركته في الحكم. أضف الى ذلك أن الحزب لم يضع أي عقبة تذكر أمام الإجراءات النيوليبرالية التي أنجزت إلى الآن وهو الأخفض صوتاً في محاسبة القطاع المصرفي. فقد اقتصر برنامجه في المسألة الاجتماعية حتى الآن على شعارين: لا ضرائب على الفقراء (علماً ان الضرائب تطول فئات واسعة من ذوي الدخل المحدود والطبقات المتوسطة) واسترداد أموال الدولة المنهوبة.”

يختم قوله بـ”المهم في الأمر أن حزب الله الذي شنت وتشنّ اجهزته الإعلامية الحملات الاتهامية ضد الانتفاضة على اعتبارها ‘تتبع أجندات خارجية،‘ وأميركية خصوصاً، ها هو وحلفاؤه في الأغلبية النيابية قد اختاروا لتشكيل الحكومة نائب رئيس الجامعة الاميركية في بيروت [حسان دياب]، لتشكيل حكومةٍ جديدة.”

حزب الله وإيران

في الوقت نفسه، لا يمكن للمرء تجاهل تأثير علاقة حزب الله بالجمهورية الإسلامية في إيران على الشأن الداخلي اللبناني، فالحزب أعلن سابقاً على لسان رجله الأقوى وأمينه العام حسن نصر الله أن تمويله ورواتب مقاتليه وصواريخه وعتاده العسكري بالكامل يأتي من طهران. تلك التبعية لإيران تؤثر على بيروت وفي القلب منها حراكها من عدة جوانب، أولها أن أحد مطالب الحراك هو وقف التدخلات الأجنبية التي يستتبعها التلاعب بالشأن اللبناني، ثانيها تأثير تلك التبعية على الأوضاع الاقتصادية اللبنانية من جرّاء العقوبات الاقتصادية المفروضة على الحزب والقطاع المصرفي اللبناني كجزء من العداء الأمريكي لإيران، ثالثها وأهمها هو تورط لبنان في الصراعات الإقليمية التي تخوضها إيران في كل من العراق وسوريا ومع إسرائيل وهو ما كان أحد جوانبه الدمار الذي لحق بلبنان خلال حرب عام 2006 بين إسرائيل وحزب الله، تلك الحرب التي قال عنها قائد فيلق القدس، قاسم سليماني، في حوار قبل اغتياله من قبل الولايات المتحدة في غارةٍ جوية في 3 يناير 2020، أنه كان المشرف الأول عليها.

فقد اتضح تضارب المسألتين عقب اغتيال القائد العسكري الإيراني قاسم سليماني، حيث أعلن نصر الله، الأمين العام للحزب، خلال كلمته في حفل تأبين سُليماني أن الحزب وباقي القوى الموالية لطهران –والتي اسماها بقوى المقاومة –مسؤولون عن الرد على عملية الاغتيال. ورغم انفراد طهران بذلك الرد من خلال القصف الصاروخي الذي استهدف القاعدة العسكرية الأمريكية في العراق، إلا أن انحياز الحزب بات واضحاً، وهو الاستمرار في تعامل الحزب كذراع عسكري للجمهورية الإسلامية في إيران وتغليب تلك التبعية على المصالح اللبنانية السياسية والأمنية، حتى وإن لم يتورط حتى الآن بشكل مباشر.

يرى الكثيرون من الشعب اللبناني أن سلاح حزب الله هو الضمانة الوحيدة لأمن لبنان من خطر التدخل الإسرائيلي، نظراً لدور الحزب التاريخي في صد هذا الخطر بانسحاب إسرائيل من الجنوب اللبناني عام 2000، إلا ان آخرون يرون بأن هذا السلاح ومن خلفه إيران يُشكل تهديداً على الأمن والاستقرار في لبنان سواء من خشية استخدامه داخلياً مثلما حدث في 7 مايو عام 2008 أو خارجياً مثل التدخل في سوريا إلى جانب نظام الرئيس بشار الأسد، الأمر الذي كان له آثار على لبنان بعمليات واستهداف من قبل الجماعات المسلحة. ورغم عدم وقوف حزب الله بشكلٍ رسمي أو عسكري في مواجهة الحراك، إلا أنه أعلن بوضوح أنه في حال تعارضه مع المصالح الإيرانية فإن انحيازه سيكون للأخيرة.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن لبنان يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وثق...
تقدم فنك لمحة عامة عن تاريخ لبنان من حاضره إلى ماضيه، محاولين بذلك...
لم يعتقد الكثيرون أن هذا ممكن، ذلك أن الخوف اللبناني من حربٍ أهلية...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ANWAR AMRO ©AFP | ANWAR AMRO ©AFP | ANWAR AMRO ©AFP

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Past to Present / In Lebanon, Hezbollah Torn Between Protestors’ Demands and Iranian Support

In Lebanon, Hezbollah Torn Between Protestors’ Demands and Iranian Support

Lebanon demos
Lebanese demonstrators clash with police during a demonstration outside the Electricity Of Lebanon national company headquarters in the Lebanese capital Beirut on January 11, 2020. Photo: ANWAR AMRO / AFP

On 17 October 2019, a massive popular uprising erupted in Lebanon, with protestors demanding economic and political reforms and a change in the ruling regime, which is based on religious quotas that entrench sectarianism and corruption. Protestors also demanded a stop to foreign interference in the country, which has long been a major cause of deteriorating economic social and economic conditions. At the heart of all this was the position of Hezbollah, the powerful Shia Islamist political party and militant group whose structure and goals are governed by its strong ties to Iran and Iran’s own regional activities.

Hezbollah and the protest movement

Hezbollah initially dealt cautiously with the tens of thousands of people who took to the streets. However, that caution quickly turned into confrontation because Hezbollah is unwilling to change a political situation where it enjoys significant power and influence in partnership with its allies, the most prominent of which is the Shia Amal Movement and the Christian Free Patriotic Movement.

At the same time, Hezbollah feared a repeat of 7 May 2008, when it took control of Lebanon by force in response to a government move to shut down Hezbollah’s telecommunications network and remove Beirut airport’s security chief over alleged ties to the party. Following this incident, Hezbollah lost much of its support and its weapons became subject to criticism over accusations that these had been used to influence internal politics instead of protecting the country’s security, as Hezbollah claimed.

Hezbollah also had concerns about appearing hostile towards the protest movement for fear of alienating its social incubators, namely the Shias, a significant number of whom took to the streets in areas controlled by Hezbollah such as the governorates of Nabatiyeh and Tyre. On the other hand, the party saw an opportunity to use the protest movement to fight corruption without having to involve itself directly and compromising its political partnership with certain blocs, parties and forces.

However, Hezbollah’s discourse on the protest movement has evolved over the past months. It initially and explicitly rejected some of the protestors’ demands, such as holding early parliamentary or presidential elections, warning these could spark civil war. The party then accused the movement of receiving foreign funds and called on Hezbollah’s grassroots to withdraw from the protest once and for all. The movement remained silent about the repeated assaults carried out by Hezbollah supporters against the demonstrators, which many considered to be driven by the fear of demands for Hezbollah to disarm. In addition, Hezbollah backed Hassan Diab, a former education minister and university professor, as the new prime minister, which the protest movement and many political forces see as giving the party – and by extension Iran – potentially greater control over the government in Beirut.

Hezbollah
Supporters of the Shiite Hezbollah movement react with clenched fists as the movement’s leader delivers a speech on a screen, in the Lebanese capital Beirut’s southern suburbs on January 5, 2020. Photo: ANWAR AMRO / AFP

In an interview with Fanack, Fawaz Trabelsi, a historian and professor of political science at the American University of Beirut, explained, “The issue of Hezbollah’s weapons was not raised directly by the popular protest movement; rather, the movement has been against the policies of Hezbollah, the secretary general of which [Hassan Nasrallah] has said since the early days of the protest movement that he would hold on to the regime and the existing authority and government. [Nasrallah] also suspected the protest movement was influenced by Western and American sites and called on his masses to clear the streets. His followers did not complain less about poor living conditions, unemployment and corruption, and they expressed their grievances in the most violent terms during the early days of the uprising. The main concern of Hezbollah’s leadership was that Lebanon could experience what happened in Iraq in terms of public anger and disengagement between major segments of Shiites and the ruling parties.”

He continued, “It is difficult to accuse Hezbollah of involvement in the kinds of corruption that the rest of the ruling class has practised. However, the party is certainly responsible for covering up those policies over the long years of participation in power. Moreover, the party has not placed any significant obstacles to the neoliberal measures that have been taking place so far, and its voice has been the quietest when it comes to holding the banking sector accountable. Hezbollah’s agenda on the social level has so far been limited to two slogans: no taxes should be imposed on the poor – although taxes affect wide-ranging groups of low-income and middle-class people – and pillaged state funds should be returned.”

He concluded, “Most importantly, Hezbollah’s media arm has launched campaigns against the uprising, accusing it of ‘serving external agendas’ and the US agenda in particular. Also, Hezbollah and its allies, which make up a parliamentary majority, have designated the vice president of the American University of Beirut [Hassan Diab] to form a new government.”

Hezbollah and Iran

At the same time, one cannot ignore the impact of Hezbollah’s relationship with Iran on Lebanese affairs. Nasrallah announced publicly that the party’s funding, including the money to pay for its fighters, missiles and other military equipment, comes from Tehran. This dependency on Iran is affecting Beirut and the protest movement in several ways. Firstly, one of the protest movement’s demands is ending foreign interference in Lebanon. Secondly, the sanctions imposed by the United States on Hezbollah and a local bank that Washington claims has ties to the party is further deepening the country’s economic crisis. Thirdly, and most importantly, Lebanon is involved in conflicts in which Iran is engaged with Iraq, Syria and Israel. This involvement can have devastating consequences at home, as evidenced by the destruction in Lebanon during the 2006 war between Israel and Hezbollah. Qassem Soleimani, former commander of Iran’s elite Quds Force, said in an interview before he was assassinated by a US airstrike on 3 January 2020 that he was the key supervisor of the 2006 war.

The overlapping interests of Iran and Hezbollah became clear following the assassination. Nasrallah announced during a speech at a memorial service for Soleimani that Hezbollah and the other forces loyal to Tehran – which Nasrallah called the resistance forces – were responsible for responding to the assassination. Although Iran itself retaliated by firing missiles at two US bases in Iraq, Hezbollah’s bias was obvious as it continues to act as Iran’s military arm in Lebanon and prefer dependency on Iran to domestic political and security interests, even if the party has not yet been directly involved.

Many Lebanese believe that Hezbollah’s weapons are the only guarantee of Lebanon’s security against Israel, given the party’s role in forcing Israel’s withdrawal from southern Lebanon in 2000. Others, however, see Hezbollah’s weapons, and Iran’s backing, as a threat to security and stability in Lebanon because they fear that the weapons will be used internally, as they were on 7 May 2008, or externally, such as to support the regime of Syrian President Bashar al-Assad, which has had impact on Lebanon through operations and attacks by armed groups crossing the Lebanese border. Although Hezbollah does not officially or militarily oppose the protest movement, it has made it clear that it will side with Iran if the protest movement conflicts with Iranian interests.

Further Reading

Fanack’s Lebanon country file provides a comprehensive overview about Lebanon, its history, politics, culture, economy...
Fanack presents an overview of Lebanon’s history from its present to its past, attempting to get through the conclusiv...
Many never believed it would happen, as the Lebanese fear of another civil war if they let go of their political leaders...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ANWAR AMRO ©AFP | ANWAR AMRO ©AFP | ANWAR AMRO ©AFP

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update