فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / حزب الله وداعش، ديكان في القفص اللبناني

حزب الله وداعش، ديكان في القفص اللبناني

ISIS militants who attacked the Lebanese army and civilians in Arsal, August 2014 / Photo Arsal News
مقاتلو داعش الذين اعتدوا على الجيش اللبناني والمدنيين في عرسال / Photo Arsal News

تعود أولى المواجهات المباشرة بين حزب الله اللبناني الشيعي والتنظيم السُني المتطرف الذي بات يعرف اليوم بدولة الإسلام في العراق والشام (داعش) إلى أواخر شهر أيار/ابريل من العام الحالي، حيث تمكن الأخير من السيطرة على بضع بلدات في منطقة القلمون السورية المحاذية للحدود اللبنانية. وقد دارت آنذاك معارك طاحنة بين الطرفين أفضت إلى تراجع داعش من المناطق التي كانت سيطرت عليها. وقد علق الأمين العام لحزب الله، حسن نصر الله، في ذلك الحين على انخراط حزبه في مواجهة داعش في سوريا قائلاً: “لو أننا لم نتدخل في سوريا في الوقت المناسب وفي الطريقة والكيفية المناسبتين.. لكان داعش الآن في بيروت”. ويعود تدخل حزب الله في سوريا لدعم نظام الأسد إلى عام 2012.

وإثر تلك المواجهات وضع حزب الله قواته وجهازه الاستخباري في حالة تأهب قصوى، فأقام الحواجز الأمنية على جميع مداخل الضاحية الجنوبية ـ معقل الشيعة والحزب في بيروت ـ تحسبا من قيام خلايا نائمة لداعش في لبنان بشن هجمات ضد الحزب، خاصة بعد موجة السيارات المفخخة التي ضربت مناطق الحزب في لبنان خلال الشهور الأخيرة وذهب كثيرون إلى الاعتقاد أن داعش كانت وراءها. وعلى مدى شهر تلى، ظلت المواجهة بين الطرفين محصورة في الأراضي السورية، خاصة تلك القريبة من الحدود مع لبنان.

لكن في شهر حزيران/يونيو الماضي، بثت داعش (أو “الدولة الإسلامية” كما تطلق على نفسها) شريطاً مصوراً يظهر خمسة رجال يدعون إلى “الجهاد” في سوريا، وقال أحد الجهاديين الذي ادعى أنه يحمل الجنسية البريطانية ويُكنى “أبو مثنى اليمني” متحدثاً الإنكليزية: “نحن لا نعترف بحدود… شاركنا في معارك الشام (سوريا الكبرى) وسنذهب إلى العراق في غضون أيام قليلة، سنقاتل وسنعود، وسنتجه إلى الأردن ولبنان”.
وبالفعل لم يستغرق الأمر سوى بضعة أيام حتى تحول إلى واقع، إذ أعلنت داعش رسميا في 25 حزيران/يونيو تمدّدها إلى لبنان، متبنية التفجير الانتحاري الذي ضرب فندق «دي روي» في منطقة الروشة بالعاصمة بيروت. وجاء تبني العملية في بيان أصدره التنظيم قال فيه أن التفجير استهدف مجموعة تابعة للأمن العام اللبناني “الموالي لحزب الله”. وتوعد التنظيم في بيانه حزب الله والجيش اللبناني بأن “ما هذا إلا أول الغيث فأبشروا بالمئات من الاستشهاديين والانغماسيين، والله غالب على أمره ولكن أكثر الناس لا يعلمون”.

السيطرة على عرسال

ولم يقف الأمر عند هذا الحد، ففي مطلع شهر آب/أغسطس الماضي وبين ليلة وضحاها، ظهر مئات المسلحين ممن أعلنوا انتماءهم إلى داعش وجبهة النصرة، المتحالفة مع تنظيم القاعدة، في بلدة عرسال اللبنانية القريبة من الحدود مع سوريا، واستطاعوا خلال ساعات قليلة وضع المدينة بأكملها تحت سيطرتهم، بعد أن شنوا هجوماً مباغتاً على المراكز الأمنية في المنطقة واحكموا قبضتهم على ثلاث منها. وجاء ذلك الاجتياح رداً على اعتقال مسؤول عسكري لداعش يدعى عماد جمعة خلال زيارته لمستشفى ميداني في عرسال قبل ذلك بثلاثة أيام.

إثر ذلك، استنفر الجيش اللبناني، وأطلق عملية عسكرية واسعة تحت مسمى “السيف المسلط” في تلك المنطقة التي حوت مئات النازحين السوريين الفارين من العنف في بلادهم. وسقط في المواجهات تسعة عناصر من الجيش اللبناني إلى جانب خمسة وعشرين جريحاً، بينما فقد ثلاثة عشر جندياً، اضافة الى سقوط ثلاثة مدنيين من البلدة. وعلى الجانب الآخر أشارت التقارير في حينه إلى مقتل أعداد كبيرة من مسلحي داعش في بلدة عرسال وما حولها.

شكلت تلك الحادثة أول ظهور علني وواسع لداعش في داخل الأراضي اللبنانية، ورغم تمكن الجيش اللبناني من تقويض وجود داعش في عرسال ، إلا أن وجود التنظيم لم ينته بالمطلق داخل لبنان.
تشير التقارير الإعلامية إلى أن معظم مسلحي داعش في لبنان ينتمون إلى جنسيات مختلفة، ولم يلاحظ إلى الآن انضمام أياً من الخلايا اللبنانية الإسلامية المتشددة إلى صفوف الدولة الإسلامية. كما لم تظهر التحقيقات الني أجرتها السلطات اللبنانية تورّط العديد من اللبنانيين في نشاط التنظيم في لبنان، لكن ذلك، وحسب كثير من استطلاعات الرأي، لا يعني عدم التعاطف مع داعش ووجود حاضنة له في العديد من المناطق اللبنانية ذات الأغلبية السنية. وقد أدت العملية التي قام بها الجيش اللبناني والممارسات التي نسبت إليه أثناءها من اعتقالات عشوائية طالت على نحو خاص أبناء الطائفة السنية وحرق خيم اللاجئين السوريين في عرسال والاعتداء بالضرب على النساء والأطفال والكهول إلى ازدياد التعاطف مع داعش وغيرها من الجماعات السنية المتطرفة في لبنان.

كانت وسائل الإعلام اللبنانية نشرت عقب اعتقال عماد جمعة ما وصفته باعترافاته خلال التحقيق معه لدى الأمن العام اللبناني، فنقلت عنه أن داعش كانت تسعى إلى إقامة دولة إسلامية في لبنان تمتد بين سهل البقاع والشمال اللبناني.

وحسب الباحث السياسي الدكتور طلال عتريسي فإن وصول داعش إلى لبنان استند بشكلٍ أساسي إلى “إنجازات التنظيم في العراق، لناحية سيطرتها على الموصل والتقدم في مناطق أخرى، وإلى فشلها في سوريا في إسقاط النظام وإنشاء دولة إسلامية بديلة”. ويرى عتريسي أن نجاح داعش في العراق “شجّع على فكرة التمدّد”، لكنه يقول إن تمدّدها في لبنان “لا يتخطى الإطار المعنوي، ولن يكون ميدانياً على غرار سوريا والعراق، وسيبقى محصورا في إطار توجيه ضربات لبيئة حزب الله والجيش اللبناني”.

ومع السيطرة الجلية لحزب الله على أغلب مفاصل الدولة في لبنان ومع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار الأيديولوجية المتطرقة لكل من حزب الله وداعش (تطرف حزب الله شيعياً وداعش سنياً)، فإن المواجهة الفعلية والأبرز تبقى في الحقيقة بين هذين الطرفين. ويمكن القول إنه على الساحة اللبنانية اليوم يشكل كل من هذين التنظيمين العدو الأول للآخر.

ويظهر هذا الأمر جلياُ في تصريحات مسؤولي حزب الله والخطاب الإعلامي الذي بات يتبناه مؤخراً. ففي خطاب ألقاه في شهر آب/أغسطس الماضي، دعا نصر الله إلى التضامن لمواجهة داعش وحذر من “التيار التكفيري (تكفير غيرهم من المسلمين)، الذي يتجلى بوضوح بداعش، التي تسيطر على أجزاء واسعة من سوريا والعراق، ويسعى للسيطرة على حقول النفط والأنهار وسدود رئيسية ولديه كميات كبيرة من السلاح والذخائر”. وأضاف نصر الله في خطابه آنذاك أنه “إذا تخلى من يريد عن المسؤولية، فنحن لن نتخلى ولن نهاجر إلى أي مكان في العالم وسنبقى هنا، وهنا سنحيى وإذا فرض علينا القتال وندفن هنا… ويمكننا أن نغير جميعاً مسار المنطقة كما حصل في حرب تموز 2006”.

لكن إلى الآن يبدو أن حزب الله يحرص على تجنب الظهور وكأنه يقود المعركة في مواجهة داعش داخل لبنان، تاركاً الجيش اللبناني في المقدمة، رغم تفوق حزب الله المعروف على الجيش اللبناني من ناحية التسليح والخبرة العسكرية إضافة إلى الدافع الأيديولوجي لتصفية وجود داعش في لبنان. وبنظر عدد من الخبراء فإن هذا التوجه يستند إلى عدم رغبة الحزب بمفاقمة الاحتقان الطائفي الشيعي السني في لبنان، بينما يزعم مراقبون آخرون أنّ القرار لم يكن قرار الحزب لوحده وأن تولي الجيش التصدي لداعش كان نتيجة تفاهمات إقليمية ودولية لنفس الغاية، وهي عدم توسيع الشرخ السني الشيعي في الداخل اللبناني. لكن، وفي نفس الوقت، يرى كثيرون أن هيمنة حزب الله السياسية في لبنان تجعل الحدود بين الجيش والحزب متماهية إلى حد ما.

وفي مجمل الأحوال لا يبدو في الوقت الراهن أن أياً من الطرفين قادر على اجتثاث الأخر سواء عسكرياً أم فكرياً من الساحة اللبنانية، كما لا يبدو أحد متفائلا بأن هذا الصراع سينهي قريباً أو بدون خسائر. في الواقع يجمع عدد كبير من المحللين أن المواجهة ستزداد شراسة في الفترة المقبلة.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن لبنان يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وثق...
تقدم فنك لمحة عامة عن تاريخ لبنان من حاضره إلى ماضيه، محاولين بذلك...
ومن الأمثلة الأكثر شهرة لمبادرة ناجحة لمنع التطرف في لبنان هو مشر...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Fanack

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Past to Present / Hezbollah vs ISIS in Lebanon: Two Roosters in the Lebanese Cage

Hezbollah vs ISIS in Lebanon: Two Roosters in the Lebanese Cage

Towards the end of April 2014 the Lebanese Shiite organization Hezbollah and the Sunni-extremist Islamic State in Iraq and al-Sham (ISIS) had their first face-to-face confrontation. The latter had swept across the Kalamoon region of Syria and captured several towns close to the Lebanese border. Fierce battles eventually forced ISIS to retreat from those areas. Hezbollah’s secretary general, Hassan Nasrallah, said then, “Had we not intervened in Syria at the right time and in the right way, ISIS would be in Beirut right now”. Hezbollah’s intervention in Syria to support the Assad regime goes back to 2012.

Alarmed by these events, Hezbollah rushed to place its military forces and intelligence services on alert. Checkpoints were set up at all entrances to the southern suburbs of Beirut, the stronghold of Hezbollah and the Lebanese Shia. The measures were taken as a precaution against the possibility that ISIS had sleeper cells in Lebanon, which might carry out attacks against Hezbollah. Many attributed to ISIS a wave of car bombs that had hit various areas of Lebanon in the previous months. Over the following month, however, the Hezbollah-ISIS fight was confined to Syrian territory, particularly the areas bordering Lebanon.

ISIS militants who attacked the Lebanese army and civilians in Arsal, August 2014 / Photo Arsal News
ISIS militants who attacked the Lebanese army and civilians in Arsal, August 2014 / Photo Arsal News

In June 2014, however, IS (the Islamic State, as it then renamed itself) released a video of five men calling for jihad in Syria and neighbouring countries. One of the jihadists, named in the video as Abu Muthanna al-Yemeni, who claimed to hold the British citizenship, said, “We understand no borders. We have taken part in battles in Sham [Greater Syria] and in a few days we will go to Iraq and will fight them and will even go to Lebanon and Jordan”.

In just a few days, his threats proved serious. On June 25, IS officially declared the expansion of its activities to Lebanon. The group claimed responsibility for the suicide attack on the Duroy Hotel in Beirut. In a statement, IS said the attack targeted members of Lebanese General Security, “which is allied with Hezbollah”. Threatening Hezbollah and the Lebanese Army, the IS stated, “We tell the party of Satan and its army in Lebanon that this is only the beginning. Get ready for hundreds of suicide bombers”.

Capture of Arsal

In August, hundreds of gunmen showed up overnight in the Lebanese northern town of Arsal, declaring their affiliation with IS and the al-Qaeda–allied al-Nusra Front. Within a few hours, the militants managed to capture the entire town after launching a sudden attack against security points in the area and seizing three of them. The attack came three days after the Lebanese authorities arrested Imad Jumaa, an IS military leader who was visiting a secret IS field hospital in Arsal.

In response, the Lebanese Army launched a wide military operation against IS in Arsal, where hundreds of Syrians fleeing the violence in their own country had taken refuge. Nine Lebanese soldiers were killed, 25 others were injured, and 13 went missing in the operation. Three civilians were also killed, and many IS fighters were reported killed.

The events in Arsal marked the first wide-scale, overt presence of IS on Lebanese soil. Although the Lebanese Army was able to weaken the IS presence in Arsal, IS remained in Lebanon.

According to media reports, IS fighters in Lebanon are mostly foreigners. No Lebanese radical Islamist group has so far declared a merger with IS. Lebanese investigations show that only few Lebanese have been involved in IS activities in Lebanon, but several media surveys indicate a certain degree of sympathy with IS among the Lebanese, especially in the Sunni-majority areas.

During the Lebanese Army’s operation in Arsal, its members were accused of committing violations against Sunni civilians, including random arrests, burning the tents of the Syrian refugees, and attacks on women, children, and the elderly. Such practices have apparently resulted in increasing sympathy for ISIS and other radical Sunni groups in Lebanon.

Following the arrest of Imad Jumaa, the Lebanese media published what it claimed to be his confession during his interrogation by Lebanese General Security. He was quoted as saying that IS was planning to establish an Islamic state extending from Lebanon’s al-Bekaa Valley to Lebanon’s northern border.

Political analyst Talal Atrisi sees IS expansion into Lebanon as a result of the group’s “achievements of capturing Iraq’s Mosul and other Iraqi areas, as well as its inability to overthrow the regime in Syria and establish an Islamic state there”, but he believes that “IS activity in Lebanon would probably be only symbolic and would not be on a battlefield, as is the case in Syria and Iraq”. Atrisi says that, in Lebanon, IS would not go beyond launching occasional attacks against Hezbollah and the Lebanese Army.

But, with Hezbollah’s obvious domination of Lebanon’s state institutions and the radical ideology of both Hezbollah (on the Shiite side) and IS (on the Sunni side), the real major conflict in Lebanon today apparently remains between these two parties. At the moment, each is the other’s worst enemy. One can easily read this in Hezbollah’s media and in recent statements by its leaders. In a speech in August, Nasrallah called for solidarity against IS and warned against “the takfiri trend [declaring other Muslims to be unbelievers], whose worst manifestation is IS, which controls large parts of Syria and Iraq and would control oil wells, rivers, and dams and has huge amounts of arms and ammunition”. Nasrallah added that, “Even if those who don’t want to bear the responsibility turn their backs, we will not turn ours, and we will not migrate anywhere in the world. Here we stay and here we live. And if the fight is imposed on us, we shall fight and be buried here. We can change the course of events in this region as we did in the July 2006 war”.

So far, however, Hezbollah seems to have avoided the appearance that it is leading the fight against IS in Lebanon. Despite the fact that Hezbollah is better armed and experienced more militarily—let alone the fact that its ideological motive is to eradicate IS in Lebanon—it has been leaving the Lebanese Army to take the lead. Some experts believe that Hezbollah is thus trying not to aggravate Sunni-Shiite tensions in Lebanon, while others believe that this was not Hezbollah’s decision alone and that there are several regional and international understandings that keep Hezbollah out of the fight against IS. Given Hezbollah’s political hegemony over the Lebanese government for the present, however, many see no clear distinction between Hezbollah and the Lebanese Army.

In any case, neither side seems to have been successful in undermining the other in Lebanon, either militarily or ideologically, but no one seems optimistic that this conflict will end soon and without losses. In fact, many experts agree that the confrontation will soon become fiercer.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.