فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / ليس جامعاً، كيف خذل النظام الطائفي اللبنانيين؟

ليس جامعاً، كيف خذل النظام الطائفي اللبنانيين؟

Protests lebanon
شرطة مكافحة الشغب اللبنانية تشتبك مع المتظاهرين المناهضين للحكومة في العاصمة بيروت في 14 ديسمبر 2019. Photo: ANWAR AMRO / AFP

خلال الشهرين الأخيرين، خرج اللبنانيون إلى الشوارع للاحتجاج على انهيار الاقتصاد والفساد المستشري. بالإضافة إلى المطالب الاجتماعية والاقتصادية، يُدين العديد من المتظاهرين أيضاً النظام الطائفي القائم منذ نهاية الحرب الأهلية في عام 1990، إذ بحسب قولهم سمح هذا النظام للنخبة السياسية بتطوير مجالات نفوذٍ موازية، ونشر التعصب في كل قطاعات المجتمع فضلاً عن سرقة المليارات من الأموال العامة، مما يقوض بناء مؤسساتٍ وطنية قوية وخدمات عامة فعالة.

يرتكز النموذج السياسي للبنان على التعددية الطائفية، حيث تعترف الدولة بـ18 طائفة دينية مختلفة: 12 مسيحية وخمس مسلمة ويهودية واحدة. وغالباً ما توصف البلاد بأنها “ديمقراطية توافقية” لأن نظامها السياسي يعتمد على تقاسم السلطة وفقاً للوزن الديمغرافي للمجتمعات المتنوعة. ووفقاً للعالم السياسي أرنت ليبهارت، فإن الديمقراطية التوافقية هي “حكومة من قبل كارتل النخبة مصممة لتحويل الديمقراطية ذات الثقافة السياسية المجزأة إلى ديمقراطية مستقرة.” قد يبدو هذا نموذجاً مناسباً للمجتمعات المنقسمة حيث تمثل الأحزاب السياسية ثقافات سياسية فرعية. في حالة لبنان، هذه الثقافات السياسية الفرعية هي الطوائف المختلفة.

يضرب النظام الطائفي جذوره بعمق في تاريخ لبنان، بيد أنه تم تكريسه بعد الاستقلال في عام 1943. أنشأ المسيحيون والمسلمون ميثاقاً وطنياً ليشكل دعامة دولةٍ مستقلة جديدة، ليعتمد هذا الميثاق على ثلاثة مبادىء: استقلال لبنان عن الدول العربية الأخرى وعن الغرب، والمساواة بين جميع اللبنانيين، والاعتراف بالهوية العربية للبلاد.

يرتكز الميثاق على تنازلٍ مزدوج: إذ كان على المسيحيين التخلي عن الحماية الغربية وقبول الهوية العربية في لبنان؛ بينما كان على المسلمين التخلي عن اندماجهم في أمةٍ عربية أعظم والقبول الكامل بوجود وشرعية دولة لبنان.

كما تم تعزيز هذا الميثاق أيضاً من خلال اتفاقيةٍ ترتكز حول توزيع وظائف الدولة من الفئة الأولى على أساسٍ طائفي. يشكل الموارنة المسيحيون غالبية السكان وبالتالي مُنحوا الرئاسة وجميع المهام الاستراتيجية في الجيش والشرطة والاقتصاد والأمور المالية والقضاء والتعليم.

أبرزت الحرب الأهلية بين عامي 1975 و1990 هشاشة هذه التسوية وضرورة تعزيز الهوية الوطنية اللبنانية. صدّق البرلمان على اتفاقية الطائف في نوفمبر 1989 من أجل إنهاء الصراع، إذ كانت تهدف إلى تصحيح الاختلالات الطائفية عن طريق تحقيق التكافؤ بين المسلمين والمسيحيين في البرلمان وتقليص وظائف الرئيس لصالح تشاركية أكبر. ومنذ ذلك الحين، يرأس مجلس الوزراء سُني يرشحه غالبية البرلمان المنتخب وليس الرئيس. بيد أن الأمر لم يتوقف عند هذا الحد، حيث نصت الاتفاقية أيضاً، على المدى الطويل، على إنهاء الطائفية السياسية كهدفٍ أساسي ودعت إلى إنشاء دولة تعتمد على “الكفاءة والاختصاص في الوظائف العامة، والقضاء، والمؤسسات العسكرية والأمنية، والمؤسسات العامة والمختلطة، وفي المصالح المستقلة باستثناء وظائف الفئة الأولى وما يُعادلها وتكون هذه الوظائف مناصفة بين المسيحيين والمسلمين دون تخصيص أية وظيفة لأية طائفة.”

لكن هذا لم يحصل على أرض الواقع. في الحقيقة، شهدت فترة ما بعد الحرب تفاقم الخصومات الطائفية، إذ أصبح المجتمع الديني الملاذ الأخير في سياق حالة عدم اليقين الاقتصادي وتعطّل الدولة.

وفي حين أن إحدى الحجج المقدمة لصالح التوافقية هي قدرتها على ضمان السلام والاستقرار في السياقات المجزأة، إلا إن القضية اللبنانية سلطت الضوء على نطاقها. يقوّض تقاسم السلطة الطائفي المواطنة ويعزل الأشخاص نحو طائفتهم. وفي لبنان، لا ينطبق النظام فقط على السياسة ولكن أيضاً على المسائل المدنية. ففي حال كان يُنظر إليه باعتباره حمايةً لحقوق المجتمعات، إلا إن الأخير يتم تطويره على حساب الحقوق الفردية، كما يتضح من قانون الأحوال الشخصية الذي يفرض 15 قانوناً مختلفاً على المواطنين، استناداً إلى انتمائهم الطائفي. وبالتالي، فإنه يشكك في مبدأ المساواة أمام القانون ويميز ضد المرأة بشكلٍ كبير.

كما تعيق الطائفية التعايش بين الجماعات الدينية المختلفة لأن التركيبة الديموغرافية تصبح السلاح السياسي الرئيسي للمطالبة بالسلطة. وفي سبعينيات القرن العشرين، تعرض النظام لانتقادات متزايدة من قبل المسلمين لأنه أعطى المزيد من الصلاحيات للمسيحيين على الرغم من تراجعهم ديموغرافياً. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، جعل هذا البلد – وما زال- هشاً للغاية أمام النزاعات الإقليمية واستغلال القوى الخارجية للمجتمعات.

ووفقاً للمتظاهرين، يمنح النظام الحالي الوظائف على أساس الانتماءات الطائفية والعلاقات الشخصية، بدلاً من الجدارة والكفاءات الفردية. فقد أبرزت الانتفاضة تطلعات جيلٍ شاب لم يعش حرباً أهلية، إذ يعبر الكثير منهم عن غضبهم تجاه نظام يبرر الفساد والمحسوبية بحجة حماية المجتمعات من بعضها البعض.

يقولون إن الوقت قد حان لإعطاء الأولوية للانتماء القومي على حساب الانتماءات الطائفية. ومع ذلك، فإن النظام القائم منذ عقود لا يمكن أن يسقط بين عشية وضحاها. ويبدو أن الأحزاب السياسية الرئيسية تدرك هذا وتحاول إعادة الاستقطاب الذي أعقب انسحاب القوات السورية في عام 2005، المتحالفة حول تحالف 8 آذار أو النظام الموالي لسوريا (الأحزاب الشيعية، أمل وحزب الله، إلى جانب التيار الوطني الحر) وتحالف 14 آذار أو التحالف المناهض للنظام السوري (خاصة حركة المستقبل التي يتزعمها الزعيم السني سعد الحريري والقوات اللبنانية وحزب الكتائب المسيحيين).

فقد مرت اثنتان من المجتمعات اللبنانية الرئيسية الثلاث بفترة “بزوغ نجمها ومن ثم أفوله،” حيث بزغ نجم السياسية المارونية لعقودٍ منذ الاستقلال وحتى عشية الحرب الأهلية، إلى أن هيمنت السياسة السُنية من نهاية الحرب إلى أن تم اغتيال رئيس الوزراء السابق رفيق الحريري في عام 2005. وفي الوقت الراهن، يعد حزب الله أقوى الجماعات في البلاد. ومع ذلك، يتم تحدي هذه الهيمنة في الشوارع، حيث يطالب المتظاهرون، بمن فيهم الشيعة، بوضع حدٍ لنظام يدعمه الحزب بفعالية.

وفي حين أعربت أحزاب 14 آذار المسيحية عن دعمها للاحتجاجات، مما أثار مخاوف بين العديد من المتظاهرين من احتمال التورط المشترك، إلا أن حزب الله شكك في نزاهة الحركة الشعبية منذ البداية، مما يوحي بأنها نتيجة لمؤامرة دبرتها قوى أجنبية. ومع ذلك، أظهر الحزب أيضاً دعمه للمطالب الاجتماعية للمتظاهرين ليظهر وكأنه يناصرهم. وفي خطابٍ ألقاه في 11 نوفمبر، ذهب زعيم حزب الله، حسن نصر الله، إلى أبعد من ذلك حيث حث القضاء على التحلي “بالشجاعة” ومقاضاة المسؤولين الفاسدين، بدءاً بمن ينتمون إلى حزبه.

إقرأ المزيد

ملف فنك الشامل عن لبنان يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وثق...
تقدم فنك لمحة عامة عن تاريخ لبنان من حاضره إلى ماضيه، محاولين بذلك...
الحرب الأهلية (1970 - 1975)

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ANWAR AMRO ©AFP | ANWAR AMRO ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Past to Present / Not So Plural: How Sectarianism Has Failed the Lebanese

Not So Plural: How Sectarianism Has Failed the Lebanese

Protests lebanon
Lebanese riot police clash with anti-government demonstrators in the capital Beirut on December 14, 2019. Photo: ANWAR AMRO / AFP ©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

For the last two months, Lebanese have taken to the streets to protest against a collapsing economy and endemic corruption. In addition to socio-economic demands, many of the demonstrators also denounce the sectarian system that has been in place since the end of the civil war in 1990. They say it has allowed the political elite to develop parallel spheres of influence, spread clientelism in every area of society and steal billions in public funds, undermining the building of solid national institutions and effective public services.

Lebanon’s political model is founded on sectarian pluralism. The state recognizes 18 different religious communities: 12 Christian, five Muslim and one Jewish. The country is often described as a ‘consociational democracy’ as its political system is based on power-sharing according to the demographic weight of diverse communities. According to political scientist Arend Lijphart, a consociational democracy is ‘government by elite cartel designed to turn a democracy with a fragmented political culture into a stable democracy’. It may appear as a suitable model in divided societies where political parties represent political subcultures. In the case of Lebanon, these political subcultures are the different sects.

The sectarian system runs deep in Lebanon’s history, but it was enshrined after independence in 1943. Christians and Muslims established a national pact that would be the pillar of a new independent state. This pact relies on three principles: the independence of Lebanon from other Arab states and from the West, equality between all Lebanese and acknowledgement of the country’s Arab identity.

The pact is based on a double renunciation: Christians were to relinquish Western protection and accept Lebanon’s Arab identity; Muslims were to relinquish their integration into a greater Arab nation and fully accept the existence and legitimacy of the state of Lebanon.

This pact was also reinforced by an agreement on the distribution of the highest state’s functions on a sectarian basis. Christian Maronites constituted the majority of the population and were therefore given the presidency and all strategic functions in the army, police, economy, finance, judiciary and education.

The civil war between 1975 and 1990 highlighted the fragility of this compromise and the necessity to strengthen Lebanon’s national identity. The Taif Agreement was ratified by the parliament in November 1989 in order to end the conflict. It aimed at rectifying sectarian imbalances by establishing parity between Muslims and Christians in the parliament and reducing the functions of the president for greater collegiality. Since then, the cabinet has been headed by a Sunni who is nominated by the majority of an elected parliament and not by the president. It did not stop there. The agreement also envisioned, in the long run, the end of political sectarianism as a fundamental objective and called for the establishment of a state relying on ‘capability and specialization in public jobs, the judiciary, the military, security, public and joint institutions, and in the independent agencies excluding the top-level jobs and equivalent jobs which shall be shared equally by Christians and Muslims without allocating any particular job to any sect’.

In practice, this did not happen. Indeed, the post-war period has seen the exacerbation of sectarian antagonisms. The religious community became the ultimate refuge in a context of economic uncertainty and state dislocation.

While one of the arguments put forward in favour of consociationalism is its capacity to guarantee peace and stability in fragmented contexts, the Lebanese case highlights its limits. Sectarian power-sharing undermines citizenship and relegates people to their sect. In Lebanon, the system not only applies to politics but also to civil matters. If it can be perceived as protective of communities’ rights, the latter are being developed to the detriment of individual rights, as highlighted by the personal status legislation that imposes 15 different laws on citizens, based on their sectarian affiliation. It thus questions the principle of equality before the law and overwhelmingly discriminates against women.

Sectarianism also hampers cohabitation between different religious groups as demography becomes the major political weapon to claim power. In the 1970s, the regime was increasingly criticized by Muslims as it gave more prerogatives to Christians despite their demographic decline. In addition, it made – and continues to make – the country extremely vulnerable to regional conflicts and the exploitation of communities by external powers.

According to protesters, the current system grants jobs on the basis of sectarian affiliations and personal connections, rather than individual merit and competencies. The uprising has brought to the fore the aspirations of a young generation that has not lived through civil war. Many of them express anger towards a system that justifies corruption and clientelism on the pretext of protecting communities from each other.

They say it is time to prioritize national belonging over sectarian affiliations. Yet a regime that has been in place for decades cannot fall overnight. Mainstream political parties seem to be aware of this and are trying to recreate the polarization that followed the withdrawal of Syrian troops in 2005, coalescing around the 8 March or pro-Syrian regime alliance (gathering the Shia movements Amal and Hezbollah along with the Christian Free Patriotic Movement) and the 14 March or anti-Syrian regime alliance (notably the Sunni leader Saad al-Hariri’s Future Movement, the Christian Lebanese Forces and the Kataeb party).

Two of the three major Lebanese communities have gone through a period of ‘‘rise and fall’. Political Maronitism characterized the decades from independence to the eve of the civil war. Political Sunnism dominated from the end of the war to the assassination of former Prime Minister Rafiq Hariri in 2005. As of today, Hezbollah is the most powerful group in the country. However, its hegemony is being challenged in the streets, as protesters, including Shias, call for an end to a system that the group actively backs.

While the 14 March Christian parties have expressed their support for the protest, raising fears among many protesters of possible co-optation, Hezbollah has cast doubt on the popular movement’s integrity since the beginning, suggesting it is the result of a conspiracy hatched by foreign powers. It has, however, also displayed support for the protesters’ social demands in an attempt to appear as being on their side. In a speech on 11 November, Hezbollah’s leader Hassan Nasrallah went so far as to urge the judiciary to be “brave” and prosecute corrupt officials, starting with those affiliated with his movement.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO | ©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.