فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / اسرائيل وحزب الله: سياسة الردع في مناخٍ سياسي جديد

اسرائيل وحزب الله: سياسة الردع في مناخٍ سياسي جديد

Lebanon- Hezbolah
جنود إسرائيليون (أعلى يسار) وقوات حفظ السلام التابعة للأمم المتحدة (أعلى يمين) يشاهدون أنصار حزب الله الشيعي اللبناني الذين خرجوا في مسيرةٍ ضد قرار الرئيس الأمريكي بالاعتراف بالقدس عاصمة لإسرائيل، في 28 يناير 2018 ، في قرية علما الشعب اللبنانية الجنوبية المتاخمة للحدود مع إسرائيل. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Mahmoud ZAYYAT

على الرغم من التحذيرات المستمرة بأن الحرب القادمة بين إسرائيل وحزب الله تلوح في الأفق، إلا أن سياسة الردع بين الاثنين حافظت على السلام حتى الآن، بالرغم من أن مشاركة الميليشيا اللبنانية في سوريا جعلت الانفراج هشاً بشكلٍ أكبر.

وقد يُنذر الموقف الأمريكي الأكثر تشدداً تجاه إيران بينما يعيد الرئيس دونالد ترمب تشكيل فريقه للأمن القومي والسياسة الخارجية، والتوترات حول خطط لبنان لاستكشاف الغاز والنفط في المياه المتنازع عليها مع إسرائيل، باحتماليةٍ أكبر لصراعٍ بين إسرائيل وحزب الله. بيد أنه بالرغم من التراشق بالكلام بين كلا الجانبين، فمن غير الواضح بعد أن أياً من الطرفين متلهفٌ لخوض غمار صراعٍ مدمر محتمل حتى الآن.

فقد دفع لبنان ثمناً باهظاً في حرب 2006، بالرغم أن حزب الله ادعى النصر بعد انسحاب القوات الإسرائيلية. ووفقاً لهيومن رايتس ووتش، كانت الغالبية العظمى من القتلى من لبنانيين- حوالي 1100 شخص- معظمهم من المدنيين، بينما قُتل 43 مدنياً إسرائيلياً و12 جندياً من الجيش الاسرائيلي، فضلاً عن الأضرار الكبيرة التي لحقت بالبنية التحتية اللبنانية.

وعلى الرغم من عدم التوصل إلى اتفاق سلام بعد ذلك الصراع، إلا أن هدنةً غير مستقرة سادت بينهما. فقد أشار الباحث اللبناني جان لوب سمعان، الذي يكتب عن سياسة الردع غير الرسمية للكلية الحربية للجيش الأمريكي: “لأن كلا الجانبين يفهمان أن الجولة القادمة ستكون مدمرة وأن كلاً منهما لا يستطيع القضاء نهائياً على تهديد الانتقام في الموجة الأولى، كان الحل هو المساومة على الردع، وهذا يعني ردع الطرف الآخر من مهاجمة وطنه بالتعهد بالانتقام الكامل.”

لكن سمعان أضاف أن الحفاظ على هذا التوازن الدقيق غير مضمون، “القول بأنه تم الحفاظ على الاستقرار بين إسرائيل وحزب الله بفضل الردع لا يعني أن هذا وضعٌ خالد.”

فالحكمة السائدة هي أن خوض صراعٍ آخر سيكون أكثر ضرراً للجانبين. فقد حصل حزب الله على أسلحة أكثر تطوراً واكتسب مقاتلوه خبرةً قتالية في القتال في سوريا. وفي غضون ذلك، أشارت إسرائيل إلى أنها ستعتبر جميع البنية التحتية اللبنانية هدفاً مشروعاً في الحرب القادمة، كما قامت بالفعل باستهداف البنية التحتية المدنية في الجولة الأخيرة من القتال.

كما أطلق المسؤولون الإسرائيليون تحذيراتٍ من خطط حزب الله المزعومة لإنتاج أسلحةٍ دقيقة في مصنع تقوم إيران ببنائه في لبنان. وعليه، شن الإسرائيليون هجوماً إعلامياً، حيث اتخذ المتحدث باسم الجيش الإسرائيلي خطوةً غير اعتيادة بنشره مقالاً في وسائل الإعلام العربية تحذر من مخاطر مثل هذا المصنع.

وقد هددت إسرائيل بقصف المصنع، إلا أنها لم تفعل ذلك حتى الآن، وبدلاً من ذلك اقتصرت جهودها على محاولة منع وصول شحنات الأسلحة إلى حزب الله عبر سوريا من خلال قصف قوافل الأسلحة ومرافق تصنيع الأسلحة داخل سوريا.

وقد أشارت مجموعة الأزمات الدولية، في تقرير صدر مؤخراً عن التصعيد المحتمل للتوترات بين إسرائيل وإيران/حزب الله في سوريا، إلى أن جميع الأطراف تعمل وفق مبدأ “ما يحدث في سوريا، يبقى في سوريا،” مع قيام إسرائيل بالحد من هجماتها على قوافل حزب الله داخل حدود سوريا، وليس الأراضي اللبنانية. ومن جانبه، امتنع الجيش السوري، بشكلٍ عام، عن إطلاق النار على الطائرات الإسرائيلية التي نفذت هذه الهجمات.

وكتبت صحيفة هآرتس الإسرائيلية في مقال نشر في يناير 2018 أن الهجوم على المنشآت في لبنان سيكون “الملاذ الأخير” للجيش الإسرائيلي، الذي يمنح الأولوية “للأنشطة السرية، واكتشاف المواقع، والجهود الدبلوماسية لوقف الإنتاج في هذه المصانع.”

وأفادت بعض وسائل الإعلام العربية والإسرائيلية في أواخر مارس أن الطائرات الإسرائيلية قد هاجمت أهدافاً لحزب الله في شرق لبنان بالقرب من الحدود السورية. ولم يؤكد المسؤولون الإسرائيليون ذلك، كما نفى حزب الله وقوع الهجوم، مما يشير إلى أنه، سواء حصل هجوم أم لا، فإن الحزب لا يسعى للدخول في حربٍ رداً على ذلك.

ففي غضون العام الماضي، كان هناك الكثير من التراشق في الكلام بين الطرفين، حيث تعهد زعيم حزب الله حسن نصر الله بأنه في الصراع القادم “لن يكون هناك مكان بعيد المنال عن صواريخ المقاومة أو أحذية مقاتلي المقاومة.”

أما على الجانب الإسرائيلي، فقد قال وزير الدفاع السابق موشيه يعالون إنه في الحرب القادمة “سيعاني كل لبناني من الحرب القادمة لأنه سيتم تدمير كامل البنية التحتية.”

وفي الوقت نفسه، كانت هناك موجة من التقارير الإخبارية نقلاً عن مصادر في حزب الله لم يذكر اسمها تقول إن الحزب يستعد للحرب القادمة مع إسرائيل. ومع ذلك، تم التشكيك في صحة هذه التقارير أو كانت موضع جدل.

وقال نائب رئيس حزب الله، الشيخ نعيم قاسم لرويترز، إنه لا يتوقع أن الحرب باتت وشيكة. وقال قاسم لوكالة الأنباء إن حزب الله “مستعدٌ لمواجهة العدوان إذا ما حدث ذلك، وإذا ما قررت اسرائيل القيام بأي عمل أحمق.” وأضاف “لكن لا يبدو أن الظروف تُشير إلى استعداد إسرائيل اتخاذ قرارٍ بشن الحرب.”

ومع ذلك، هناك العديد من العوامل التي تضيف عنصر عدم اليقين إلى هذا التصريح، بما في ذلك الاتجاه المجهول للأحداث في سوريا، واستكشاف الغاز والنفط اللبناني، والتوترات حول بناء إسرائيل للجدار الحدودي على الأراضي المتنازع عليها، والتحالف المتنامي المناهض لإيران بين إسرائيل والمملكة العربية السعودية، ونتائج الانتخابات اللبنانية في 6 مايو.

الورقة المجهولة الأخرى هي الاتجاه غير الواضح وغير القابل للتنبؤ للسياسة الخارجية الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط. فقد أقال ترمب بعضاً من الشخصيات المعتدلة نسبياً في إدارته، بمن فيهم وزير الخارجية السابق ريكس تيليرسون، ومستشار الأمن القومي هربرت ريموند ماكماستر. وعليه، تم استبدالهم بشخصين يعتبران أكثر تشدداً ودعماً لإسرائيل: مدير وكالة الاستخبارات الأمريكية السابق مايك بومبيو والسفير الأمريكي السابق لدى الأمم المتحدة جون بولتون.

وفي ضوء ذلك، احتفلت شخصيات اليمين الاسرائيلية بالتعيينات، بينما ذكرت وسائل الإعلام اللبنانية أن هناك مخاوف من أن وجود قيادة مناهضة لإيران بشكلٍ أكثر تزمتاً في البيت الأبيض “قد يمنح إسرائيل غطاءً سياسياً لأي عملية عسكرية تنوي تنفيذها.”

ومع ذلك، لا يزال من السابق لأوانه تحديد تأثير هذه التعيينات على موقف الولايات المتحدة تجاه إيران، وكيف يمكن أن يؤثر ذلك على الشؤون في لبنان. وفي غضون ذلك، يبدو أن سياسة الردع تحافظ على السلام- في الوقت الحالي على الأقل.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Mahmoud ZAYYAT | ©AFP ⁃ Mahmoud ZAYYAT

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Past to Present / Israel and Hezbollah: Deterrence in a New Political Climate

Israel and Hezbollah: Deterrence in a New Political Climate

Lebanon- Hezbolah
Israeli soldiers (top L) and UN peacekeepers (top R) look at Lebanese supporters of the Shiite Hezbollah movement attending a rally against the US president’s decision to recognise Jerusalem as the capital of Israel, on January 28, 2018, in the southern Lebanese village of Alma al-Shaab, on the border with Israel. Photo AFP

Despite continual warnings that the next war between Israel and Hezbollah is on the horizon, the deterrence policy between the two has so far maintained peace, even as the Lebanese militia’s involvement in Syria has made the détente more fragile.

A more hawkish American stance on Iran as President Donald Trump reshuffles his national security and foreign policy team and tensions over Lebanon’s plans to explore for gas and oil in waters disputed by Israel could also foreshadow a greater likelihood of an Israel/Hezbollah conflict.

Yet despite tough talk on both sides, it still does not appear that either is eager to rush back into a potentially devastating conflict just yet.

Lebanon paid a high price for the 2006 war, even though Hezbollah claimed victory after Israeli forces withdrew. The vast majority of people killed were Lebanese – about 1,100, according to Human Rights Watch, most of them civilians – while 43 Israeli civilians and 12 Israeli army soldiers died. Lebanon’s infrastructure also sustained major damage.

Although no peace agreement followed that conflict, an uneasy truce has prevailed. Lebanese scholar Jean-Loup Samaan, writing about the unofficial deterrence policy for the United States Army War College, noted, ‘Because both sides understood that a next round would be devastating and that each could not entirely eliminate the threat of retaliation in a first wave, the solution has been to bargain deterrence, meaning to deter the other party from attacking its homeland by pledging a full-scale retaliation.’

But Samaan added that maintaining that delicate balance is hardly assured: ‘To say that stability has been preserved between Israel and Hezbollah thanks to deterrence does not mean that this is a perennial state.’

The prevailing wisdom is that another conflict will be more damaging to both sides. Hezbollah has acquired more advanced weapons and its fighters have gained combat experience fighting in Syria. Meanwhile, Israel has signalled that it would regard all Lebanese infrastructure as a legitimate target in the next war – as, indeed, it also targeted civilian infrastructure in the last round of fighting.

Israeli officials have also sounded alarms about Hezbollah’s alleged plans to produce precision weapons at a factory that Iran is building in Lebanon. The Israelis have gone on a media offensive, with an Israeli army spokesman taking the unusual step of publishing an article in Arab-language media warning about the dangers of such a factory.

Israel has threatened to bomb the plant but has so far not done so, instead limiting itself to trying to prevent weapons shipments reaching Hezbollah via Syria by bombing arms convoys and weapons manufacturing facilities inside Syria.

International Crisis Group, in a recent report on the potential escalation of tensions between Israel and Iran/Hezbollah in Syria, noted that all parties have operated on a principle of ‘what happens in Syria, stays in Syria’, with Israel limiting its strikes on Hezbollah convoys to Syrian – not Lebanese – territory. For its part, the Syrian military has generally refrained from firing on the Israeli planes that have carried out these strikes.

The Israeli newspaper Haaretz wrote in a January 2018 article that an attack on facilities in Lebanon would be a ‘last resort’ for the Israeli army, which is prioritizing ‘clandestine activities, the exposure of the sites and a diplomatic effort to stop production at the plants’.

Some Arab and Israeli media outlets reported in late March 2018 that Israeli jets had attacked Hezbollah targets in eastern Lebanon near the Syrian border. Israeli officials did not confirm this and Hezbollah denied that the attack took place, suggesting that whether or not it did, the group is not willing to go to war in response.

There has been plenty of tough talk on both sides over the past year, with Hezbollah leader Hassan Nasrallah vowing that in the next conflict “there will be no place that is out of reach of the rockets of the resistance or the boots of the resistance fighters”.

On the Israeli side, former Defence Minister Moshe Yaalon said that in the next war every Lebanese

will suffer from the next war because all infrastructure will be destroyed”.

Meanwhile, there has been a spate of news reports quoting unnamed Hezbollah sources as saying that the group is preparing for the next war with Israel. However, the veracity of these reports has been questioned or disputed.

Hezbollah’s deputy leader, Sheikh Naim Qassem, told Reuters that he does not anticipate that war is imminent. Hezbollah “is ready to confront the aggression if it happens, if Israel decides to carry out any foolish action”, Qassem told the news outlet. “But it does not appear that the circumstances are for an Israeli decision for war.”

However, there are several factors adding an element of uncertainty to this statement, including the unknown direction of events in Syria, the Lebanese gas and oil exploration, tensions around Israel’s construction of a border wall on disputed territory, the increasingly open anti-Iran alliance between Israel and Saudi Arabia and the outcome of Lebanon’s parliamentary elections on 6 May 2018.

The other wild card is the unpredictable direction of American foreign policy in the Middle East. Trump has fired some relatively moderate figures in his administration, including former Secretary of State Rex Tillerson and National Security Adviser Herbert Raymond McMaster. They have been replaced by two figures considered much more hawkish and supportive of Israel: former CIA Director Mike Pompeo and former US Ambassador to the United Nations John Bolton.

Right-wing figures in Israel have celebrated the appointments while Lebanese media have reported that there are concerns that the presence of more vehemently anti-Iran leadership in the White House ‘may give Israel political cover for any military operation it intends to implement’.

However, it is still too early to say what the impact of the appointments will be on the US’ stance towards Iran and how that might impact affairs in Lebanon. In the meantime, the deterrence policy appears to be preserving the peace – at least for now.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.