فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / لبنان والحرب في سوريا

لبنان والحرب في سوريا

عائلة تسجل في مركز التسجيل UNHCR في طرابلس / Photo World Bank
عائلة تسجل في مركز التسجيل UNHCR في طرابلس / Photo World Bank

تأثر لبنان تأثراً بالغاً، وعلى غير صعيد، بتصاعد حدة الصراع الطائفي في سوريا. فقد عبر مئات آلاف السوريين الحدود إلى لبنان كنتيجة مباشرة للعنف في بلادهم. وشهد عدد اللاجئين المسجلين لدى المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين في لبنان ارتفاعاً كبيراً، من أكثر من 130,000 لاجئ في كانون الثاني/يناير من العام 2013 إلى حوالى 900,000 في آذار/مارس من العام 2014، وبات لبنان بذلك، يحوي أكبر عدد من اللاجئين السوريين بين بلدان المنطقة. وبالإضافة إلى اللاجئين المسجلين لدى المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، يُذكر أن عدداً كبيراً من اللاجئين الذين يتخللهم عمال سوريون مهاجرون لا يستطيعون العودة إلى سوريا، ليس مسجلاً لدى المفوضية. وبحسب آخر تقديرات الحكومة اللبنانية في شهر آذار/مارس من العام 2013، بلغ عدد اللاجئين السوريين في لبنان مليون لاجئ، من بينهم عمال سوريون وأشخاص لم يسجلوا أسماءهم لدى المفوضية. ويواجه اللاجئون السوريون الهاربون من العنف المستمر في بلادهم بعبورهم الحدود، خطر الملاحقة من قبل الأجهزة الأمنية اللبنانية حتى إنهم يعرضون حياتهم للخطر. ويُزعم أن عدداً من المهاجرين والمنشقين السوريين الذين فروا من بلادهم أُوقفوا من قبل الجيش اللبناني وأُعيدوا إلى سوريا.

كان لتدفق اللاجئين السوريين إلى لبنان بأعداد غفيرة نتائج ضربت استقرار البلاد. ومن المتوقع أن تبلغ التكلفة الإجمالية للأزمة على لبنان بحلول نهاية العام 2014، 7.5 مليار دولار أميركي؛ فقد ارتفع الإنفاق على التعليم والصحة بشكل هائل وأدت المنافسة في سوق العمل إلى تدني الأجور فيما ارتفعت أسعار المواد الأساسية. يعيش اللاجئون بغالبيتهم في أفقر مناطق لبنان مثل الشمال والبقاع ما أدى إلى مزيد من التوتر بينهم وبين اللبنانيين في هذه المناطق. وتسبب ارتفاع الطلب على المياه والكهرباء بنقص حاد في هذين الموردَين، كما انعكست الأزمة السورية في صعوبة إدارة النفايات وفي ازدحام المدارس الرسمية اللبنانية. والجدير بالذكر أيضاً، تعرّضت المناطق المحاذية للحدود اللبنانية-السورية للقصف والغارات من الجانب السوري ناهيك عن عمليات الخطف والمتاجرة بالأسلحة. وسُجّلت في 18 آذار/مارس 2013 المرة الأولى التي أطلق فيها النظام السوري غارات جوية على لبنان استهدفت مراكز مشبوهة للثوار السوريين في قرية عرسال، شرقي البلاد.1

منذ اندلاع الأزمة السورية، حاولت الحكومة اللبنانية تفادي امتداد أعمال العنف إلى لبنان. وفي مقابلة مع صحيفة The National الإماراتية، في كانون الثاني/يناير من العام 2012، أكد رئيس الحكومة السابق نجيب ميقاتي رفض بلاده التدخل في الشؤون الداخلية السورية. غير أن النقاد رأوا في إعلان الحكومة الحيادي دعماً ضمنياً للنظام السوري بما أن لبنان امتنع، في جلسة طارئة للجامعة العربية في 12 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر من العام 2011، عن التصويت على تعليق عضوية سوريا في الجامعة وعلى فرض عقوبات اقتصادية عليها. كذلك، كان لبنان العضو الوحيد الذي امتنع عن دعوة الرئيس الأسد إلى التنحي في 22 كانون الأول/يناير من العام 2012 وكان قد اختار سياسة النأي بالنفس في وقت سابق (في 3 آب/أغسطس من العام 2011) عن بيان صادر عن مجلس الأمن يدين “انتهاكات [السلطات السورية] الواسعة النطاق لحقوق الإنسان [و] [ارتكابها] فظائع ضد المدنيين” (إشارة إلى أن لبنان كان في العام 2010/2011 عضواً غير دائم في مجلس الأمن). في شباط/فبراير من العام 2012، امتنع لبنان عن التصويت على قرار للأمم المتحدة يدين النظام السوري ويدعم خطة لإبعاد الرئيس الأسد عن السلطة. كذلك، امتنع لبنان عن التصويت على أي قرار صادر عن الأمم المتحدة، كالقرار الصادر في 3 آب/أغسطس من العام 2012 (الذي يدعو إلى إطلاق عملية انتقالية سياسية)، وفي 15 أيار/مايو من العام 2013 (القرار الذي يدين العنف الذي تمارسه الحكومة ضد المدنيين) وفي 19 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر من العام 2013 (القرار الذي يدين انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان).

بعد إنفجار سيارة في منطقة حارة حريك, بيروت 21 كانون الثاني / Photo HH
بعد إنفجار سيارة في منطقة حارة حريك, بيروت 21 كانون الثاني / Photo HH

دور حزب الله

يُعزى ما بلغه الوضع في لبنان إلى هيمنة حزب الله على السياسة اللبنانية. فمنذ النصف الثاني من الثمانينيات، حافظ الحزب على تحالفه التكتيكي مع النظام السوري؛ فسوريا هي قناة أساسية لتمرير المساعدات العسكرية الآتية من إيران كما أنها حليف مهم في تحالف غير رسمي-يُعرف بمحور الممانعة ويضم أيضاً إيران وحماس-ضد الهيمنة المزعومة الأميركية-الإسرائيلية في المنطقة.

ولم يقتصر دعم حزب الله للنظام السوري على الخطاب السياسي؛ بل تخطاه إلى قيام الحزب بإرسال مقاتليه لمحاربة الثوار السوريين في القصير وفي القرى الشيعية المحيطة بها والقريبة من الحدود اللبنانية بشكل خاص، ما أدى إلى تعرض المناطق اللبنانية إلى المزيد من القصف والغارات من الجانب السوري. وفي حين أنكر حزب الله بدايةً مشاركة أعضائه في القتال في سوريا، إلا أن أمين العام للحزب، السيد حسن نصر الله، أعلن رسمياً في 25 أيار/مايو من العام 2013 التزامه بمحاربة المعارضة السورية. فبحسب ما يزعمه الحزب، هو يساعد الحكومة السورية الشرعية في حربها على من يدعوهم بـ”الإرهابيين”، المجاهدين السنة المتطرفين المدعومين، برأيه، من الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يدعي حزب الله أن هؤلاء المجاهدين المدعومين من القوى الخارجية لا يهددون شيعة لبنان فحسب بل الطوائف اللبنانية كلها. بهذا الخطاب يحاول الحزب كسب الدعم محلياً. وفي حين يحافظ الحزب على دعم شيعة لبنان، إلا أن دوره في دعم نظام الأسد أدى إلى ارتفاع الأصوات الناقدة بين صفوفه، فقد تراجعت شعبية الحزب برفض بعض محاربيه القتال في سوريا. بدعمه نظام الأسد ومؤيديه العلويين، أقحم حزب الله نفسه في صراع بعيد كل البعد عن الهدف الذي أُسس لأجله، ألا وهو مقاومة الاحتلال الإسرائيلي. مع ذلك، ليس التدخل العسكري للحزب في الحرب السورية بالحدث المفاجئ، نظراً إلى أنه يدافع، وكطرف في محور الممانعة، عن خطوط إمداده الرئيسية في سوريا.

إقرأ المزيد

وتصاعدت حدة العنف مع الهجمات التي شنتها مجموعات سنية متطرفة على معاقل حزب الله رداً على التدخل العسكري للحزب في سوريا، ليس في ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©United Nations | ©United Nations | ©Hollandse Hoogte

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Past to Present / Lebanon and the war in Syria

Lebanon and the war in Syria

A family submitting an application at the UNHCR registration centre in Tripoli / Photo World Bank
A family submitting an application at the UNHCR registration centre in Tripoli / Photo World Bank

Increasing sectarian conflict in Syria has affected Lebanon in several ways. Hundreds of thousands of Syrians have fled over the border into Lebanon as a direct result of the violence in Syria. The number of refugees registered with UNHCR in Lebanon increased drastically, from more than 130,000 in January 2013 to around 900,000 in March 2014, the largest refugee population from Syria in the region. In addition to refugees registered with the UNHCR, many refugees have not registered or are Syrian migrant workers in Lebanon who cannot return to Syria. According to the most recent estimate by the Lebanese government in March 2013, one million Syrians, including Syrian workers and those that have not registered, were living in Lebanon. Fleeing the continuing violence at home, Syrian refugees risk persecution by the Lebanese security services, and even their lives, when they cross the border into Lebanon. Syrian defectors and dissidents who fled their country were allegedly arrested by the Lebanese army and sent back to Syria.

The enormous influx of Syrian refugees into Lebanon has had many destabilizing consequences for Lebanon. The total cost of the crisis to Lebanon is projected to reach 7.5 billion USD by the end of 2014. Spending on education and health has increased dramatically. Competition on the job market has driven wages down, while prices for basic necessities have increased. The majority of refugees are living in the poorest regions of Lebanon, such as the north and Beqaa, and this has led to increasing friction with the Lebanese population. The increased demand has led to water and electricity shortages, pressure on waste management, and overcrowded public schools. Areas near the Lebanese-Syrian border have been subject to cross-border fire, incursions, abductions, and arms trafficking. For the first time, on 18 March 2013, the Syrian regime launched airstrikes on Arsal, in eastern Lebanon, targeting suspected Syrian rebel positions.

From the start of the Syrian crisis, the Lebanese government sought to prevent the violence from spilling over into Lebanon. In an interview with the UAE-based daily The National in January 2012, former prime minister Najib Mikati stressed that his country does not want to become involved in Syria’s domestic affairs. Critics have, however, termed the government’s self-proclaimed neutral position as tacit support for the Syrian regime, because Lebanon abstained from voting on a suspension of Syria’s membership and enforcement of economic sanctions during an emergency session of the Arab League on 12 November 2011. In addition, on 22 January 2012, Lebanon was the only member of the League to refrain from calling on al-Assad to step down. It had earlier (on 3 August 2011) disassociated itself from a United Nations Security Council statement condemning the Syrian authorities for ‘widespread violations of human rights [and] the use of force against civilians’ (in 2010/2011 Lebanon was a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council). In February 2012, Lebanon abstained from voting for a UN resolution condemning the Syrian regime and supporting a plan calling for Assad’s removal from power. Furthermore, Lebanon abstained from the UN resolutions of 3 August 2012 (calling for a political transition), 15 May 2013 (condemning the government’s indiscriminate violence against civilians) and 19 November 2013 (condemning human-rights violations).

Aftermath of a car bomb attack in Haret Hreik neighbourhood, Beirut, 21 January 2014 / Photo HH
Aftermath of a car bomb attack in Haret Hreik neighbourhood, Beirut, 21 January 2014 / Photo HH

Role of Hezbollah


Lebanon’s stance can be ascribed to the dominant position of Hezbollah in Lebanese politics. Since the second half of the 1980s, the organization has maintained a tactical alliance with the Syrian regime. Syria is a crucial channel for military aid from Iran and a vital ally in an informal alliance—the so-called Resistance Axis (Jabhat al-Mumanaa), which also includes Iran and Hamas—against the alleged American-Israeli hegemony in the region.

Hezbollah’s support for the Syrian regime has not been limited to rhetoric; Hezbollah fighters from Lebanon have been fighting against Syrian rebels, primarily in al-Qusayr and surrounding Shiite villages near the border with Lebanon. This military involvement has increasingly led to cross-border shelling and rocket attacks into Lebanon. While Hezbollah initially denied its members were fighting in Syria, Hezbollah leader Hassan Nasrallah on 25 May 2013 officially committed to fight the Syrian opposition. The narrative of Hezbollah is that it helps the legitimate Syrian government in its fight against what it calls “terrorists”, radical Sunni jihadis who, in its eyes, are supported by the United States and Israel. In addition, Hezbollah claims that these jihadis supported by external powers threaten not only Lebanon’s Shia but all sects. In this way, Hezbollah tries to win domestic support. While Hezbollah retains support within Lebanon’s Shiite community, its role in defending the Assad regime has raised criticism from within. Hezbollah has been losing popularity, as some fighters have refused to fight in Syria. By siding with the Assad regime and its Alawite supporters, Hezbollah has involved itself in a conflict that has nothing to do with the aim for which it was originally established, resistance to the Israeli occupation. Its involvement in the Syrian conflict is not surprising, however, given that Hezbollah, as part of the Axis of Resistance, is defending its essential supply lines in Syria.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.