فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / لبنان والحرب في سوريا / تصاعد العنف في لبنان

تصاعد العنف في لبنان

الوقات اللبنانية تحاول وقف القتال بين حي باب التبانة (السنّي) وجبل محسن (العلوي) في طرابلس في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2012 Photo HH
الوقات اللبنانية تحاول وقف القتال بين حي باب التبانة (السنّي) وجبل محسن (العلوي) في طرابلس في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2012 Photo HH

أدى تصاعد حدة الصراع في سوريا إلى تعميق الانقسام بين الفصائل السياسية-الدينية في لبنان، وخصوصاً في الشمال. رزح لبنان تحت نير الاحتلال السوري مدة 29 عاماً انتهت بانسحاب الجيش السوري عن الأراضي اللبنانية في العام 2005. وتحول شمال لبنان إلى معقلٍ لدعم المعارضة السورية وملاذٍ آمن للجيش السوري الحر. وتسبب دعم المعارضة السورية بمواجهات مع المجموعات العلوية المؤيدة للأسد في طرابلس، حوّلت الأحياء الفقيرة في منطقتي جبل محسن العلوية وباب التبانة السنية إلى مسرح لاشتباكات عنيفة بين مسلحي الطرفين اللذين لطالما اتسمت علاقتها بالتوتر. نشرت الحكومة الجيش لضبط الوضع الأمني، الأمر الذي ساعد في عودة الهدوء الحذر إلى طرابلس. غير أن الأحداث في الشمال أدت إلى انعدام ثقة سنّة لبنان بالأجهزة الأمنية والمؤسسة العسكرية، فباتوا يتهمونها بالعمل في ما يصب في مصلحة النظام السوري. وفي حين تتمسك الحكومة اللبنانية رسمياً بموقفها “الحيادي” من الصراع السوري، إلا أنها تخضع للضغط من قبل النظام السوري لدعم دمشق. كذلك، يعمل حزب الله وحلفاؤه على دفع الحكومة اللبنانية إلى قمع الأنشطة المعارضة للرئيس الأسد، إلا أن تلك الأخيرة تدرك تماماً ما يحمله ذلك من مخاطر سياسية على البلاد.

وبالإضافة إلى ما يشهده شمال البلاد من اضطرابات، استُهدفت شخصيات مهمة عديدة في مناطق أخرى. ففي 19 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر من العام 2012، أودى انفجار سيارة مفخخة بحياة العميد وسام الحسن وهو أحد أهم المسؤولين الأمنيين في بيروت. والحسن، وهو رئيس فرع المعلومات في قوى الأمن الداخلي ومسؤول سابق عن أمن الرئيس رفيق الحريري، كان شخصية مثيرة للجدل على مستوى الأمن في لبنان. لعب الحسن دوراً أساسياً في التنسيق مع المحكمة الخاصة بلبنان التي تحقق في اغتيال رئيس الوزراء السابق رفيق الحريري، كما تولى التحقيق في عمليات اغتيال شخصيات لبنانية كثيرة معارضة لسوريا بعد اغتيال الحريري، وفكك شبكات تابعة لحركات دينية مسلحة وأحبط العديد من عمليات التجسس الإسرائيلية في لبنان. وقبل أشهر قليلة من اغتياله، كشف الحسن مخططاً اشترك فيه وزير الإعلام السابق ميشال سماحة الذي تم توقيفه في شهر آب/أغسطس. اتُهم سماحة المؤيد للنظام السوري بالتخطيط لعمليات تفجير في عكار، شمالي لبنان، وذلك بناءً على أمر من علي مملوك, وهو مسؤول أمني سوري.

ودارت اشتباكات عنيفة بين مناصري إحدى المجموعات السلفية وعدد من مسلحي حزب الله في مدينة صيدا الجنوبية، أشعل فتيلها تعليق لافتات دينية شيعية في المنطقة، أما سببها فسيطرة حزب الله على لبنان. وأتى اغتيال الشيخ أحمد عبد الواحد عند حاجز للجيش اللبناني في قضاء عكار ذي الغالبية السنية ليزيد الطين بلة ويرفع حدة الاشتباكات في الشمال وفي المناطق المختلطة السنية-الشيعية في بيروت. وكان عبد الواحد، وهو شخصية معروفة في شمال لبنان, وعضو في تحالف 14 آذار المعارض، يعمل على إنشاء مراكز لإيواء النازحين السوريين قرب طرابلس ويساعد على إنشاء خطوط إمداد لسوريا.

وتصاعدت حدة العنف مع الهجمات التي شنتها مجموعات سنية متطرفة على معاقل حزب الله رداً على التدخل العسكري للحزب في سوريا، ليس في طرابلس فقط بل في المناطق الشيعية في بيروت وسواها. وأعلنت جماعات مثل جبهة النصرة والدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام (داعش) مسؤوليتها عن العديد من عمليات التفجير بالسيارات المفخخة والعمليات الانتحارية. ولا بد من الإشارة في هذا الإطار إلى أن مواطنين لبنانيين من المسلمين السنّة يشتركون في هذه الهجمات، كالعملية الانتحارية التي نفذها في 2 كانون الثاني/يناير من العام 2014، طالب جامعي من عكار، في الضاحية الجنوبية لبيروت. لدى مجموعة من الشيوخ السلفيين المتمتعين بتأثير كبير أتباع من المسلمين السنة الفقراء في الشمال وهم لم يكتفوا بإدانة النظام السوري، بل دعوا السنة في لبنان إلى الانضمام إلى الثوار .في سوريا. وأعلنت بعض المجموعات السلفية اعتبار معاقل حزب الله جميعها في لبنان أهدافاً شرعية لها

عملت حكومة تصريف الأعمال وقوى الأمن الداخلي على الحؤول دون تدهور الوضع الأمني في البلاد. وقد أُشيع مؤخراً عن مغادرة عدد من المواطنين اللبنانيين طرابلس بسبب هشاشة الوضع الأمني.

الحيش اللبناني يدافع المناطق الخطيرة في طرابلس / Photo Flickr
الحيش اللبناني يدافع المناطق الخطيرة في طرابلس / Photo Flickr

الوضع السياسي


فطوال عشرة أشهر، عانى لبنان فراغاً سياسياً بعد إعلان الرئيس ميقاتي استقالة حكومته في 22 آذار/مارس من العام 2013. وأعاق تشكيلَ حكومة جديدة الصراعُ على توزيع الحقائب الوزارية بين أعضاء الكتلتين السياسيتين الأساسيتين؛ 8 آذار و14 آذار ورفضُ كتلة 14 آذار في البداية المشاركة في حكومة إلى جانب حزب الله طالما أن هذا الأخير مستمر في القتال في سوريا. وفي كانون الثاني/يناير من العام 2014، ومع بدء محاكمة أربعة من أعضاء حزب الله أمام المحكمة الخاصة بلبنان، أعلن رئيس الحكومة السابق سعد الحريري استعداده لمشاركة السلطة مع خصمه، حزب الله. وشكل إعلان الحريري هذا مفاجأة، نظراً إلى أن أربعة من أعضاء الحزب اتّهموا بالضلوع في اغتيال والده وإلى أن الحزب متهم باغتيال شخصيات بارزة أخرى من تيار المستقبل الذي يرأسه الحريري. وتم التوصل إلى تسوية بين الأفرقاء اللبنانيين جميعهم، مع موافقة 14 آذار و8 آذار، وشخصيات وسطية مقربة من الرئيس، ورئيس الوزارء تمام سلام، والزعيم الدرزي وليد جنبلاط، على مشاركة السلطة. واتُفق على تشكيلة وزارية قائمة على ثمانية وزراء لكل من الجهتين المتخاصمتين اللتين مُنحت كل منهما حق النقض في الحكومة؛ ما يعني أن أي تغيير جوهري في السياسة لن يكون ممكناً قبل الانتخابات الرئاسية المقرر إجراؤها في 25 أيار/مايو من العام 2014

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©Hollandse Hoogte

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Past to Present / Lebanon and the war in Syria / Escalating Violence in Lebanon

Escalating Violence in Lebanon

Tripoli, December 2012: Lebanese Armed Forces try to stop the fighting between the rival neighbourhoods of Bab al-Tabanne (Sunni) and Jabal Mohsen (Alawite) in Tripoli/ Photo HH
Tripoli, December 2012: Lebanese Armed Forces try to stop the fighting between the rival neighbourhoods of Bab al-Tabanne (Sunni) and Jabal Mohsen (Alawite) in Tripoli/ Photo HH

The escalation of the conflict in Syria has led to a further polarization of politico-religious factions in Lebanon, especially in the north. Lebanon has suffered under 29 years of Syrian occupation, which lasted until 2005. Northern Lebanon has become a bastion of support for the Syrian opposition, and a safe haven for the Free Syrian Army. Support for the Syrian opposition has led to clashes with the pro-Assad Alawite population in Tripoli. Fighting took place in neighbourhoods surrounding the Alawite district of Jabal Mohsen and the Sunni neighbourhood of Bab al-Tabbaneh. The impoverished neighbourhoods have a history of Sunni-Alawite tensions. The government deployed the army in order to control the situation, which helped restore a cautious calm in Tripoli. The events in the north have led to a growing distrust by Lebanese Sunnis of the security agencies and the army, whom they accuse of working in the interests of the Syrian regime. While the government officially retains its ‘neutral’ position in the Syrian conflict, it is under pressure from the Syrian regime to lend Damascus its support. Hezbollah and its allies want a more forceful crackdown on anti-Assad activities as well, but the government is fully aware of the huge political risks this bears.

In addition to the unrest in the north, several high-profile figures have been targeted in other parts of the country. On 19 October 2012, a car bomb killed General Wissam al-Hassan, a top security official in Beirut. Al-Hassan, head of the Information Branch of the Lebanese Internal Security Forces (ISF) and a former top security official of Rafic Hariri, was a controversial figure in the Lebanese security establishment. He played a central role in the cooperation with the Special Tribunal for Lebanon (STL), which is investigating the killing of former Prime Minister Rafiq Hariri. He also investigated several killings of Lebanese figures opposed to Syria in the years following Hariri’s assassination, dismantled networks of armed religious movements, and shut down Israeli spy operations in Lebanon. Months before his own assassination, al-Hassan had uncovered a plot involving former Information Minister Michel Samaha, leading to the latter’s arrest in August. Samaha, a pro-Syrian official, was accused of plotting to plant explosives in the northern city of Akkar in Lebanon, at the order of Ali Mamlouk, a Syrian security officer.

Clashes between supporters of a Salafi group and armed members of Hezbollah erupted in the southern city of Sidon over the presence of Shiite religious banners, and more generally over the dominant position of Hezbollah in Lebanon. The killing of Sheikh Ahmad Abdel Wahed at a Lebanese army checkpoint in the Sunni heartland of Akkar sparked further clashes in the north and in mixed SunniShiite areas in Beirut. Abdul Wahid, an important figure in northern Lebanon and a member of the opposition March 14 alliance, had helped organize shelter for Syrian refugees near Tripoli and played a role in establishing supply lines back into Syria.

Violence escalated further, with attacks by Sunni radical groups against Hezbollah strongholds, in retaliation for Hezbollah’s military involvement in Syria, not only in Tripoli, but also in Shiite areas in Beirut and elsewhere. Groups such as Jabhat al-Nusra and the Islamic State of Iraq and al-Sham (ISIS) have claimed responsibility for several car bombings and suicide attacks. Increasingly, Lebanese citizens from the deprived part of the Sunni community are involved in such attacks, such as the suicide bombing on 2 January 2014 in southern Beirut by a university student from Akkar. A group of influential Salafi sheikhs have a following among poor Sunnis in the north. They have not only condemned the Syrian regime but have also called on Lebanese Sunnis to join the rebels in Syria. Some of these groups have declared that all strongholds of Hezbollah in Lebanon are legitimate targets.

The Lebanese government and Internal Security Forces struggle to counter the deteriorating security situation in the country. Reports recently emerged of Lebanese citizens leaving Tripoli due to the deteriorating security situation.

Political situation

The Lebanese army guarding in sensitive areas in Tripoli / Photo Flickr
The Lebanese army guarding in sensitive areas in Tripoli / Photo Flickr

Meanwhile, Lebanon was without a fully functioning government after Mikati announced the resignation of his cabinet, on 22 March 2013. The formation of a new cabinet was stalled over the distribution of cabinet positions among members of the main political blocs March 8 and March 14. March 14 initially refused to join a government with Hezbollah members, as long as it continued to fight against Syrian rebels. In January 2014, however, with the start of the trial of four Hezbollah members at the Special Tribunal for Lebanon, former Prime Minister Saad al-Hariri stated that he was ready to share power with his rival, Hezbollah. His statement was surprising, given that four Hezbollah members had been charged for the killing of his father and Hezbollah was accused of assassinating several prominent figures linked to Hariri’s Future Movement. A compromise between the camps was reached, when March 14, March 8, and centrist figures loyal to the president, Prime Minister Salam, and Druze leader Walid Jumblatt agreed to share power. A lineup with eight ministers selected from each of the rival camps was agreed upon, giving each camp veto power in the government. This implies that no important change in policy can be expected until the presidential elections planned for 25 May 2014.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.