فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / لبنان بين نارين: انتحار سياسي أم اعطاء الوقت الكافي لتنظيم صفوف المجتمع المدني

لبنان بين نارين: انتحار سياسي أم اعطاء الوقت الكافي لتنظيم صفوف المجتمع المدني

blast lebanon
متظاهرون لبنانيون يصطدمون مع قوات الأمن في وسط مدينة بيروت في 8 أغسطس 2020 في أعقاب مظاهرة ضد القيادة السياسية التي يلومونها على الانفجار المروع الذي هز العاصمة. Photo: JOSEPH EID / AFP

دمر الإنفجار الذي هزّ مرفأ بيروت في الرابع من أغسطس 2020 العاصمة اللبنانية مما أسفر عن مقتل أكثر من 170 شخصاً وإصابة ما لا يقل عن 6 آلاف شخص وتشريد أكثر من 300 ألف من منازلهم.

بالنسبة للعديد من اللبنانيين، كان الانفجار الهائل بمثابة القشة التي قصمت ظهر البعير، فقد كانت البلاد تعاني بالفعل من أزمةٍ اقتصادية حادة تسببت في انخفاض قيمة الليرة اللبنانية، مما أدى إلى فقرٍ مدقع ونقصٍ في الغذاء وتسريحٍ للعمالة. ووفقاً لأرقام البنك الدولي، كان ما يقرب من 50% من السكان يعيشون تحت خط الفقر في أبريل 2020، بينما يعيش أكثر من 20% في فقرٍ مدقع.

واليوم، جاء هذا الإنفجار الذي نتج عن سبع سنواتٍ من الفساد السياسي والمؤسسي والإهمال، بل إن مسؤولين أمنيين لبنانيين سبق وحذروا رئيس الوزراء حسّان دياب والرئيس ميشال عون في يوليو2020 من أن 2750 طناً من نترات الأمونيوم مخزنة في مستودعٍ بميناء بيروت، مما يشكل خطراً قد يؤدي إلى تدمير المدينة المكتظة بمليوني نسمة. وفي خطاب متلفز في 10 أغسطس، اعترف دياب أن منظومة الفساد “الأكبر من الدولة” عجلّت الأحداث التي أدت إلى الانفجار.

ومنذ ذلك الحين، استقالت حكومة حسان دياب، بيد أن اللبنانيين والنقاد لا يعتقدون أن ذلك من شأنه تغيير طريقة حكم البلاد. وفي الوقت الراهن، ما تزال حكومة دياب تؤدي دور تصريف الأعمال إلى أن يتم تشكيل حكومةٍ جديدة. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن مجلس الوزراء لا يمتلك سلطة اقتراح القوانين أو إصدار المراسيم. ففي خضم الأزمة المالية، أصبح الشلل السياسي أكثر إثارةَ للقلق من أي وقت مضى، إذ صرّح المسؤولون الفرنسيون والأمريكيون الذين زاروا بيروت في أعقاب الانفجار أن بلادهم لن تمد شريان الحياة المالي إلى لبنان ما لم تتبنى الطبقة السياسية إصلاحاتٍ هيكلية.

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، ما زال بإمكان البلاد تلقي ما يصل إلى 298 مليون دولار كمساعداتٍ طارئة، بيد أن لبنان قد يحتاج إلى ما يفوق الـ30 مليار دولار- مبلغٌ مشروط بإصلاحاتٍ هيكلية عميقة من قِبل صندوق النقد الدولي- لإعادة بناء اقتصاده المنهار.

لكن في ظل الظروف الحالية، من غير المرجح إجراء إصلاحات هيكلية، إذ يشكك محللون في أن الرئيس ميشال عون قد يحاول تجاوز الانتخابات التشريعية وتعيين حكومة جديدة بالتشاور مع البرلمان. وعليه، قد تؤدي هذه الخطوة إلى اضطرابات شعبية في العاصمة، بالنظر إلى أن آلاف اللبنانيين لم يعد لديهم، حرفياً، ما يخسرونه في أعقاب الإنفجار.

علاوةً على ذلك، تبرز انقساماتٌ في صفوف الطبقة السياسية حول إجراء إنتخاباتٍ برلمانية مبكرة، إذ تعكس هذه الإنقسامات الهوة العميقة التي يعود تاريخها إلى انسحاب القوات السورية من البلاد في عام 2005.

فمنذ ذلك الحين، هيمن تحالفان سياسيان على العلاقات السياسية في البلاد؛ يضم التحالف الأول حركة أمل وحزب الله الشيعيتين والتيار الوطني الحر المسيحي. يُعرف هذا التحالف باسم 8 آذار وله علاقات ودية مع إيران والنظام السوري، وهناك تحالف 14 آذار الموالي للغرب، والذي يضم تيار المستقبل السُني بزعامة سعد الحريري، وحزب القوات اللبنانية المسيحي، وحزب الكتائب، والحزب التقدمي الاشتراكي بزعامة وليد جنبلاط. فالتحالف الأول يعارض إجراء انتخابات مبكرة ويطالب بدلاً من ذلك بتشكيل حكومة وحدة وطنية تضم الأحزاب اللبنانية التقليدية الرئيسية.

من جانبه دعا حزب القوات اللبنانية إلى تقصير مدة ولاية المجلس النيابي الحالي البالغة أربع سنوات للاستعداد لإجراء انتخاباتٍ مبكرة، إلى جانب مطالبهم بتشكيل حكومةٍ محايدة ومعارضة تشكيل حكومة وحدة وطنية، بينما يدعم وليد جنبلاطحكومة الحياد،” ويدعو سامي الجميل، زعيم حزب الكتائب، إلى إجراء إنتخاباتٍ مبكرة.

من جهته وصف الأمين العام لحزب الله، حسن نصر الله، الذي وجه إليه المتظاهرون أصابع الإتهام بحمايته منظومةً سياسية فاسدة، “حكومة الحياد” بـ” المضيعة للوقت،” ذلك أن الأمين العام للحزب يُساوي “الحياد” بالتماشي مع المواقف الغربية. كما حذّر نصر الله من خطرٍ أكبر يتمثل بقوى سياسية تحاول “إسقاط الدولة ووضع لبنان على حافة الحرب الأهلية، لمصالح شخصية وخدمةً لمشاريع خارجية.”

لسنواتٍ عديدة، كان يُنظر إلى حزب الله باعتباره بعيداً كل البعد عن أي شبهات فساد فضلاً عن الإشادة الكبيرة التي يحظى بها من شرائح واسعة من المجتمع باعتباره قوةً بطولية حررت جنوب لبنان من الاحتلال الإسرائيلي عام 2000، بيد أن هذه القداسة أخذت تتآكل شيئاً فشيء مع التدخل المباشر للحزب في سوريا – رسمياً عام 2013 – دعماً لبشار الأسد، لتتدهور أكثر- بما في ذلك بين قاعدته الشيعية – مع تعمق الأزمة. وبالنسبة للمتظاهرين، أصبح حزب الله جزءاً من المؤسسة، ومع ذلك، لا يزال الحزب اليوم الأقوى على الساحة السياسية اللبنانية، رغم تأثره مالياً بالعقوبات الأمريكية ضد إيران.

وفي هذا الصدد، قال الدكتور كريم إميل بيطار، مدير معهد العلوم السياسية في جامعة القديس يوسف، لنا في فَنَك: “لا أعتقد أن حزب الله ضعيف لكنه يدرك أن حلفائه المحليين والإقليميين ضعفاء.” وأضاف، “خسر حليفه المسيحي الرئيسي الكثير من الدعم في العامين الماضيين، كما تعرضت حركة أمل منذ فترةٍ طويلة – وخاصة في العام الماضي – لتهمٍ بالفساد، وعلى الصعيد الإقليمي تعاني إيران وسوريا اليوم من العديد من المشاكل الداخلية.”

وفي أعقاب استقالة حكومة دياب، لاحت في الأفق أسماء بعض البدلاء المحتملين، من بينهم رئيس الوزراء الأسبق سعد الحريري، والدبلوماسي والقاضي نوّاف سلام، ونائب حاكم مصرف لبنان الأسبق محمد بعاصيري. وبالنسبة لحزب الله وأمل، يبدو أن الحريري الخيار الأمثل لهما إذ لا يمثل سلام وبعاصيري خياراتٍ محتملة باعتبارهما مقربيّن من الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

وبحسب ما قاله جوزيف باحوط، مدير معهد عصام فارس في الجامعة الأمريكية في بيروت، لفَنَك: “قبل ترشيح حسان دياب، كان الحريري الخيار الأول لحزب الله،” وتابع القول، “لم يتغير ذلك، لكن ما لا يريدونه حقاً هو حكومة حياد، فهم لا يخشون الاستقلال بل يخشون حكومة تخضع إلى حدٍ كبير لقوى موالية للغرب.”

كما أعربت العديد من الأصوات المنبثقة عن حركة الاحتجاج عن مخاوفها من إجراء الانتخابات البرلمانية دون أي تغيير في قانون الانتخابات المصمم برأيهم لحماية المؤسسة التقليدية الفاسدة بسبب المحاصصة الطائفية المحددة مسبقاً ضمن خطوطٍ جغرافية صارمة.

لكن المجتمع المدني فشل حتى الآن في إيجاد جبهةٍ موحدة تُمثل مطالب المحتجين، وفي ظل الظروف الراهنة، يرى باحوط أنه سيكون من شبه المستحيل على نشطاء المجتمع المدني منافسة الحرس القديم في حال إجراء إنتخاباتٍ نيابية في وقتٍ مبكر جداً، “إجراء انتخاباتٍ مبكرة انتحارٌ سياسي،” على حد تعبيره. وأضاف “ينبغي التحضير للإنتخابات ترافقها فترة إنتقالية طويلة من شأنها توفير الوقت لتنظيم المجتمع المدني.”

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: JOSEPH EID ©AFP | JOSEPH EID ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Past to Present / Lebanon Between Two Fires: Political Suicide or Giving Enough Time to Civil Society?

Lebanon Between Two Fires: Political Suicide or Giving Enough Time to Civil Society?

blast lebanon
Lebanese protesters clash with security forces in downtown Beirut on August 8, 2020, following a demonstration against a political leadership they blame for a monster explosion. Photo: JOSEPH EID / AFP

The blast that ripped through the port of Beirut on August 4th, 2020 devastated Lebanon’s capital, killing more than 170 people, injuring at least 6000 and displacing more than 300,000 from their homes.

For many Lebanese, the massive explosion was the straw that broke the camel’s back. The country was already suffering from a dire economic crisis that has plummeted the value of the Lebanese lira, leading to staggering poverty, food shortages and job cuts. According to the World Bank’s figures, almost 50% of the population was living under the poverty line in April 2020 and more than 20% were living in extreme poverty.

Now enter the blast, which was caused by seven years of political and institu-tional corruption and negligence. Lebanese security officials even warned Prime Minister Hassan Diab and President Michel Aoun in July 2020 that 2750 tons of ammonium nitrate was stored in a warehouse on the port of Beirut, presenting a hazard that could destroy the densely populated city of 2 million inhabitants. And in a televised address on August 10, Diab admitted that a level of corruption “bigger than the state” precipitated the events that led to the blast.

Hassan Diab’s cabinet has since resigned, yet Lebanese citizens and critics don’t believe that his exit will change the way the country is governed. For now, Diab’s cabinet remains in a caretaker role until a new government is appointed. However, the cabinet has no power to propose laws or issue decrees. Amidst the financial crisis, political paralysis is more worrying than ever. French and US officials who visited Beirut following the blast stated that their respective countries would not extend a financial lifeline to Lebanon unless the political class adopts structural reforms.

Nevertheless, the country could still receive $ 298 million in emergency aid. Yet Lebanon may need more than $30 billion — a sum conditioned on deep structural reforms by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) — to rebuild its collapsed economy.

But under the current circumstances, structural reforms are unlikely. Analysts suspect that President Michel Aoun may attempt to bypass legislative elec-tions and appoint a new government in consultation with Parliament. That move could trigger popular unrest in the capital, considering thousands of people have literally nothing to lose after the blast.

The political class is also divided over whether to hold early elections. These divisions reflect the fault lines that date back to the withdrawal of Syrian troops from the country in 2005.

Since then, two political alliances have dominated the country’s political affairs. The first alliance includes Shia movements Amal and Hezbollah and the Christian Free Patriotic Movement. This coalition is known as 8 March and has friendly relations with Iran and the Syrian regime. Then there is the pro-western 14 March alliance, which includes the Sunni leader  Saad al-Hariri’s Future Movement, the Christian Lebanese Forces, the Kataeb party and the Progressive Socialist Party led by Walid Joumblatt. The former is against holding early elections and are instead calling for the establishment of a national unity government, which includes Lebanon’s main traditional parties.

However, the Lebanese Forces have called for a shortening of the parliament’s four-year mandate in order to prepare for early elections. They are also calling for the formation of a neutral government and are against a national unity cabinet. Walid Joumblatt also supports a “government of neutrality” while the head of the Kataeb party, Samy Gemayel, called for early elections.

Accused by the protesters of protecting a corrupt establishment, Hezbollah’s Secretary General Hassan Nasrallah called a “neutral government” a “waste of time.” Hezbollah’s leader equates “neutrality” with an alignment on Western positions. Nasrallah also warned of a greater threat of political forces trying to “topple the state and push Lebanon to the brink of civil war to serve personal and foreign interests.”

For many years, Hezbollah was perceived as above corruption and praised by large segments of society as a heroic force that liberated south Lebanon from Israeli occupation in 2000. This sanctity started to erode with the direct intervention of the movement in Syria – officially in 2013 – in support of Bashar al-Assad. It deteriorated further – including among its Shia basis – as the crisis deepened. For protesters, Hezbollah had become part of the establishment. Nonetheless, the group remains today the most powerful one in the Lebanese political arena, although it is financially affected by the US sanctions against Iran.

“I don’t think Hezbollah is weakened but it is aware that its local and regional allies are”, Karim Emile Bitar, director of the Institute of Political Science at Saint Joseph University (USJ), told Fanack. “Its main Christian ally has lost a lot of support in the last two years. And the Amal movement has been accused for a long time – but especially in the past year – of corruption. Regionally, Iran and Syria are also struggling today with many internal problems.”

Following the resignation of Diab’s government, a few names of possible replacements emerged. They include former Prime minister Saad Hariri, Nawaf Salam, a diplomat and judge and Mohammed Baasiri, former vice-governor of the Central Bank. For Hezbollah and Amal, Hariri appears as the best choice while Salam and Baasiri are no possible options since they are perceived as being too close to the US.

“Before the nomination of Hassan Diab, Hezbollah’s first choice was Hariri,” Joseph Bahout, director of the Issam Fares Institute at the American Univer-sity of Beirut (AUB), told Fanack. “They haven’t changed. But what they really don’t want, it is a neutral government. They are not scared of inde-pendence but rather of a government that would be largely held by pro-Western forces.”

Many voices stemming from the protest movement have also expressed fear over Parliamentary polls taking place without any change to an electoral law, which they believe is designed to protect the corrupt traditional establish-ment due to predetermined sectarian quotas within strict geographical lines.

But civil society has, for now, failed at creating a united front that represents the demands of the protesters. And in the current circumstances, Bahout argues that it would be nearly impossible for civil activists to compete with the old guard if the next election is held too soon.

“The request for early elections is political suicide,” he told Fanack. “Elections need to be prepared, but with a long transitional period that would leave time for civil society to organize.”

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: JOSEPH EID ©AFP | JOSEPH EID ©AFP

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update