فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / تلاشي الحراك المناهض للنفايات في لبنان

تلاشي الحراك المناهض للنفايات في لبنان

lebanon garbage crisis protesters clash woth riot police
محتجون لبنانيون يتظاهرون ضد أزمة النفايات يشتبكون مع شرطة مكافحة الشغب في وسط العاصمة بيروت، لبنان، 16 سبتمبر 2015. Photo by Marwan Tahtah

تواصلت أزمة النفايات في لبنان منذ 17 يوليو 2015، عندما تم إغلاق مكب نفايات الناعمة. وبعد عدة وعود من الحكومة بمعالجة الوضع، لا تزال النفايات مُلقاة على الطرقات في ديسمبر 2015، ويبدو أن الحكومة عاجزة تماماً عن إيجاد حلٍ للمشكلة. وفي محاولة لتبرير فشلها، تتهم الفصائل المختلفة في الحكومة، وبالتحديد الوزراء الذين ينتمون إلى 14 و8 آذار، بعضهم البعض بعرقلة إيجاد حلول.

وفي الوقت نفسه، خرجت حراكات المجتمع المدني بحثاً عن حلول من خلال الاحتجاجات. فقد تكرر ذات المشهد في كل مرة تقريباً: تبدأ الاحتجاجات سلمية ومن ثم تتحول إلى العنف في غضون ساعات، بعد استخدام قوات الأمن الغاز المسيل للدموع، وخراطيم المياه، والرصاص المطاطي لتفريق المتظاهرين. ومع ذلك، لم تتم ترجمة سلسلة الوعود والمطالبات إلى خطة ملموسة، على الرغم من مطالبة حراك المجتمع المدني والمنظمات غير الحكومية، الحكومة الخروج بحل قبل موسم الأمطار، لتجنب وقوع كارثة بيئية وصحية.

رد الحكومة

في العديد من النقاط خلال الأزمة، كان الوزراء المعنيون بشكلٍ مباشر، مثل أولئك المعنيين في وزارة البيئة ووزارة الداخلية، خارج البلاد، حيث انتقد غيابهم من قِبل المتظاهرين الذين اثبتوا أنّ الطبقة السياسية لا تحترم مصالح الشعب اللبناني. كما قام النشطاء بمراقبة صفحة وزير البيئة على الفيسبوك، حيث أفادوا باستمرار رحلاته الشخصية في جميع أنحاء أوروبا، من خلال نشر الوزير صوراً للأماكن التي يزورها.

كما انتشر شريط فيديوعلى وسائل الإعلام يُظهر وزير الداخلية يرقص في منتجع على شاطئ في جزيرة ميكونوس اليونانية، في نفس الوقت الذي اندلعت فيه أولى المظاهرات. أدى هذا إلى أكبر احتجاج في 29 أغسطس.

وخلال المظاهرات التالية، غالباً ما ألقى المتظاهرون زجاجات مياه صغيرة باتجاه قوات الأمن وحاولوا إزالة الأسلاك الشائكة التي تعترض سبيلهم باتجاه مكاتب الوزراء. وبالتالي، أخذت قوات الأمن هذا الأمر ذريعةً للرد بعنف، والهجوم على المتظاهرين بالهروات، حيث انتقد رد الحكومة العنيف على الاحتجاجات المدنية من قبل منظمات حقوق الإنسان في جميع أنحاء العالم.

وحشية قوات الأمن والتضليل السياسي

ادعى وزير الداخلية أنه على الرغم من الأخطاء التي ارتكبت من قبل قوات الأمن الداخلي، إلا أن رد قوات الأمن لم يكن وحشياً أو غير مبرر، حتى في ضوء وفاة شخص والأعداد المتزايدة من الجرحى.

كما عقد مؤتمراً صحفياً، مدعياً أن قوات الأمن كانت هناك لحماية المتظاهرين والممتلكات العامة، والأصول الحكومية الأخرى، وأن الشرطة لم تتصرف ضد المتظاهرين ولكن ضد مثيري الشغب. وادعى أيضاً أن المزيد من رجال الشرطة اصيبوا أيضاً بجروح من المتظاهرين.

فقد جاء مثال آخر واضح على وحشية الشرطة وقوات الأمن خلال احتجاجٍ لنشطاء تضمن احتلالهم لوزارة البيئة وجلوسهم على الأرض داخل مبنى الوزارة مطالبين باستقالة وزير البيئة، الذي كان قد طالب مؤخراً أن يعفيه رئيس الوزراء من المسؤولية عن أزمة القمامة. وكان مع المحتجين مراسلين صحفيين وكاميرات.

وفي البداية، داهمت قوات الأمن الوزارة وطردت الصحفيين، واستخدمت القوة ضد أولئك الذين رفضوا المغادرة، وتمت مصادرة أو تدمير الكاميرات. وبمجرد القيام بذلك، هاجمت قوات الأمن المتظاهرين السلميين، مما تسبب في إصابات خطيرة لعدد منهم، أكثرهم ظهوراً على الإعلام كان الناشط والمخرج لوسيان أبو رجيلي. فضلاً عن ذلك، زعم وزير الداخلية بأن المتظاهرين كانوا يدمرون الممتلكات الحكومية، ولكن أصدرت الحركة شريط فيديو تم تصويره قبل مداهمة الشرطة، يُبيّن احتجاجهم السلمي، وافتراشهم الأرض بكل بساطة وترديد الشعارات.

مطالب المحتجين

في البداية، كان المحتجون يطالبون بحل أزمة النفايات، ولكن بعد تجاهل هذه المطالب فضلاً عن إثبات الحكومة عدم فعاليتها، تم تصعيد المطالب. انضم إلى الحراك الأول، تحت شعار “طلعت ريحتكم،” العديد من الحراكات الأخرى الناشئة عن الاحتجاجات المستمرة، منها “شباب ضد النظام،” و”شباب ضد الفساد،” من صيدا، و”شباب 22 آب،” و”بدنا نحاسب.” أصبحت المطالب متعددة، من استبدال كامل للنظام اللبناني وتغيير للدستور، إلى استقالة وزير البيئة، إلى انتخاب رئيس جديد للبلاد، وسن قانون انتخابات برلمانية جديد. في حين كان المطلب المشترك الوحيد بين هذه الحراكات هو اتخاذ اجراءات فورية لوقف أزمة النفايات من تحولها إلى كارثة وطنية.

ارتباك الطبقة السياسية

من الواضح أن الحركة نجحت في إرباك وإرعاب النخبة السياسية الحاكمة، وإن لم يكن ذلك جلياً في الطريقة الوحشية التي تعاملت فيها قوات الأمن مع المتظاهرين، يتجلى ذلك بكل تأكيد باتهام فصيليّ المعارضة في الحكومة حراك المجتمع المدني بتمويله من قِبل دولة “أجنبية.”

ولربما كان التكتيك الأكثر وضوحاً هو “اغتيال الشخصية” لممثلي الحراك مثل بيار حشاش، وعماد بزي، وأسعد ذبيان، من خلال الاعتقالات، ونشر الشائعات أو الفضائح. وفي 16 نوفمبر، أطلقت المحكمة العسكرية جميع المعتقلين باستثناء اثنين، إحدهما كان بيار حشاش، مما دفع ناشط آخر إلى إشعال النار بنفسه أمام المحكمة احتجاجاُ. كما كان عماد بزي هدفاً للشائعات بتهمة اتباع “أجندة غربية،” في حين عمدوا إلى فضح أسعد ذبيان لنشره نكات مُسيئة للديانات قبل ثلاث سنوات على صفحته الشخصية على موقع فيسبوك. نجحت هذه التكتيات بزعزعة الحراك، وبدأ الدعم الشعبي بالانحسار.

انجازات واخفاقات الحراك

على الرغم من عيوبه، إلا أن الحراك كان قادراً على تحقيق وحدة اجتماعية غير مسبوقة تجاوزت الانتماءات الطائفية والطبقات الاجتماعية. كما كان قادراً أيضاً على دفع الطبقة الحاكمة، التي كانت تخشى فقدان السيطرة على الوضع الراهن، لوضع خطة. ومع ذلك، كان الإنجاز الأكثر أهمية للحراك قدرته على ايقاف النخب الحاكمة من توزيع صفقات شركة النفايات فيما بينهم. وبالرغم من ذلك، فقد الحراك الكثير من الزخم لعدة أسباب.

أولاً، يقف الحراك ضد طبقة سياسية متجذرة منذ أكثر من أربعين عاماً، والتي تستفيد من الانقسامات الطائفية بين أبناء الشعب التي أنشأتها الطبقة الحاكمة ذات نفسها. ولكن لا يمكن القاء اللوم بالكامل على النظام السياسي، حيث لم يستفد الحراك من إنجازاته الخاصة، واستمر بالدفع لتحقيق مطالبه دون وجود رؤية واضحة. وبمجرد فقدان الحراك زخمه، إنتشرت اللامبالاة، التي تحكم مشاعر اللبنانيين بشأن واقعهم السياسي، إلى الحراك ووضعت حداً لمزيد من دعوات الخروج في مظاهرات.

إقرأ المزيد

وقد كان لبنان قلب أرض كنعان التاريخية، والتي كانت تقع على طول السا...
تقدم فنك لمحة عامة عن تاريخ لبنان من حاضره إلى ماضيه، محاولين بذلك...
يعد الفساد المستشري في لبنان أحد الأسباب الجذرية للأزمة. ويبدو أن ...

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Past to Present / Lebanon’s Anti-Rubbish Struggle Peters Out

Lebanon’s Anti-Rubbish Struggle Peters Out

lebanon garbage crisis protesters clash woth riot police
Lebanese protesters demonstrating against the trash crisis clash with the riot police, in downtown Beirut, Lebanon, 16 September , 2015. Photo by Marwan Tahtah

The rubbish crisis has continued in Lebanon since 17 July 2015, when the al-Naameh landfill, turned dump site, was closed. After several promises from the government to address the situation, rubbish is still on the streets in December 2015 and the government seems totally incapable of fixing the problem. When trying to justify its failure, the various parts of the government, in particular, the ministers belonging to the 14 March and 8 March coalitions accuse each other of blocking solutions.

Meanwhile, civil-society movements pushed for solutions through protest. The same scenes were repeated almost every time: protests would start peacefully and turn violent after a few hours, after the police used tear gas, water cannons, and rubber bullets to disperse protestors. The cycle of promises and claims of assessing the crisis translated into no concrete plan, despite the demands of the civil-society movements and the NGOs that the government come up with a solution before the rainy season, to avoid an environmental and health disaster.

Government Response

At many points during the crisis, ministers who were directly concerned, such as those of the environment and interior ministries, were absent from the country. Their absence was criticized by the protestors to demonstrate that the political class did not respect the Lebanese people’s interests. Activists monitored the environment minister’s Facebook page and continually reported his travels around Europe; these were personal travels, and the minister posted pictures of the places he was visiting.

A video of the interior minister—in which he was dancing at a beach resort on the Greek island of Mykonos at the same time as the first protests—went viral on social media. This led to the biggest protest, on 29 August.

During demonstrations after that, the protestors often threw small water bottles at the police and tried to remove the barbed wire blocking the way to cabinet offices. The police took this as an excuse to respond violently, attacking the protestors with clubs. The government’s violent response to the civil-movement protests was criticized by human-rights organizations around the world.

Police Brutality and Political Dishonesty

The interior minister claimed that, although mistakes were committed by the internal security forces, the security forces’ response was not brutal or unjustifiable, even given the mounting numbers of injured and one death.

He held a press conference, claiming that the security forces were there to protect the protestors, public property, and other government assets, and that the police were not acting against the protestors but against troublemakers. He also claimed that more police were injured than protestors.

Another blatant example of police and security-force brutality came during a protest during which activists occupied the Ministry of Environment and sat on the ground demanding the resignation of the minister, who had recently demanded that the prime minister relieve him of responsibility for the rubbish crisis. The activists had reporters and cameras with them.

The security forces raided the ministry, expelled the reporters, and used force against those who refused to leave, confiscating or destroying the cameras. Once this was done, the security forces attacked the peaceful protestors, causing serious injuries to several, the most widely reported of whom was the activist and film director Lucien Abourjeily. The interior minister claimed that the protestors were destroying government property, but the movement released a video filmed before the police raid, showing that they were protesting peacefully, simply sitting on the ground and chanting slogans.

Protestors Demands

The protestors initially demanded a solution to the rubbish crisis, but after these demands were ignored and the government proved itself totally ineffective, the demands escalated. The initial movement, called “You Stink,” was joined by many other movements arising out of the continuing protests, the most prominent being Shabab Dod al-Nizam (Youth against the System), Dodal Fassad (Against Corruption) from Sidon, Shabab 22 Ab (Youth of 22 August), and Badna Nhassib (We Want Accountability).

The demands became very varied, from a complete replacement of the Lebanese system and change of constitution, to the resignation of the environment minister, to the election of a new president, and the enactment of a new parliamentary-elections law. The one demand common to all the movements was immediate action to stop the rubbish crisis from escalating into a national disaster.

Confusion of the Political Class

It does seem that the movement was able to confuse and panic the ruling political elite, evidenced if not by the brutality of the police response against the protestors, then certainly by the fact that both opposing factions in the government accused the civil-society movement of being funded by a “foreign” country.

Perhaps the most obvious tactic was the “character assassination” of movement representatives such as Pierre Hashash, Imad Bazzi, and Assad Thebian, through arrests, rumours, or scandals. On 16 November the military court released all those detained except two; one was Pierre Hashash, which led another activist to set himself on fire in front of the court in protest. Imad Bazzi was a target of rumours accusing him of having a “Western agenda,” while Assad Thebian was scandalized for posting offensive jokes about religions three year earlier on his personal Facebook page. These tactics succeeded in destabilizing the movement, and popular support for the protests began to diminish.

The Movement’s Achievements and Failures

Despite its shortcomings, the movement was able to achieve an unprecedented social unity that transcended sectarian and social-class affiliations. It also was able to push the ruling class, who feared losing control of the status quo, to suggest a plan. The movement’s most important achievement was that it was able to stop the ruling elites from distributing the rubbish-company deals among themselves. Yet the movement has lost momentum for many reasons.

First, the movement is up against a political class that has been around for over 40 years and is capitalizing on sectarian divisions among the people that have been created by the ruling class itself. But the blame cannot be put entirely on the political system, as the movement did not capitalize on its own achievements and continued to push its demands with no clear vision. Once the movement lost its momentum, that apathy, which has governed Lebanese sentiments concerning their political reality, spread to the movement and brought an end to calls for further demonstrations.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.