فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / تزايد تهديد الإسلاميين في لبنان: العوامل الكامنة

تزايد تهديد الإسلاميين في لبنان: العوامل الكامنة

أحد اقرباء الجنود المختطفين من قبل جبهة النصرة والدولة الاسلامية قرب الحدود السورية تلقي اطارا احتجاجا امام قصر الحكومة في بيروت
أحد اقرباء الجنود المختطفين من قبل جبهة النصرة والدولة الاسلامية قرب الحدود السورية تلقي اطارا احتجاجا امام قصر الحكومة في بيروت

تغذي العديد من العوامل، بدءاً من تورط حزب الله في الصراع السوري وصولاً إلى التهميش الاجتماعي والاقتصادي، التطرف السُني في لبنان.

في لبنان، وبخاصة في جرود عرسال شرق البلاد وفي طرابلس شمال البلاد دليلاً على تنامي الوجود الإسلامي الذي بات واضحاً تجاوزه العراق وسوريا. وأسفر الإقتتال الدائر في أغسطس 2014 عن مقتل عشرات الجنود واختطاف حوالي 30 عنصراً من قوات الأمن اللبنانية وأفراد من الجيش (من بينهم أربعة تم إعدامهم دون محاكمة). وبالفعل وفي عام 2013، بدأ تنظيم داعش وجبهة النصرة بسطر أولى الفصول على الأراضي اللبنانية، حيث أعلانا مسؤوليتهما مؤخراً عن سلسلة من الهجمات الإرهابية. ومع ذلك، في عام 2014، زادت الطين بِلة حيث تزايدت أعداد اللبنانيين السُنة المنضمين إلى هذه الجماعات.

وفي حين يعتقد البعض أن نمو التطرف السني في بلادٍ يمثل فيها السنة نحو ما يقرب من ربع السكان، مجرد امتداد مؤقت للصراع السوري؛ يؤمن البعض الآخر أنّ جذور التطرف محلية وعميقة.
ربما تعود أبرز العوامل التي ساهمت في تفجّر التطرف السني الأخير في لبنان، إلى تنامي استياء السُنة من حزب الله وبخاصة بعد أنّ أعلنت الحركة الشيعية في مايو 2013 تدخلها العسكري الرسمي في سوريا دعماً لبشار الأسد.

إلا أنّ استياء السنة من حزب الله أعمق من ذلك بكثير، حيث يتهمه الكثيرون بالوقوف وراء الإغتيالات التي استهدفت القادة الرئيسيين في المجتمع السني اللبناني منذ عام 2000، ولا سيما رئيس الوزراء رفيق الحريري الذي أغتيل في عام 2005.
وباستخدام مكانته كحركة مقاومة ضد اسرائيل، كان حزب الله قادراً على بناء ترسانة قوية من الأسلحة وميليشيا ذات ثِقل، حيث أثبت مراراً وتكراراً دوره الهام في تطويع السياسة الداخلية لصالحه وذلك على حساب السياسيين السُنة.

عامل رئيسي آخر هو العامل الإجتماعي الإقتصادي، إذ يعيش معظم اللبنانيين السُنة في مناطق مهمشة على المستويين الإجتماعي والإقتصادي عن باقي مناطق البلاد. ففي طرابلس على سبيل المثال، ثاني أكبر المدن اللبنانية، دفع ارتفاع معدلات البطالة والفقر بعض الشباب السُنة إلى الإنضمام إلى الجماعات المتطرفة. ووفقاً لدراسة أعدتها اللجنة اﻻﻗﺘﺼﺎدﻳﺔ واﻻﺟﺘﻤﺎﻋﻴﺔ ﻟﻐﺮﺑﻲ ﺁﺳﻴﺎ (الأسكوا) التي نُشرت في يناير 2015، فإن 57% من سكان طرابلس من الفقراء والمحرومين فيما يعاني 26% من الفقر المدقع ويصنفون ضمن الفئة الأكثر حرماناً، ويعاني 35% من مشاكل صحية كما يعيش 35% في مساكن غير ملائمة و25% ليس لديهم إمكانية الحصول على التعليم، إذ تعكس هذه الأرقام هشاشة السكان وخطر ميلهم نحو التطرف.

كما مُهد الطريق لتنامي التطرف الديني أيضاً بسبب غياب القيادة الدينية السليمة. فضلاً عن ذلك، باتت دار الفتوى، المؤسسة المسؤولة رسمياً عن توفير الإرشاد الإسلامي والتعليم الديني الذي أقرته الدولة للمسلمين السنة في لبنان، هشة بسبب الانقسامات السياسية الداخلية، على الرغم من أن انتخاب مفتي جديد في أغسطس 2014 زاد الآمال في إحياء المؤسسة .

وتشكّل سياسة الحكومة بالتعامل مع اللاجئين عاملاً آخر من عوامل الخطر، إذ تساهم الإعتقالات المتكررة، والإغلاق الرسمي للحدود وتشديد القيود (كما في التأشيرات والتعليم والاستشفاء) في تنمية البيئة المعادية التي تشجع على التطرف. هذه الأجواء، التي عُزِزت أيضاً بسبب الضعف الإقتصادي الكبير النابع من تدفق اللاجئين، قد تشكّل أيضاً عاملاً آخر يدفع بعض السوريين إلى الانضمام للجماعات المتشددة، التي غالباً ما تقدم حوافز مالية ورعاية للأسر وتوفير شعور مؤقت بالأمان.

إنّ نمو التطرف واضح، إلا أنّ وسائل الحدّ منه أقل وضوحاً. وعلى المدى المتوسط والبعيد، ستتطلب مواجهة نمو التطرف في لبنان تحسين البُنية التحتية العامة والاقتصاد في المناطق المهمشة مثل البقاع وشمال لبنان، حيث يعيش الكثير من السنة. كما سيعني التعامل مع جذور التطرف السني أيضاً معالجة سلاح حزب الله والتدخل العسكري في سوريا.

ومع ذلك، يبدو في الوقت الحالي تنفيذ هذه التدابير على أرض الواقع أمراً مستحيلاً، نظراً للتضارب الكبير في المجتمع اللبناني والموارد المحدودة للدولة وذلك على كلا المحورين؛ سياسياً لغياب وجود رئيس للدولة، ومالياً بسبب عجز الميزانية المتزايد والانخفاض الحاد في معدلات النمو.

أما فيما يتعلق بالتدابير على المدى القصير، فتتمثل في منع تدهور الأوضاع أكثر فأكثر. وتشتمل هذه، من بين أمور أخرى، على تعزيز دور دار الفتوى. إذ يمكن لهذه المؤسسة أن تلعب دوراً غاية في الأهمية من خلال وضع برامج تهدف إلى نزع فتيل التطرف الديني ومن خلال الجهد التعليمي الضخم الذي ينطوي على تسيير برامج توعية في المناطق السُنية المهمشة في البلاد.

كما يعتبر تعزيز قدرات الجيش ومحاولة سدّ الفجوة بينه وبين الطائفة السُنية من التدابير الأخرى قصيرة المدى التي قد تثبت فعاليتها، إذ يمكن أن يسمح هذا للجيش بأنّ يلعب دوراً أكثر فعالية في جميع أنحاء البلاد، إلى جانب الحد من عدم الثقة بالسُنة.

فضلاً عن ذلك، يتوجب على الحكومة اللبنانية الشروع بالإصلاح الجزئي، على الأقل، للنظام القضائي ونظام السجون، بما في ذلك إعادة تأهيل السجون الثمانية المكتظة في البلاد ومرافق الاحتجاز الثلاثة والعشرون. كما أنّ سجن العديد من الإسلاميين في ظل ظروف سيئة للغاية وانتظارهم المحاكمات لسنواتٍ عديدة يغذي الإسلاموية أيضاً. ومما يدل على أهمية هذه المسألة، المفاوضات غير المباشرة منذ ديسمبر 2014 بين الحكومة اللبنانية وجبهة النصرة وداعش، اللذان لا يزالان حتى تاريخه يحتجزان أكثر من 25 جندي وعنصر أمن كرهائن، كما تشمل المفاوضات من بين قضايا أخرى قضية تبادل السجناء.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Past to Present / Lebanon’s Growing Islamist Threat: The Underlying Factors

Lebanon’s Growing Islamist Threat: The Underlying Factors

 

One of the relatives of the soldiers abducted by the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant (ISIL) and Al-Nusra Front in the Arsal region of Lebanon close to Syrian border, throws tyre into fire during a protest in front of the Beirut Government Palace, Beirut, November 24, 2014. Wissam Fanash / Anadolu Agency
One of the relatives of the soldiers abducted by the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant (ISIL) and Al-Nusra Front in the Arsal region of Lebanon close to Syrian border, throws tyre into fire during a protest in front of the Beirut Government Palace, Beirut, November 24, 2014. Wissam Fanash / Anadolu Agency

From Hezbollah’s involvement in the Syrian conflict to socio-economic marginalization, many factors are feeding Sunni radicalization in Lebanon.

The fighting between Sunni extremist groups and the Lebanese Armed Forces (LAF) in Lebanon, in the eastern city of Arsal and in the northern city of Tripoli is proof of a growing Islamist threat that extends beyond Iraq and Syria. The fighting resulted in August 2014 in the killing of dozens of soldiers and the kidnapping of about 30 security personnel and LAF members (of whom four have so far been summarily executed). In 2013, the Islamic State (IS) and Jabhat al-Nusra (the Nusra Front) had already formed Lebanese chapters, which have since been responsible for a series of terrorist attacks. In 2014, however, things went further, as a growing number of Lebanese Sunnis seem to have joined these groups.

While some believe that the growth of Sunni extremism—in a country where Sunnis make up roughly a quarter of the population—represents a temporary spillover of the Syrian conflict, others believe the roots are local and deep.

The roots of radicalization

Among the factors contributing to the recent surge of Sunni extremism in Lebanon, the most prominent is perhaps the growing Sunni resentment of Hezbollah, especially after the Shiite movement in May 2013 officially announced its military involvement in Syria, in support of Bashar al-Assad.
But Sunni bitterness toward Hezbollah runs deeper. Many accuse it of being behind assassinations that have targeted key leaders of the Lebanese Sunni community since 2000, in particular, Prime Minister Rafiq Hariri in 2005.

By using its status as an anti-Israel resistance movement, Hezbollah was able to build a powerful arsenal of weapons and a strong militia, which have repeatedly proved crucial in shaping domestic politics to its advantage—and to the detriment of Sunni politicians.

Another major factor is socio-economic. Most of Lebanon’s Sunnis live in areas that are socio-economically marginalized from the rest of the country. In Tripoli, the country’s second largest city, for instance, rising unemployment and poverty have pushed some young Sunnis into extremist groups. According to a study prepared by the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA) published in January 2015, 57% of Tripoli’s inhabitants are poor and deprived and 26% suffer extreme poverty and are classified in the most disadvantaged category; 35% suffer health problems, 35% live in inadequate housing and 25% have no access to education. These figures reflect the vulnerability of the population and the risk of radicalization.

The rise of religious extremism has also been facilitated by the absence of sound religious leadership. Dar al-Fatwa, the institution officially responsible for providing state-sanctioned Islamic guidance and religious education to Lebanese Sunni Muslims, has been made fragile by internal political divisions, though the election of a new mufti in August 2014 has increased hopes for the institution’s revival.

The Lebanese government’s refugee policy is another risk factor. The repetitive arrests, official closure of borders and tightening restrictions (as on visas, schooling and hospitalization) are contributing to a hostile environment that could favour radicalization. This atmosphere, which is reinforced also by the great economic vulnerability of refugees, may be another factor pushing some Syrians toward militant groups, which often provide financial incentives and care for families and offer a temporary sense of security.

How to curb the tendency?

The growth of radicalization is clear, but the means to curb it are less evident. In the medium and long term, countering the growth of extremism in Lebanon will require the improvement of public infrastructure and the economy in marginalized areas such as the Beqaa Valley and northern Lebanon, where much of the country’s Sunni population lives. Dealing with the roots of Sunni radicalization will also mean addressing Hezbollah’s weapons and its military involvement in Syria.

In the present context, however, these measures seem impossible to implement, given the great polarization in Lebanese society and the limited resources of the state, both politically, in the absence of a president, and financially, with a growing budget deficit and very low growth rates.

Some short-term measures can, however, help prevent further deterioration of the situation. These include, among others, the strengthening of Dar al-Fatwa. The institution could play an effective role by setting up religious de-radicalization programs and by launching a mass-education effort involving outreach programs in the country’s marginalized Sunni areas.

Enhancing the army’s capabilities and trying to bridge the gap between it and the Sunni community is another short-term measure that might prove effective. This could allow the army to play a more effective role throughout the country, while reducing the mistrust of the Sunnis.

The Lebanese government should also begin at least partial reform of its justice and prison systems, including the rehabilitation of the country’s eight overcrowded prisons and 23 detention facilities. Many Islamists are jailed under very poor conditions and have been awaiting trial for several years; this, too, feeds Islamism. Illustrating the importance of this issue, the indirect negotiations taking place since December 2014 between the Lebanese government and Jabhat al-Nusra and the Islamic State—who, in January 2015, still hold more than 25 soldiers and security personnel—involve, among other subjects, the exchange of prisoners.

image_pdfimage_print