فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / افتقار الانتفاضة اللبنانية للقيادة قد يوصلها لطريقٍ مسدود

افتقار الانتفاضة اللبنانية للقيادة قد يوصلها لطريقٍ مسدود

Protests lebanon
متظاهرة لبنانية مناهضة للحكومة تلوح بالعلم اللبناني خلال مظاهرةٍ أمام مقر البنك المركزي في بيروت للاحتجاج على السياسات الاقتصادية للبنك في 27 نوفمبر 2019. Photo: JOSEPH EID / AFP ©AFP ⁃ Joseph Eid

مع دخول الاحتجاجات المناهضة للحكومة في لبنان أسبوعها الثامن، يبدو مستقبل الانتفاضة غامض، فمنذ 17 أكتوبر 2019، نزل اللبنانيون إلى الشوارع احتجاجاً على انهيار الاقتصاد والنخبة الفاسدة التي تتولى السلطة منذ عقود. ولأول مرة في تاريخ البلاد الحديث، احتشد الناس متخطين حدود الطائفية.

وعلى عكس الاحتجاجات الأخرى في السنوات الأخيرة، لا يتمركز الحراك الحالي حول العاصمة بيروت فحسب، بل أصبحت طرابلس، حيث يعيش أكثر من نصف السكان تحت خط الفقر، واحدة من مراكز الانتفاضة. ففي المدينة التي غالباً ما تصدرت عناوين الصحف لتصاعد التطرف السُنّي، تجمع الناس باستمرار للمطالبة بوضع حدٍ للفقر والحرمان. وفي بلدة النبطية التي تقطنها أغلبية شيعية، استهدف المحتجون رئيس البرلمان نبيه بري، أحد أقوى السياسيين في لبنان، الذين تسيطر حركته، حركة أمل، على المنطقة.

وصفت الاحتجاجات بالعفوية وافتقارها للقيادة، إذ قال جوزيف باحوط، الباحث في مركز كارنيغي للشرق الأوسط، لنا في فَنَك، “عدم وجود قيادة هي الشعار الجديد، إنها سمة لاحتجاجات اليوم في العالم.” وأضاف، “يقلل هذا من خطر الاستهداف والإنتقاء. كما يُظهر الناس أيضاً عدم ثقة تجاه الأساليب التنظيمية السياسية التقليدية. وبينما يُعبرون عن شكوكهم تجاه السياسة، يخشى المحتجون من التورط في مخطط يرفضونه.”

وعلى الرغم من عدم ظهور أي شخصيةٍ حتى الآن لتمثيل مطالبهم، أثبت المحتجون أن الحشود يمكنها ممارسة السلطة والتأثير، ربما بقدر القادة الأفراد. وبعد الأيام الأولى من الانتفاضة، بدأ المحتجون في تشكيل مجموعات، إما على أرض الواقع أو عبر تطبيق الواتساب، إذ ساعدهم ذلك في تنسيق إغلاق الطرق أو تنظيم التجمعات والمظاهرات.

أدى التنسيق خارج شبكة الإنترنت وبواسطتها على حد سواء إلى إجراءاتٍ مشتركة، مثل إحضار الأشخاص من خارج بيروت إلى العاصمة لإغلاق الشوارع المؤدية إلى البرلمان، أو تنظيم مسيرة مدنية في عيد الاستقلال أو إنشاء مبادرة لتنظيف الشوارع مع آليات فرز على أرض. كما أدى الإبداع الجماعي إلى إجراءات مذهلة مثل السلسلة البشرية التي امتدت من الجنوب إلى شمال البلاد. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، اصطف مجموعة من المتظاهرين اللبنانيين المناهضين للحكومة خارج البنك المركزي للحصول على قصة شعر مجانية في نداءٍ رمزي لجعل الأثرياء يدعمون الاقتصاد مالياً.

ينسق بعض المواطنين الخدمات اللوجستية ويتولون مسؤولية الاتصالات، بينما يتولى آخرون مسؤولية مراجعة الحقائق والكشف عن “الأخبار الزائفة.” كما يمكنهم أيضاً الاعتماد على مجموعة واسعة من الدعم عبر الإنترنت، فعلى سبيل المثال، بفضل مواقع الكترونية مثل دليل ثورة أو صفحات الفيسبوك مثل أخبار الساحة، إذ يمكن للأشخاص الاطلاع على مواعيد المظاهرات التي تحدث في جميع أنحاء البلاد. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، قدمت وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي معلوماتٍ حول مستلزمات الطوارىء والمساعدة اللازمة لدعم الحراك، كما قدّم بعض المحامين دعماً قانونياً مجانياً للمتظاهرين الذين فصلوا من وظائفهم.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، حول الناس مدنهم إلى أماكن للنقاش العام، حيث تم إنشاء لجان لمناقشة القضايا السياسية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية الملحة.

لذا، على الرغم من أن الحراك لربما يفتقر إلى رؤساء صوريين، إلا أن هناك أشخاصاً يساهمون بنشاط في تنظيمه. وبالتالي، فإن الإشارة إلى أن الانتفاضة تفتقر إلى القيادة لربما لا يُصيب كبد الحقيقة.

“يبدو الأمر لطيفاً عندما نقول أن الاحتجاجات تفتقر إلى القيادة،” بحسب تعبير باحوط لنا، إلا أنه أضاف “لكن لا يمكنك تفسير مرونة الحراك خلال هذه الفترة الطويلة من الوقت، وهذه القدرات التنظيمية المذهلة والإجراءات المدروسة هذه دون أي نوع من القيادة.”

ومع ذلك، إذا ما أتت هذه الاستراتيجية ثمارها في المراحل المبكرة من الانتفاضة، فلربما تواجه قريباً مشكلاتٍ حرجة، فعلى سبيل المثال، قد يغذي”الافتقار إلى القيادة” نظريات المؤامرة. إن عدم الكشف عن هوية أولئك الذين يحشدون ليلاً ونهاراً لإحداث التغيير قد يثير الشكوك حول هوياتهم وحقيقة التزاماتهم تجاه الانتفاضة.

فقد استغل الأمين العام لحزب الله، المنظمة الشيعية القوية، هذا الجانب من الحراك للتصريح في خطابٍ ألقاه في 25 أكتوبر بأن الاحتجاجات المستمرة تحركها أجندات خارجية لإضعاف البلاد. بل إن نفس الخطاب يتردد صداه بين مؤيدي الرئيس ميشال عون، مؤسس التيار الوطني الحر المسيحي. كما يعتقد الكثير من هؤلاء المؤيدين أن الانتفاضة تتم بتوجيهٍ من فصائل سياسية أخرى مثل الحزب التقدمي الاشتراكي.

ومع ذلك، يرى بعض المعلقين أن ظهور القادة سيكون بمثابة نعمة للأحزاب الحاكمة الحالية، حيث يخاطر القادة باستهدافهم (ترهيبهم أو سجنهم أو قتلهم) من قبل السلطات كوسيلةٍ لغرس الخوف بين المتظاهرين وكبح إرادتهم لتغيير النظام، وضمان بقاء الأحزاب الحاكمة في السلطة.

القضية الأخرى التي قد تواجه الحراك هي افتقاره إلى الإيديولوجية، بل إن هذا هو أحد الأسباب وراء جذب الحراك لشرائح كبيرة من المجتمع اللبناني، بما في ذلك أشخاص من خلفياتٍ اجتماعية واقتصادية مختلفة. ورغم أن الجميع يتفق على الحاجة إلى محاربة الفساد وتغيير النظام، فإن قلة منهم لديهم فكرة واضحة عما يمكن استبداله. فعندما يجمع حراكٌ ما ملايين الأشخاص، فإنه يضم أيضاً وجهات نظرٍ مختلفة، إن لم تكن متعارضة، حول ما يجب أن يحدث فيما بعد.

وفي هذا الصدد، أشار باحوط “وصلنا هنا إلى حدود استراتيجية ‘عدم وجود برنامج‘. إن رفض هذا النظام أمر، والاتفاق على الخطوات التالية أمرٌ مختلف تماماً.” وأضاف، “هل نريد المزيد من الضرائب لتمويل الخدمات العامة أم تخفيض الضرائب؟ يدافع الكثيرون عن حكومة خبراء دون أن يدركوا أن مثل هذه الحكومة ستنفذ سياساتٍ تتطلب تضحيات.”

في الوقت الراهن، تعدّ أعمال العنف ضئيلةً مقارنةً بمئات الوفيات في العراق أو القمع في إيران، بيد أن الاشتباكات اندلعت بانتظام بين المتظاهرين وأنصار حزب الله وحركة أمل، المنافس الشيعي.

ففي 24 نوفمبر، ألقى أنصار الحزبين الحجارة على المتظاهرين وحاولوا التسلل إلى الحشود، كما حمل بعضهم العصي والقضبان المعدنية. وقبل ذلك بأسابيع، دمر أنصارهم أيضاً خيام المتظاهرين في ساحة الشهداء في بيروت وضربوا النشطاء الذين كانوا يغلقون جسر الرينغ، أحد الطرق العامة الرئيسية.

ومع ذلك، حتى وإن كان حزب الله يتمتع بالقوة اللوجستية لسحق الثورة، إلا أنه أظهر حتى الآن ضبطاً للنفس بعدم اللجوء إلى العنف، مراهناً على اضمحلال زخم الاحتجاجات. ووفقاً لباحوط، “يعرف حزب الله جيداً أن مثل هذا الحراك يمكن أن يتعثر مع ظهور تناقضاته الداخلية، وأن الناس قد يشعرون بالتعب، وأن الأزمة الاقتصادية ستضرب بقوةٍ أكبر، وأن بعض الناس سيفقدون وظائفهم وقد يصبحون أقل ميلاً لدعم الانتفاضة.”

علاوةً على ذلك، يتنامى اليأس الاجتماعي مع تعمق الأزمة، إذ تم الإبلاغ في الآونة الأخيرة عن العديد من حالات الانتحار، مما يلقي الضوء على الوضع المأساوي الذي يعانية عدد متزايد من اللبنانيين غير القادرين على تلبية احتياجاتهم.

فقد اضطرت العديد من شركات القطاع الخاص إلى خفض الرواتب إلى النصف، ويعيش العديد من الموظفين في خوفٍ دائم من تعرضهم للطرد. ووفقاً لنقابة مالكي المطاعم، أغلق أكثر من 250 عمل تجاري في أكتوبر وحده.

كما أجبرت القيود المفروضة على عمليات السحب بالدولار الناس إلى اللجوء إلى الصرافين، مما رفع سعر الصرف غير الرسمي إلى أكثر من 2200 ليرة لبنانية للدولار الواحد، والتي عادة ما تكون في حدود 1500 ليرة للدولار.

ويشهد التضخم ارتفاعاً أيضاً في حين أن تدفقات رأس المال في حالة ركود، وبحسب الخبراء، قد يواجه لبنان قريباً تخلفاً عن سداد الديون السيادية، وهناك مخاوف من تنامي معدلات الجريمة.

من جهتها، كافحت الحكومة لإيجاد حلٍ للأزمة منذ استقالة سعد الحريري كرئيس للوزراء في 29 أكتوبر. فقد أعلنت الرئاسة في 4 ديسمبر أنها ستجري مشاوراتٍ برلمانية وستعمل على تسمية رئيس الوزراء المقبل في 9 ديسمبر. أحدث المرشحين لهذا المنصب هو سمير الخطيب، وهو رجل أعمال لم يشغل أي منصبٍ سياسي على الإطلاق. ومع ذلك، أغضب ترشيحه المتظاهرين الذين يقولون إنه قريبٌ جداً من المؤسسة.

في الوقت الراهن، لا تزال التطورات السياسية في لبنان غير متوقعة.

© Copyright Notice
Click on link to view the associated photo/image:
©AFP ⁃ Joseph Eid | ©AFP ⁃ Joseph Eid

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Past to Present / Lebanon’s Leaderless Uprising Facing Possible Stalemate

Lebanon’s Leaderless Uprising Facing Possible Stalemate

Protests lebanon
A Lebanese anti-government protester waves the national flag during a protest in front of the central bank headquarters in Beirut to protest against the economic policies of the bank on November 27, 2019. Photo: JOSEPH EID / AFP

As Lebanon’s anti-government protests entered their eighth week, the future of the uprising looked uncertain. Since 17 October 2019, Lebanese have taken over the streets to protest against the crashing economy and a corrupt elite that has been in power for decades. For the first time in the country’s modern history, the population is mobilizing across sectarian lines.

Unlike other protests in recent years, the current movement is not only centred around the capital Beirut. Tripoli, where more than half of the population lives below the poverty line, has quickly become one of the hearts of the uprising. In a city that has often made headlines for the rise of Sunni extremism, people have consistently  gathered to demand an end to poverty and deprivation. In the mainly Shia southern town of Nabatiyeh, protesters have targeted Parliament Speaker Nabih Berri, one of Lebanon’s most powerful politicians, whose Amal Movement controls the area.

The protests have been described as spontaneous and leaderless. “Leaderless is the new watchword, it is the brand of today’s protests in the world,” Joseph Bahout, a researcher at the Carnegie Middle East Center, told Fanack. “It decreases the risk of being targeted and co-opted. People also show distrust towards traditional political organizational methods,” he added. As they manifest suspicion towards politics, protesters fear being entangled in a scheme they reject.

Although no figure has yet emerged to represent their demands, the protesters have demonstrated that crowds can wield power and influence, perhaps as much as individual leaders. Following the first days of the uprising, protesters started forming groups, either physically or on WhatsApp. This helped them coordinate road closures or organize gatherings and demonstrations.

Offline and online coordination has led to common actions, such as bringing people from outside Beirut to the capital to block the streets leading to the parliament, arranging a civil parade on Lebanon’s independence day or establishing a street clean-up initiative with sorting mechanisms on the ground. Collective creativity has led to spectacular actions such as a human chain extending from the south to the north of the country. Recently, a handful of Lebanese anti-government protesters lined up outside the Central Bank to get a free haircut in a symbolic plea to make the rich support the economy financially.

Some citizens coordinate the logistics and are in charge of communications. Others are responsible for fact-checking and debunking ‘fake news’. They can also count on a wide range of online support. Thanks to websites such as Daleel Thawra or Facebook pages such as Akhbar al-Saha, people can stay informed about the dates of demonstrations occurring across the country. Social media have provided information about the needed emergency supplies and assistance to support the movement. Some lawyers have also proposed free legal support for protesters fired from their jobs.

People are transforming their cities into spaces of public debate. Committees have been established to discuss burning political, social and economic issues.

So, although the movement may not have figureheads, there are people who actively contribute to its organization. Suggesting that the uprising lacks leaders is not exactly accurate.

“It sounds nice when we say that the protest has no leaders,” Bahout told Fanack. “But you can’t explain the resilience of the movement over such a long period of time, these impressive organizational capacities and this well-thought-out choreography without any sort of leadership.”

However, if the strategy paid off in the early stages of the uprising, it may soon face crucial issues. ‘Leaderless’ may feed conspiracy theories, for instance. The anonymity of those who are mobilizing day and night to bring about change might raise suspicions around who they are and the genuineness of their commitments to the uprising.

The secretary general of Hezbollah, the powerful Shia organization, has already seized on this aspect of the movement to state in a nationwide address on 25 October that the ongoing protests are being driven from outside in order to weaken the country. The same type of discourse resonates among the supporters of President Michel Aoun, the founder of the Christian Free Patriotic Movement. Many of these supporters believe that the uprising is guided by other political factions such as the Progressive Socialist Party.

However, some commentators argue that the emergence of leaders would be a boon for the current ruling parties. Leaders risk being targeted (intimidated, imprisoned or even killed) by the authorities as a means to instil fear among the protesters and curb their will to change the system, ensuring the ruling parties remain in power.

Another issue that might confront the movement is its lack of ideology. This is one of the reasons why it has managed to attract large segments of Lebanese society, including people from various socio-economic backgrounds. Yet while everyone agrees on the need to fight corruption and change the system, few have a clear idea of what to replace it with. When a movement gathers millions of people, it also gathers different, if not opposing, perspectives about what should come next.

“We are reaching here the limits of the ‘no-programme’ strategy. It is one thing to reject this system, it is another to agree on the next steps,” Bahout observed. “Do we want more taxes to finance public services or fewer taxes? Many are advocating a government of experts without realizing that such a government will implement policies that require sacrifices.”

For now, violence has been sparse compared to the hundreds of deaths in Iraq or the repression in Iran. Yet clashes have regularly erupted between protesters and supporters of Hezbollah and Amal, its Shia rival.

On 24 November 2019, supporters of the two parties threw rocks at the protesters and tried to infiltrate the crowds. Some of them carried sticks and metal bars. A few weeks earlier, supporters destroyed tents belonging to protesters in Beirut’s Martyr’s Square and beat activists who were blocking the Ring Bridge, a major thoroughfare.

Yet even if Hezbollah has the logistical power to crush the revolt, it has so far shown restraint in resorting to violence, betting on the protest’s momentum to wane. According to Bahout, “Hezbollah knows very well that such a movement can falter as its internal contradictions emerge, that people may get tired, that the economic crisis will hit even harder, that some people will lose their jobs and may become less inclined to support the uprising.”

As the crisis deepens, social despair is growing. Several cases of suicide have recently been reported in the media, shedding a tragic light on the growing number of Lebanese who are unable to make ends meet.

Several private sector companies have had to halve salaries, and many employees live with their fear of being fired. According to the restaurant owner syndicate, more than 250 businesses closed down in October alone.

Restrictions on dollar withdrawals have forced people to turn to moneychangers, pushing up the unofficial exchange rate to more than 2,200 Lebanese pounds, which is normally pegged at 1,500 pounds to the dollar.

Inflation is also rising while capital inflows are stagnating. According to experts, Lebanon may soon face a sovereign debt default, and there are fears of an upsurge in criminality.

The government has struggled to find a solution to the crisis since Saad Hariri resigned as prime minister on 29 October. The presidency announced on 4 December that it will hold parliamentary consultations and name the next prime minister on 9 December. The latest frontrunner for the job is Samir Khatib, a businessman is the Executive Vice-President of Khatib & Alami and who has never held political office. His nomination has angered protesters who say he is too close to the establishment.

For now, Lebanon’s political evolution remains unpredictable.

Further Reading

Fanack’s Lebanon country file provides a comprehensive overview about Lebanon, its history, politics, culture, economy...
Fanack presents an overview of Lebanon’s history from its present to its past, attempting to get through the conclusiv...
By 29 August, more than 100,000 Lebanese from across the social and religious spectrum took to the streets voicing their...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: JOSEPH EID ©AFP | JOSEPH EID ©AFP

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update