فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / توقعاتٌ ببدء مفاوضات ترسيم الحدود البحرية الإسرائيلية اللبنانية في يوليو

توقعاتٌ ببدء مفاوضات ترسيم الحدود البحرية الإسرائيلية اللبنانية في يوليو

Lebanon- Israel-Lebanon Maritime
وزيرة الطاقة اللبنانية ندى البستاني تعرض خريطة لكتل الغاز والنفط في البحر المتوسط، في 12 يونيو 2019. Photo AFP

من المتوقع أن تبدأ المفاوضات بين إسرائيل ولبنان في يوليو 2019 على مساحة قدرها 860 كيلومتر مربع من المياه البحرية المتنازع عليها قبالة ساحل البحر المتوسط. أصبح النزاع معادياً بشكلٍ متزايد منذ عام 2009، في أعقاب اكتشاف احتياطيات النفط والغاز في الحوض الشرقي والتي قد تولد ما يصل إلى 600 مليار دولار على مدار العقود القليلة القادمة.

بيد أن بداية النزاع تعود إلى أبعد من ذلك، إلى عام 2007، عندما وقع لبنان وقبرص اتفاقية لترسيم الحدود البحرية والتي تحدد سلسلةً من النقاط على مسافة متساوية من كلا البلدين. ومع ذلك، لم يُصادق البرلمان اللبناني قط على الاتفاقية ولم تدخل حيز التنفيذ بسبب الرفض التركي لجميع اتفاقيات ترسيم الحدود البحرية الموقعة من قِبل قبرص. بعد ذلك، في أبريل 2009، تم إنشاء لجنة لبنانية لتحديد وإكمال إحداثيات المنطقة الاقتصادية الخالصة للبنان.

بعد موافقة مجلس الوزراء في عام 2009 والبرلمان في عام 2011، قدم لبنان الإحداثيات إلى الأمم المتحدة. تمت إعاقة هذه الخطوة بسبب اتفاقية ترسيم الحدود البحرية الموقعة بين قبرص وإسرائيل في ديسمبر 2010، والتي شجبها لبنان باعتبارها تشكل انتهاكاً لمنطقتها الاقتصادية الخالصة.

تقوم الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية بالتوسط بين إسرائيل ولبنان منذ عام 2011، لكن التقدم الأخير يعزى إلى دبلوماسية الوسيط المتنقل ديفيد ساترفيلد، مساعد وزير الخارجية الأميركي لشؤون الشرق الأدنى.

تأتي هذه المفاوضات في وقتٍ حساس للغاية في المنطقة، في ظل المواجهة ما بين إيران والولايات المتحدة في الخليج وتصاعد التوترات بين إسرائيل والجماعة المسلحة اللبنانية المدعومة من إيران والحزب السياسي، حزب الله. ففي 19 يونيو، نظمت إسرائيل أكبر مناوراتها العسكرية منذ سنوات، حيث قام الآلاف من الجيش والقوات البحرية والقوات الجوية بمحاكاة صراعٍ محتمل مع حزب الله.

وقبل شهر، حذر زعيم حزب الله، حسن نصر الله، من أنه إذا ما عرقلت إسرائيل استغلال لبنان لموارده الخاصة، سيقف حزب الله في وجهها. وفي فبراير 2018، حذر أيضاً من “شياطين” الولايات المتحدة وأصر على أنه لا يمكن اعتبار الولايات المتحدة “وسيطًا صادقاً.”

وبالنظر إلى نفوذ حزب الله في الحكومة اللبنانية – إذ يتمتع بوصولٍ إلى الوزارات الرئيسية – لم تكن قيادة البلاد لتوافق على التفاوض مع إسرائيل دون موافقة الحزب. وبالتالي يتبادر إلى ذهن المرء سبب قبول حزب الله خوض المحادثات.

في تحليلٍ للسياسات لمعهد واشنطن، تحدد حنين غدّار ثلاثة عوامل. أولاً، في حال نجاح المفاوضات، ستخفف الضغوط الاقتصادية على لبنان، وهي نتيجة لا يمكن لحزب الله تجاهلها، وباعتباره جزءاً من الحكومة، يمكن للناخبين الآن تحميله المسؤوليه عن الأزمة الاقتصادية العميقة في البلاد. ثانياً، يواجه حزب الله أزمةً مالية خاصة به في أعقاب العقوبات الأمريكية ضد راعيه الإيراني ولا يستطيع تحمل خوض نزاعٍ كبير مع إسرائيل. وأخيراً، يصر تحليل غدّار على عدم رغبة حزب الله في أن يُنظر إليه على الساحة الدولية باعتباره الطرف الذي يقف في طريق صفقةٍ مربحة، خاصة وأن لبنان منح بالفعل عقوداً لمجموعة شركات فرنسية وإيطالية وروسية في أبريل 2018 لبدء الحفر الاستكشافي للكتلتين، بما في ذلك الكتلة 9، التي تقع في المنطقة المتنازع عليها.

قد يطمئن حزب الله أيضاً إلى حقيقة أن نبيه بري، رئيس البرلمان ورئيس حركة أمل المؤيدة لحزب الله، سيتولى قيادة المحادثات عن لبنان. ففي خطابٍ ألقاه في 31 مايو، قال نصر الله: “نقف خلف الدولة ونحن نثق بالمسؤولين المتصدين لهذا الملف [النزاع الحدودي] ونحن لا نتتدخل في هذا الملف.”

فقد وافق لبنان على التفاوض مع إسرائيل بشرط استيفاء ثلاثة شروط؛ أولاً، إجراء المحادثات تحت إشراف قوة الأمم المتحدة المؤقتة في لبنان (يونيفيل)، في مقرها في الناقورة، جنوب لبنان.

ولطالما انتقدت إسرائيل دور اليونيفيل في لبنان إلا أنها وافقت على هذا الشرط شريطة أن تشارك الولايات المتحدة، حليفها الدولي الرئيسي، أيضاً في المحادثات. وبناءً على مطالب لبنان، ستعمل الولايات المتحدة كميسر بدلاً من وسيط.

ثانياً، ينبغي مناقشة الحدود البحرية والبرية معاً. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن الرئيس اللبناني ميشال عون ورئيس الوزراء سعد الحريري كانا سعداء بتقييد المفاوضات حول الحدود البحرية والتركيز على تمكين استغلال موارد البلاد. ومع ذلك، دفع بري لإجراء مفاوضاتٍ متزامنة، بحجة أنه إذا ما تم التوصل إلى اتفاقٍ لترسيم الحدود البحرية مع إسرائيل، فإن الأخيرة قد تهمل المفاوضات حول الحدود البرية.

يتعلق النزاع البري حول مساحةٍ صغيرة تعرف باسم مزارع شبعا على الحدود بين إسرائيل ولبنان وسوريا، حيث تدعي كل من سوريا ولبنان السيادة على المنطقة التي تحتلها إسرائيل.

وافقت إسرائيل على الشروط اللبنانية، إلا أن مفاوضات الحدود البرية قد تكون مجرد واجهة. ففي مقابلةٍ مع الجزيرة، قال الدكتور مكرم رباح، الأستاذ في الجامعة الأمريكية في بيروت، إن “الحكومة اللبنانية تقول أنهم سيخوضون محادثاتٍ حول النزاع البري فحسب، إلا أن هذا مستحيل دون السوريين. أضافت وزارة الخارجية هذا الأمر في البيان كإجراء لحفظ ماء وجه حركة أمل وحزب الله.”

وأخيراً، في حين أن إسرائيل كانت في الأصل راغبة في تحديد فترة ستة أشهر للتوصل إلى اتفاق، ضغط لبنان من أجل مفاوضاتٍ مفتوحة.

فقد بدأت إسرائيل التنقيب عن الغاز في البحر الأبيض المتوسط منذ 20 عاماً، ووفقاً لتحليل أجرته أورنا مزراحي وعوديد عيران لمعهد دراسات الأمن القومي الإسرائيلي، فإن أكثر من ثلثي الكهرباء المنتجة في إسرائيل تأتي من الغاز الطبيعي. وبالتالي، فمن غير المرجح أن يؤدي حل النزاع مع لبنان إلى تغيير إمدادات الغاز الطبيعي لإسرائيل. الكمية الحالية تكفي لتلبية الاحتياجات المحلية وكذلك عقود توريد الغاز مع السلطة الفلسطينية والأردن ومصر.

كما أفادت صحيفة ميدل إيست آي عن مصادر سياسية مطلعة قولها إنه ينبغي قراءة مرونة إسرائيل الواضحة في السياق الأوسع لما يسمى بـ “صفقة القرن،” التي من المفترض أنها تهدف إلى تسوية النزاع بين إسرائيل ومعظم الدول العربية.

تزعم مزراحي وعيران أنه إذا توصل لبنان وإسرائيل إلى اتفاقٍ بشأن حدودهما، فمن المحتمل أن يخلق التنقيب عن الغاز مصالح اقتصادية مشتركة بين البلدين، على الرغم من أنهما في حالة حرب منذ عام 1948 ولا تربطهما أي علاقاتٍ دبلوماسية.

وبحسب صحيفة ميدل إيست آي، فإن الوضع الاقتصادي الجديد الذي قد ينجم عن التنقيب عن الغاز قد يؤثر سلباً على تصور ترسانة حزب الله العسكرية في لبنان وخارجه، مع وجود أصواتٍ أعلى تدعو إلى تطوير استراتيجية دفاعية من شأنها دمج ترسانة الحزب ضمن هيكلٍ قانوني يعتمد على الدولة اللبنانية.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Past to Present / Negotiations Over Israel-Lebanon Maritime Dispute Expected to Start in July

Negotiations Over Israel-Lebanon Maritime Dispute Expected to Start in July

Lebanon- Israel-Lebanon Maritime
Lebanese Energy Minister Nada Boustani displays a map of offshore oil and gas blocks in the Mediterranean, on June 12, 2019. Photo AFP

Negotiations between Israel and Lebanon are expected to start in July 2019 over 860 km2 of disputed maritime waters off the Mediterranean coast. The dispute has been growing increasingly hostile since 2009, following the discovery of oil and gas reserves in the Levant Basin that could generate up to $600 billion over the next few decades.

However, the start of the dispute goes back even further, to 2007, when Lebanon and Cyprus signed a maritime border agreement marking a series of points at equal distance from both countries. However, the agreement was never ratified by the Lebanese parliament and did not enter into force because of Turkish resistance to all maritime border agreements signed by Cyprus. Then, in April 2009, a Lebanese commission was established to define and finalize the coordinates of Lebanon’s exclusive economic zone (EEZ).

After being approved by both the cabinet in 2009 and the parliament in 2011, Lebanon submitted the coordinates to the United Nations. This move was obstructed by the maritime border agreement signed between Cyprus and Israel in December 2010 and denounced by Lebanon as impinging on its EEZ.

The United States (US) has been mediating between Israel and Lebanon since 2011, but the recent progress is being attributed to the  shuttle diplomacy of David Satterfield, US undersecretary for the Near East.

The negotiations come at a highly sensitive time in the region, with Iran and the US facing off in the Gulf and escalating tensions between Israel and Lebanon’s Iran-backed armed group and political party Hezbollah. On 19 June, Israel organized its largest military drill in years, with thousands of army, navy and air force troops simulating a potential conflict with Hezbollah.

A month earlier, Hezbollah leader Hassan Nasrallah warned that if Israel obstructed Lebanon’s exploitation of its own resources, Hezbollah would confront it. In February 2018, he also warned of US “devils” and insisted that the US could not be considered as an “honest mediator”.

Given Hezbollah’s influence in Lebanon’s government – it has access to key ministries – the country’s leadership would not have agreed to negotiate with Israel without the party’s approval. One may therefore ask why Hezbollah decided to accept the talks.

In a policy analysis for the Washington Institute, Hanin Ghaddar outlines three factors. First, if the negotiations are successful, they would relieve Lebanon’s economic pressure, an outcome Hezbollah cannot ignore since, as part of the government, it can now be held responsible by the electorate for the country’s deep economic crisis. Second, Hezbollah is facing its own financial crisis in the wake of US sanctions against its Iranian patron and cannot afford a major conflict with Israel. Finally, Ghaddar’s analysis insists on Hezbollah’s unwillingness to be perceived in the international arena as the party that would stand in the way of a possibly lucrative deal, especially because Lebanon already granted contracts to a consortium of French, Italian and Russian companies in April 2018 to start exploratory drilling of two blocks, including block 9, which is located in the disputed area.

Hezbollah may also be reassured by the fact that Nabih Berri, parliamentary speaker and head of the pro-Hezbollah Amal movement, will be leading the talks for Lebanon. In a speech delivered on 31 May, Nasrallah said, “We stand behind the state and we trust the officials tackling this issue [border dispute] and we do not interfere.”

Lebanon has agreed to negotiate with Israel provided three conditions are met. First, the discussions must be held under the watch of the United Nations Interim Force in Lebanon (UNIFIL), in its headquarters in Naqoura, South Lebanon.

Israel has long been critical of UNIFIL’s role in Lebanon but agreed to this condition provided that the US, its main international ally, is also involved. Following Lebanon’s demands, the US will act as a facilitator rather than a mediator.

Second, maritime and land borders must be discussed together. Lebanese President Michel Aoun and Prime Minister Saad Hariri were happy to restrict the negotiations to the maritime border and focus on enabling the exploitation of the country’s resources. However, Berri pushed for simultaneous discussions, arguing that if a maritime border deal is reached with Israel, the latter may neglect negotiations over the land border.

The land dispute concerns a small area known as Shebaa Farms on the border between Israel, Lebanon and Syria. Both Syria and Lebanon claim sovereignty over the area, which is occupied by Israel.

Israel has accepted Lebanon’s conditions, but the land border negotiations may be a facade. In an interview with al-Jazeera, Makram Rabah, a professor at the American University of Beirut, said, “The Lebanese government is just saying they will talk about the land dispute, but that is impossible without the Syrians. The Foreign Ministry has added it in the statement as a face-saving measure for Amal and Hezbollah.”

Finally, while Israel was originally willing to fix a six-month period to reach an agreement, Lebanon has pushed for open-ended negotiations.

Israel started gas exploration in the Mediterranean 20 years ago. According to an analysis by Orna Mizrahi and Oded Eran for Israel’s Institute for National Security Studies, over two thirds of the electricity produced in Israel comes from natural gas. Hence, a solution to the dispute with Lebanon is unlikely to change Israel’s natural gas supply. The existing amount is sufficient to meet domestic needs as well as gas supply contracts with the Palestinian Authority, Jordan and Egypt.

The Middle East Eye reported informed political sources as saying that Israel’s apparent flexibility should be read in the broader context of Washington’s so-called ‘deal of the century’ supposedly aimed at settling the conflict between Israel and most Arab countries.

Mizrahi and Eran argue that if Lebanon and Israel reach an agreement regarding their borders, gas drilling would potentially create common economic interests between both nations, even though they have been at war since 1948 and have not cultivated any diplomatic ties.

According to the  Middle East Eye, the new economic situation that would stem from gas drilling may impact negatively on the perception of Hezbollah’s military arsenal in Lebanon and beyond, with louder voices calling for the development of a defence strategy that would integrate the party’s arsenal in a legal structure dependent on the Lebanese state.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.