فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الحرب الأهلية (1970 - 1975) / 15 سنة ضائعة (1975-1990)

15 سنة ضائعة (1975-1990)

خلال السنوات التالية، ازدادت حدة التوترات – كما في عامي 1840 و 1860 – إلى حد أن أي حدث صغير قد يشعل نار الحرب. وفي 13 أبريل/نيسان 1975، وقعت حادثتان خطيرتان بين الفلسطينيين والكتائب (الموارنة) في الضاحية الشرقية لبيروت، المنطقة المسيحية تقليدياً. فقد هاجم فلسطينيون إحدى الكنائس، ورداً على ذلك قامت الكتائب بقيادة بيير الجميِّل بمهاجمة إحدى الحافلات الفلسطينية، ما أسفر عن مقتل 27 شخصاً.

كانت هذه شرارة البدء، في البداية بين الكتائب والحركة الوطنية اللبنانية بقيادة زعيم الدروز كمال جنبلاط، والتي جمعت حولها جماعات يسارية مختلفة، معظمها من المسلمين، متحالفة جميعها مع منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية. وبعد اندلاع الحرب الأهلية بوقت قصير، بدا وكأن لكل طائفة دينية في لبنان ميليشيا خاصة بها.

لم تكن الحرب الأهلية بين مسلمين ومسيحيين على وجه التحديد، على الأقل ليس على الدوام، رغم أن بدايتها كانت توحي بذلك. إنما كانت على الأكثر حرباً بين اليسار واليمين – “اليسار” الذي يؤيد بشدة إعادة توزيع السلطة وفق العلاقات القائمة من جهة، و “اليمين” الذي كان يعارض مثل هذا التوزيع. وكانت التحالفات بين المجموعات اللبنانية تتغير في بعض الحالات، كما الدعم الخارجي. ومثال على ذلك: بادئ الأمر تحالفت الكتائب (المارونية) وميليشياتها والقوات اللبنانية مع إسرائيل ضد سوريا التي كانت تدعم “اليسار”. ولكن لاحقاً سعت إلى تأييد سوريا عندما بات نصر “اليسار” وشيكاً. كما غيّر زعيم الدروز كمال جنبلاط ولاءه، كما فعل ميشيل عون الماروني القائد السابق للجيش اللبناني. قامت الدول الخارجية بدعم وتسليح جهة ما، ومن ثم أخرى. في البداية، كانت سوريا إلى جانب الفلسطينيين، ثم انقلبت ضدهم. وكلما استمرت الحرب، كلما كثر عدد الميليشيات. وفي بعض الأحيان، كانت الأحياء تتقاتل مع بعضها. وأصبحت الحرب الأهلية حلقة مفرغة، حيث العنف يقود دائماً إلى عنف أكثر. وبدأت الميليشيات تدفع لمسلحيها و “موظفيها” الآخرين، ومعظمهم فقد وسائل العيش الأخرى.

آثار الحرب

رغم أن الاقتصاد اللبناني ظل ثابتاً لعدة سنوات، نتيجة وجود أموال النفط إلى حد كبير، إلا أنه انهار في نهاية المطاف – وخاصة بعد تدمير البنوك. وانخفضت الليرة اللبنانية انخفاضاً حاداً، والأسعار ارتفعت. بالنسبة للكثيرين، كان السبيل الوحيد لكسب المال هو الانخراط في الميليشيات. وكانت الميليشيات تمول عملياتها العسكرية من تهريب المخدرات والأنشطة الإجرامية الأخرى. وغالباً بالتعاون الضمني فيما بينها: في حالة “تعادل القوى”. وهكذا استمرت الحرب. وتعرض المئات للاختطاف – من بينهم بضع عشرات من الأجانب – للحصول على المال أو لأغراض أخرى، وأحياناً لإبقائهم محتجزين لشهور وربما لسنوات، وغالباً ما كان هؤلاء الأسرى يُقتلون في نهاية المطاف. هذا وقد تجاوز إجمالي عدد الذين قتلوا في تلك الحرب الأهلية 100,000.

الدمار في بيروت
الدمار في بيروت

مجازر صبرا وشاتيلا
مجازر صبرا وشاتيلا
الجيش الفرنسي في لبنان
الجيش الفرنسي في لبنان
Photo HH   ولد يطلق النار في شوارع بيروت
Photo HH ولد يطلق النار في شوارع بيروت
ياسر عرفات يسير بجانب مبنى مدمر في  بيروت
ياسر عرفات يسير بجانب مبنى مدمر في بيروت

المقر الرئيسي للقوات الأمريكية في بيروت بعد تدميره
المقر الرئيسي للقوات الأمريكية في بيروت بعد تدميره

المذابح

تدخلت العديد من الدول، إما بشكل علني (إسرائيل وسوريا) أو سراً (إيران والعراق والأردن ومصر وليبيا)، أو على المستويين أحياناً (الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وفرنسا). أرسلت سوريا قواتها، بموافقة الولايات المتحدة ودول جامعة الدول العربية، على رأس قوة عربية متعددة الجنسيات، والتي لم تتمكن من إنهاء الحرب الأهلية. لكن القوات السورية بقيت بينما رحلت القوات الأخرى. وفي 1978 و 1982، اجتاحت القوات الإسرائيلية البلاد. عام 1982 غض قادة الجيش الإسرائيلي الطرف عندما قامت ميليشيا الكتائب (المارونية) بارتكاب مجازر صبرا وشاتيلا، وذلك إثر اغتيال “رئيسهم” المنتخب بشير الجميِّل. تم ذبح قرى بأكملها – في بعض الأحيان ليس لسبب آخر إلا لأن أحد رجال السياسة الذي يعد “عدواً” ولد فيها، أو أن عائلته تعيش هناك. فقد ذبح الفلسطينيون والدروز قرى مسيحية، وهاجمت الميليشيات المسيحية المخيمات الفلسطينية (مثل تل الزعتر في أيلول/سبتمبر 1976) وذبحت قرى الدروز والشيعة. كما هوجمت المخيمات الفلسطينية من قبل القوات السورية، ولاحقاً من قبل قوات حركة أمل، خلال ما يسمى بـ “حرب المخيمات”.

مراراً وتكراراً لم تكتفِ القوى الشرق أوسطية والغربية فقط بتسليح المتحاربين (أو محاربتهم)، وإنما أيضاً كانت تحاول جمعهم على طاولة التفاوض من أجل عملية السلام. وعقدت المؤتمرات في كل من بيت الدين (عام 1978)، وجنيف ولوزان (تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 1983 – آذار/مارس 1984)، بل وتم التوقيع على اتفاق في دمشق (1985) بين المسيحيين والدروز والشيعة، تحت رعاية سوريا. وأخيراً أدي اتفاق الطائف (1989) إلى نهاية الحرب الأهلية في لبنان، ولكن القتال استمر عاماً آخر.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Past to Present / Prelude to the Civil War (1970-1975) / Civil War: Fifteen Lost Years (1975-1990)

Civil War: Fifteen Lost Years (1975-1990)

Destruction in Beirut
Destruction in Beirut

In the following years, the tensions mounted – as in 1840 and 1860. Very little was needed to ignite the fire. On 13 April 1975, there were two serious incidents between Palestinians and (Maronite) Phalange, in an eastern suburb of Beirut, traditionally a Christian area. The Palestinians attacked a church, and in return the Phalange, led by Pierre Gemayel, attacked a Palestinian bus, with 27 deaths as a result.

This was the starting shot for fights, first between the Phalange and Druze leader Kamal Jumblatt’s Lebanese National Movement, which grouped various, mainly Muslim, leftist groups, all allied to the PLO, around his Progressive Socialist Party (PSP). Shortly after the Civil War had broken out, almost every religious community had created its own militia.

The Civil War was not a war between Muslims and Christians, at least not at all times, although it seemed to start along religious lines. Instead, it was a war between left and right – ‘the Left’ being strongly in favour of a redistribution of power according to existing realities, ‘the Right’ opposing such a redistribution. Alliances between Lebanese groups sometimes shifted, as did support from abroad. To illustrate this: the (Maronite) Phalange and its militia, the Lebanese Forces were first allied to Israel against Syria, which initially supported ‘the Left’, but later sought the support of Syria when a victory of ‘the Left’ seemed imminent. Druze leader Jumblatt changed sides as well, as did the Maronite Michel Aoun, former commander of the Lebanese Army. Foreign states supported and armed one faction, then another. Syria was initially on the Palestinian side, then against them. The longer the war went on, the greater the number of militias. Sometimes one neighbourhood fought another. The Civil War became a vicious circle, violence always leading to more violence. Militias started to pay their gunmen and other ’employees’, who mostly had lost every other means of survival.

Massacres

Many countries intervened, either openly (Israel, Syria) or covertly (Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Egypt, Libya), or sometimes on both levels (United States, France). Syria sent troops in agreement with the United States and the League of Arab States, in an effort to control events. However, the Syrian troops stayed when the others left. In 1978 and 1982, Israeli forces invaded the country. In 1982, Israel army commanders looked on while the militia of the (Maronite) Phalange committed the well-documented massacres of the Palestinian camps of Sabra and Shatila, after ‘their’ President-elect, Bashir Gemayel, had been assassinated. Whole villages were massacred – sometimes for no other reason than that a politician considered an ‘enemy’ had been born there, or that his family lived there. Palestinians and Druze massacred the inhabitants of Christian villages, Christian militia attacked Palestinian camps (like Tall al-Zatar in September 1976) and massacred the inhabitants of Druze or Shiite towns. Palestinian camps were also attacked by the Syrian troops and, later in the war, by Amal (during the so-called War of the Camps).

Effects of the war

Although the economy remained stable for several years, largely due to the presence of oil money, it eventually collapsed – especially after the destruction of the banks. The Lebanese pound plummeted, prices soared. For many people, the only way to earn money was to enrol in a militia. Militias financed their actions through drugs trafficking and other criminal activities, often in tacit cooperation with one another, as a ‘convenient stalemate’. Thus, the war continued. Hundreds of people – among whom a few dozens of foreigners – were kidnapped for ransom or other ends, and were sometimes held captive for months or even years on end, often eventually to be killed. The total number of those killed in the Civil War amounted to over a 100,000.

Time and time again, Middle Eastern as well as Western powers not only armed the belligerents (or fought them), but also tried to involve them in negotiations. Conferences were held in Beiteddine (1978), and in Geneva and Lausanne (November 1983-March 1984). There was even an agreement signed in Damascus (1985) between Christians, Druze and Shiites. Finally, the Taif Agreement (1989) led to the end of the Civil War. However, the fighting continued for another year.

Further Reading

Fanack’s Lebanon country file provides a comprehensive overview about Lebanon, its history, politics, culture, economy...
Fanack presents an overview of Lebanon’s history from its present to its past, attempting to get through the conclusiv...
The Taif Agreement codified the way the different religious communities should govern together, in order to lead and mai...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: AFP ©AFP

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update