فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / ثورة القمامة

ثورة القمامة

Rubbish revolution lebanon
شرطة مكافحة الشغب تستخدم خراطيم المياه لتفريق المتظاهرين أمام مقر الحكومة خلال مظاهرة ضد أزمة القمامة الجارية, 23أغسطس 2015, بيروت , لبنان. Photo Eyup Coskun / Anadolu Agency ©Hollandse Hoogte

في شهر تموز من عام 2015 تحولت أزمة القمامة في بيروت وجبل لبنان إلى احتجاجات في الشوارع على عجز الحكومة اللبنانية تحت شعار “طلعت ريحتكن،” والتي انطلقت اعتراضا على أزمة القمامة التي أصبحت تملأ شوارع لبنان، وسرعان ما أصبح ذلك الشعار كناية عن فساد النخب السياسية في البلاد. كما ازداد عدد المتظاهرين أكثر من أي وقت مضى. فبحلول 22 آب تصاعدت الاحتجاجات وتضاعف عدد المتظاهرين بسرعة واندلعت أعمال شغب متفرقة اعتراضا على استخدام قوى الأمن الداخلي اللبناني والجيش للقوة المفرطة في التعامل مع الاحتجاجات، حيث داهموا المتظاهرين بالغاز المسيل للدموع والرصاص المطاطي والذخيرة الحية في وسط بيروت. استخدام القوة لم يزد المحتجين إلا عزما وإصرارا. فبحلول 29 آب نزل ما يزيد عن 100 ألف لبناني من مختلف ألوان الطيف الاجتماعي والديني إلى الشوارع للتعبير عن سخطهم على عجز الحكومة وفسادها. وسرعان ما تحولت الاحتجاجات التي بدأت صغيرة إلى انتفاضة عارمة تدعو فيها العديد من الأصوات الى قيام ثورة شعبية في لبنان.

وهذه ليست المرة الأولى التي تنظم فيها الحركات اللبنانية الأهلية والمنظمات غير الحكومية والنقابات العمالية مثل تلك الاحتجاجات. ففي الماضي، طالبت احتجاجات مماثلة في عام 2010 بمطالب تتضمن إلغاء نظام المحاصصة الطائفية  وتقنين الزواج المدني، ومظاهرات أخرى حول حقوق المرأة  وحقوق خدم المنازل الأجانب والعنف الأسري. معظم تلك الاحتجاجات كانت منظمة تنظيما جيدا وكان لها مطالب محددة. وكانت في بعضها مدعومة من قبل أحزاب أو شخصيات سياسية، وفي بعضها الآخر كان أغلبية المتظاهرين ينتمون إلى نفس الطائفة الدينية. وقد نجحت بعض الاحتجاجات في تغيير القوانين القائمة في ذلك الوقت أو تطبيق قوانين جديدة كتلك التي تتعلق بالعنف الأسري، ومن ذلك أن إحدى موجات الاحتجاج حققت نصرا متواضعا بعض الشيء بصدور قانون مرض ضد العنف الأسري. ومع ذلك، كانت المشاركة في مثل تلك الاحتجاجات محدودة وسقف التوقعات منخفضا؛ فلم تستطع تلك الاحتجاجات أن تغير من الوضع الراهن إلا أنها تمكنت من إصلاح جزء من مظاهره.

القشة التي قصمت ظهر البعير

لطالما اشتكى المواطنون اللبنانيون سرا وعلانية من تدهور أحوالهم المعيشية. فلبنان بلد يعاني من بنية تحتية سيئة، وانقطاعات متكررة في الكهرباء والمياه، وخدمة إنترنت بطيئة وباهضة التكلفة، وشوارع سيئة على الرغم من ارتفاع ضرائب النقل، كما أن وسائل النقل العام لا تكاد تذكر والتعليم المجاني والرعاية الصحية شبه معدومتين. مع ذلك لم يكن الشارع اللبناني يحتج كثيرا لأنه مشغول جزئيا في لقمة عيشه ولأنه كانوا يرى في الحفاظ على الوضع الراهن بأنه أقل السيناريوهات المحتملة ضررا. ففي بلد تسود فيه المحسوبية السياسية، يخشى معظم اللبنانيين من تغير نظام الحكم في البلاد، لأن ذلك قد يفقدهم امتيازات متواضعة كانوا يحصلون عليها مقابل غض الطرف عن تجاوزات السياسيين اللبنانيين.

ففي سبيل جمع القمامة، أقام السياسيون اللبنانيون شركة خاصة تحت مسمى “سوكلين” حققت أرباحا كبيرة في هذا المجال. وكان الاتفاق غير المعلن هو أن يتم جمع القمامة من الشوارع والتعامل معها بطريقة أو بأخرى مقابل غض اللبنانيين الطرف عن الصفقات السياسية التي تعقد على حساب اللبنانيين، فهم يدفعون أعلى تكلفة في العالم لجمع طن واحد من القمامة. إلا أنه برز خلاف حول مستقبل شركة سوكلين بين النخب السياسية في لبنان. فقد أصبح انحطاط السياسيين كبيرا لدرجة أنه عندما لم يحصلوا على “قطعة من الكعكة” توقفوا عن الاهتمام بموضوع القمامة التي تكدست في الشوارع وبدأت تشكل تهديدا مباشرا لصحة الناس. فكانت تلك هي القشة التي قصمت ظهر البعير.

في هذه المرحلة، شن عدد قليل من الناشطين حملة على الإنترنت حملت إسم “طلعت ريحتكن،” وهو نفس الإسم الذي كان عنوان هاشتاج باللغة العربية على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي. نظم النشطاء احتجاجهم الأول بتاريخ 28 تموز من عام 2015،9 حيث تركزت المطالبات على قضية القمامة والحلول التي يرغبون في تنفيذها على الفور. تجاهلت الحكومة تلك الاحتجاجات في البداية وكان تجاوبها ضعيفا في إيجاد الحلول، حيث أعلن وزير البيئة أن الحكومة قد وجدت حلولا مؤقتة (دون تقديم أية تفاصيل) وأن اللبنانيين سوف لن يروا القمامة في الشوارع بعد اليوم. رصد النشطاء أكوام القمامة وتم تصوير الشاحنات وهي تعمل على تحميل القمامة وطمرها في أماكن مهجورة في مناطق سكنية مثل موقف قديم للباصات في منطقة سن الفيل أو في نهر بيروت.

تداول تلك اللقطات حفز المزيد من الناس إلى الانضمام إلى العديد من الاحتجاجات اللاحقة. ومع أن عدد المتظاهرين كان محدودا في ذلك الوقت، استخدمت الشرطة خراطيم المياه لتفريق عشرات المحتجين بتاريخ 19 آب واعتقلت بعضا منهم. ومرة أخرى، انتشرت اللقطات المأخوذة من الهواتف النقالة، فضلا عن تلك التي وثقتها وكالات الأنباء، بسرعة على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي. وكنتيجة لكل ذلك، نظم المتظاهرون في 22 آب أكبر احتجاج شعبي في لبنان. حيث كانت التظاهرات خارج سيطرة النخب والأحزاب السياسية، وشارك في التظاهرة ما يقدر ب 20 ألف مواطن لبناني من جميع الطبقات الاجتماعية ومختلف الخلفيات الدينية والسياسية في البلاد. تجمع المتظاهرون في وسط بيروت لا للمطالبة بحل أزمة القمامة فحسب بل وللمطالبة بإسقاط الحكومة اللبنانية أيضا. وفي 29 آب، تضاعف عدد المتظاهرين ليصل إلى حوالي 100 ألف شخص.

من “ثورة الأرز” إلى “ثورة القمامة”

كانت شوارع بيروت في 29 آب12 تذكرنا بثورة الأرز التي قامت في عام 2005 ضد احتلال الجيش السوري للبنان.  وعلى الرغم من التشابه بين كلي المناسبتين في بعض الأشياء، إلا أنهما تختلفان في ثلاثة نواح:


  • ثورة الأرز حصلت قبل أحداث الربيع العربي واعتبرت أول ثورة عربية (في التاريخ الحديث)، في حين جاءت ثورة القمامة بعد فترة طويلة من الربيع العربي حتى أنها استعارت بعضا من شعاراته.
  • كان تنظيم وقيادة ثورة الأرز في بعض مراحلها يتم من قبل مختلف الأحزاب والقيادات الحزبية في لبنان، ولم تكن مجرد حركة شعبية.
  • تم تحقيق الهدف المباشر من قيام ثورة الأرز وهو انسحاب الجيش السوري من لبنان، لكنها فشلت في تحقيق أهداف طويلة الأمد كضمان نظام سياسي متحضر ذي كفاءة ليحل محل الدولة البوليسية القديمة، ذلك لأن الحكومة في ذلك الوقت كانت تديرها تقريبا نفس النخب السياسية القديمة.

واليوم يبدو أن اللبنانيين يحاولون تجنب الوقوع في نفس الأخطاء التي وقعوا فيها أثناء الثورة الأولى؛ فعلى خلاف ثورة الأرز، حركة الاحتجاج الشعبية الحالية تدعو إلى تغييرات كبيرة في الوضع الراهن.

وطالما أن حركة الاحتجاج تحافظ على استقلالها عن التأثيرات الدينية والحزبية، فإنها على الأرجح ستنمو وتزداد قوة، كما أنها ستثير حفيظة النخب السياسية الذين يشعرون بأن مناصبهم في خطر بالفعل. ومع ذلك يبقى الغموض هو المسيطر على النتائج المحتملة لتلك الاحتجاجات.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©Hollandse Hoogte

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Past to Present / Rubbish Revolution

Rubbish Revolution

Rubbish revolution lebanon
Riot police use water cannons to disperse the crowd in front the government house during a demonstration against the ongoing garbage crisis, 23 August 2015, Beirut, Lebanon. Photo Eyup Coskun / Anadolu Agency

In July 2015 the Rubbish Crisis in Beirut and Mount Lebanon that has resulted from the incompetence of Lebanon’s government became street protests demanding a solution. Under the slogan “You Stink,” which began as a reference to the rubbish crisis during which Lebanon’s streets became rubbish dumps and quickly became a metaphor for the corruption of the country’s political elites, the number of protesters grew ever larger. By 22 August, the situation had snowballed. The number of protesters swelled quickly, and minor riots broke out in opposition to the excessive use of force by the Lebanese Internal Security Forces and the army, as they cracked down with tear gas, rubber bullets, and live ammunition on protesters in downtown Beirut. The use of force served only to increase the resolve of the protesters. By 29 August, more than 100,000 Lebanese from across the social and religious spectrum took to the streets voicing their opposition to the government’s incompetence and corruption. What began as small protests has quickly become an uprising, with many voices calling for a revolution.

This is not the first time that Lebanese civil movements, NGOs, and trade unions have organised protests. In the past, protests gave voice to various demands—for the abolition of the sectarian system in 2010, the legalization of civil marriage,women’s rights, the rights of underprivileged foreign domestic workers, and against domestic violence. Most of those protests were well organized and had specific demands. In some cases, they were backed by political parties or figures, and in others, they were attended by a majority that belonged to the same religious background. Some of the protests succeeded in changing existing laws or implementing new ones, such as those against domestic violence; one campaign achieved a minor victory with the passing of an almost-satisfactory law against domestic violence. In general, however, participation in such protests was limited and expectations were low; the protests did not go so far as to change the status quo but only to reform some of its elements.

The drop that flooded the cup

Lebanese citizens have always complained, privately and publicly, about the deterioration of their well-being. Lebanon has a barely functional infrastructure, regular cuts in electrical power and water shortages, slow and overpriced Internet access, poor roads and highways despite high transport taxes, negligible public transportation, and virtually non-existent free education and health care. But they never protested much, partly because they were absorbed by the struggle to survive and partly because preserving the status quo was seen as the least pernicious of possible scenarios. In a country in which political clientelism prevails, most Lebanese feared that, were the system to change, they would lose the meagre privileges that came with turning a blind eye to politicians’ transgressions.

For rubbish collection, Lebanese politicians created a private company, Sukleen, which made large profits off the business. The unspoken agreement was that, as long as the rubbish was taken off the streets and dealt with in some way, the Lebanese would turn a blind eye to the political deals being made at their expense—they pay one of the highest costs per tonne for rubbish collection in the world. But there was disagreement on the future of Sukleen among the political elite. The politicians’ decadence became so great that, as long as they were unable to get a “piece of the pie,” they cared little about the rubbish that was piling up on the streets and posing a direct threat to the people’s health. That was the drop that finally flooded the cup.

At this point few activists launched an online campaign called You Stink, with a social-media hashtag in Arabic. The activists organized their first protest on 28 July 2015, with demands focused on the rubbish issue and the solutions that they wanted implemented immediately. The government at first ignored the protests, making only a feeble attempt at a solution, as the minister of environment announced that the government had found temporary solutions (without providing any details) and that the Lebanese would see the rubbish removed from the streets. The activists monitored the rubbish piles and filmed lorries picking up the rubbish and dumping it in abandoned places in residential areas, such as an old bus parking facility in Sin El Fil, or in the Beirut River.

The circulation of this footage led more people to join the many subsequent protests. Although the number of protesters was still limited, the police used water cannons on a dozen protesters on 19 August and detained some of them. Once again, footage from mobile phones as well as news organizations went viral on social media. All this led, on 22 August, to the largest grassroots protest organized in Lebanon. Totally out of the control of the political elites and parties, it was attended by an estimated 20,000 Lebanese citizens from all social classes and various religious and political backgrounds who gathered in downtown Beirut to demand not just a resolution to the rubbish crisis but also the fall of the government. On 29 August, the number of protesters swelled to about 100,000.

From “Cedar Revolution” to “Rubbish Revolution”

The streets of Beirut on 29 August were reminiscent of the Cedar Revolution that began in 2005 against the Syrian army’s occupation of Lebanon. The two protests, although similar in some respects, differ in three ways:

  • The Cedar Revolution took place way before the Arab Spring and was considered the first Arab uprising, while the Rubbish Revolution came long after the Arab Spring and even borrowed some of its slogans.
  • The Cedar Revolution was, at certain points, organized and led by various parties and party leaders in Lebanon and was not simply a grassroots movement.
  • The immediate aim of the Cedar Revolution was met, as the Syrian army withdrew from Lebanon, but the long-term aims of a modern civilized and efficient political system to replace the old police state failed because the government at the time was replaced by more of the same political elites.

Today, it seems that the Lebanese are trying to avoid the same mistakes made by the original uprising: the current protest movement is calling for a change in the status quo.

As long as the movement maintains its independence from religious influences and from partisanship, it will probably only grow stronger and unnerve the political elite, who already sense the danger to their positions. The outcome is still uncertain.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.