فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / ثورة القمامة / بعد أربع سنواتٍ على أزمة النفايات، لبنان يواصل صراعه في ظل جمود مشكلة النفايات

بعد أربع سنواتٍ على أزمة النفايات، لبنان يواصل صراعه في ظل جمود مشكلة النفايات

Garbage crisis lebanon
عمال ينظفون الشاطئ في مدينة زوق مصبح الساحلية، شمال بيروت، في ٢٣ يناير ٢٠١٨، بعد ان جرفت النفايات وتكدست على طول الشاطئ بسبب الاحوال الجوية الماطرة. Photo: JOSEPH EID / AFP ©AFP ⁃ JOSEPH EID

في عام 2019، لا يزال لبنان يصارع أزمة النفايات التي اجتاحت البلاد قبل أربع سنوات. في ذلك الوقت، لم تكن السلطات قد أعدت أي بديلٍ بعد انتهاء عقد استغلال مطمر الناعمة، الأكبر في البلاد، في يناير 2014.

وعليه، تكدست النفايات في الشوارع، وفي أشهر الصيف، أدى ارتفاع الحرارة إلى تفاقم مشكلة الرائحة الكريهة وغالباً ما تم حرق هذه النفايات، مما أسفر عن عواقب وخيمة على البيئة والصحة العامة.

في 21 يوليو 2015، ألقى نشطاء بالنفايات خارج مقر الحكومة في العاصمة بيروت. فقد أدى الغضب الواسع إلى ظهور حركة “طلعت ريحتكن،” التي تحدت الحكومة بسبب تقاعسها عن العمل، والافتقار إلى الرؤية وفسادها.

وفي أغسطس وسبتمبر من نفس العام، نُظمت عدة مظاهرات واسعة النطاق، التي غالباً ما قوبلت بوحشيةٍ من قِبل الشرطة.

ووفقاً للنشطاء والمحللين، يعد الفساد المستشري في لبنان أحد الأسباب الجذرية للأزمة. ويبدو أن عجز الحكومات المتعاقبة عن الاتفاق على إطار مناسب للإدارة المستدامة للنفايات كان نتيجة لتفاوض القادة وراء الكواليس حول الشركة التي ينبغي منحها عقوداً مربحة لجمع النفايات. ويبدو أن المناقصات أطلقت على أساس جغرافي أو طائفي وكانت الشركات المعنية مرتبطة بشخصياتٍ وأحزاب سياسية محددة.

فقد اقترح أكرم شهيب، وزير الزراعة السابق، في 11 أكتوبر 2015 خطةً للنفايات تنطوي على إعادة فتح مطمر الناعمة لطمر القمامة التي تراكمت في الشوارع. تضمنت الخطة أيضاً تطوير مطمرين آخرين: أحدهما في عكار في شمال لبنان والآخر بالقرب من سلسلة جبال لبنان الشرقية على الحدود السورية.

قوبل الاقتراح بمعارضة شديدة من السكان المحليين فيما تعدّ أكثر المناطق فقراً في البلاد، الذين كانوا قلقين بشأن تحويل أراضيهم إلى مكب نفايات وطني.

في نهاية العام، أعلنت الحكومة عن نيتها تصدير النفايات من بيروت وجبل لبنان إلى روسيا للتخلص منها، بيد أن الخطة فشلت في نهاية المطاف.

طرحت الحكومة خطة طوارىء أخرى في مارس 2016 لتوسيع مطمرين للنفايات على الساحل في برج حمود في شمال شرق بيروت وكوستا برافا في جنوب بيروت. تم إغلاق مطمر الناعمة، الذي ظل مفتوحاً لمدة شهرين إضافيين، نهائياً في مايو 2016.

أثارت الخطة الجديدة غضباً كبيراً بين صفوف الناشطين في مجال البيئة والسياسيين والسكان المحليين. أغلقت الجماعات البيئية الطرق الرئيسية المؤدية إلى بيروت احتجاجاً على ذلك.

فقد تمثلت إحدى المخاوف الرئيسية بأن بناء مطمر ساحلي جديد سيكون مصدراً لتلوث الحياة البحرية. كما وصف نشطاء البيئة المشروع بـ”الجريمة البيئية،” واتهموا الحكومة بعدم الأخذ بعين الإعتبار إنشاء مصانع لإعادة التدوير.

من جهته، قام حزب الكتائب، وهو حزبٌ سياسي مسيحي، بتنظيم العديد من الاعتصامات، لكن الحكومة جادلت بأن تطوير مطمرين ساحليين كان الخيار الواقعي الوحيد لتجنب تكرار تجربة عام 2015.

في منتصف يناير 2018، بعثرت عاصفة النفايات على طول الساحل من شواطىء بيروت الجنوبية إلى كسروان في جبل لبنان، مما أدى إلى تكدس أطنانٍ من القمامة. ألقى سامي الجميل، زعيم الكتائب، باللوم على مطامر كوستا برافا وبرج حمود، مدعياً أن الحواجز التي كان من المفترض أن تحمي المكبات، لم تصمد في وجه الظروف الجوية الصعبة.

نفى طارق الخطيب، وزير البيئة السابق، هذا الادعاء، وبدلاً من ذلك، وجه أصابع الإتهام إلى مكبات النفايات غير المنظمة وإلقاء النفايات في المجاري المائية.

ولا تزال مطامر النفايات تشكل قضيةً خلافية في لبنان، مع عواقب على بعض القطاعات غير المتوقعة. ففي مايو 2019، عقد تحالف محامين ضد الفساد وجمعية غرين غلوب، وهي منظمة تركز على القضايا البيئية وتغير المناخ والطاقة المتجددة، مؤتمراً صحفياً مشتركاً عرضوا فيه نتائج دراسة حول تداعيات مكب النفايات كوستا برافا على البيئة المحيطة. أظهر البحث أن تسرب الغاز من المكب قد يصل إلى المطار، على بعد أقل من 200 متر، مما يهدد سلامة الطيران.

في 27 أغسطس، تبنى البرلمان خطةً لإدارة النفايات بإنشاء 25 مطمر صحي في جميع أنحاء البلاد لتحل محل العديد من مكبات النفايات غير المنظمة. وتفرض الخطة الجديدة أيضاً ضرائب على منتجات مثل النايلون والبلاستيك وتدعو إلى فصل القمامة القابلة لإعادة التدوير وغير القابلة لإعادة التدوير في المصدر.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تتوقع الخطة إنشاء محارق، حيث سيتم اتخاذ هذا الإجراء على وجه الخصوص في منطقتين، أحدهما في دير عمار، شمال لبنان والأخرى في جنوب بيروت.

في عام 2017، نشرت هيومن رايتس ووتش تقريراً تناولت فيه بالتفصيل تداعيات الحرق في الهواء الطلق للنفايات على صحة السكان المحليين. وشملت الأعراض مشاكل في الجهاز التنفسي مثل مرض الانسداد الرئوي المزمن والسعال وتهيج الحلق والربو.

علاوةً على ذلك، تنتج النفايات المحترقة انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون وأكسيد النيتروز، التي تساهم في الاحتباس الحراري.

من جانبه، أطلق إئتلاف إدارة النفايات، وهو مجموعة من 15 منظمة غير حكومية تركز على لبنان أكثر استدامة، حملةً في عام 2018 لرفع مستوى الوعي حول المخاطر الصحية للمحارق.

وفي عام 2018 أيضاً، صرحت بولا يعقوبيان، العضو المستقل في البرلمان، خلال مؤتمر صحفي، “إنهم [الحكومة] يصرون على أن الدول الأوروبية تستخدم هذه [المحارق] في عواصمهم… وفي حين أن هذه حقيقة، إلا أن هذه البلدان تحاول إغلاق محارقها… وتتنافس على من هو أكثر صداقة للبيئة. نحن مسؤولون عن صحتنا، وليس الأوروبيين.”

بالنسبة إلى زياد أبي شاكر، المدير التنفيذي لمؤسسة سيدار إنفايرومنتال للهندسة البيئية والصناعية، فإن “المحارق هي بقرة حلوب، سواء في مرحلة البناء أو مرحلة التشغيل.” وبحسب قوله فإن تكلفة عملية بناء محرقة وظيفية هي 350 مليون دولار على الأقل وسيكلف تشغيلها بين 125 دولار و140 دولار للطن الواحد من النفايات.

ومع ذلك، فإن المحارق والمطامر قد لا تكون ضرورية، إذ أنه وفقاً للباحثين في الجامعة الأمريكية في بيروت، 10-12% من النفايات المنتجة لا يمكن إعادة تدويرها أو تحويلها إلى سماد عضوي.

سواء كانت الخطة إنشاء محارق أم مطامر متعددة، يبدو أنه لم يتم حتى الآن إيجاد حلٍ مستدام طويل الأمد لأزمة القمامة في هذه المرحلة، مما يستمر في تعريض بيئة لبنان والصحة العامة للخطر.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ JOSEPH EID

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Past to Present / Rubbish Revolution / Four Years After Garbage Crisis, Lebanon Grappling with Rubbish Stalemate

Four Years After Garbage Crisis, Lebanon Grappling with Rubbish Stalemate

Garbage crisis lebanon
Workers clean the beach of the coastal town of Zouk Mosbeh, north of Beirut, on January 23, 2018 as garbage washed and piled along the shore after stormy weather. Photo: JOSEPH EID / AFP ©AFP ⁃ JOSEPH EID

Lebanon in 2019 is still grappling with the nation-wide garbage crisis that started four years ago. Back then, the authorities had not prepared any alternative after the exploitation contract of the Naameh landfill, the biggest in the country, came to an end in January 2014.

Rubbish piled up in the streets. In the summer months, the heat aggravated the stench and waste was often incinerated, with harmful consequences for the environment and public health.

On 21 July 2015, activists dumped rubbish outside the government headquarters in the capital Beirut. The widespread anger resulted in the emergence of the ‘You stink’ movement, which called out the government for its inaction, lack of vision and corruption.

In August and September of that year, several large-scale demonstrations were organized and were often met with police brutality.

According to activists and analysts, Lebanon’s endemic corruption is one of the root causes of the crisis. The inability of successive governments to agree on a proper sustainable waste management framework has seemingly been the result of leaders negotiating behind the scenes over which company should be granted profitable waste collection contracts. The bids were apparently launched on a geographic or confessional basis and the companies involved were associated with specific political figures and parties.

Akram Chehayeb, the former agriculture minister, proposed on 11 October 2015 a waste plan that entailed reopening the Naameh landfill to bury the rubbish that had accumulated in the streets. The plan also included the development of two other landfills: one in Akkar in northern Lebanon and one near the Anti-Lebanon Mountains on the Syrian border.

The proposal was met with fierce opposition from local residents in what are the country’s most impoverished areas who were concerned about their land’s conversion into a national dump. At the end of the year, the government announced that the waste from Beirut and Mount Lebanon would be exported to Russia for disposal, but the plan eventually fell through.

Another emergency plan was put forward by the government in March 2016 to expand two coastal landfills in Burj Hammoud, in north-east Beirut, and Costa Brava, in south Beirut. The Naameh landfill, which had been kept open for an additional two months, was permanently closed in May 2016.

The new plan sparked an outcry among environmental activists, politicians and local residents. Environmental groups blocked major roads into Beirut in protest.

One of the main concerns was that the construction of new coastal landfills would be a source of pollution for the marine environment. Activists called the project an ““environmental crime”” and accused the government of not considering  recycling plants.

Kataeb, a Christian political party, organized several sit-ins, but the government argued that the development of the two coastal sites was the only realistic option to avoid a repeat of 2015. In mid-January 2018, a storm littered the coastline from Beirut’s southern beaches to Keserwan in Mount Lebanon with tons of rubbish. Kataeb’s leader, Samy Gemayel, blamed the Costa Brava and Burj Hammoud landfills, claiming that the dykes supposed to protect the landfills had failed to withstand the rough weather.

Tarik al-Khatib, the former environment minister, denied the claim, instead pointing a finger at unregulated garbage dumps and waste thrown into waterways.

Landfills continue to be a contentious issue in Lebanon, with consequences on some unexpected sectors. In May 2019, the Alliance of Lawyers Against Corruption and Green Globe, an organization focusing on environmental issues, climate change and renewable energy, convened a joint news conference in which they presented the findings of a study on the repercussions of the Costa Brava landfill on the surrounding environment. The research showed that gas leaking from the landfill could reach the airport, 7less than 200 metres away, threatening aviation safety.

On 27 August, parliament adopted a waste management plan to establish 25 sanitary landfills throughout the country to replace the numerous unregulated garbage dumps. The new plan also imposes taxes on products such as nylon and plastic and calls for the separation of recyclable and non-recyclable rubbish at the source.

In addition, it foresees the implementation of incinerators. Two areas are particularly concerned by this measure, one in Deir Ammar, northern Lebanon, and one in south Beirut.

In 2017, Human Rights Watch published a report in which it detailed the repercussions of the open burning of waste on the health of local residents. The symptoms included respiratory issues such as chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, coughing, throat irritation and asthma.

Furthermore, incinerated waste produces carbon dioxide and nitrous oxide emissions, which contribute to global warming.

The Waste Management Coalition, a group of 15 non-governmental organizations focusing on a more sustainable Lebanon, launched a campaign in 2018 to raise awareness about the health dangers of incinerators.

Also in 2018, Paula Yacoubian, an independent member of parliament, stated during a press conference, “They [the government] are insisting that European countries are using these [incinerators] in their capitals…. While it is true, these countries are trying to close down their incinerators … and are competing on who is greener. We are responsible for our health, not the Europeans.”

For  Ziad abi Chaker, the CEO of environmental and industrial engineering organization Cedar Environmental, “Incinerators are a cash cow, both on the construction phase and the operation phase.” Building a functional incinerator would cost at least $350 million and operating it would cost between $125 and $140 per ton of waste, he said.

However, incinerators and landfills may both be unnecessary. According to researchers at the American University of Beirut, only 10-12 percent of waste produced cannot be composted or recycled.

Whether it is incinerators or the multiplication of landfills, no long-term sustainable solution for the rubbish crisis seems to have been found at this stage, continuing to put Lebanon’s environment and public health at risk.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ JOSEPH EID | ©AFP ⁃ JOSEPH EID

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.