فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / استقالة الحريري من منصب رئيس الوزراء تُشعل أزمة جديدة في لبنان

استقالة الحريري من منصب رئيس الوزراء تُشعل أزمة جديدة في لبنان

Lebanon- Saad Hariri
لبنانيون في أحد مقاهي بيروت يشاهدون مقابلةً أجريت مع رئيس الوزراء اللبناني المستقيل، سعد الحريري، في 12 نوفمبر 2017. تعهد الحريري بالعودة إلى لبنان من السعودية “قريباً جداً،” في أول مقابلةٍ تلفزيونية له منذ استقالته المفاجأة. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

أعلن رئيس الوزراء اللبناني، سعد الحريري، في خطابٍ متلفز بث من العاصمة السعودية الرياض في الرابع من نوفمبر 2017، استقالته، منوهاً إلى النفوذ الإيراني المتنامي في أرجاء المنطقة، ومدعياً خوفه من أن يلقى ذات المصير كوالده، رفيق الحريري، الذي تم اغتياله، في حال بقائه في السلطة.

فبعد 11 شهراً من تشكيل الحكومة، التي خرجت للعلن نتيجةً اتفاقٍ، تم بشكلٍ أساسي بين الحريري والعماد ميشال عون، السياسي المسيحي وحليف التنظيم العسكري، حزب الله، لإنهاء عامين ونصف من الجمود السياسي، سحب الحريري الزناد في وجه الائتلاف الذي كافح لإقناع الشعب اللبناني أو إيجاد حلٍ لأيٍ من المشاكل المزمنة التي ابتليت بها سياسة البلاد منذ إنتهاء الحرب الأهلية عام 1989.

وقال الحريري في خطاب استقالته “لدى [إيران] رغبة جامحة في تدمير العالم العربي، وتفاخر بسيطرتها على القرارات في جميع العواصم العربية. حزب الله فرض أمر واقع في لبنان بقوة السلاح، حيث تسبب تدخل حزب الله لنا بمشكلات مع محيطنا العربي.”

وكان الحريري قد استضاف علي أكبر ولايتي، مستشار المرشد الايراني للشؤون الدولية، قبل يومين من استقالته.

وبعد دقائق من خطاب الحريري، أفادت قناة العربية إحباط محاولة اغتيالٍ للحريري “قبل أيامٍ قليلة” من قبل قوات الأمن الداخلي اللبنانية. غير أن قوى الأمن الداخلي أصدرت بياناً نفت فيه دورها المزعوم في إحباط المحاولة وقالت إنها لا تملك أي معلوماتٍ عن هذه المسألة، كما حذا الجيش والأمن العام حذوهما. وقبل اغتيال والده في عام 2005، إدّعت أجهزة الأمن أيضاً عدم امتلاكها أي معلوماتٍ عن محاولةٍ محتملة لسلبه حياته. إلا أن الحريري لربما استخدم هذا العذر للتغطية على ما يبدو اليوم نفوذٌ سعودي على قراره بالتنحى.

إلا أن وزير الدولة السعودي لشؤون الخليج، ثامر السبهان، قال أن حراس الحريري أكدوا أن هناك مؤامرة لاغتياله. كما نفى في مقابلة مع قناة إل بي سي اللبنانية، أن السعودية ضغطت على الحريري للاستقالة.

فقد كان خطاب الحريري، وفي تناقضٍ للخطاب الذي تبناه في السنوات القليلة الماضية، مناهضاً لحزب الله بشدة، مستذكراً أحداث عام 2008، عندما بسط حزب الله سيطرته على أجزاء كبيرة من بيروت الغربية بعد أن اتجهت الحكومة اللبنانية إلى إغلاق شبكة اتصالات حزب الله. في الواقع، بدا الخطاب أقرب إلى نبرة التغريدات المحتدة التي ينشرها السبهان، الناقد الصريح لإيران. ومباشرةً بعد خطاب الحريري، غرّد السبهان “إن أيدي الغدر والعدوان يجب أن تبتر.”

جاء أول فعلٍ إيراني من مستشار وزير الخارجية الإيراني، حسين شيخ الإسلام، الذي إتهم الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب وولي العهد السعودي بالضغط على الحريري للاستقالة. وأضاف أن “استقالة الحريري جاءت بترتيب من الرئيس الأميركي دونالد ترامب وولي العهد السعودي محمد بن سلمان من أجل توتير الوضع في لبنان والمنطقة.”

وفي خطابٍ متلفزٍ منتظر في الخامس من نوفمبر 2017، أدلى الأمين العام لحزب الله، السيد حسن نصر الله، بتصريحٍ مماثل، إذ قال “الاستقالة لم تكن نيته أو رغبته أو قراره.” كما شكك أيضاً بالخطاب الذي استخدمه الحريري وحول إمكانية عودته من السعودية، مشيراً إلى إحتمالية فرض الإقامة الجبرية عليه. بيد أنه دعا إلى التحلي بالهدوء، وسط مخاوف من إندلاع أعمال عنفٍ في لبنان في أعقاب إعلان الاستقالة.

أزمة سياسية جديدة

كتب مراسل صحيفة الغارديان في الشرق الأوسط، مارتن تشولوف، الآتي: “قبل استقالة الحريري، قال مسؤولون كبار من إدارة باراك اوباما أن سلسلة من الرسائل المنسقة في واشنطن والرياض تبنى للمواجهة العسكرية مع ايران. ومن المرجح أن يضاف اعلان السبت إلى هذه المخاوف ويزيد المخاوف من اشتباكٍ بين حزب الله واسرائيل التي خاضت حرباً مدمرة في عام 2006.”

في الواقع، تتزايد المخاوف في لبنان من مثل هذه المواجهة. ويعتقد العديد من المراقبين أن “محور المقاومة،” الذي يضم حزب الله، والرئيس السوري بشار الأسد، والإيرانيين (بشكلٍ أساسي الحرس الثوري الإيراني صاحب النفوذ)، يُنظر إليهم نظرة المنتصر في الحرب في سوريا إلى جانب طردهم مقاتلي تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية من العراق، حيث بات تركيزهم اليوم يعود نحو لبنان واسرائيل.

ففي السابق، ومع استمرار القتال في سوريا، تمثلت أولوية حزب الله بمساندة نظام الأسد، الذي سهل نقل الأسلحة الإيرانية إلى أيدي حزب الله. وبما أن مستقبل الأسد بات مضموناً على ما يبدو، وذلك بفضل الدعم الروسي والإيراني، عاد مقاتلوا حزب الله إلى ديارهم في لبنان، وبات بمقدور القيادة إعادة التركيز على المعارك اللبنانية الداخلية.

فقد كتب دانيال شابيرو، الذي شغل منصب السفير الأمريكي لدى اسرائيل منذ عام 2011 إلى عام 2017 وأحد مستشاري مجلس الأمن القومي في إدارة أوباما، لصحفية هآرتس الاسرائيلية، أن رحيل الحريري يبشر بآخر تصعيد للتوترات بين السعودية وإيران في المنطقة، مع ما يترتب على ذلك من آثار كبيرة على إسرائيل.

ومع القيادة السعودية الجديدة نسبياً التي يجسدها الملك سلمان بن عبد العزيز وولي العهد الأمير محمد بن سلمان، الحريصان على مقارعة إيران من اليمن إلى سوريا إلى لبنان، يبدو أن خطوة الحريري تدعم تأكيد شابيرو بأن “السعوديين يحاولون خلق السياق لوسائل منافسة مختلفة مع إيران في لبنان: وعلى رأسها حرب إسرائيلية ضد حزب الله.”

وخلال العام الماضي، استغلت إسرائيل كل فرصةٍ رسمية وإعلامية ممكنة لإرسال الرسالة التالية: مع حشد حزب الله قوةً وخبرةً وأسلحةً غير مسبوقة، فإن الحرب مع إسرائيل ليست إلا مسألة وقت، مما سيحدث أضراراً واسعة النطاق على البلاد تتخطى بكثير ما حصل عام 2006.

ويرى الكثيرون، ومن ضمنهم حُماته السعوديون، أن الحريري، الذي تقاسم الحكومة مع حزب الله، يمنح الحزب العسكري الغطاء الشرعي. وعلاوة على ذلك، وفي الوقت الذي كان فيه الحريري مشغولاً بالحضور السياسي اليومي، كان حزب الله يشدد من قبضته على البلاد.

وبالتالي، من خلال سحب الحريري من منصبه، قد يأمل السعوديون في ضمان أن يتحمل حزب الله اللوم والمسؤولية عن التحديات التي يعيشها لبنان، بدءاً من الاحتياجات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية الملحة، وصولاً إلى رعاية اللاجئين السوريين والتخلص من القاعدة وتنظيم الدولة الإسلامية. ومن المرجح أن يؤدي ذلك إلى تفاقم التوترات في البلاد، إلا أنه سيصرف أيضاً معسكر الحريري عن حزب الله.

ومع ذلك، وفي حين أشارت التقارير إلى تنامي العلاقات بين تل أبيب والرياض وأبوظبي، فإنه من غير المحتمل أن تتجه إسرائيل إلى الحرب بناءً على طلب السعودية. وفي الوقت نفسه، يبدو أن حزب الله، الذي تعرض لغاراتٍ جوية إسرائيلية عدة مراتٍ في سوريا، لا يبدو مولعاً بالدخول في مواجهةٍ أخرى على أرضه، الأمر الذي سيؤدي بالتأكيد إلى تفاقم المشاعر العامة السلبية تجاه الحزب.

وفي 8 نوفمبر 2017، وبعد أيامٍ قليلة من اجتماعه بالحريري في العاصمة اللبنانية، ظهر ولايتي في مدينة حلب السورية، التي أخرج الجيش السوري المتمردين منها بعد حصارٍ العام الماضي بمساعدة من طهران. ونقلت إحدى وسائل الإعلام التابعة لحزب الله قوله أن “خط المقاومة يمتد من طهران ويمر عبر بغداد ودمشق وبيروت، للوصول إلى فلسطين.”

ويبدو أن المشكلة، في جوهرها، تتمثل بالتأثير الإيراني المتضخم على العديد من المدن العربية الرئيسية، الأمر الذي لم يعد بإمكان السعوديين تحمله. وإلى الآن، المعلومات عن مكان تواجد الحريري شحيحة، إلا أن  الخطاب السعودي ضد إيران تسارع بشكلٍ كبير منذ أن أطلق الحوثيون المدعومون من إيران، صاروخاً على مطار الرياض في 4 نوفمبر 2017.

وفي ضوء التغيرات الجيوسياسية الأخيرة، ربما اختار السعوديون بيروت كساحةٍ جديدة لمعركة مواجهة النفوذ الإيراني في المنطقة. ففي النهاية، حزب الله هو قصة نجاح الحرس الثوري الإيراني، الذي يجري اليوم أيضاً محاكاته في اليمن والعراق.

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ANWAR AMRO

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Home / Lebanon / Past to Present / Saad Hariri’s Resignation as PM Could Spell New Crisis for Lebanon

Saad Hariri’s Resignation as PM Could Spell New Crisis for Lebanon

Lebanon- Saad Hariri
Lebanese watch an interview with Lebanon’s resigned prime minister Saad Hariri at a coffee shop in Beirut on November 12, 2017. Saad Hariri pledged he would return to Lebanon from Saudi Arabia “very soon,” in his first television interview since his shock resignation as prime minister. Photo AFP

In an televised speech broadcast from the Saudi capital Riyadh on 4 November 2017, the Lebanese Prime Minister Saad Hariri announced his resignation, citing the growing Iranian influence across the region and claiming he feared the same fate as his assassinated father, Rafik Hariri, if he remained in power.

Eleven months after forming a government, which came as a result of a deal mainly struck between Hariri and Michel Aoun, a Christian politician and an ally of the Hezbollah military organization, to end the two-and-a-half-year political impasse, Hariri pulled the trigger on a coalition that had struggled to convince the Lebanese public or solve any of the chronic problems that have plagued the country’s politics since the end of the civil war in 1989.

In his resignation speech Hariri said, “[Iran] has a desire to destroy the Arab world and has boasted of its control of the decisions in all the Arab capitals. Hezbollah imposed a reality in Lebanon through force of arms, and their intervention causes us big problems with all our Arab allies.”

Hariri hosted Ali Akbar Velayati, the Iranian supreme leader’s senior international affairs adviser, a couple of days before his resignation.

Moments after Hariri’s speech, al-Arabiya reported that an assassination attempt on Hariri ‘a few days ago’ had been foiled by Lebanon’s Internal Security Forces (ISF). However, the ISF issued a statement denying its alleged role in foiling the attempt and said it had no information on the issue. The army and the General Security followed suit.

Prior to the assassination of his father in 2005, the security apparatuses also claimed to have no information of a possible attempt on his life. Yet Hariri could have used this alibi in order to nuance what now seems to have been Saudi influence on his decision to step down.

However, Saudi Gulf Affairs Minister Thamer al-Sabhan said that Hariri’s bodyguards confirmed that there was an assassination plot against him. He also denied in an interview with LBCI, a Lebanese TV station, that Saudi Arabia pressured Hariri to resign.

Hariri’s speech, contrary to the rhetoric he has adopted in the past few years, was fiercely anti-Hezbollah, invoking memories of 2008, when Hezbollah seized control of much of western Beirut after the government moved to shut down Hezbollah’s telecoms network. Indeed, the speech seemed closer in tone to the fiery tweets posted by al-Sabhan, who is a vocal critic of Iran. Directly after Hariri’s speech, al-Sabhan tweeted, ‘The hands of treachery and aggression will be cut off.’

The first Iranian reaction came from Hossein Sheikholeslam, senior advisor to the Iranian foreign minister, who accused American President Donald Trump and the Saudi crown prince of pressurizing Hariri into resigning. “Hariri’s resignation was done in coordination with Trump and Mohammed bin Salman to foment tension in Lebanon and the region,” he said.

In an anticipated televised speech on 5 November 2017, Hezbollah chief Hassan Nasrallah made a similar statement, saying, “It was not his intention, not his wish and not his decision to quit.” He also questioned the rhetoric used by Hariri and whether he would be able to return from Saudi Arabia, hinting at a possible house arrest. However, he also called for calm, amid fears that violence could erupt in Lebanon following the announcement.

New Political Crisis

Martin Chulov, the Guardian newspaper’s Middle East correspondent, wrote the following: ‘Before Hariri’s resignation, several senior officials from Barack Obama’s administration had said a series of coordinated messages in Washington and Riyadh was building a case for military confrontation with Iran. Saturday’s announcement is likely to add to those concerns and increase fears of a clash between Hezbollah and Israel, which fought a devastating war in 2006.”

Indeed, fears in Lebanon of just such a confrontation are mounting. Many observers believe that the ‘resistance axis’, which includes Hezbollah, Syria’s Bashar al-Assad and the Iranians (mainly the influential Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps – IRGC), is perceived as having won the war in Syria while ousting Islamic State militants from Iraq, and now their focus is shifting back towards Lebanon and Israel.

Previously, as long as the fighting in Syria continued, Hezbollah’s priority was shoring up the al-Assad regime, which has facilitated the transfer of Iranian weapons into Hezbollah’s hands. With al-Assad’s future apparently assured, thanks to Russian and Iranian support, Hezbollah fighters have been returning home to Lebanon, and the leadership has been able to refocus on internal Lebanese battles.

Daniel Shapiro, who served as US Ambassador to Israel from 2011 to 2017 and as senior director for the Middle East and North Africa at the National Security Council under President Obama, wrote in the Israeli newspaper Haaretz that Hariri’s departure heralds the latest ratcheting up of tensions between Saudi Arabia and Iran playing out across the region, with significant implications for Israel.

With the relatively new Saudi leadership embodied by King Salman bin Abdulaziz and Crown Prince Mohammad bin Salman eager to contest Iran from Yemen to Syria to Lebanon, Hariri’s move seems to support Shapiro’s assertion that ‘Saudis are trying to create the context for a different means of contesting Iran in Lebanon: an Israeli-Hezbollah war’.

Over the past year, Israel has seized every official and media opportunity to send the following message: with Hezbollah amassing unprecedented power, experience and weaponry, a war with Israel is only a matter of time, when it will inflict much more widespread damage on the country than in 2006.

Hariri, who shared the government with Hezbollah, is perceived by many – including his Saudi patrons – as providing legitimacy to the military organization. Also, while Hariri was busy attending to the daily business of politics, Hezbollah was tightening its grip on the country.

Hence, by pulling Hariri out of office, the Saudis may hope to ensure that Hezbollah gets the blame and responsibility for Lebanon’s challenges, from pressing social and economic needs to caring for Syrian refugees to mopping up al-Qaeda and IS. This will likely exacerbate tensions in the country, but it will also alienate Hariri’s camp from Hezbollah.

Yet while reports have suggested growing ties between Tel Aviv, Riyadh and Abu Dhabi, it remains unlikely that Israel will go to war at Saudi Arabia’s behest. Hezbollah, meanwhile, which has been hit hard several times by Israeli air strikes in Syria, does not seem to have the appetite for another confrontation at home, which will surely exacerbate negative public feelings towards the organization.

On 8 November 2017, just days after meeting Hariri in the Lebanese capital, Velayati made an appearance in the Syrian city of Aleppo, from which the Syrian army drove rebels after a siege last year with help from Tehran. He was quoted by a Hezbollah media outlet as saying: “The resistance line runs from Tehran and passes through Baghdad, Damascus and Beirut to reach Palestine.”

It seems that, in essence, the problem is Iran’s inflated influence over several key Arab cities, which the Saudis can no longer tolerate. Information about Hariri’s current whereabouts has been scarce, but the Saudi rhetoric on Iran has been upped significantly since the Iran-backed Houthis in Yemen fired a missile at Riyadh’s airport on 4 November 2017.

In light of the recent geopolitical changes, the Saudis may have chosen Beirut as the new battleground to counter Iranian influence in the region. After all, Hezbollah is the success story of Iran’s IRGC, which is now also being imitated in Yemen and Iraq.