فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الجمهورية الثانية (منذ 1990) / إعادة الإعمار والمصالحة (1990 – 2005)

إعادة الإعمار والمصالحة (1990 – 2005)

رغم النجاح على الصعيدين السياسي والدبلوماسي، إلا أن الاقتصاد كان في حالة يرثى لها، مما أدى إلى انهيار الأجور والإضرابات وأعمال الشغب. وفي أيار/مايو عام 1992، تنحى الرئيس اللبناني كرامي. فحكم رشيد الصلح البلاد حتى موعد الانتخابات في آب/أغسطس 1992 – أول انتخابات برلمانية منذ عام 1972. جلبت هذه الانتخابات – المجزأة إلى حد بعيد، والتي قاطعها العديد من الزعماء الموارنة – معها رجلاً عصامياً (جمع ثروته في قطاع البناء في المملكة العربية السعودية) إلى السلطة، ألا وهو الملياردير رفيق الحريري. وكرئيس للوزراء، تبنى برنامجاً ضخماً لإعادة إعمار البلاد، يهدف بصورة رئيسية إلى إعادة بناء وتجديد العاصمة بيروت. أحرز برنامج إعادة الإعمار هذا تقدماً كبيراً، بالإضافة إلى مشاريع معتبرة مثل إعادة بناء السراي الكبير، والقصر الحكومي الأثري الذي شيّد في القرن التاسع عشر والذي لحقت به أضرار بالغة. وبصفته رجل أعمال، نجح في جذب المستثمرين من الدول المنتجة للنفط. حتى قبل أن يصبح رئيساً للوزراء، استثمر الحريري مبالغ طائلة في القطاع العقاري اللبناني، على غرار العديد من أبناء بلده الذين غادروا البلاد.

رغم ذلك، فقد كان لمشروع إعادة الإعمار هذا ضريبته. فقد تم تمويله عن طريق الاقتراض، وأدى ذلك إلى عبء ديون حكومية ضخمة. تم تخفيض الضرائب لجذب المستثمرين وتشجيعهم. وهذا بدوره أدى إلى تقشف حاد في الميزانية، نتج عنه استثمار محدود فقط في البنية التحتية الاجتماعية وتزايد الاعتماد على الضرائب غير المباشرة. وبالتالي اتسعت الفجوة أكثر بين الأغنياء والفقراء، وبين بيروت والمحافظات النائية. في عام 1998، أصبحت نسبة ضئيلة من اللبنانيين غنية جداً، في حين أن واحداً من ثلاثة كان يعيش تحت خط الفقر. مع ذلك انتعشت الديمقراطية، نوعاً ما. وفي صيف عام 1998، أجريت في لبنان أول انتخابات بلدية منذ 35 عاماً.

فترة إعادة الإعمار هذه لم تكن سلمية بالكامل. استمرت إسرائيل باحتلال جزء كبير من جنوب لبنان كانت تعتبرها منطقة عازلة. واستمر حزب الله في مقاومته المسلحة ضد القوات المسلحة الإسرائيلية وأعوانها – جيش لبنان الجنوبي. في نهاية شهر تموز/يوليو 1993، بدأت إسرائيل ما سمي لاحقاً بـ “حرب الأيام السبعة”، رداً منها على الهجمات الصاروخية لحزب الله على قرية إسرائيلية. تم التوصل إلى وقف إطلاق النار بعد أسبوع، وذلك عن طريق التفاوض تحت رعاية الولايات المتحدة. ولكن مرة أخرى، لم يُحترم وقفُ إطلاق النار هذا بالكامل. ففي نيسان/أبريل 1996 بدأت إسرائيل بهجوم عسكري كبير آخر، رداً على إطلاق حزب الله 30 صاروخاً على إسرائيل، والذي كان بدوره رداً على مقتل عدد من المدنيين على يد قوات الجيش الإسرائيلي – والذي اعترفت إسرائيل في وقت لاحق أنه كان عن طريق الخطأ. وقد أسفرت “حرب نيسان” تلك، والتي استمرت 16 يوماً، عن مقتل ما يقرب من 300 مدني، كان معظمهم من قرية قانا. وكانت الأضرار جسيمة. وقد أتاح الاتفاق الذي أنهيت بموجبه تلك الحرب لحزب الله مواصلة مقاومته المسلحة.

عام 1998 تم انتخاب العماد إميل لحود رئيساً للبلاد، إبان الأزمة الاقتصادية العالمية. وكان إميل لحود موالياً لسوريا بقوة، واختلف مع رفيق الحريري، وعين سليم الحص رئيساً للوزراء. وكانت مهمة حكومة الحص الإصلاح الاقتصادي. ولكن السياسة التقشفية والتدابير الضريبية التي تبنتها لم تحظَ بشعبية، ورغم أن الليرة اللبنانية في تلك الفترة قد اكتسبت قوة وأموال الدولة في طريقها إلى الانتعاش، فاز الحريري بانتخابات عام 2000 بأغلبية ساحقة، وأصبح رئيساً للوزراء مرة أخرى. ومع ذلك، بقي على علاقة غير جيدة مع الرئيس لحود، وبشكل متزايد مع الموالين لسوريا. مع أن مجلس الأمن أصدر في أيلول/سبتمبر 2004 قراره رقم 1559 (مبادرة فرنسية مدعومة من قبل الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية) الذي طالب فيه بانسحاب “كل القوات الأجنبية المتبقية – أي السورية”، فضلاً عن نزع سلاح حزب الله المدعوم من قبل سوريا، إلا أن هذا لم يُحَسِّنْ العلاقات، وكانت فرنسا قد اتخذت زمام هذه المبادرة بدعم من الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2004، قدم الحريري استقالة حكومته. وخلفه عمر كرامي، الذي شغل ذلك المنصب من قبل، والذي كان – مثل لحود – ينتمي إلى المعسكر “الموالي لسوريا”.

اغتيال الحريري

في 14 شباط/فبراير 2005 اغتيل رفيق الحريري في انفجار هائل لشاحنة ملغومة (مع 22 شخصاً آخرين) في شوارع بيروت. وأشار الكثيرون بأصابع الاتهام إلى سوريا بأنها كانت المحرض على ذلك. حفز هذا الجماعات المؤيدة لسوريا لتنظيم مظاهرة كبيرة في 8 آذار/مارس، حيث لعب حزب الله وحركة أمل دوراً محورياً، مع بعض العلمانيين والروم الكاثوليك والجماعات المارونية، مثل التيار الوطني الحر بقيادة ميشيل عون الذي كان قد عاد لتوه إلى بلاده بعد 15 عاماً قضاها في منفاه في فرنسا.

تكرر هذا الاتهام ضد سوريا بشكل واضح في تقرير لجنة التحقيق الدولية التابعة للأمم المتحدة، والتي ترأسها ديتليف ميليس، والذي تم تعيينها بعد مقتل الحريري بشهرين. وقد قوبل التقرير واستنتاجات ميليس السابقة لأوانها بانتقادات شديدة، لا سيما في الأوساط السورية. عام 2007، تم إنشاء محكمة الأمم المتحدة الخاصة بلبنان بغرض “محاكمة المشتبه بهم في اغتيال رفيق الحريري”. وبعد ذلك بعامين، تم تنصيب تلك المحكمة بشكل فعلي، والتي تقع بالقرب من لاهاي في هولندا، وحلف أعضاؤها اليمين القانونية. تم إطلاق سراح خمسة من المشتبه بهم لعدم كفاية الأدلة. وفي ربيع عام 2010، استجوب محققو تلك المحكمة عدة أعضاء من حزب الله.”.

كان اغتيال الحريري واحداً في سلسلة من جرائم ذات دوافع سياسية، أو محاولات اغتيال لرجال سياسية وصحفيين، لا سيما بين عامي 2004 و 2006. وقد تعرض اثنان من رجال سياسية وصحفيَّين إما للقتل أو للإصابة بجروح خطرة خلال تلك الفترة، والتي شهدت أيضاً العديد من التفجيرات الأخرى في بيروت وما حولها. وبعد اغتيال الحريري، احتشد الكثيرون، خاصة من الشباب، في ساحة الشهداء في وسط بيروت حيث دفن الحريري. وكان الهدف من تجمع تلك الحشود – والتي بلغت ذروتها بتحولها إلى مظاهرة ضخمة في 14 آذار/مارس، ليس فقط إظهار الشعبية التي كان يتمتع بها الحريري – الذي، خلافاً لمعظم القادة السياسيين الآخرين، لم يكن سليل عشيرة حاكمة، وإنما رجلاً عصامياً من أصول سنية فقيرة – ولكن أيضاً إرادة جزء كبير من الشعب اللبناني للتغلب على الصدوع الموجودة بين الطوائف الدينية. وأخيراً وليس آخراً، طالب المتظاهرون برحيل القوات السورية وفق قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 1559. بل أدت هذه الحشود المتظاهرة في نهاية المطاف إلى ظهور تحالف 14 آذار/مارس، وهو تحالف كبير حول “تيار المستقبل“، بزعامة سعد ابن رفيق الحريري، والذي يتميز بموقف الولاء للغرب ومناهضة سوريا، ويتألف بشكل رئيسي من أحزاب السنة والموارنة والدروز، ويشمل أيضاً بعض رجال السياسة من الشيعة وبعض المجموعات العلمانية.

كما أدت المظاهرات الاحتجاجية ضد مقتل الحريري والوجود العسكري السوري إلى مظاهرات معاكسة، كانت بعضها كبيرة، قامت بها جماعات موالية لسوريا وتنطوي تحت مظلة حزب الله. كما أدت تلك المظاهرات المعاكسة بدورها إلى ظهور حركة 8 آذار/مارس، والتي تتمحور حول حزب الله وحركة أمل، مع بعض العناصر العلمانية والمسيحية (روم كاثوليك وموارنة)، مثل التيار الوطني الحر – الذي كان في البداية مستقلاً – بقيادة ميشيل عون، والذي عاد إلى بلاده بعد أن قضى 15 عاماً في المنفى.

كان من المقرر أن تنتهي ولاية الرئيس إميل لحود في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2004، لكن البرلمان صوَّت على قانون يسمح له بالبقاء في منصبه لفترة ثلاث سنوات أخرى – بعد توصية قوية من سوريا، وفق ناقدي لحود – حتى أن تقرير الأمم المتحدة بشأن التحقيق في اغتيال الحريري يتكلم عن تهديد.

في الانتخابات البرلمانية التي جرت في الفترة ما بين أيار/مايو وحزيران/يونيو 2005، فاز تحالف 14 آذار – بما في ذلك تيار المستقبل بزعامة الحريري والحزب التقدمي الاشتراكي بزعامة وليد جنبلاط – بـ 72 مقعداً من أصل 128. وفاز تحالف حركة أمل وحزب الله اللذين توحدا تحت راية حركة 8 آذار بـ 35 مقعداً. في حين فاز ميشيل عون، الذي اتحد مع رئيس الوزراء السابق سليمان فرنجية، بـ 21 مقعداً. واتُّهِمَ الفائزون بالتزوير وشراء أصوات الناخبين. في أحياء كثيرة، حيث كل واحد منها مخصص لطائفة دينية معينة كالمعتاد، لم يكن لدى الناخبين خياراً، إذ لم يكن أمامهم سوى مرشح واحد و/أو قائمة واحدة فقط – سواء كانت هذه الأحياء في دائرة الأغلبية أو المعارضة. وفي بعض الأحياء ضمت القوائم الأطراف الحاكمة والمعارضة. وأخيراً، تم توزيع الانتخابات على أربعة أيام آحاد، وأضاف ذلك على العوامل الأخرى التي جعلت الانتخابات بعيدة عن الكمال.

لبنان الحريري بوش
رفيق الحريري مع الرئيس الامريكي جورج بوش

تم تعيين فؤاد السنيورة، الذي كان يشغل منصب وزير المالية في وزارة رفيق الحريري، رئيساً للوزراء وتولى مهام منصبه في تموز/يوليو. ولأول مرة يضم مجلس الوزراء عضواً من حزب الله وحليفاً مقرّباً جداً منه. وبالفعل، في 10 حزيران/يونيو 2005 صرح زعيم حزب الله حسن نصر الله، قائلاً: “من الآن فصاعداً نحن مستعدون لتحمل المسؤولية الكاملة على جميع مستويات مؤسسات الدولة”. ولقي السنيورة ثناءً على نطاق واسع لتعامله البارع مع الوضع الدقيق وجهوده التي بذلها لاستعادة شكل من أشكال الوحدة الوطنية، وإن كانت هشة.

 

لبننا الحريري
الانفجار الذي اودي بحياة الحريري

 

لبنان الحريري
اعتصامات في بيروت للمطالبة بكشف الحقيقة وراء اغتيال الحريري

 

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Past to Present / Second Republic (since 1990) / Reconstruction and reconciliation (1990 – 2005)

Reconstruction and reconciliation (1990 – 2005)

Prime Minister Rafic Hariri and US President George W. Bush in Washington DC, USA, in 2002
Prime Minister Rafic Hariri and US President George W. Bush in Washington DC, USA, in 2002

However successful in the political and diplomatic field, the economy was in a dire state, with wages plummeting, prompting strikes and riots. Karameh stepped down in May 1992. Rashid al-Solh governed the country until the elections in August 1992 – the first parliamentary elections since 1972. These elections – heavily gerrymandered and boycotted by several Maronite leaders – brought self-made man (earning his fortune in the Saudi Arabian construction industry) and billionaire Rafic Hariri to power. As Prime Minister, he undertook a huge reconstruction programme, aiming chiefly at the rebuilding and renovation of the capital, Beirut. This reconstruction programme – including prestigious projects such as the rebuilding of the Grand Serail, the monumental Government Palace built in the 19th century and heavily damaged – made considerable progress. As a businessman, Hariri knew how to attract investors from the oil producing countries. Even before becoming Prime Minister, he had invested large amounts of money in Lebanese real estate, like so many of his compatriots who had left the country.

This reconstruction came at a price, though. It was financed through borrowing, and led to a huge governmental debt load. Tax rates were reduced to attract and encourage investment. This in turn led to severe budgetary austerity, resulting in limited investment in Lebanon’s social infrastructure and a growing reliance on indirect taxation. Hence, the gap between rich and poor – and between Beirut and the peripheral provinces – increased considerably. A small proportion of Lebanese became very rich, with one in three living below the poverty line in 1998. Democracy, though, was partially revived. In the summer of 1998, Lebanon held its first municipal elections in 35 years.

Yet even this reconstruction period was not entirely peaceful. Israel continued to occupy a large part of southern Lebanon, which it considered a buffer zone. Hezbollah continued its armed resistance against the Israeli Armed Forces and its Lebanese collaborators, the South Lebanon Army (SLA). Late July 1993, Israel started what was later called the Seven Day War, after Hezbollah rocket attacks on an Israeli village. A ceasefire was reached after a week, negotiated under the auspices of the United States. But again, this ceasefire was not fully respected. In April 1996, Israel launched another big military offensive, which resulted in some 300 civilian deaths, in particular in the Qana village. The damage was considerable. The agreement ending this war allowed Hezbollah to continue its armed resistance.

In 1998, general Émile Lahoud was elected president, in the context of an international economic crisis. Lahoud, who was staunchly pro-Syrian, clashed with Hariri and appointed Salim al-Hoss as Prime Minister. Al-Hoss’ cabinet had the task of reforming the economy. Its austere policy and tax measures, however, were unpopular and although the Lebanese pound gained strength and the finances of the state were on their way to recovery, Hariri won the 2000 elections by a landslide and was reinstated as Prime Minister. However, he was still on bad terms with President Lahoud and, increasingly so, with his Syrian backers. In September 2004, UN Security Council Resolution 1559 (a French initiative supported by the US), demanding the withdrawal of ‘all remaining foreign [i.e. Syrian] forces’ as well as the disarmament of Syrian-backed Hezbollah, did not ease relations. In October 2004, Hariri presented the resignation of his government. Omar Karameh, who had been Prime Minister before and, like Lahoud, was said to belong to the ‘pro-Syrian camp’, succeeded him.

Assassination of Hariri

Moments after the bombing attack that killed Rafic Hariri and 21 others, on 14 Februari 2005
Moments after the bombing attack that killed Rafic Hariri and 21 others, on 14 Februari 2005
On 14 February 2005, a massive truck bomb killed Rafic Hariri (together with 22 others) on the streets of Beirut. Many pointed fingers at Syria as the instigator. This spurred pro-Syrian groups to organize a big demonstration on March 8, in which Hezbollah and Amal played a central role, with some secular and Greek Catholic and Maronite groups, like the Free Patriotic Movement, led by Michel Aoun, who had just returned to his country after fifteen years of exile in France. The accusations against Syria were explicitly repeated in the report of a UN investigation commission, led by Detlev Mehlis, appointed a couple of months after the murder. Both the report and Mehlis’ rather premature conclusions were met with fierce criticism, particularly in (pro-)Syrian circles. In 2007, a Special UN Tribunal for Lebanon was created to ‘try suspects in assassination of Hariri’. Two years later, the Tribunal, located near The Hague in the Netherlands, was instated and its members sworn in. Five suspects were released for lack of evidence. In the spring of 2010, the Tribunal’s investigators questioned several members of Hezbollah.

The Hariri murder was one in a series of politically motivated murders or attempted murders of politicians and journalists, particularly between 2004 and 2006. Two other politicians and two journalists were either killed or seriously injured during that period, which also saw many bomb blasts in and around Beirut. After the murder of Hariri, large gatherings of mainly young people took place on the symbolically named Martyrs Square in central Beirut, where Hariri was buried. These gatherings, culminating in a massive demonstration on the 14th of March, were meant not only to express the popularity of Hariri – who, as opposed to most other political leaders, was not a descendent of a ruling clan, but a self-made man of poor Sunni origin – but also the will of a large part of the Lebanese people to overcome the fractures between religious communities. Last but not least, the demonstrators demanded the departure of the Syrian troops, in conformity with UNSC Resolution 1559. These demonstrative gatherings eventually led to the creation of the March 14 Alliance, a large coalition around the late Hariri’s Future Movement, headed by Hariri’s son Saad, characterized by a pro-western, anti-Syrian stance, and composed mainly of Sunni, Maronite and Druze parties, but including some Shiite politicians and small secular groups.

Demonstration for the remembrance of Rafic Hariri, and against the Syrian presence in Lebanon
Demonstration for the remembrance of Rafic Hariri, and against the Syrian presence in Lebanon

President Émile Lahoud’s term was supposed to end in October 2004. However, the Parliament had voted for a law allowing him to remain in office for another three years – having been strongly ‘advised’ to do so by Syria, according to Lahoud’s critics – the UN report on the Hariri investigation even speaks of intimidation. In the May and June 2005 parliamentary elections, the March 14 Alliance – including both Hariri’s Future Movement and Druze leader Jumblatt’s Progressive Socialist Party – won 72 out of the 128 seats. The Amal-Hezbollah coalition, united under the March 8 Movement banner, won 35 seats. Michel Aoun, who joined forces with Suleiman Franjieh, won 21. The winners were accused of fraud and buying votes. In several districts, each of which was, as usual, assigned to a particular religious community, voters had no choice, as there was only one candidate and/or one list – regardless of whether these districts belonged to the majority or the opposition. In some districts the lists even combined the ruling parties and the opposition. Finally, the elections were spread out over four Sundays. These and other factors made the elections far from perfect.

Fouad Siniora, who was Rafic Hariri’s Finance Minister, was appointed Prime Minister and took office in July. For the first time, the cabinet included one Hezbollah member and one very close ally. Indeed, on 10 June 2005 Hezbollah leader Nasrallah announced: ‘From now on we are prepared to take full responsibility at all levels of state institutions.’ Siniora was widely praised for his adroit handling of the delicate situation and his efforts to restore a form of national unity, however fragile.

Further Reading

Fanack’s Lebanon country file provides a comprehensive overview about Lebanon, its history, politics, culture, economy...
Fanack presents an overview of Lebanon’s history from its present to its past, attempting to get through the conclusiv...
In the wake of the killing, thousands of Hariri supporters held rallies in Beirut, pointing the finger of blame at Syria...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©US State Department | JOSEPH BARRAK / AFP ©AFP | RAMZI HAIDAR / AFP ©AFP

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!