فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / من الماضي الى الحاضر / مغادرة الشباب اللبناني لبلادهم قد تحمل في طياتها فرصةً للمستقبل

مغادرة الشباب اللبناني لبلادهم قد تحمل في طياتها فرصةً للمستقبل

Lebanese protestors
متظاهرة مناهضة للحكومة تحمل العلم اللبناني وتمر من أمام أحد النوافذ المكسورة في وسط العاصمة بيروت، في 24 أكتوبر 2019. Photo: IBRAHIM AMRO / AFP

فلورينس ماسينا

انعدام الاستقرار السياسي والفساد والأزمة الاقتصادية المستمرة التي دفعت بالآلاف إلى الفقر المدقع، وانفجارٌ دمر بعض أشهر أحياء بيروت، تعدّ هذه من بين الأسباب الرئيسية التي تجعل المستقبل بعيداً كل البعد عن تباشير الخير لآلاف الشباب اللبناني الذين باتوا يتخذون اليوم خياراً بالهجرة بعيداً عن أسرهم وديارهم. لكن على المدى الطويل، قد تحمل هذه الفرصة في طياتها تألق لبنان من جديد.

حتى تاريخه، مر عامٌ على معاناة البلاد من أسوء أزمةٍ اقتصادية، المعروفة رسمياً باسم “أزمة السيولة اللبنانية.” لأكثر من عشرين عاماً، تم ربط الليرة اللبنانية بالدولار لمنع التضخم المفرط والانهيار الاقتصادي بعد نهاية الحرب الأهلية في عام 1990، بسعر صرفٍ ثابتٍ للدولار قدره 1500 ليرة. ومنذ ذلك الحين، انزلق ربط الليرة واختفى المعروض من الدولار في البلاد، إذ فاقم ذلك العقوبات الأمريكية المفروضة على حزب الله المدعوم من إيران وأزمة فيروس كورونا. وعليه، كانت النتيجة إغلاق 785 مطعماً ومقهى بين سبتمبر 2019 وفبراير 2020، مما أدى إلى فقدان 25 ألف موظف وظائفهم، كما ارتفعت أسعار السلع الاستهلاكية بنسبة 58% منذ أكتوبر 2019.

وقبل عام، اجتاحت حركة احتجاجية ضخمة شوارع المدن الرئيسية في لبنان للمطالبة بتغييرٍ حكومي حازم، الذي لا يزال حبراً على ورق حتى الآن على الرغم من تفاقم الأزمة. ففي عام 2019، بلغ معدل البطالة للأشخاص الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 15 و24 عاماً 17,61% وفقاً لمنظمة العمل الدولية. وفي ظل هذا المناخ الحالي، لا يزال عدد قليل من الناس يرغبون في التمسك ببلدهم والبقاء، لكن لا خيار أمام الآخرين، بسبب قلة الإمكانيات في الخارج والفقر وقيود السفر.

هذا هو حال كين رحال، فنانٌ يبلغ من العمر 23 عاماً، تقدم بطلب للذهاب إلى أوروبا ولكن تم رفض طلبه الأول بالذهاب إلى فرنسا، وبحسب ما قاله لفَنَك: “قررت المغادرة قبل حدوث الانفجار،” وأضاف “عانيت من مشاكل عاطفية ولم أتمكن من إيجاد مكانٍ لي في مجتمعي وفي بلدي، كما أن عائلتي لا تدعمني. الأمر صعبٌ للغاية، لذلك قررت المغادرة. الأسعار أيضاً خارجة عن السيطرة، لا يزال بإمكاني شراء الطعام ولكن القليل جداً من الأشياء. أتساءل كيف يتعامل الناس مع الأمر، بل أعتقد أنهم لا يستطيعون ذلك. والأهم من موضوع الأسعار، يشعر الناس بالاكتئاب الشديد طوال الوقت، وأشعر بالاكتئاب الشديد أيضاً. سأنتظر وأرى حتى أجد حلاً للمغادرة، لكن يمكنني أن أرى أن كل من حولي محبط وجميع الأشخاص الذين أعرفهم في طريقهم إلى المغادرة.”

بينما يتمتع البعض الآخر بمستوى تعليمي عالٍ ويمكنهم بالتالي التقدم إلى البلدان التي ترغب في قبول المهنيين الشباب. فعلى سبيل المثال، ملحم صليبا، وهو مهندسٌ مدني يبلغ من العمر 30 عاماً، وصديقته، في منتصف طلبهما للانتقال إلى كندا. كلاهما يتحدثان الفرنسية والإنجليزية وهما متفائلان بشأن فرصهما بسبب شهاداتهما. قال صليبا لفَنَك: “سنتزوج ونأمل أن نتمكن من وصول كندا بحلول منتصف عام 2021 أو بحد أقصى نهاية العام المقبل.” وأضاف “بصدق، نريد الخروج بأسرع ما يمكن. لم أكن أرغب في ذلك عند إنتهائي من دراستي، لكن مع مرور السنوات بدأت أعرف المزيد عن البلد والتقيت بصديقتي، وانتهى بنا الأمر إلى إدراك أننا لا نستطيع الحفاظ على حياة حقيقية هنا، حتى وإن كان وضعنا المالي جيد. مع كل ما يحدث والانفجار، قررنا أننا بحاجة إلى المغادرة هذا الصيف.”

أن تترك بلدك يعني أن تترك خلفك أسرتك وأحبائك، وهو قرارٌ لا يتخذه الأشخاص هنا بسهولة، وبحسب ما قاله صليبا “أود البقاء والإعتناء بهم بما أننا لا نحظى بأي أمنٍ أو مساعدةٍ من الحكومة عند تقدمنا بالسن.” وتابع القول “إلا أن والداي من طلبا مني المغاردة. يتوجب علي مساعدتهم من الخارج. عليك أن تفهم أننا لم نتخذ قرار المغادرة بإرادةٍ حرة، فنحن لسنا سعداء بهذا. نشعر وكأنه يتم طردنا من هنا، وإذا ما أردنا أن نحظى بحياةٍ مستقرة فلا بد أن يكون هذا في مكانٍ آخر.”

وبالفعل، غادر شبابٌ آخرون، إما للعمل أو للتعليم، ويواجهون اليوم قراراً بالبقاء في الخارج. ميلاني أبو خليل، 23 عاماً، تخرجت للتو بتخصص العلاقات الإنسانية من مونتريال، حيث غادرت منذ أن كان عمرها 18 عاماً. كان من المفترض أن يكون صيف 2020 هو الوقت الذي ستعود فيه لإيجاد وظيفةٍ في بلدها والبقاء في نهاية المطاف بالقرب من عائلتها بعد خمس سنواتٍ قضتها في الخارج. قالت لفَنَك: “عندما غادرت لأول مرة، شعرت أني بحاجة إلى شيء أكبر، أكثر مما يمكن أن تقدمه لي بلدي في ذلك الوقت.” وأضافت “اعتقدت أنه يمكنني العودة وإحضار ما تعلمته معي، لأفعل شيئاً من أجل بلدي. ولكن مع مرور السنوات، كانت كل زيارة أكثر صعوبة، وأصبح الناس أكثر إحباطًا وأقل سعادة. شعرت أنه حتى لو كان لديك المال، فستظل غير مستقر، بدون أمن أو حكم سليم. وكان هذا الصيف هو الأسوأ، إنه بالفعل كابوس. اعتدت أن أكون مفعمةً بالأمل! الآن أقول للجميع أن يغادروا إذا استطاعوا، فقد فقدت الأمل في بلدي وحكومتي والشعب أيضاً. عندما غادرت في نهاية الصيف، كانت تلك هي المرة الأولى التي أشعر فيها بالسعادة لذلك، حتى مع تركي والداي، لأني أشعر أنني أستطيع مساعدتهم بشكل أفضل من الخارج.”

يمكن أن يكون لمساعدة لبنان من الخارج تأثيرٌ إيجابي على المدى الطويل، كما اختارت الدكتورة هناء آدم الغالي، مديرة برامج التعليم والشباب في معهد عصام فارس، أن تصدق. فقد كانت بالفعل جزءاً من حدثٍ تم في فبراير 2020 حول احتجاجات أكتوبر وسأل أحد المشاركين المتحدثين، التي كانت أحدهم: “هل ستخبرون الشباب بالبقاء أو مغادرة لبنان؟”.”لقد كان سؤالاً عاطفياً للغاية،” على حد تعبير الغالي، التي أضافت “بالطبع، إنه موضوع يتردد صداه منذ الحرب الأهلية: الناس يغادرون البلاد على أساس منتظم. أنا نفسي غادرت وعدت. ما لاحظناه هو أنه كان هناك هجرة هائلة للأدمغة خلال 2019، خاصة مع تأثر الطبقة الوسطى مالياً. لدي زميل يستطيع تحمل نفقات المدارس الخاصة لابنه وابنته، حيث اضطر كليهما إلى ترك المدرسة، وبينما تمكنت ابنته من العثور على مدرسة في ألمانيا، لا يزال يبحث عن حلٍ لابنه. الأشخاص الذين يمكنهم متابعة التعليم والأشخاص الحاصلين على تعليم عال هم الأكثر احتمالاً للمغادرة اليوم. لدينا انخفاض كبير في معدلات الالتحاق بالجامعات، لكن لن يكشف أحد عن الأرقام.”

وبدلاً من الشعور بالحزن حيال ذلك، اختارت الغالي أن ترى الوضع على أنه فرصة للبلاد: “آمل أن تأخذ الأمور مجرى ما حصل بعد الحرب الأهلية، عندما بدأ الناس في إرسال الأموال إلى لبنان. لذا ربما يجب أن ننظر إليه على أنه شيء إيجابي؟ ربما تأتي الاستثمارات بهذه الطريقة على المدى الطويل.”

على الرغم من الخسائر والأزمة، لا تزال حقيقة أن جزءاً من سكان لبنان يتمتعون بفرصٍ لخلق حياةٍ وتطوير مشوارٍ مهني وإرسال الأموال إلى الوطن وسيلةً للبقاء على قيد الحياة على المدى الطويل. ودون أي حل آخر، قد يكون الاستثمار في المستقبل أحد الطرق الوحيدة لابتداع ما هو أفضل في غضون عقد أو عقدين من الزمان. لكن لا ينبغي أن يقوم هذا الأمل على تمزيق أواصر الأسر.

إقرأ المزيد

ومن الأمثلة الأكثر شهرة لمبادرة ناجحة لمنع التطرف في لبنان هو مشر...
لم يعتقد الكثيرون أن هذا ممكن، ذلك أن الخوف اللبناني من حربٍ أهلية...
علاوةً على ذلك، تبرز انقساماتٌ في صفوف الطبقة السياسية حول إجراء ...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: IBRAHIM AMRO ©AFP | IBRAHIM AMRO ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Past to Present / The youth leaving Lebanon could be an opportunity for the future

The youth leaving Lebanon could be an opportunity for the future

Lebanese protestors
An anti-government protester walks with a Lebanese national flag past a broken window in downtown Beirut, October 24, 2019. Photo: IBRAHIM AMRO / AFP

By: Florence Massena

Political instability, corruption, an ongoing economic crisis that sent thousands of people to extreme poverty, and a blast that destroyed some of the most famous neighborhoods of Beirut. Those are among the main reasons why the future doesn’t look very promising to thousands of young Lebanese people who are now making the choice to leave their family and country behind. But on the long term, it could become an opportunity for Lebanon to shine again.

It has been a year that the country is facing its worst economical crisis to date, officially called the “Lebanese liquidity crisis”. For over 20 years, the Lebanese lira has been pegged to the dollar to prevent hyperinflation and economic collapse following the end of the civil war in 1990, with $1 corresponding to a fixed rate of 1,500 lira. The lira peg has since slipped and the country’s supply of dollars has disappeared. This has been exacerbated by the US sanctions against Iran-backed party Hezbollah and the COVID-19 crisis. The result is that 785 restaurants and cafes closed between September 2019 and February 2020, resulting in 25,000 employees losing their job, and that consumer goods prices have increased by 58% since October 2019.

A year ago, a massive movement of protests took over the streets in the main cities of Lebanon to demand a firm governmental change, which is still unanswered till now despite an ever growing crisis. In 2019, the unemployment rate for people between 15 and 24 years old was of 17.61% according to the International Labor Organization. Within that current climate, only a few handful of people still want to hang on to their country and stay. The others don’t have a choice, due to the lack of possibilities abroad, poverty, and travel restrictions.

This is the case of Kenn Rahal, a 23 year-old artist who applied to go to Europe but was denied his first application to France. “I decided to move before even the explosion happened”, he told Fanack. “I have had emotional issues, I can’t find my place in my community and my country, and my family doesn’t support me. It’s very hard, so I decided to leave. The prices are also beyond control, I can still afford food but very little things. I wonder how people are dealing with it. I guess they can’t. More than the prices, people are just so depressed all the time. I feel very depressed too. I’m going to wait and see until I can find a solution to leave, but I can see that everyone around me is discouraged, all the people I know are in the process of leaving.”

Others are a high level of education and can therefore apply to countries willing to accept young professionals. For example, Melhem Saliba, a 30 year-old civil engineer, and his girlfriend, are in the middle of their application to move to Canada. They both speak French and English and are optimistic about their chances because of their degrees. “We’ll get married and we hope that we’ll be able to go by mid-2021 or maximum at the end of next year”, Saliba told Fanack. “We want to get out as fast as possible honestly. I didn’t want to at the end of my studies but as the years went by I began to know more about the country and I met my girlfriend, and we both ended up realizing we cannot sustain a real life here, even by doing financially okay. With everything going on and the blast, we decided we needed to go this summer.”

Leaving ones country means leaving behind family and loved ones, and it’s a decision people are not taking easily. “I would like to stay and take care of them since we have no security or help from the government when we get old here”, Saliba said. “But my parents came to me and told me to leave. I will have to help them from outside. You have to understand it is not by sheer will that we’re leaving, we’re not happy about it. It’s like we’re getting kicked out of here, if we want a stable life we have to take it somewhere else.”

Other young people had already left, either for work or educational reasons, and are now facing the decision of having to stay abroad. Melanie Abou Khalil, 23, has just graduated in Human Relations in Montreal, where she has been leaving since she was 18 years old. Summer 2020 was supposed to be the time she would have come back to find a job in her country and eventually stay close to her family after five years abroad. “When I first left, I felt like I needed something bigger, more than my country could offer me at the time”, she told Fanack. “I thought I could come back and bring what I learned with me, to do something for my country. But as the years passed each visit was harder, the people more demotivated and less happy. It felt like even if you had money, you would still be unstable, without security or proper governance. And this summer was the worst, it really is a nightmare. I used to be so full of hope! Now I tell everyone to go if they can. I lost hope in my country, my government, and the people in my country. When I left at the end of the summer, that was the first time I was happy about it. Even leaving my parents, because I feel I can help them better from outside.”

Helping Lebanon from outside could be a positive impact on the long term, as Dr Hana Addam El-Ghali, education and youth program director at the Issam Fares Institute, chooses to believe. She had already been part of an event in February 2020 about the October revolution and a participant had asked the panelists, which she was part of: “Would you tell to the youth to stay or leave Lebanon?”. “That was a very emotional question”, El-Ghali told Fanack. “Of course, it’s a topic from the Civil war: people leave the country on regular basis. I myself left, and I came back. What we have noticed is that there has been a huge brain drain since 2019, especially with the middle class being so affected financially. I have a colleague who could afford private schools to both his son and his daughter. They both had to drop out, and while his daughter managed to find a school in Germany, he’s still looking for a solution for his son. People who can pursue an education and people with high education are the most likely to go now. We have a huge drop in enrollment in the universities, but no one will disclose numbers.”

Instead of feeling sad about it, El-Ghali chooses to see the situation as an opportunity for the country: “I hope this will do like after the Civil war, when people started sending money to their country. So maybe we should see it as a positive thing? Maybe investments will come this way in the long term.”

Despite the losses and the crisis, the fact that a part of Lebanon’s population can have opportunities to create a life, develop a career and send money home is still a way of surviving on the long run. Without any other solution, investing in the future could be one of the only ways to create something better in one or two decades. But this hope shouldn’t be based on tearing families apart.

Further reading

The most famous example of a successful initiative to prevent radicalization in Lebanon is a project by the NGO MARCH in...
Many never believed it would happen, as the Lebanese fear of another civil war if they let go of their political leaders...
The political class is also divided over whether to hold early elections. These divisions reflect the fault lines that d...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: IBRAHIM AMRO ©AFP | IBRAHIM AMRO ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!