فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / حقوق الإنسان في لبنان / قانون تجريم التعذيب الجديد في لبنان: خطوة جيدة ولكنها غير كاملة

قانون تجريم التعذيب الجديد في لبنان: خطوة جيدة ولكنها غير كاملة

Lebanon- Hamza al-Khatib
رجال من المسلمين السُنة في لبنان يحملون صور الفتى السوري، حمزة الخطيب، 13 عاماً، الذي يُزعم تعرضه للتعذيب والقتل على أيدي قوات الأمن اللبنانية خلال مظاهرةٍ مناهضة للنظام السوري في حي القبة السُني في مدينة طرابلس الساحلية، شمال بيروت، في 24 يونيو 2011. Photo AFP

لن يتعرض المعتقلون في لبنان، بعد اليوم، للتعذيب، وفقاً لقانونٍ أقره مجلس النواب في أواخر سبتمبر 2017، إذ بات يُجرّم تعديلٌ على المادة 401 من قانون العقوبات استخدام التعذيب لانتزاع الاعترافات. ومع ذلك، تقول منظمات حقوق الإنسان المحلية والدولية على حد سواء أن القانون لم يقطع شوطاً كافياً.

فقد جاءت خطوة لبنان الأولى نحو المزيد من التنظيم في أكتوبر 2016، عندما أقر البرلمان قانوناً لإنشاء الهيئة الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان، التي تضم لجنةً مستقلة للتحقيق في استخدام التعذيب وإصدار توصياتٍ لتحسين معاملة المحتجزين. وبعد أكثر من عام، لم يتم بعد تعيين أعضاء هذه اللجنة، مما حال دون تشغيلها الفعلي.

ومع ذلك، يُقصد من تعديل المادة 401 تكمله هذا القانون. ويأتي هذا بالرغم من حقيقة أن 72% من اللبنانيين يؤمنون أن التعذيب مبرر ضد المشتبه بهم بقضايا تتعلق بالإرهاب، وذلك وفقاً لدراسة أجراها مركز أبحاث بيو عام 2015 في 38 بلداً. ففي يوليو، اعتقل الجيش اللبناني حوالي 350 لاجىء سوري “يشتبه بكونهم إرهابيين” في بلدة عرسال الحدودية. وفي وقتٍ لاحق، توفي أربعة منهم في الحجز. كما تعرضت أيضاً ديالا شحادة، المحامية الممثلة لأسرهم، للتعقب والتهديد والتخويف من قِبل القوى الأمنية أثناء محاولتها تحديد أسباب وفاة الضحايا.

ادعت التقارير الرسمية أن العنف البدني لم يسبب وفاة المحتجزين، إلا أن منظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش اعترضت على ذلك في تقريرٍ نشر في 20 يوليو 2017 جاء فيه: “هناك أدلة إضافية تدعم روايات إساءة المعاملة والتعذيب أثناء الاعتقالات في عرسال ومراكز الاحتجاز العسكرية. قال شاهد في عرسال لـ هيومن رايتس ووتش إنه شاهد 34 معتقلاً سابقاً لديهم علامات على أيديهم وأرجلهم وظهورهم، وفي إحدى الحالات على رأس محتجز سابق. تحدثت هيومن رايتس ووتش مع 5 معتقلين سابقين، قالوا إنهم تعرضوا لسوء المعاملة والاعتداء البدني وحُرموا من الطعام والماء مع عدد من المعتقلين الآخرين خلال فترة تتراوح من 4 إلى 5 أيام من الاحتجاز دون تهمة قبل الإفراج عنهم.”

وبالتالي، يمكن القول إن إقرار قانونٍ مناسب قد تأخر كثيراً. ففي نهاية المطاف، خفف مُقترح قانون مناهضة التعذيب، الذي صاغه النائب غسان مخيبر في عام 2012 بمساعدة محامين حقوقيين ومنظمات حقوق الإنسان، إلى تعديلٍ على القانون بعد أن لطّف البرلمان النص.

أثار ذلك غضب نشطاء حقوق الإنسان الذين تمت استشارتهم حول مشروع القانون الأصلي. وقال سعد الدين شاتيلا، الناشط الحقوقي ومدير مكتب بيروت لمنظمة الكرامة لحقوق الانسان، لصحيفة الديلي ستار: “تم تعديل تعريف التعذيب والعقاب لقانون المشروع بشكلٍ سيء. استند تعريفنا الأصلي على [التعريف الذي تستخدمه لجنة الأمم المتحدة لمناهضة التعذيب] والذي يتضمن أفعالاً تعرّف بأنها سوء معاملة. خفضّ هذا بشكلٍ كبير دون الإشارة إلى سوء المعاملة.”

وفي تقريرٍ لاحق نشر في 13 نوفمبر، ذكرت منظمة هيومن رايتس ووتش أن “القانون الجديد يحظر أي عذر أو تبرير للتعذيب ويمنع استخدام الشهادات المنتزعة تحت التعذيب كأدلة إلا ضد شخص متهم بارتكاب التعذيب، ويوفر إجراءات خاصة للتحقيق في ادعاءات التعذيب وحماية الشهود. كما يؤمن إعادة التأهيل والتعويض على الضحايا، ولكنه لا يتضمن أي تفصيل أو توجيه لتنفيذ هذه الأحكام. ولا يجرّم المعاملة أو العقوبة القاسية أو اللاإنسانية أو المهينة، ويحدد تعريف التعذيب في حالات التحقيق والاستجواب والتحقيق القضائي والمحكمة والعقاب.”

كما تعتمد العقوبات أيضاً على آثار التعذيب على الشخص، إذ تتراوح من سنة إلى 3 سنوات سجن للحالات التي لا تؤدي إلى أذى جسدي أو نفسي؛ ومن 3 إلى 7 سنوات إذا أدى إلى إعاقة مؤقتة أو أذى أو عطل جسدي أو عقلي؛ ومن 5 إلى 10 سنوات إذا كان العطل دائماً؛ ومن 10 إلى 20 سنة إذا أدى التعذيب إلى الموت.

وقال بسام خواجا، الباحث المتخصص في شؤون اللاجئين والكويت في الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا في هيومن رايتس ووتش في لقاء مع فَنَك: “يعتبر هذا القانون خطوة كبيرة إلى الأمام فيما يتعلق بقدرة لبنان مقاضاة حالات التعذيب. ففي السابق، لم يمتلك لبنان قانوناً يجرّم انتزاع الاعترافات تحت التعذيب. يوسّع هذا القانون الجديد تعريف التعذيب، ويفرض عقوباتٍ أكثر صرامة تتراوح ما بين السجن من سنة إلى 20 سنة، ويضع أسس إجراءات التحقيق بالتعذيب. ومع ذلك، لا يمتثل القانون لإلتزامات لبنان الدولية، وينبغي على لبنان تعديل القانون ليعكس التعريف المعترف به دولياً للتعذيب.”

إلا أن المحامية ديالا شحادة كانت أقل تفاؤلاً، بحجة أن القانون “غير كافٍ ولا يغطي حقاً الفجوات المتعلقة بالحقوق الإجرائية للمشتبه بهم على مستوى الاستجواب الأولي.” وأضافت “ربما كان من الأفضل السماح لممثلي المشتبه بهم الحضور في هذا المستوى، سواء حصل ذلك في الأمن العام، أو الجيش، أو في مركزٍ للشرطة.”

وعلى الرغم من أنه من السابق لأوانه الحكم على القانون، إلا أنه وفقاً لخواجا: “يتمثل الاختبار الحقيقي فيما إذا كان المدعون العامون سيستخدمونه فعلاً لتحقيق العدالة لضحايا التعذيب. القانون بحد ذاته أداة جديدة، إلا أن الإفلات من العقاب على جرائم التعذيب متفشٍ في لبنان. لن يتغير هذا إلى أن يستخدم المدعون العامون بالفعل هذا القانون لملاحقة الإدعاءات الموثوقة بالتعذيب. كما يتضمن القانون أحكاماً غامضة إلا أنها ذات أهمية لحماية الشهود وإعادة تأهيل وتعويض الضحايا. وينبغي للقضاة الاستفادة من تلك الأحكام لحماية أولئك الذين يتقدمون للتحدث عن التعذيب.”

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: JOSEPH EID ©AFP | OSSAMA AYOUB ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Human Rights in Lebanon / New Lebanese Law Against Torture a Good but Incomplete Step

New Lebanese Law Against Torture a Good but Incomplete Step

Lebanon- Hamza al-Khatib
Lebanese Muslim Sunni men hold pictures of 13-year-old Syrian boy Hamza al-Khatib, who was allegedly tortured and killed by security forces, during a demonstration against the Syrian regime in the Sunni neighbourhood of al-Kobbeh in the coastal city of Triopoli, north of Beirut, on June 24, 2011. Photo AFP

Detainees in Lebanon will no longer be subjected to torture, according to a law passed by the parliament in late September 2017. An amendment to Article 401 of the Penal Code criminalizes the use of torture to extract confessions. However, local and international human rights organizations say it does not go far enough.

Lebanon’s first move towards more regulation came in October 2016, when the parliament adopted a a law establishing the National Human Rights Institute (NHRI), which would include an independent committee to investigate the use of torture and issue recommendations to improve the treatment of detainees. More than a year on, the members of this committee have yet to be nominated, preventing its actual implementation.

Nevertheless, the amendment to Article 401 is intended as a complement to this law. This is despite the fact that 72 per cent of Lebanese people think torture is justified  against suspects of terrorism, according to a 2015 Pew Research Center survey of 38 countries. In July 2017, the army arrested around 350 Syrian refugees ‘suspected of terrorism’ in the border town of Arsal. Four of them later died in custody. Diala Chehade, the lawyer representing their families, was followed, threatened and intimidated by security forces while trying to establish how the victims died.

The official reports claimed that physical violence was not to blame for the deaths. This was disputed by Human Rights Watch (HRW) in a report published on 20 July 2017 that stated: ‘Additional evidence supports the allegations of abuse and torture during the arrests in Arsal and at military detention facilities. A witness in Arsal told Human Rights Watch that he had seen 34 former detainees with marks on their hands, legs and backs, and in one case, on a former detainee’s head. Human Rights Watch spoke with five former detainees who said they were mistreated, physically abused and denied food and water, along with scores of other detainees during four to five days of detention without charge before being released.’

A proper law was thus long overdue. Drafted by MP Ghassan Moukheiber in 2012 with the help of human rights lawyers and organizations, the proposed anti-torture act was eventually watered down to an amendment after parliament softened the text.

This angered human rights activists who were consulted on the original draft. Saadeddine Shatila, the head of the Lebanese branch of the human rights group al-Karama Foundation, told The Daily Star, “The definition of torture and punishment for the act has been poorly amended. Our original definition was based upon the [definition used by the United Nations Committee against Torture] and included acts defined as ill-treatment. This has been significantly reduced with no mention of ill-treatment.”

In a subsequent report published on 13 November 2017, HRW stated, ‘The new law precludes any excuse or justification for the use of torture, prohibits the use of testimony extracted under torture as evidence except against a person accused of committing torture, and provides special procedures for investigating allegations of torture and witness protection. It also provides for rehabilitation and compensation for victims but includes no detail or guidance for carrying out those provisions. And it fails to criminalize cruel, inhuman and degrading treatment or punishment, and limits the definition of torture to situations of investigation, interrogation, judicial investigation, trial and punishment.”

The penalties also depend on the effect of torture on a person, from one to three years in prison for no lasting physical or psychological harm, three to seven years for a temporary disability, five to ten years if the harm is permanent, and ten to 20 years if it results in death.

Bassam Khawaja, a researcher for HRW Lebanon and Kuwait, told Fanack Chronicle, “This law is a big step forward for Lebanon’s ability to prosecute cases of torture. Previously, Lebanon did not have a law criminalizing torture, only a provision that criminalized extracting a confession through violence. This new law broadens the definition of torture, imposes stricter sentences of one to 20 years in prison, and establishes procedures for investigating torture. However, it does not fully comply with Lebanon’s international obligations, and Lebanon should amend the law to reflect the internationally recognized definition of torture.”

Chehade was less positive, arguing that the law is “insufficient and does not truly cover the gaps concerning the procedural rights of suspects at the primary interrogation level”. She added , “It could be made better by allowing the suspects’ representatives to be present at this level, whether it occurs at the General Security, with the army or at a police station.”

Although it is too early to judge the law, Khawaja said, “The real test [will be] whether prosecutors actually use it to seek justice for victims of torture. The law itself is a new tool, but impunity for torture is rampant in Lebanon. That will not change until prosecutors actually use the law to go after credible allegations of torture. The law also contains vague but important provisions for witness protection and rehabilitation and compensation for victims. Judges should make use of those provisions to protect those who come forward to speak out about torture.”

image_pdfimage_print