فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / حقوق الإنسان في لبنان / في لبنان: الأمن يغلب على حقوق الإنسان

في لبنان: الأمن يغلب على حقوق الإنسان

Lebanon- human rights- Syrian refugees in Arsal
لاجئون سوريون يحملون لافتات وهم يقفون بجانب جثة رجل سوري متوفي وذلك بعد أن اغار الجيش اللبناني على مخيمين للاجئين على الأقل قرب عرسال، لبنان، 4 يوليو 2017. photo AP

في 30 يونيو 2017، اقتحم الجيش اللبناني مخيمين للاجئين، على الأقل، بالقرب من قرية عرسال الواقعة على الحدود السورية. فجر خمسة انتحاريين أنفسهم خلال الغارة، مما أسفر عن إصابة سبعة جنود ومقتل فتاة سورية. ورداً على ذلك، اعتقل الجيش حوالى 350 لاجئاً سورياً، توفي أربعة منهم بعد ذلك بسبب أمراض مزمنة تفاقمت بسبب الظروف الجوية، وفقاً لما ذكره بيانٌ للجيش. وقد تم منذ ذلك الحين تقديم ادعاءاتٍ بتعرض اللاجئين للتعذيب وسوء المعاملة، مما يبلور التوترات في لبنان، الذي يُكافح من أجل التعامل مع ما يقدر بنحو مليون لاجىء سوري، فضلاً عن تهديد توغل تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” عبر الحدود.

إن مثل هذه الإدعاءات ليست بالأمر الجديد، فقد أفاد تقريرٌ صدر في عام 2014 عن الأمم المتحدة بأن “التعذيب في لبنان ممارسة واسعة الانتشار ويتم استخدامها بشكل روتيني.” وفي أكتوبر 2016، اعتمد البرلمان قانوناً جديداً بإنشاء معهد وطني لحقوق الإنسان يضم لجنة للتحقيق في استخدام التعذيب.

غير أن وفاة المعتقلين السوريين الأربعة المحتجزين لدى الجيش أثارت مخاوف جديدة حول تكتيكات الجيش وانتقاداته العامة. وبحسب مقالٍ نشرته صحيفة ذا ديلي ستار في 10 يوليو 2017، قال النائب عن تيار المستقبل، أمين وهبة لإذاعة الشرق أن “الجيش أثبت أنه القوة الوحيدة التي تُطمئن اللبنانيين واللاجئين.” ورداً على الانتقادات التي طالت الجيش، قال أن الجيش يؤدي واجباته فحسب، وأن القضاء اللبناني والسلطات اللبنانية تملك كلمة الفصل بإدانة أو تبرءة المحتجزين. وفي اليوم نفسه، أعلن رئيس الوزراء سعد الحريري كامل تأييده للجيش وشدد على أنه سيتم إجراء تحقيقٍ عسكري في مقتل السوريين.

غير أن شكوكاً تحوم حول عدالة واستقلالية مثل هذا التحقيق. فقد اعتقل الصحفي اللبناني في صحيفة الحياة اليومية، فداء عيتاني، وتم استجوابه من قِبل مكتب مكافحة الجرائم المعلوماتية التابع لقوى الأمن الداخلي، بعد انتقاده دور الجيش في وفاة اللاجئين، عبر منشورٍ على الفيسبوك، حيث أطلق سراحه بعد حذفه المنشور.

وبالمثل، وقع نزاعٌ في السابع من يوليو حول 2017 الاختصاصات القضائية بين قاضٍ من محكمة الأمور المستعجلة وقاضي النيابة العسكرية، بعد أنّ حصلت محامية تُمثل أسر السوريين الذين اعتقلوا من قِبل الجيش على عيناتٍ طبية من عدة جثث.

وكانت المحامية اللبنانية، ديالا شحادة، التي تُمثل أسر الضحايا، تعمل على إصدار أمرٍ قضائي من قاضي الأمور المستعجلة وإعطاء العينات، التي تم تشريحها في وقتٍ سابق من قِبل طبيب شرعي في مستشفى زحلة الحكومي، لمستشفى اوتيل ديو دو فرانس في العاصمة بيروت ليتم تحليلها لبيان كيفية وفاة الضحايا. وعلى الرغم من تعرضها لمضايقاتٍ وتهديدات، تمكنت شحادة من تصوير العديد من الرجال، ممن يرتدون الزي المدني، والذين عرفوا عن أنفسهم باعتبارهم ضباط في المخابرات العسكرية، وهم يضغطون عليها لتسيلم العينات.

وقالت شحادة لـFanack: “ذهبت برفقة مساعدتي إلى مستشفى في بيروت يُرافقنا موظف طبي من زحلة، إلا أنه قرر تركنا بعد أن تلقى تهديدات وأوامر متعددة عبر الهاتف لإبطائنا.” وتابعت “كنت أحاول تسليم العينات بشكلٍ رسمي إلى المستشفى، ليتم حفظها وتحليلها، عندما تعرّض لنا عدة رجال يرتدون الزي المدني وعرفوا عن أنفسهم باعتبارهم ضباط في المخابرات العسكرية وأخبرونا أن لديهم أمر بأخذ العينات “أياً كان الثمن،” إلا أنهم لم يملكوا أمراً قضائياً بذلك. تمكنت في النهاية من التواصل مع المدعي العام التمييزي، سمير حمود، وطلبت منه التدخل، الذي أمرني بدوره بتسليم العينات لرجال الاستخبارات العسكرية.”

وأضافت “يتجاوز هذا أي مستوى سابق لانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان. بل يمكن مقارنتها بوضع حقوق الإنسان خلال الحرب الأهلية اللبنانية حيث تتجاوز سلطة أي فردٍ مسلح أي سلطةٍ أخرى،” إلا أنها أوضحت أنها لا تتهم الجيش بأي مخالفات، بل الاستخبارات العسكرية “التي تقوم بالعمليات العسكرية.”

وقالت شحادة، التي عملت على شهادات ما لا يقل عن 200 معتقل لبناني وسوري وفلسطيني ومصري، أنه ينبغي طرح أسئلة جدية حول الطريقة التي تنفذ بها المخابرات العسكرية سلطتها. “تعرضت جميع الحالات التي وثقناها للتعذيب البدني والمعنوي، في حين أن معظمها لا علاقة لها بالإرهاب أو الصراع في سوريا. فهم بالفعل يعانون من وضعٍ هشٍ جداً في لبنان، ولا يتمتعون بأي حقوق، وينتهي بهم الأمر إلى إجبارهم على التوقيع، معصوبي العينين دوماً، على أي اعترافاتٍ تُعطى لهم. وهذا دليلٌ على أن المادة (47) من قانون العقوبات، التي تمنح الحقوق للمحتجزين، تنتهك وتهمل باستمرار. واليوم، يتعرض حتى الصحفيين والمحامين للمضايقات والتهديدات لقيامهم بعملهم. وكأنه لا يمكنك انتقاد أساليب الجيش، ولا يمكنك أن تقول أي شيء بعد الآن.”

ومع ذلك، فإن قمع حرية التعبير يمتد إلى أبعد من الجيش. ففي 16 يوليو 2017، حظر وزير الداخلية نهاد مشنوق جميع الاحتجاجات في لبنان، كرد فعلٍ لدعوة ناشطين سوريين ولبنانيين الخروج في مظاهرةٍ تدين إساءة معاملة اللاجئين السوريين، والتي كان من المفترض أن تجري بعد يومين.

وغرّد مشنوق عبر تويتر قائلاً “نعوّل في المقابل على تسريع التحقيق المسؤول والدقيق في وفاة النازحين السوريين الأربعة.” وأضاف “لذلك وبعد التشاور مع القيادات الأمنية المعنية، اتخذنا القرار بعدم الموافقة على أي طلب من أي جهة للتظاهر حفظاً للسلم والأمن الأهلي”.

وكرد فعلٍ على منع التظاهر، وفي ظل التهديدات المتعددة التي تلقاها المنظمون، أصدر المنتدى الاشتراكي بياناً ذكر فيه “ندين ونستنكر كل الإشاعات والاتهامات المغرضة والملفقة التي صدرت بحق رفاقنا، وبحقنا، سواء على وسائل الإعلام أو على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. كما نعترض أشد الاعتراض على تسريب ورقة العلم والخبر من بلدية بيروت التي تذكر أسماء الرفاق وأرقام هواتفهم، وهي بالتالي تتحمل المسؤولية الكاملة عن أي أذى جسدي أو معنوي قد يتعرضون له… وعلى الرغم من تنظيم المنتدى الاشتراكي على مدار السنوات الماضية عدة وقفات تضامنية مع اللاجئين/السوريين/، إلا أن هده المرة الأولى التي تلاقي فيها الدعوة الى الاعتصام هكذا جو من التحريض والتهديد المفتوح. نرى أن هذا التحريض يأتي بهدف التمهيد لحرب مفتوحة في عرسال وفرض التعامل مع النظام السوري في إطار تسوية تقضي بترحيل اللاجئين/السوريين/ات قسرياً إلى ما يسمى زوراً بأماكن “آمنة” داخل سوريا.”

ففي بلدٍ لطالما حظيّ، نسبياً، بسمعة طيبة في مجال حرية التعبير، تُشير الحملة الأمنية الأخيرة ورد الفعل الصارم ضد أي انتقاداتٍ علنية موجهةٍ ضد الجيش، إلى تعرض حقوق الإنسان الأساسية للهجوم.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: Uncredited ©Hollandse Hoogte | Uncredited ©Hollandse Hoogte

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Home / Lebanon / Human Rights / In Lebanon, Security Takes Precedence Over Human Rights

In Lebanon, Security Takes Precedence Over Human Rights

Lebanon-human rights- Syrian refugees in Arsal
Syrian refugees holding placards as they stand by the body of a deceased Syrian man after the Lebanese army raided at least two refugee camps near Arsal, lebanon, 4 July 2017. photo AP

On 30 June 2017, the Lebanese army raided at least two refugee camps near the village of Arsal on the Syrian border. Five suicide bombers blew themselves up during the raid, wounding seven soldiers and killing a young Syrian girl. In response, the army arrested around 350 Syrian refugees, four of whom later died from chronic illnesses aggravated by the weather conditions, according to an army statement. Allegations of torture and mistreatment of refugees have since been made, crystallizing tensions in Lebanon, which is struggling to cope with an estimated one million Syrian refugees and the threat of Islamic State incursions across the border.

Such allegations are not new. In 2014, a United Nations report stated that ‘torture in Lebanon is a pervasive practice that is routinely used by the armed forces and law enforcement agencies’. In October 2016, the parliament even adopted a new law establishing a National Human Rights Institute that will include a committee to investigate the use of torture.

However, the recent deaths of the four Syrian detainees in army custody have raised fresh concerns about the army’s tactics and public criticism of it. According to a 10 July 2017 article in The Daily Star, future MP Amin Wehbi told Radio Orient that “the army has proven to be the only force that reassures both the Lebanese and the refugees”. In response to criticism of the army, he said it was only performing its duties and that the Lebanese judiciary and authorities had the last word on the guilt or innocence of those in custody. The same day, Prime Minister Saad Hariri declared that he fully supported the army and stressed that a military investigation into the deaths of the Syrians would be launched.

Yet it seems doubtful that such an investigation will be fair and independent. Fidaa Itani, a journalist for the pan-Arab daily al-Hayat, was detained and interrogated by the Internal Security ForcesCybercrime Bureau after criticizing the army’s role in the deaths on Facebook. He was released after deleting the post.

Similarly, a dispute over legal jurisdictions emerged on 7 July 2017 between a judge of urgent matters and a military prosecuting judge, after a lawyer representing the families of the Syrians arrested by the army obtained medical samples from several bodies.

The lawyer representing the families, Diala Chehade, was executing a judiciary order from the judge of urgent matters and giving the samples, which had previously been dissected by a forensic doctor in Zahle Public Hospital morgue, to Hôtel-Dieu Hospital in the capital Beirut to be analyzed in order to establish how the victims died. Although she was harassed and threatened, Chehade managed to film several men dressed as civilians who introduced themselves as military intelligence officers and pressured her to hand over the samples.

“My secretary and I went to the hospital in Beirut accompanied by a medical officer from Zahle, but he decided to leave us after receiving multiple phone threats and orders to slow us down,” Chehade told Fanack. “I was trying to hand the samples formally to the hospital, so they would be preserved and analyzed, when a couple of guys in civilian clothes introduced themselves as military intelligence and told us they had an order to take the samples ‘no matter what’. But they didn’t have a judicial order. I eventually managed to reach the public prosecutor, Judge Samir Hammoud, and asked him to intervene. He ordered me to give the samples to the military intelligence men.”

She continued: “It is beyond any previous level in terms of human rights abuses. It can even be compared to the human rights status during the Lebanese civil war, where the power of an armed individual goes above any power.” However, she clarified that she is not accusing the army of any wrongdoing but the military intelligence “which is taking over military operations”.

Having worked on the testimonies of at least 200 Lebanese, Syrian, Palestinian and Egyptian detainees, Chehade said serious questions should be raised about the way the military intelligence executes its power. “All the cases we documented have been subjected to physical and moral torture, whereas most of them have nothing to do with terrorism or the conflict in Syria. They are already in a very vulnerable situation in Lebanon, they have no rights and end up being forced to sign, always blindfolded, any confession given to them. It is proof that Article 47 of the Penal Code, which gives rights to detainees, is constantly violated and neglected. And now, even journalists and lawyers are being harassed and threatened for doing their job. It is like you can’t criticize the army’s methods, you can’t say anything anymore.”

However, the repression of free speech extends further than the army. On 16 July 2017, Interior Minister Nouhad Machnouk banned all protests in Lebanon, in response to a call from Syrian and Lebanese activists for a demonstration denouncing the mistreatment of Syrian refugees to be held two days later.

‘We hope to accelerate the investigation into the death of the four Syrian refugees,’ Machnouk tweeted. ‘For that reason, and after discussing [the matter] with the concerned security forces, we decided to decline any requests to hold a protest from anyone, in order to preserve security and civic peace.’

In response to the ban, and to the many threats received by the organizers, Socialist Forum issued a statement condemning ‘the rumours and accusations made against our comrades in the media and through social media or social networking platforms. We strongly condemn the leaking of the protest permit request document from the Beirut Municipality which mentions the names of three comrades and their telephone numbers. We also condemn the biased media coverage and the circulation of the names and photos (and Facebook pages) of our comrades by many of the local television channels. The circulation of this leaked document has put the three activists in serious and severe danger … Despite the fact that the Socialist Forum has organized numerous solidarity meetings with Syrian refugees over the years, this is the first time that the call for a sit-in has received so many open threats. We believe that this incitement is aimed at paving the way for an all-out war in Arsal, and imposing a deal with the Syrian regime within the framework of a settlement that would require the forcible transfer of Syrian refugees to so-called “safe-zones” within Syria.’

In a country that has long had a reputation for relative freedom of expression, the recent security crackdown and the heavy-handed response to public criticism of it suggests that basic human rights are under attack.

image_pdfimage_print