فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / الثقافة / الأدب

الأدب

الجامعة الأمريكية في بيروت
الجامعة الأمريكية في بيروت

يزخر لبنان بالعديد من دور النشر التي تنشر باللغة العربية والفرنسية والإنجليزية. عام 2009 لقّبت بيروت بالعاصمة العالمية للكتاب “خاصة بفضل جهودها في التنوع الثقافي والحوار والتسامح، فضلاً عن تنوع وديناميكية برنامجها”. وكل عام (مع بعض الاستثناءات) تستضيف بيروت معرض الكتاب الفرنكوفوني، المصنف كأكبر صالون أدبي خارج باريس ومونتريال. كما تستضيف المعرض الدولي والعربي ( 170 ناشراً و 35,000 زائراً). وغني عن القول أن الأدب – سواء أكان باللغة العربية أم بغيرها – لا يزال مزدهراً في لبنان لقرون. ومما لا شك فيه، الشعب اللبناني “أهل كتاب”.

كما قام الأدباء اللبنانيون بتصدير أدبهم إلى دول وقارات أخرى، حيث هاجر الكثيرون منهم، وقد نشرت بعض أعمالهم باللغة العربية، والكثير منها بالفرنسية والإنجليزية وغيرها من اللغات.يلعب الشعر دوراً هاماً في الحياة الأدبية اللبنانية. فقد قام الموسيقيون البارزون بتلحين قصائد الشعراء التقليديين، وتعتبر الصحف الشعر مادة ذات أهمية.

في النصف الثاني من القرن التاسع عشر، كان هناك نهضة علمية وأدبية. ولعل أحد أسبابها هو إنشاء العديد من الجامعات والمدارس، وعلى رأسها الجامعة الأمريكية في بيروت (1866) وجامعة القديس يوسف اليسوعية (1875). ولكن بدا وكأن الأحداث المأساوية التي ميزت القرن التاسع عشر قد ألهمت الكتّاب والشعراء. كما ينطبق نفس الشيء على الحرب الأهلية في القرن العشرين (1975-1990) واللاجئين الفلسطينيين ومخيماتهم.

النهضة: حركة ثقافية جديدة

كانت الأعراض الأولى لحركة ثقافية جديدة ملموسة في الخمسينات مع تأسيس “شعر” (1957)، مجلة الشعر التجريبي ابتدأها الشاعر السوري أدونيس وغيره. استقر شعراء من جميع أنحاء العالم العربي في بيروت، اجتذبتهم الصحافة الحرة والبيئة الفكرية المتسامحة نسبياً والتي سادت في لبنان في ذلك الوقت. في نفس الفترة، بدأ النثر السردي بالتبلور. نشر كل من توفيق يوسف عواد ومارون عبود ويوسف حبشي الأشقر أولى رواياتهم ومجموعات قصص قصيرة، بتأثير شديد من المذهب الطبيعي الأوروبي والروسي. ومال آخرون، مثل سهيل إدريس، إلى الحركة الوجودية لجان بول سارتر وجماعته. في النصف الثاني من القرن العشرين، بدأت النساء بالظهور. عام 1968 نشرت ليلى بعلبكي روايتها السيرة الذاتية الأنثوية “آنا أحيا”، والتي جعلتها مشهورة ليس فقط في لبنان بل في العالم العربي كافة.

لمست الهزيمة العربية عام 1967 و الحرب الأهلية (1975-1990) أعماق المجتمع اللبناني، بما في ذلك الساحة الثقافية والأدبية. الحرب كانت حاضرة في كل ما كتب، سواء كان ذلك في روايات سهيل إدريس السياسية، وروايات توفيق يوسف عواد النبوية، أو القصص السريالية للناشط السياسي والكاتب إلياس خوري.

يبدو أن الحرب عملت كمحفز ومصدر إلهام للكاتبات. فظهرت أسماء جديدة (إميلي نصرالله، وحنان الشيخ وهدى بركات) اللواتي أصبحن يعدها بقليل معروفات باسم “اللامركزيات البيروتيات (Beirut Decentrists)”. حاول اللامركزيات إزالة الغموض عن المجتمع اللبناني من خلال تحديد الخلافات الكامنة وراء الأزمة السياسية. وفق اللامركزيات، لم تكن السياسة القضية الوحيدة التي تتعرض للخطر، ودعون إلى إعادة النظر في القيم الأبوية التقليدية التي كانت سائدة ما قبل الحرب.

في بداية من الثمانينات، ظهر نوع جديد من النثر الأدبي إلى حيز الوجود، حيث الحرب لا تزال حاضرة، إلا انه تم تجريده من الأيديولوجية الثقيلة التي كانت مسيطر على المشهد الأدبي حتى ذلك الحين. ركز كتاب مثل حسن داود ورشيد الضعيف وعلوية صبح وإيمان حميدان على الحياة اليومية للشعب اللبناني خلال الحرب. شهد مطلع الألفية الثالثة ظهور جيل جديد من الكتاب الذين كانوا لا يزالون أطفالاً عندما اندلعت الحرب. حاولوا في أعمالهم الأدبية استعادة الشباب الذين سرقته الحرب منهم. ربيع جابر هو واحد من أبرز ممثلي هذا الجيل.

في السنوات العشرين الماضية، نمت بيروت لتصبح مركزاً ثقافياً وأدبياً مزدهراً. كل عام (مع بعض الاستثناءات) تستضيف بيروت معرض الكتاب الفرنكوفوني، المصنف كأكبر صالون أدبي خارج باريس ومونتريال، ومعرض بيروت للكتاب العربي (بتمثيل 170 ناشر). عام 2009، تم اختيار بيروت عاصمة عالمية للكتاب، “لا سيما لجهودها في التنوع الثقافي والحوار والتسامح، فضلاً عن تنوع برنامجها وحيويته “.

مؤلفون لبنانيون حديثون وأعمال بارزة

يعد جبران خليل جبران (1883- 1931) واحداً من أهم الأدباء من أصل لبناني. وقد ترعرع في بوسطن منذ الثانية عشرة من عمره. ثم أمضى عاميْن بدراسة الفن في باريس، وعاد إلى الولايات المتحدة ليعيش في نيويورك اعتباراً من عام 1912 فصاعداً. وقد اخْتُصِرَ اسمُه عن طريق الخطأ إلى (خليل جبران) بعد وصوله إلى الولايات المتحدة، وما يزال يعرف بهذا الاسم خارج لبنان. كتب جبران أعماله الأولى باللغة العربية، ومنذ 1918 قام بنشر معظمها باللغة الإنجليزية. ومن بين أعماله المشهورة “النبي”، وهو كتاب يشمل 26 مقالة شعرية، وقد تُرجم إلى أكثر من عشرين لغة.

صلاح ستيتية (1928) ، شاعر ودبلوماسي، كاتب غزير الإنتاج الأدبي كتب بالفرنسية ونشر أكثر من 35 كتاباً، بما فيها الشعر وسير ذاتية لشعراء آخرين (مالارميه وريمبو) والمقالات (مثل “الثقافة والعنف في منطقة البحر الأبيض المتوسط” Culture et violence en Méditerranée) والترجمات؛ فقد ترجم كتاب “النبي” الشهير لخليل جبران إلى الفرنسية. وقد حاز على جائزة الفرانكفونية الكبرى عام 1995. كما تُرجمت بعض قصائده إلى الإنجليزية تحت عنوان Cold water shielded. كما ترجمت أعماله إلى الإسبانية والبرتغالية والإيطالية والتركية والصربية. وفي عام 2006 حاز على جائزة سميديروفو الصربية، أعرق جائزة للشعر في أوروبا. وبالعربية، نشرت مجلة الآداب الأدبية عدداً خاصاً عن صلاح ستيتية. كما تم إنتاج ثلاثة أفلام وثائقية عن حياته ومؤلفاته.

أدونيس (1930)، وهو الاسم المستعار للشاعر والفيلسوف والناقد الأدبي علي أحمد سعيد إسبر. أسس جريدتيْن أدبيتيْن: “الشعر” و “مواقف”. وقد تم ترشيحه عدة مرات لنيل جائزة نوبل. ظهرت أول مجموعة شعرية لأدونيس باللغة الإنجليزية في عام 1971 تحت عنوان The Blood of Adonis أو “دم أدونيس” (وقد أعيدت طباعتها عام 1982 تحت عنوان Transformations of the Lover أو “تحولات العاشق”).

فينوس خوري غاتا (1937)، تكتب بالفرنسية وتعيش في فرنسا منذ عام 1973. وهي شاعرة معروفة وروائية متميزة ومؤلفة للقصص القصيرة تحظى بتقدير كبير. وقد حازت على جائزة Prix Mallarmé عام 1987 عن عملها “مونولوج الموت Monologue du mort”، وجائزة Prix Apollinaire عام 1980 عن عملها Les Ombres et leurs cris، والجائزة الكبرى لجمعية الأدباء عن عملها Fables pour un people d’argile عام 1992. وقد طبعت آخر مجموعة شعرية لها Quelle est la nuit parmi les nuits أو “أية ليلة من بين الليالي” عام 2004. وقد ترجمت أعمالها إلى العربية والهولندية والألمانية والإيطالية والروسية، ولقبت بفارسة جوقة الشرف عام 2000. وقد رشحت أحدث رواياتها Sept pierres pour la femme adultère أو “سبعة حجارة للمرأة الزانية” (2007)، لجائزتيْن هامتيْن.

الياس خوري (1948)، روائي وكاتب مسرحي وناقد أدبي وعالم اجتماع، ويعد واحداً من رواد المفكرين والأدباء العرب المعاصرين. انضم في شبابه إلى صفوف حركة فتح ضمن منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية، ثم اشترك في الحرب الأهلية. وقد تُرجمت رواياته إلى العديد من اللغات. وقد شغل لعدة سنوات منصب رئيس تحرير “الملحق” الأدبي الأسبوعي لصحيفة “النهار” اليومية. ومن أشهر أعماله “الجبل الصغير” و “رحلة غاندي الصغير” و “مملكة الغرباء” و “بوابة الشمس”. وهو يعيش متنقلاً بين بيروت ونيويورك.

يعيش أمين معلوف (1949) في باريس ويكتب بالفرنسية. وهو الكاتب الأكثر براعة، فقد ألف العديد من الروايات والمقالات، وحتى النصوص الأوبرالية، فضلاً عن كونه قاصَّاً بارعاً. يبدو أن الهدف من الكثير من رواياته كان خلق المزيد من التفاهم بين المجموعات البشرية (المتعارضة). وتقوم الكثير من رواياته على خلفية تاريخية، وبعض شخصياتِ مؤلَّفاته تمثل شخصيات تاريخية حقيقية. ومن أهم رواياته “ليو الأفريقي” و “صخرة طانيوس” (الحائزة على جائزة Prix Goncourt عام 1993) و “رحلة بالداسار” . تتعقب روايته “الأصول”، المترجمة إلى لغات عديدة، تاريخ أجداده ضمن السياق الأوسع لتاريخ لبنان، بل والعالم.

جبور الدويهي (1949) وهو روائي وصحفي أكاديمي. ومن أعماله “عين وردة” و “مطر حزيران” (التي رشحت عام 2008 لنيل الجائزة الدولية للرواية العربية، والمعروفة أيضاً باسم “جائزة صنّاع الكتاب العربي”) و “الاعتدال الخريفي” .

ألكسندر نجار (1967)، الذي يعيش في فرنسا ويكتب بالفرنسية، هو واحد من أهم كتّاب جيله. وقد حصل على جائزة الفرانكفونية الكبرى في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2009. ومن بين كتبه السيرة الذاتية لجبران خليل جبران، و “مدرسة الحرب” و “برلين”) و “فينيقيا” و “رواية بيروت” (والتي تتناول الأحداث المأساوية التي وقعت في عام 1860 وما بعدها).

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: JOSEPH BARRAK ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Society, Media & Culture / Culture / Literature

Literature

Lebanon has many publishing houses, which publish in Arabic, French and English. In 2009, UNESCO designated Beirut as World Book Capital, ‘in particular thanks to its efforts for cultural diversity, dialogue and tolerance as well as for the variety and dynamism of its programme’. Each year (with a few exceptions), Beirut hosts the Salon Francophone du Livre, the largest literary salon outside of Paris and Montreal. It also hosts an Arab and International Book Fair (representing 170 publishers and attracting 35,000 visitors). Lebanese literature is also published in countries with large numbers of Lebanese emigrants. Poetry plays an important part in Lebanese literature. Prominent musicians have written music to traditional poems, and newspapers deem poetry important.

lebanon-culture- American University of Beirut
American University of Beirut


In the second half of the 19th century, a literary and scientific renaissance occurred. One reason for this was the establishment of several universities and schools, the most prestigious being the American University of Beirut (1866) and the Jesuit Saint Joseph University (1875). But writers and poets also seem to have been inspired by the tragic events that marked that century. The same applies to the civil war (1975-1990) and the influx of Palestinian refugees.

The Nahda: a New Cultural Movement and the Shaping of Lebanese Literature

The first signs of a new cultural movement became apparent in 1957 with the foundation of Shir, a magazine for experimental poetry established by the Syrian poet Adunis (the alias of Ali Ahmad Said Asbar) and others. Poets from all over the Arab world settled in Beirut, attracted by the free press and the relatively tolerant intellectual atmosphere that reigned at the time. In the same period, modern narrative prose began to take shape. Tawfiq Yusuf Awwad, Maroun Abboud and Yusuf Habashi al-Ashqar published their first novels and short story collections, heavily influenced by European and Russian naturalism.

Others, such as Suhayl Idris, were drawn to the existentialist movement of Jean-Paul Sartre and his group. In the second half of the 20th century, female writers began to gain ground. In 1968, Layla Baalbakki published her autobiographical feminist novel Ana ahya (‘I live’), which made her famous not only in Lebanon but across the Arab world.

The Arab defeat in the 1967 conflict with Israel and the subsequent civil war (1975-1990) in Lebanon deeply affected Lebanese society, including the cultural and literary scene. The war featured in everything that was written, be it the political novels of Suhayl Idris, the prophetic novels of Tawfiq Yusuf Awwad or the surrealistic stories of the political activist and writer Elias Khoury.

Among female writers, the war seemed to function as a catalyst and a source of inspiration. New names rose to prominence, notably Emily Nasrallah, Hanan al-Shaykh and Hoda Barakat, who would soon become known as the ‘Decentrists of Beirut’. The Decentrists tried to demystify Lebanese society by identifying the controversies underlying the political crisis. According to them, politics was not the only issue at stake and they advocated a reconsideration of traditional, pre-war patriarchal values.

In the early 1980s, a new genre of literary prose emerged. The war was still present but was stripped of the heavy ideology that had previously dominated the written word. Writers such as Hasan Daoud, Rashid al-Daif, Alawiya Subh and Iman Humaydan concentrated on the daily life of the Lebanese people during the war. The new millennium saw the emergence of a new generation of writers who were still children when the war broke out. In their literary work, they try to recover the youth that the war stole from them. Rabee Jaber is one of the most prominent representatives of this generation.

In the past 20 years, Beirut has grown into a thriving cultural and literary centre. Each year (with a few exceptions), Beirut hosts the Salon Francophone du Livre, the largest literary salon outside of Paris and Montreal, and the Beirut Arab Book Fair (representing 170 publishers). In 2009, UNESCO designated Beirut as World Book Capital, ‘in particular thanks to its efforts for cultural diversity, dialogue and tolerance as well as for the variety and dynamism of its programme’.

Modern Lebanese Authors and Notable Works

Salah Stétié (1928), writer, poet and diplomat, writes in French and has published more than 35 books, including poetry, biographies of other poets (Mallarmé, Rimbaud) and essays, such as Culture et violence en Méditerranée. He also translated Khalil Gibran’s The Prophet into French. He was awarded the Grand prix de la Francophonie in 1995. A selection of his poems was translated into English under the title Cold Water Shielded. His works have also been translated into Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Turkish and Serbian. In 2006, he received Serbia’s Smederevo Award, the oldest poetry award in Europe. In 1996, the Arabic-language l iterary journal al-Adab published a special issue about him. He is also the subject of three documentary films.

Adunis (born 1930) is a poet, philosopher and literary critic. He founded two literary journals, Majallat Shir (‘poetry’) and Mawaqif (‘positions’). He has been named several times as a possible Nobel laureate. The first collection of Adunis’ verse in English, The Blood of Adonis, appeared in 1971 and was reissued in 1982 as Transformations of the Lover.

Gibran Khalil Gibran (1883-1931) is one of the most important writers of Lebanese origin. From the age of 12, he was raised in Boston, United States. He studied art in Paris for two years, then returned to the United States, where he live from 1912 in New York. His name was shortened to Khalil Gibran by mistake upon his arrival in the United States, and he is known under this name outside Lebanon. Gibran’s early works were written in Arabic, but from 1918 he published mostly in English. Among his best known works is The Prophet, a book of 26 poetic essays, which has been translated into more than 20 languages.

Vénus Khoury-Ghata (born 1937) writes in French and has lived in France since 1973. A well-known and highly regarded poet, novelist and short story writer, she was awarded the Prix Mallarmé in 1987 for Monologue du mort, the Prix Apollinaire in 1980 for Les ombres et leurs cris, and the Grand Prix de la Société des gens de lettres for Fables pour un people d’argile in 1992. Her most recent collection of poems, Quelle est la nuit parmi les nuits, was published in 2004. Her work has been translated into Arabic, Dutch, German, Italian and Russian. She was named a Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur in 2000. Her most recent novel, Sept pierres pour la femme adultère (2007), was shortlisted for two important prizes.

Elias Khoury (born 1948), novelist, playwright, literary critic and sociologist, is considered one of the leading contemporary Arabic intellectuals and writers. In his youth, he enlisted in the Fatah movement within the Palestine Liberation Organization, then fought in Lebanon’s civil war. His novels have been translated into many languages. For several years, he was the editor of al-Mulhaq, the weekly literary supplement of the daily newspaper al-Nahar. Among his best known books are Little Mountain, The Journey of Little Gandhi, The Kingdom of Strangers and Gate of the Sun. He lives in Beirut and New York.

Amin Maalouf (born 1949) lives in Paris and writes in French. A versatile author of novels, essays and even opera librettos, he is a compelling storyteller. Much of his work seems aimed at creating more understanding among (opposing) groups. Many of his novels are set against a historical backdrop and some of his characters are historical figures. His most important novels include Leo the African, The Rock of Tanios, which was awarded the Prix Goncourt in 1993, and Balthasar’s Odyssey. Origins, translated into numerous languages, traces his grandfather’s history within the wider context of Lebanon’s and the world’s history.

Jabbour Douaihy (born 1949) is an academic, novelist and journalist. His works include Ayn Ward, June Rain, which was shortlisted for the 2008 International Prize for Arabic Fiction, also known as the ‘Arabic Booker Prize’, and Autumn Equinox.

Alexandre Najjar (born 1967), who lives in France and writes in French, is one of the most important writers of his generation. He was awarded the Grand prix de la Francophonie in December 2009. His books include a biography of Khalil Gibran, The School of War, Berlin 36, Phoenicia and Le roman de Beyrouth, about the tragic events in 1860 and thereafter.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©American University of Beirut