فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / الثقافة اللبنانية / كيف أثرى السوريون الحياة الفنية والثقافية في لبنان

كيف أثرى السوريون الحياة الفنية والثقافية في لبنان

Kosai Khauli
الممثلان السوريان قصي خولي (يسار) وسلافة معمار (يمين) يصلان لحضور حفل توزيع جوائز الموريكس دور عام 2011 في مدينة جونيه الشمالية بالقرب من العاصمة اللبنانية بيروت، في 23 يونيو 2011.
Photo: JOSEPH EID / AFP

في عام 2013 غادر المخرج المسرحي أسامة حلال دمشق متوجهاً إلى بيروت بعد أن ساءت الأوضاع الأمنية. لم يكن وحده الذي انتقل إلى لبنان، وإنما المئات من الفنانين الذين كانت لهم بصمة كبيرة في الحياة الفنية والثقافية اللبنانية، وهي مساهمةٌ لا يذكرها من يرى في الوجود السوري في لبنان عبئاً اقتصادياً في بلدٍ يستضيف أكثر من مليون لاجىء سوري.

قبل فترةٍ قصيرة من مغادرته سوريا، قدم حلال عرضه المسرحي “سولوفان” على أحد مسارح دمشق، وهو العرض الذي كان يتناول بشكلٍ رمزي بداية الثورة السورية عام 2011. هذا العرض الذي تسبب في غضب بعض الأجهزة الأمنية عليه وأرسل رسالة إليه مفادها “أنت غير مرحب بعملك هنا، وإن كنت تريد العمل فسنعطيك نحن النص وفريق العمل.”

وبحسب ما قاله حلال لفَنَك، “كنا قبل الثورة اعتدنا على عدم وجود وجهة نظر ثانية غير التي تتبناها أجهزة الدولة.” وأضاف “لم يكن هناك تعددية بالآراء ولم يكن النقد مسموحاً به بأي درجة ولا يوجد ما يسمى بالفنان المستقل، والذي دفعنا للهروب منه إلى الرمزية والعمل شبه المُشفر والذي كنا نعول على عدم فهم الأمن له. إلا أن الثورة دفعتني لسؤال نفسي: لماذا اعمل بالمسرح أو بالفن؟ ولم يكن لدي أي رغبة في ترك دمشق، ولكني أدركت أن الرحيل أصبح ضرورياً بعد التهديدات، ورغم وجود فرص أفضل بكثير لي في أوروبا من حيث ظروف الحياة والعمل وغيرها إلا أنني فضلت البقاء في لبنان.”

عمل حلال بالمسرح منذ عام 2002 وقدم 9 عروض مسرحية وغيرها من العروض والأفكار التي لم يُكتب لها الميلاد في سوريا فكانت من نصيب بيروت، ويقول حلال “لم يكن عندي مكان او مسرح او استديو او فرقة ثابتة في سوريا،” وتابع القول “كنت في كل عرض اتعامل مع فنانين جدد، فلما جئت إلى لبنان كان برأسي فكرة قديمة لم تبرح خيالي وهي فرقة ‘كون‘. وبعد مجيئي إلى لبنان، بدأت التحضير لعرضي الأول في لبنان باسم ‘فوق الصفر،‘ الذي بدأه عرضه عام 2014 واستمر حتى 2018، بفريق عملٍ من لبنانيين وسوريين وفلسطينيين وألمان وفرنسيين. كما قمنا بعرضه في عدة دول وحقق نجاحاً كبيراً، وأكملت مشواري في اختيار الفنانين الذين أعمل دائماً معهم، حيث يكون لكل منهم مهارة في التمثيل او الرقص او الغناء او العزف، فيكون لكل منهم طريقة تعبير مختلفة لإيصال رسالة معينة، وهو ما بدأته فور مجيئي مستفيداً من هامش الحرية الموجود في لبنان سواء بالنسبة لمساحة التعبير او نوعية القضايا التي تناقشها، فهنا استطعت أن يكون لي مكان خاص بي وبفرقتي.”

يجادل البعض أن مستوى الخبرات الأكاديمية والتقنيات والمهارات التي جلبها الفنانون السوريون معهم أغنى بكثير من التي كانت موجودة في لبنان، فعلى سبيل المثال دخل مصطلح “دراماتورج”- حيث أنها وظيفة الشخص المسؤول عن المعنى في العرض والمرتبط بتفكيك وتركيب النص والعرض، فمثلاً إذا كان العرض يتناول مشهداً في الثمانينات وأحد الشخصيات يتناول مشروب ما في أحد المشاهد، فوظيفة الدراماتورج هو إيجاد ما كان موجوداً في هذا الزمن من مشروبات.

كذلك كان للسوريين بالغ الأثر في كسر المناطقية والحدودية داخل لبنان من خلال الفن، فصارت الحركة الفنية والعروض المسرحية أكثر بكثير وزادت نسبة الاقبال من الجمهور على الأعمال المسرحية مع زيادة الإنتاج، هذا إلى جانب وجود الجمعيات والمؤسسات والهيئات المانحة الخاصة بالفن والثقافة التي تعمل في سوريا والمتواجدة في لبنان بسبب قربها الجغرافي. فقد فتحت تلك المؤسسات سوق عمل كبير للبنانيين والسوريين.

والرغم من هذه الإيجابيات، كانت تجربة الفنانين السورين في لبنان بالغة التعقيد. فعلى الرغم من تمتعهم بمساحة من الحرية لم يعرفوها في سوريا لعقود تحت حكم عائلة الأسد، إلا أنهم أنهم ممنوعون رسمياً من العمل في لبنان طبقاً للقوانين، بجانب صعوبات التنقل والسفر إلى الخارج. تلك الظروف التي دفعت عدداً منهم إلى الهجرة إلى أوروبا، بينما دفعت آخرين نحو اتخاذ خطواتٍ متطرفة مثل الممثل والراقص حسن رابح الذي انتحر عام 2015. من جهته، تمكن حلال من الاتفاق مع مسرح دوار الشمس، حيث انضم له عام 2016 وأنشأ استديو “كون” الذي صار بمثابة مدرسة وملاذاً للفنانين من كل الجنسيات المقيمين في لبنان.

حتى تاريخه، تمكن حلال من انتاج عددٍ من الأعمال المسرحية الناجحة مثل “فوق الصفر،” و”الجانب الآخر من الحديقة،” و”إيش لا با ديش.” كما نظم 4 ورشات عمل لتبادل الخبرات بين الفنانين وصناع المسرح من التقنيين والكتاب ومؤلفي الموسيقى، كل ذلك دون مقابل أو أجر. بالإضافة إلى اتاحة الفرصة للهواة للتمرين مع أعضاء فرقة كون المسرحية لاكتساب الخبرات من أعضائها، وهي التجربة التي أخرجت كثيراً من الفنانين الذين يصنعون اليوم تجاربهم المستقلة بجانب بعض الذين امتلكوا مهارات أهلتهم للانضمام إلى الفرقة الأساسية.

يقول حلال واصفاً تجربة استديو كون “حاولت صنع حركة فنية لدعم الفنانين الهواة أو المحترفين الذين يودون العمل على تطوير أعمالهم ومهاراتهم بغض النظر عن الجنسية أو الهوية أو أي شيء غير كونهم فنانين.”

ولربما لم يشهد مجالٌ من المجالات الفنية في لبنان ازدهاراً على يد السوريين مثلما شهدت الدراما. فرغم وجود البصمة السورية على الدراما اللبنانية من قبل الأزمة بزمن، إلا أن النزوح الكبير للسوريين بعدها أثرى الدراما اللبنانية بشكل أكبر مما كان يمكن تخيله، سواء على نطاق الإنتاج أو النوعية، فهناك مثلاً المخرج السوري سامر برقاوي الذي تصدر عمله الدرامي “الهيبة” بأجزائه الثلاثة السوق على مدار 3 سنوات. ومن المخرجين السوريين الذين صنعوا لهم اسماً في عالم النجومية في لبنان، المخرج رامي حنا الذي قدم للدراما اللبنانية مسلسلات “تانجو” و”الكاتب،” والمخرجة السورية رشا شربتجي التي قدمت مسلسلات “ما فيّ،” و”سمرا،” و”علاقات خاصة.”

فقد استغلت صناعة الدراما اللبنانية السوريين العاملين في هذا المجال على أكبر وجه ممكن خاصة بعد الحظر الذي فرضته كثير من القنوات العربية وخاصة الخليجية على الدراما السورية. نتيجةً لذلك، نزح كم كبير من صناع الدراما السوريين من منتجين ومخرجين ومؤلفين وممثلين إلى الدراما اللبنانية حتى صار يمكننا القول بأنه “لا يوجد دراما لبنانية إلا بوجود السوريين،” بحسب قول الناقد الفني اللبناني شفيق طبارة.

كما برزت أسماء سورية في سماء الدراما اللبنانية أمثال تيم حسن، وقصي خولي، ومعتصم النهار، وهي أسماء فرضت نفسها على الشاشة اللبنانية وحققت نجاحاً ونجومية فاقت كل الأسماء اللبنانية.

وفيما يخص الفن التشكيلي، استضافت معارض ومراسم وأتيليهات لبنان عشرات الفنانين السوريين، إذ يقول الرسام والفنان التشكيلي السوري مُضر دوارا “أثر السوريون على مجال الفن التشكيلي اللبناني كان أنجح من غيره من المجالات التي دخلها السوريون في لبنان بعد النزوح فلا يكاد مرسم واحد أو اتيليه واحد في لبنان لم يدخله فنان سوري عارضاً أو مُعلماً، كما حظي الفنانون السوريون في لبنان بترحيب أكثر منه في أي دولة أخرى من دول الجوار أو دول الشتات، بالرغم من كونه بلداً صغيراً بوضع اقتصادي صعب.”

وأضاف “الأعمال التي قدمها السوريون في لبنان كانت متميزة ومتنوعة، إذ قدم كل فنان أسلوبه وفنه وتفكيره ولمسته الخاصة. لمسة فنية سورية وجدت في لبنان ولكنها حافظت على الإرث الفني. وكان للأزمة السورية أثر بالغ على كثير من تلك الأعمال، فالأزمات والحروب تصنع فناً كما تصنع المآسي.”
وعلى عكس الكثير من الفنانين السوريين العاملين بمجال المسرح في لبنان، كان عمل التشكيليين أسهل نظراً لسهولة العمل منفردين في منازلهم أو مراسمهم الخاصة، ونظراً للبعد الاقتصادي لهذا المجال الذي نشط أكثر بدخول السوريين إليه.

فيقول مُضر ” كفنان سوري في لبنان لم أواجه أي مضايقة أو مشكلة، بل على العكس كان هناك دعم كبير من الأشخاص المحيطين، وكان لدي الحرية في أن أقيم أي معرض أو أشارك بأي مناسبة، ولست أنا وحدي ولكن في ظني أن هذا ما وجده العشرات من الرسامين السوريين الذين قدموا إلى لبنان من جميع المحافظات السورية.”

يصعب حصر عدد الفنانين السوريين العاملين في لبنان، كما يصعُب حصر عدد المعارض التي أقاموها لكثرتها.

وبجانب المسرح والدراما والفن التشكيلي، كان هناك المئات من السوريين الذين يعملون وينتجون ويدرسون مختلف الفنون داخل المجتمع اللبناني من موسيقى وسينما وغناء ونحت وغيرها من ألوان الفنون التي ازدهرت بقدوم ونزوح السوريين، الذين لا يرى البعض في وجودهم في لبنان سوى عبئاً اقتصادياً واجتماعياً.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: JOSEPH EID ©AFP | JOSEPH EID ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Society, Media & Culture / Culture / How Syrians Have Enriched Lebanon’s Artistic and Cultural Life

How Syrians Have Enriched Lebanon’s Artistic and Cultural Life

Kosai Khauli
Syrian actors Kosai Khauli (L) and Sulafa Maamar (R) arrive to attend the 2011 Murex d’Or awards ceremony in the northern port of Jounieh, near the capital Beirut, on June 23, 2011. Photo: JOSEPH EID / AFP

In 2013, theatre director Osama Halal left Damascus for Beirut after the security situation in Syria worsened. Hundreds of other Syrian artists followed the same route. They have had a significant impact on Lebanon’s artistic and cultural life, a contribution that is largely ignored by those who focus on the economic burden on the country of more than a million Syrian refugees.

Shortly before leaving Syria, Halal presented Solovan in a theatre in Damascus, a show that symbolically addressed the beginning of the revolution in 2011. The production attraction the attention of the security services, who sent him a message saying, ‘Your work is not welcome here, and if you want to work, we will provide you with the text and work team.’

“Before the revolution, we were used to the lack of a second point of view other than that of the state services,” Halal told Fanack. “There was no plurality of opinions, and no criticism of any kind was allowed. There was no such thing as independent art, which forced us to resort to symbolism and semi-encrypted work with the hope that the security services would not decipher the messages we wanted to convey. However, the revolution prompted me to ask myself the question: Why do I work in theatre or art? I had no desire to leave Damascus, but I realized that leaving was necessary after the threats that we received. Despite the fact that there were much better opportunities for me in Europe in terms of living conditions, work and other aspects, I preferred to stay in Lebanon.”

Halal has worked in the theatre since 2002 and directed nine plays as well as developing other performances and ideas that did not come to fruition in Syria but were later implemented in Lebanon. “I didn’t have a place, a theatre, a studio or a permanent group in Syria,” he said. “In every show I dealt with new artists, so when I came to Lebanon, I had an old idea that I could not stop thinking about, which was to establish the Koon Theatre Group. After I came to Lebanon, I started preparing for my first show called Above Zero, which was performed in 2014 and ran until 2018, with a team of Lebanese, Syrians, Palestinians, Germans and French. Also, we presented it in several countries and achieved great success, and I continued selecting artists with whom I had previously worked.

Each of these artists has a skill, whether it is acting, dancing, singing or playing, and each of them has a different way of expressing messages. This is how I started as soon as I came to Lebanon, taking advantage of the small amount of freedom that exists in the country, both in terms of freedom of expression and the type of issues discussed. I was able to have a place of my own and my group in this country.”

Some argue that the level of academic experience, techniques and skills that the Syrian artists brought with them was much higher than what had previously existed in Lebanon. For example, the Syrians introduced the concept of the ‘dramaturge’ – a literary editor who liaises with playwrights and researches, edits and interprets scripts. If the production includes a scene from the 1980s and one of the characters is shown having a drink, the dramaturge is responsible for finding the right drink from that period.

The Syrians have also helped to push territorial boundaries within Lebanon through art, enriching the artistic movement and theatrical performances, increasing audience turnout and promoting cross-border artistic development.

This is in addition to related associations and institutions and sponsors of Syrian art and culture in Lebanon because of the geographical proximity between the two countries. These institutions have created a large labour market for both the Lebanese and Syrians.

Despite these positives, the experience of Syrian artists in Lebanon is complex. Although they enjoy a degree of freedom unseen in Syria since the al-Assad family came to power, Syrian artists are not officially permitted to work in Lebanon and often struggle to get permits to travel abroad. These difficulties have prompted a number of artists to emigrate to Europe. Others have felt forced to take more extreme measures, such as actor and dancer Hassan Rabih who committed suicide in 2015. For his part, Halal was able to reach an agreement with the Sunflower Theatre. He joined the theatre in 2016 and established the Koon Studio, which has become an educational centre and haven for artists of all nationalities living in Lebanon.

To date, Halal has produced a number of successful productions with the studio’s theatre group, including Above Zero, The Other Side of the Garden and Ich Liebe Dich. He also organized four workshops to enable the exchange of knowledge and experience between artists and theatre makers, including technicians, writers and composers, all of whom worked free of charge. In addition, amateurs were invited to practice with the professional members of the group to gain experience, which helped to establish several new talents, some of whom have since become professionals themselves.

“I tried to create an artistic movement to support amateur or professional artists who want to develop their work and skills regardless of nationality, identity or anything else other than being an artist,” Halal said of this initiative.

Of all the art forms, drama has arguably been most significantly impacted by Syrian input. Although this dates from before the outbreak of the war, the influx of Syrian refugees has greatly enriched the scope and quality of Lebanese theatre productions. For example, Syrian director Samer Barqawi’s three-part drama series al-Haybah (‘the prestige’), played to sold-out audiences for three years. Other Syrian directors who have made a name for themselves in Lebanon include Rami Hanna (Tango and The Writer) and Rasha Sharbatji (Ma Fiyi, Samra and Private Relations).

The Lebanese drama scene has taken advantage of the Syrians working in this field, especially after the ban imposed by many Arab channels, and the Gulf states in particular, on Syrian dramas. As a result, a large number of Syrian producers, directors, writers, actors and others now dominate the scene, to the extent that ‘there is no Lebanese drama except in the presence of Syrians’, according to Lebanese art critic, Shafiq Tabbarah.

A number of Syrian actors, such as Tayyim Hassan, Kosai Khauli and Mutasim al-Nahar, have gained fame in their host country, in some cases surpassing the success and celebrity of their Lebanese counterparts.

In terms of fine art, dozens of Syrian artists have established themselves in Lebanon, with their work represented in exhibitions and collections across the country. As Syrian painter and artist Mudar Dwara explained, “Syrian artists in Lebanon have almost entered all painting exhibitions and hotels in Lebanon, and the artists were more welcome in Lebanon than in any other neighbouring country or diaspora countries, although Lebanon is a small country facing difficult economic circumstances.”

He added, “The works presented by the Syrians in Lebanon were distinct and varied, and each artist expressed his or her style, art, way of thinking and touches. These Syrian touches were in Lebanon, yet they maintained the Syrian art heritage. The Syrian crisis greatly influenced many of those works because crises and wars create art in the same way they cause tragedies.”

Unlike many Syrians working in the theatre, fine artists have found it easier to establish themselves in Lebanon, mainly because they can work alone from their own homes or studios, and because of the economic dimensions of this field, which became more active with the Syrians’ arrival.

“As a Syrian artist in Lebanon, I have not encountered any harassment or issue. On the contrary, there was a lot of support from the people around us. I was free to hold any exhibition or participate in any event. I am not alone, and I think that dozens of Syrian painters who came to Lebanon from all Syrian governorates discovered the same about Lebanon,” Dwara said.

The exact number of Syrian artists working in Lebanon is unclear, as is the number of exhibitions they have held, in part because there have been so many.

Besides theatre, drama and fine art, hundreds of Syrians work in, produce and study various other arts alongside their Lebanese hosts, including music, film, singing and sculpture, all of which have flourished since the influx of refugees, despite their portrayal by some groups as an economic and social burden.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: JOSEPH EID ©AFP | JOSEPH EID ©AFP

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update