فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / في لبنان، عودة الزواج المدني إلى النقاشات العامة

في لبنان، عودة الزواج المدني إلى النقاشات العامة

Lebanon- Civil marriage lebanon
متظاهرون لبنانيون يحملون لافتاتٍ خلال تجمعٍ رافض للحظر المستمر على الزواج المدني خارج وزارة الداخلية في العاصمة بيروت في 23 فبراير 2019. Photo AFP

خمسة عشر طائفة مختلفة معترف بها في لبنان، لكلٍ منها قانونٌ خاص بالأحوال المدنية يحدد جميع الأمور المتعلقة بالحياة الشخصية، بما في ذلك الزواج. وعليه، يطالب نشطاء المجتمع منذ سنواتٍ بالزواج المدني للخروج من هذا النظام المعقد. وهذه المرة، عاد الجدل حول الزواج المدني إلى طاولة النقاش من قِبل وزيرة الداخلية الجديدة، ريا الحفار الحسن.

وخلال مقابلةٍ مع يورونيوز في 15 فبراير 2019، أوضحت ريا الحفار الحسن، وزيرة الداخلية والبلديات المعينة حديثاً، نقطة كان من الواضح أن وسائل الإعلام والسلطات والناشطين في بلدها سيسلطون الضوء عليها، إذ قالت: “بالتأكيد، أنا شخصياً، أحبذ أن يكون هناك إطار للزواج المدني،” مضيفةً “نحن نعلم أن لهذا الأمر أبعاداً طائفية وسياسية وسآخذها بعين الإعتبار، لكني سأسعى إلى فتح باب الحوار مع جميع المرجعيات الدينية.” كان رد المرجعيات الدينية غاضباً، على الرغم من ظهور بعض السياسيين البارزين المؤيديين لمداخلتها هذه. ففي لبنان، هناك 15 قانوناً منفصلاً للأحوال الشخصية يحكم الطوائف الكبرى في البلاد ولدى كلٍ منها محكمة دينية فريدة خاصة بها.

إن الخيار الوحيد المتاح أمام البنانيين الذين لا يرغبون في الزواج الديني هو السفر إلى قبرص للحصول على زواجٍ مدني، وهو ما يشكل تجارة كبيرة للجزيرة الأوروبية الصغيرة. فالزواج الديني والمدني على حد سواء مكلفٌ في قبرص، فالزواج الديني يستوجب إعطاء المال للسلطة الدينية المسؤولة عن الاحتفال، وتكلفة الزواج المدني تعتمد على مدى سرعة سير العملية. رسوم الرحلة والإقامة في الفندق تكاليف إضافية تُضاف إلى كلا الخيارين. ولكن بغض النظر عن قضية التكاليف، تكمن مشكلة الأزواج اللبنانيين في دعم أسرهم: هل يقبل أقاربهم أم يرفضون خيارهم بالزواج في قبرص.

ومع ذلك، فإن الزواج المدني قانوني بالفعل في لبنان بسبب ثغرةٍ موروثة من القانون الفرنسي، الذي يسمح للأشخاص غير المنتمين إلى أي طائفة بالزواج المدني. أول زوجان تزوجا بهذه الطريقة في عام 2013، أخفيا أي إشارةٍ إلى طائفتهما من سجلاتهما الرسمية ووكلا محامٍ لإصدار شهادة الزواج. ومن بين عشرات اللبنانيين الذين تزوجوا بهذه الطريقة، لم يحصل غالبيتهم على مصادقةٍ للزواج من السلطات، مما يجعل زواجهم غير معترفٍ به بموجب القانون اللبناني، كما أن أطفالهم غير معترفٍ بهم بموجب أي قانون، وبالتالي، لا يملكون أي وضعٍ قانوني.

Lebanon- Civil wedding lebanon
خلود سكرية (يمين) ونضال درويش، اللذان تزوجا في تحدٍ لحظر لبنان للزواج المدني، يقفان لإلتقاط صورةٍ بجانب صخرة الروشة في بيروت، في 25 يناير 2013. Photo AFP

إن نظام قانون الأحوال الشخصية في البلاد مؤذٍ على وجه الخصوص للنساء، كما جاء في تقرير المنظمة الدولية لحقوق الإنسان، هيومن رايتس ووتش، في عام 2015. وبحسب التقرير: ” يكشف البحث […]عن نمط واضح من معاملة النساء من مختلف الطوائف على نحو أسوأ من الرجال حينما يتعلق الأمر بإمكانية إنهاء العلاقة الزوجية وحضانة الأطفال. تصطدم النساء المنتميات إلى مختلف الطوائف بعقبات قانونية وغير قانونية لدى مبادرتها على إنهاء زيجات تعيسة أو مسيئة، كما تواجه قيوداً على حقوقهن المالية، فضلاً عن هاجس فقدان أطفالهن في حال تزوجن مجدداً أو انقضت ما يعرف بفترة حضانة الأم (التي يحدّدها عمر الطفل). كما تم حرمان السيدات على نحو ممنهج من النفقة الكافية أثناء الزواج أو بعده ـ حيث يجوز للمحاكم الطائفية على خلاف ما تقتضيه العدالة رفض الحكم بها أو تخفيضها أو من حجبها عنها بسبب “نشوزها” -أي مغادرة منزل الزوجية ورفض مساكنة زوجها- أو إذا طلبت التفريق […] ولا يشكّل التشريع المصدر الوحيد لأوجه التمييز ضد المرأة بل تقع نتيجة الإجراءات أمام المحاكم الطائفية على حد سواء. وقد أفادت جميع السيدات اللواتي أجرت معهن هيومن رايتس ووتش المقابلات أنّ العديد من العقبات الإجرائية، ومنها ارتفاع الرسوم وطول أمد القضايا وغياب المساعدات القانونية والمادية أثناء إجراءات الدعاوى، شكّلت عوامل أساسية منعتهن من الالتجاء إلى المحاكم الطائفية وتحصيل حقوقهن المحدودة أصلاً.”

وفي لقاءٍ لنا في فَنَك مع آية مجذوب، الباحثة المتخصصة بشؤون لبنان والبحرين في هيومن رايتس ووتش، قالت: “كانت الفكرة من قوانين الأحوال الشخصية هي منح مختلف الجماعات الدينية الاستقلالية.” وأضافت “إلا أنها تعني أن اللبنانيين لا يعاملون بشكلٍ متساوٍ أمام القانون، وخاصة النساء. القوانين أكثر تمييزاً ضد المرأة، التي لا تحترم إعلان الأمم المتحدة للقضاء على التمييز ضد المرأة. توصيتنا في هيومن رايتس ووتش هي أن يكون هناك محكمة مدنية من أجل السماح بالزواج المدني واعتماد مجموعة جديدة من القوانين لجعله ممكناً كأحد الخيارات.”

تبع تصريحات ريا الحفار الحسن على يورونيوز في 15 فبراير احتجاجاً صغيراً أمام وزارتها في 23 فبراير، لنشطاء يطالبون بالزواج المدني. وفي هذا الصدد، قالت ريا “سأسعى لفتح الباب لحوار جدي وعميق حول هذه المسألة مع كل المرجعيات الدينية وغيرها، وبدعم من رئيس الحكومة سعد الحريري.” رد فعل السلطات الدينية كان أيضاً شبه فوري.

فقد قالت دار الفتوى، أعلى سلطة سُنيّة في لبنان، في اليوم التالي لنشر المقابلة مع الحسن، إن هذا الزواج “يخالف أحكام الشريعة الإسلامية” و”يخالف أيضاً أحكام الدستور اللبناني في ما يتعلق بوجوب احترام الأحوال الشخصية المعمول به في المحاكم الدينية.” في حين قال نائب رئيس المجلس الإسلامي الشيعي الأعلى يوم الجمعة: “يعترف الدستور اللبناني بأن لكل طائفة قوانينها للأحوال الشخصية،” مضيفًا: “إننا نعارض بشدة الزواج المدني لأنه ينتهك الدستور.” بينما جاء رد الفعل الأكثر إيجابية من البطريرك الماروني بشارة الراعي الذي قال “نحن لا نعارض الزواج المدني” إذا ما تم على الأراضي اللبنانية. كما أيد بعض الوزراء والنواب الفكرة، إلا أنهم لم يتكلموا بصراحةٍ عنها.

فقد كان هناك محاولات سابقة أخرى قامت بها مجموعات مختلفة من أجل السماح بالزواج المدني في لبنان، مثل حملة “الحب المدني” في عام 2018، عندما قام زوجان لبنانيان شابان، طارق مالك وأناستازيا الحاج، بتبادل نذور الزواج في المياه الدولية، على بعد 22 كلم عن الساحل اللبناني. كما قدمت نقابة المحامين في بيروت مسودة القانون الجديد حول الزواج المدني في لبنان، التي تتضمن خيارين: الزواج الديني والزواج المدني، بالإضافة إلى المطالبة بالمساواة بين الرجل والمرأة. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن العديد من الاحتجاجات المطالبة بحقوق مماثلة تخرج كل عامٍ تقريباً منذ عام 2009.

بيد أن مقابلة الحسن لا تعني أن الزواج المدني في لبنان سيصبح حقيقةً على الفور، ذلك أن السلطات الدينية تحظى بوافر النفوذ والتأثير في البلاد. وبحسب ما قالته آية مجذوب لنا، “الدولة والسلطات الدينية متشابكان، من المستحيل معارضتهما في الوقت الراهن.” وتابعت القول، ” لكنه يضع السؤال مرةً أخرى في الساحة العامة، ومرةً أخرى يتحدث السياسيون، وخاصة النساء، عن ذلك، وبالتالي سيكون هناك المزيد من الإمكانيات لخلق زخمٍ حول الموضوع. سيصبح الاتجاه السائد في وسائل الإعلام والمحادثات، مما يسهل اتخاذ القرار في وقتٍ لاحق.”

على الرغم من عدم استعداد لبنان بعد للزواج المدني، إلا أن البلاد تسير ببطء نحو هذا الهدف من أجل مجتمعٍ أكثر مساواة وعدلاً.

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Society, Media & Culture / Society / In Lebanon, Civil Marriage Returns in the Public Debate

In Lebanon, Civil Marriage Returns in the Public Debate

Lebanon- Civil marriage lebanon
Lebanese demonstrators carry placards during a gathering against the ongoing ban on civil unions outside the Ministry of Interior in the capital Beirut on February 23, 2019. Photo AFP

Fifteen different confessions are recognized in Lebanon, each of them having its own personal status law defining all matters of personal life, including marriage. Civil marriage has been requested by social activists for years in order to get out of this complex system. This time, it has been brought back to the debate table by the new Interior Minister, Raya Haffar al-Hassan.

It is during an interview given to Euronews on February 15, 2019 that Raya Haffar al-Hassan, the newly appointed Lebanon’s Minister of Interior and Municipalities, made a point that was obviously going to be picked up by her country’s media, authorities and activists. “Of course, I would personally prefer that there be a framework for civil marriage”, she said. “We know that this has sectarian and political dimensions and I will take these into consideration, but I want to open a debate with all religious parties.” The country’s religious groups reacted with outrage, despite some prominent politicians coming out in support of her intervention. In Lebanon, there are 15 separate personal status laws that govern the country’s major sects and each has its own unique religious court.

The only current option for Lebanese people who do not want to get married religiously is to travel to Cyprus to get a civil marriage, which constitutes a big business for the small European island. Both religious and civil marriage in Cyprus are expensive. A religious wedding necessitates giving money to the religious authority in charge of the ceremony, and the cost of a civil marriage depends on how fast the process should go. Trip and hotel fees are an added cost to both options. But beyond the issue of money, the dilemma for Lebanese couples lies with the support of their family: whether or not their relatives accept their choice to marry in Cyprus.

However, civil marriage is already legal in Lebanon because of a loophole inherited from the French law, which allows people who are not affiliated with a sect to get a civil marriage. The first couples who got married in this fashion, back in 2013, hid away references to their sect from their official records and hired a lawyer to establish a marriage certificate. Among the dozens of Lebanese couples who tied the knot this way, the majority never had their certificate validated by the authorities, making their marriage unrecognized under Lebanese law and the children born from it unrecognized under any law. Therefore, they have no status.

Lebanon- Civil wedding lebanon
Kholoud Sukkariyeh (R) and Nidal Darwish, who got married in defiance of Lebanon’s ban on civil unions, pose for a picture next to Beiurt’s landmark Pigeon Rock on January 25, 2013. Photo AFP

The country’s system of personal status laws is harmful mainly to women, as a report from the international organization Human Rights Watch (HRW) showed in 2015. It read: “Our research […] reveals a clear pattern of women from all sects being treated worse than men when it comes to accessing divorce and primary care for their children (“custody”). Across all confessions, women faced legal and other obstacles when terminating unhappy or abusive marriages; limitations on their pecuniary rights; and the risk of losing their children if they remarry or when the so-called maternal custody period (determined by the child’s age) ends. Women were also systematically denied adequate spousal support during and after marriage—with religious courts often unfairly denying or reducing payments, including if a judge found a woman to be “recalcitrant” by leaving the marital home and refusing to cohabit with her husband or filing for severance. […] Discrimination against women results not only from laws, but also courts procedures. All of the women whom Human Rights Watch interviewed said numerous procedural obstacles, including high fees, protracted lawsuits, and lack of legal and material assistance during legal proceedings kept them from accessing religious courts and enforcing even their limited rights.”

“The idea of personal status laws was to grant autonomy to the different religious groups”, Aya Majzoub, Lebanon and Bahrain researcher for HRW, told Fanack. “But it means that Lebanese people are not treated equally in front of the law, especially women. Laws are more discriminatory towards women, which is not respecting the United Nations’ Declaration on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women. Our recommendation at HRW is to have a civil court in order to permit civil marriage and adopt a new set of laws to make it possible as an option.”

The declarations of Raya Haffar al-Hassan on Euronews on February 15 were followed by a small protest in front of her ministry on February 23, with activists asking for civil marriage. “I will try to open the door for serious and profound dialogue on this issue with all religious authorities and others, with the support of Prime Minister Saad Hariri,” she said. Backlash from religious authorities was also almost immediate.

Such unions “violate the provisions of Islamic law” and “contravene the provisions of the Lebanese constitution” regarding the authority of religious courts over personal status issues, Dar al-Fatwa, the highest Sunni authority in Lebanon, said the day after the interview with al-Hassan was published. “The Lebanese constitution recognizes that every sect has its own personal status laws”, the deputy head of the Supreme Islamic Shiite Council said on Friday, adding: “We strongly oppose civil marriage because it violates the constitution.” One more positive note reaction came from the head of Lebanon’s Maronite church, Bechara Rai, who said he was “not against civil unions” conducted on Lebanese territory. Some ministers and MPs also supported the idea, but were not so outspoken about it.

Other previous attempts have been made by different groups in order to have civil marriage in Lebanon, such as the “Civil love” campaign in 2018, when a young Lebanese couple, Tarek Mallak and Anastacia El Hajj, exchanged vows in international waters, 22km off the Lebanese coast. The Beirut Bar Association (BBA) has presented a draft of the new law on civil marriage in Lebanon, introducing two options: religious marriage and civil marriage, as well as requiring equality between men and women. Many protests asking for similar rights have occurred almost every year since 2009.

But Hassan’s interview doesn’t mean civil marriage in Lebanon will become an immediate reality, as religious authorities have a lot of power and influence in the country. “The State and the religious authorities are intertwined, it’s impossible to go against them for now”, Majzoub told Fanack. “But it puts the question back in the public arena, and once more politicians, especially women, speak about that, there will be more possibility to create a momentum. It will become mainstream in the media and conversations, which will facilitate the decision later on.”

Despite not being quite ready for civil marriage yet, Lebanon is on its slow way of reaching out towards this goal for a more equal and fair society.

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.