فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / الجمهورية اللبنانية / المجتمع والإعلام والثقافة / المجتمع / وضع المرأة

المرأة اللبنانية

يؤكد الدستور اللبناني (المادة 7) على المساواة بين الجنسين: “كل اللبنانيين سواءٌ لدى القانون. وهم يتمتعون بالسواء بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية ويتحملون الواجبات العامة دونما فرق بينهم”.

يمكن للنساء الخروج والدراسة والذهاب إلى الجامعات والعمل وإدارة شركات خاصة والترشيح لمجلس النواب، بل أن يصبحن وزيرات. وظاهرياً، تعتبر المرأة في لبنان أفضل من قريناتها في البلدان العربية الأخرى. ولكن حتى في أيامنا هذه، تميز بعض القوانين بين الرجال والنساء.

عام 1996 صادق لبنان على اتفاقية القضاء على جميع صور التمييز ضد النساء، والتي اعتمدتها الجمعية العمومية للأمم المتحدة عام 1979. إلا أن للبنان تحفّظ على المادة (16) من الاتفاقية، والتي تتناول موضوع الزواج والأسرة. ويعود السبب إلى أن الأحوال الشخصية للمرأة (مثل الزواج والطلاق وحقوق الملكية والميراث والنسب والوصاية على الأطفال) يفرضها انتماؤها الديني. يعترف لبنان بثمان عشرة طائفة مختلفة، لكل واحدة منها قوانينها الدينية الخاصة بها. وقد طالبت بعض المجموعات النسائية بالإصلاح عن طريق إدخال نظام زواج مدني عام من شأنه وضع جميع الزيجات تحت قانون عام مشترك. وقد لاقى هذا الاقتراح مقاومة من جانب مجلس النواب، والذي أعاق دراسته. ولكن بعض مجالات الأحوال الشخصية الخاصة بالمرأة في لبنان يفرضها القانون المدني العام. وهذا القانون يضمن إمكانية ملكية المرأة للشركات الخاصة، وأن تكون شهادتها تعادل شهادة الرجل في المحكمة.

Photo HH / في بيروت
Photo HH / في بيروت

تمثيل المرأة في مجلس النواب

وزيرة المالية ريا الحسن
وزيرة المالية ريا الحسن

حصلت المرأة اللبنانية على حق التصويت والترشيح للانتخابات في عام 1952. ولكن في السياسة، لا يزلن أقلية ضئيلة. فلم تشغل النساء في البرلمان السابق سوى ستة مقاعد من أصل 128 مقعداً برلمانياً. وفي عام 2009 انخفض عددهن إلى أقل من ذلك: والآن لا يوجد سوى أربع نائبات، أي ما نسبته 3,1% فقط. وهكذا تحتل لبنان آخر القائمة من التمثيل البرلماني للمرأة في الشرق الأوسط (في جارتها سوريا 12,4%). ولم يشهد لبنان تعيين وزيرة لأول مرة إلا في نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني عام 2004. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن الحكومة اللبنانية الحالية تضم وزيرتيْن، إحداهما وزيرة المالية ريا الحسن.

المواطنة والقانون الدولي

يمثل قانون المواطنة والجنسية الصادر في 1 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 1960 مسألة هامة بالنسبة للمرأة اللبنانية. لا يمنح هذا القانون حقوق المواطنة للأطفال وأزواج النساء اللبنانيات المتزوجات من غير لبنانيين، على عكس الرجال اللبنانيين الذين يحصلون على هذه الحقوق. وقد كان ذلك واحداً من الأهداف الرئيسية لإطار المساعدة الإنمائية للأمم المتحدة للفترة 2002-2006. وبالفعل في آذار/مارس 2006 تم تقديم مشروع قانون ينبغي أن يُدخل المساواة فيما يتعلق بحق المواطنة إلى مجلس النواب، ولكن المخاوف الأمنية الملحة حالت دون دراسة النواب لمشروع القانون هذا.

الاستقامة الجنسية وجرائم الشرف

أما بالنسبة لقانون العقوبات، فيرى دعاة المساواة أن الكثير من أحكامه تمييزية ضد النساء. ومن بين هذه المواد، تلك (503-522) التي تتعلق بالانتهاكات الجنسية: “إذا اغتصبت امرأة ووافق المعتدي على الزواج منها، فإنه يعفى من الجرم”. وقد تم تعديل المواد ذات الصلة بجرائم الشرف عام 1999. ومع ذلك، لا تزال المادة 562 بحاجة إلى تخفيف العقوبة على الجرائم التي ترتكب باسم الشرف.

التعليم والقوة العاملة

تحظى المرأة الحضرية في لبنان بقدر وافر من التعليم. وقد انخفض معدل الأمية عند النساء البالغات من 37% عام 1980 إلى 19,7% عام 2000. وتبلغ نسبة الأمية بين الشابات 8% فقط. ونصف طلاب الجامعات من الإناث. إلا أن الفوارق الإقليمية تلعب دوراً هاماً، ولا تزال الأمية مرتفعة في شمال لبنان وفي الأحياء الجنوبية.

تشكل المرأة اللبنانية نحو 30% من القوى العاملة. وفي عام 2006 كانت النساء العاملات أكثر تعليماً من الرجال، حيث أن التعليم الجيد قد أصبح شرطاً أساسياً لدخول المرأة في القوة العاملة. ويعمل ما يقرب من ربع النساء الموظفات (24,6%) في القطاع المهني. حصلت المرأة على فرص العمل في الوظائف الحكومية والطب والقانون والأوساط الأكاديمية والفنون والأعمال التجارية. وتعمل أغلب النساء (81%) في قطاع الخدمات، ومن بينهن 14% في الصناعة و 4% في الزراعة. ولم يصل إلى المناصب العليا إلا القليل من النساء. هذا وتشغل النساء نحو 90% من وظائف البنوك، ولكن ليس هناك مديرات مصارف.

لبنان
معدلات الخصوبة
لبنان
نسبة الاناث للذكور

في الخمسينيات، وقَّع لبنان على اتفاقيات منظمة العمل الدولية بشأن المساواة في الأجور والتمييز في التوظيف والتدريب المهني. ولكن لم يتم تكييف قوانين العمل لمنع أرباب العمل من التمييز بين الجنسين إلا في الفترة ما بين عامي 2000 و 2002. ولا تزال المساواة بين الجنسين لا تُنفّذ في قوانين العمل.

لبنان
مشاركة المرأة في العمل

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Hollandse Hoogte | ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Lebanon / Society, Media & Culture / Society / Position of Women

Position of Women in Lebanon

Position of Women lebanon
In Beirut

lebanon fertility rate

The Lebanese Constitution (Article 7) affirms gender equality: ‘All Lebanese are equal before the law. They equally enjoy civil and political rights and equally are bound by public obligations and duties without any distinction.’ Women go out, study, go to university, work, have their own businesses, are elected to Parliament, even become ministers. Superficially, they do much better than in other Arab countries. Still, even today some laws discriminate between men and women.

In 1996, Lebanon ratified the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW), adopted in 1979 by the UN General Assembly. However, Lebanon submitted a clause on Article 16 of the Convention dealing with marriage and the family. This is because a female’s personal status (for example marriage, divorce, property rights, inheritance, recognition and custody of children) is largely dictated by her religious affiliation. Lebanon recognizes eighteen different communities that each have their own religious laws. Some women’s groups have called for reform to create a universal civil marriage that would bring all marriages under a common code. This proposal has been resisted by Parliament, which has blocked it from consideration. Some areas of women’s personal status in Lebanon are however dictated by a common civil code. This code guarantees that women can own businesses and that their testimony will be given equal weight to men’s in court.

Female representation in Parliament

In 1952, women obtained the right to vote and to be elected. But in politics, they are still a tiny minority. In the previous Parliament, women occupied only 6 seats out of 128. In 2009, their number further decreased: now, there are only four women MPs, or 3.1 percent. Thus, Lebanon is at the bottom of the table of parliamentary representation of women in the Middle East (in neighbouring Syria it is 12.4 percent). The first time female ministers were appointed was in November 2004. The present cabinet has two female ministers, among whom the Minister of Finance, Raya al-Hassan.

Citizenship and international law

An important issue for Lebanese women is the citizenship and naturalization law of November 1, 1960. This law does not grant citizenship rights to children and spouses of Lebanese women married to non-nationals, in contrast to Lebanese men, who are granted these rights. It was one of the main goals of the UN Development Assistance Framework 2002-2006. Indeed, in March 2006, a draft law that should introduce equality concerning the right to citizenship was submitted to Parliament, but pressing security concerns prevented the MPs from studying this draft law.

Sexual integrity and ‘crimes of honour’

Regarding the Penal Code, those who fight for equal rights consider many of its dispositions discriminatory towards women. Among these articles, one (503-522) relating to the violation of sexual integrity states: ‘If a woman is raped and the perpetrator agrees to marry the victim, he will be pardoned.’ The articles related to ‘crimes of honour’ were amended in 1999. Yet Article 562 still requires mitigation of the penalty for crimes committed in the name of honour.

Education and workforce

Urban women receive a good education in Lebanon. Adult female illiteracy has fallen from 37 percent in 1980 to 19.7 percent in 2000. Illiteracy among young females is a mere 8 percent. Half of all university students are women. But regional differences are important, and illiteracy is still high in North Lebanon and in the southern districts.

Lebanese women make up some 30 percent of the workforce. In 2006, working women were generally better educated than their male counterparts, as better education tends to be a prerequisite for women entering the labour force. Almost a quarter (24.6 percent) of employed women work in the professional sector. Women have found opportunities in government, medicine, the law, academia, the arts, and business. Most women (81 percent) are employed in the service sector, with 14 percent in industry and 4 percent in agriculture. Few women have achieved senior positions. 90 percent of bank employees are women, but there are no female bank directors.

Lebanon signed the International Labour Organization (ILO) Conventions on Equal Remuneration and on Discrimination in Employment and Occupation in the 1950s. Yet it was only in the years 2000-2002 that labour laws were adapted in order to prohibit gender discrimination by employers. Still, gender equality has not been fully achieved yet in labour laws.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: ANWAR AMRO ©AFP | ©Fanack | ©Fanack | ©Fanack

"Ignorance leads to fear, fear leads to hatred, and hatred leads to violence.
This is the equation."

IBN RUSHD/AVERROES (1126 – 1198)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!

COVID-19 UPDATE

Get the latest update on the Coronavirus outbreak in the Middle East and North Africa.

Regional Update