فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / ليبيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / بناء مملكة حديثة

بناء مملكة حديثة


بعد الاستقلال، اعتمدت الدولة الليبية الجديدة على المساعدات الأجنبية نظراً إلى افتقارها إلى الموارد المادية والبشرية اللازمة لإدارة النظام السياسي المعقد. وسياسياً، اعتمدت ليبيا على البريطانيين والأمريكان الذين دفعوا أجرة المرافق البحرية في طبرق وقاعدة ويلس الجوية (خارج طرابلس).

تصرفت الحكومة الليبية بسرعة لإنهاء حالة الفقر هذه. عام 1956، تم منح الامتيازات الأولى للتنقيب عن النفط، وعام 1959، اكتشفت شركة Esso Libya حقل زلطن النفطي. بدأ تصدير النفط عام 1961 بعد مد خط أنابيب طوله 167 كم إلى البحر الأبيض المتوسط. وقامت الحكومة باقتسام الامتيازات بين عدة شركات نفط بدلاً من الشركات العالمية السبع الكبرى المنتجة للنفط، وتوسع الإنتاج بسرعة. بحلول عام 1965، كانت ليبيا تنتج 122 مليون برميل نفط يومياً، والذي ارتفع إلى 3,1 مليون عام 1969، مما أدى إلى تزايد سريع في الإيرادات. أصبحت ليبيا إحدى أسرع الاقتصادات نمواً في العالم. وارتفع الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في ليبيا من 125 مليون دينار عام 1960 إلى 560 مليون دينار عام 1965 ومن ثم إلى 1,358 مليون دينار عام 1969.

لم تكن الملكية مستعدة للتغيرات الاجتماعية الناشئة عن زيادة الدخل، مثل ارتفاع عدد الممتلكات الخاصة والهجرة الواسعة النطاق إلى المدن. كما تسبب زيادة الدخل في حالة من عدم الاستقرار السياسي وسرعة دوران الحكومات. عام 1963، تم إلغاء النظام الفدرالي وأصبحت ليبيا دولة موحدة، مما أدى إلى نشوء توترات في إقليمي برقة وفزان. ومنح النظام البرلماني ثنائي المجلس المرأة حق التصويت، مما نفّر النظام الديني المحافظ.

كان الافتقار إلى الرقابة العامة على الإنفاق يعني أن الحكومة أصبحت غير فعالة وفاسدة: لم يكن الخط بين الأموال العامة والخاصة واضحاً؛ وظهرت الفضائح الواحدة تلو الأخرى. فاتخذت معارضة النظام لزوماً شكل معارضة الملكية، وتم التعبير عنها بشعارات الوحدة العربية التي نادى بها الرئيس المصري جمال عبد الناصر. وكان هناك استياء كبير من استخدام عائدات النفط الليبي لتمويل حكومة كانت تؤيد الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وبريطانيا اللتين ساندتا إسرائيل في حرب عام 1967. ومع حلول عام 1969، كان من الواضح أن انقلاباً سيحدث، وأن مجموعتين على الأقل كانتا على استعداد لتنفيذه.

الملك إدريس الأول
الملك إدريس الأول

عام 1965
عام 1965

في آخر أيامه
في آخر أيامه

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Libya / Past to Present / Constructing a Modern Kingdom

Constructing a Modern Kingdom

After independence, the new Libyan state depended on foreign aid, because there was neither the money nor the personnel to run the complicated political system. Politically, it depended on the British and the Americans, who paid rent for the naval facilities at Tobruk and Wheelus military airfield (outside Tripoli), respectively.

The Libyan government acted quickly to end this impoverishment. In 1956 the first concessions for oil exploration were granted, and in 1959 Esso Standard Libya discovered the Zliten oil field. Oil exports began in 1961, after a 167-kilometre pipeline was built to the Mediterranean Sea. The government had divided the concessions among several oil companies rather than the seven major world producers, and production expanded quickly. By 1965 Libya was producing 122 million barrels a day, which rose to 3.1 million in 1969, and this produced a rapid increase in revenue. Libya became one of the fastest-growing economies in the world. National GDP grew from 125 million dinars in 1960 to 560 in 1965 to 1,358 million in 1969.

The monarchy was not prepared for the social changes brought by this increased income, such as an increase in private property and large-scale migration to the cities. It also brought political instability and a rapid turnover of governments. In 1963, the federal system was abolished, and Libya became a unified state, which caused tensions in Cyrenaica and Fezzan. A bicameral parliamentary system gave women the right to vote, which alienated the conservative religious establishment.

The lack of public control of spending meant that government became increasingly inefficient and corrupt: the line between private and public wealth was indistinct, and scandal after scandal ensued. Opposition to the regime necessarily took the form of opposition to the monarchy, and it was expressed in terms of the Arab nationalism pronounced by President Nasser of Egypt. There was great resentment that Libyan oil earnings were financing a government that supported the US and Britain, which supported Israel during the 1967 War. By 1969 it was clear that there would be a coup, and at least two groups prepared to mount one.

King Idris I
King Idris I
In 1965
In 1965
In his latter days
In his latter days

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.