فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / ليبيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الاستقلال والملك إدريس

الاستقلال والملك إدريس

بعد اقتسام ليبيا بين الفرنسيين والبريطانيين، توجب على الأمم المتحدة أن تقرر بشأن البلاد. في تلك الأثناء، كانت القوتان الأوروبيتان تحكمان البلاد كسلطتين استعماريين، ولكن عن طريق متعاونين محليين. اعتمد الفرنسيون على عشيرة سيف النصر في فزان والبريطانيون على الأخوية السنوسية كعملاء رئيسيين. وفي مدينة طرابلس، كان الرأي العام بين النخبة يفضل إنشاء دولة موحدة، إلا أن سكان إقليم برقة قبلوا بالوحدة فقط بقيادة السنوسيين. رفض الاتحاد السوفييتي أية فكرة لتقسيم ليبيا بشكل نهائي بين البريطانيين والفرنسيين نظراً للفائدة الاستراتيجية التي كانت ستكسبها القوى الغربية في منطقة البحر المتوسط. عندها توصل مجلس الأمن إلى تسوية أصبحت ليبيا بموجبها مملكة اتحادية مستقلة برئاسة محمد إدريس. وسُمح للبريطانيين والأمريكان بالاحتفاظ بقواعد عسكرية على الساحل.

نالت ليبيا استقلالها في 24 كانون الأول/ديسمبر عام 1951، لكن لم يكن للدولة الجديدة موارد سوى طبقة متوسطة محلية صغيرة دون اقتصاد متطور أو تجارة أو فرص عمل و 94% من الأميين ودخل سنوي للفرد الواحد يعادل 35 دولار. وكان هناك 11 مليون لغم غير متفجر في ساحات معارك الحرب العالمية الثانية. وبالتالي، كانت ليبيا أفقر دولة مستقلة على وجه الأرض.

كما كان هناك اختلال في الهيكل السياسي. فقد كان ملكياً دستورياً، غير أنه تم تعيين الملك – الملكية مفهوم جديد بالنسبة إلى ليبيا- من قبل القوى العظمى في الأمم المتحدة. ولم يشارك أي ليبي في إنشاء الدولة الجديدة. وللأخذ في الاعتبار الاختلاف الكبير في الممارسات السياسية في طرابلس وبرقة وفزان، كان كل من هذه الأقاليم الثلاثة يتمتع بقدر كبير من الاستقلالية ومجالسها الإقليمية الخاصة. ورغم وجود برلمان وحكومة وطنيين، لم يكن هناك هيكلية شاملة لإدارة الاقتصاد. عام 1959، وظفت الحكومة المركزية 1200 شخص فقط، في حين وظفت حكومة إقليم طرابلس 6000 وحكومة إقليم برقة 4000. وفي النهاية، أصبح للبلاد عاصمتان: طرابلس والبيضاء (مسقط رأس السنوسي) الواقعة في المنطقة الجبلية في برقة. نتيجة لذلك، تولت الملكية إدارة الاقتصاد مع رقابة قليلة على كيفية إنفاق الأموال، مما أدى إلى تفشي الفساد. وحتى القوات المسلحة لم تكن موحدة: كانت قوات الدفاع المحلية في برقة وطرابلس مستقلة عن الجيش الوطني.


إقرأ المزيد

ليبيا البلد الغارقة في الفوضى اليوم، محكومةٌ بأكثر من رأس منذ أطا...
ملف فنك الشامل عن ليبيا يوفر لمحة شاملة عن هذه الدولة وتاريخها وثق...
يشكل العرب والأمازيغ (البربر) 97٪ من إجمالي السكان في ليبيا (البربر5...

ملف التحديث الإقليمي COVID-19

احصل على آخر تحديث عن تفشي فيروس كورونا في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

تطورات فيروس كورونا

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Libya / Past to Present / Independence and King Idris

Independence and King Idris

With Libya split between the British and the French, it fell to the United Nations to decide what to do about the country. In the meantime, both European powers ruled like colonial masters, working through local collaborators. The French relied on the Sayf al-Nasr clan in Fezzan, and the British used the Senussi order as their chief agents. In Tripoli, public opinion among the elite favoured the creation of a united state, but the population of Cyrenaica would accept unity only under the Senussis. Any idea of splitting Libya permanently between the British and French was vetoed by the Soviet government because of the strategic advantage it would give the Western powers in the central Mediterranean, so the Security Council compromised on an independent federated Kingdom of Libya under Muhammad Idris. The British and American governments were allowed to maintain military bases on the coast.

Libya became independent on 24 December 1951, but the new state had no resources, only a tiny local middle class, no developed economy, no trade, no jobs, 94 percent illiteracy, and a per capita annual income of USD 35. An estimated 11 million unexploded mines had been left behind on the battlefields of World War II. Libya was the poorest independent country on earth.

It also had a dysfunctional political structure. It was designated a constitutional monarchy, but the King – monarchy was a new concept for Libya – was appointed by the great powers of the United Nations. No Libyan was involved in the creation of the new state. To take account of the enormous difference in the political experiences of Tripoli, Cyrenaica, and Fezzan, each of the provinces had a great deal of autonomy and their own provincial councils. Although there was a national Parliament and a national government, there was no overall structure for managing the economy. In 1959 the central government employed only 1,200 people, but the provincial government in Tripoli had 6,000 civil servants and Cyrenaica’s had 4,000. Eventually there were two capitals: Tripoli and the Senussi hometown of Bayda in the highlands of Cyrenaica. As a result, the economy was directed by the monarchy with little control on how money was spent, causing rampant corruption. Not even the Armed Forces were integrated: local defence forces in Cyrenaica and Tripoli side-lined the national army.

Further Reading

Libya, the country drowning in chaos today, is governed by multiple sides since a national alliance led by the NATO over...
Libya has huge oil and gas reserves and a small population, making it one of the richest countries in Africa, in per cap...
Arabs and Berbers account for 97 per cent of the population (Berbers 5 per cent), and the remaining 3 per cent is made u...

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.