فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / ليبيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / إيطاليا وفرنسا: معركةٌ حول السلام في ليبيا

إيطاليا وفرنسا: معركةٌ حول السلام في ليبيا

Libya- Libya conference
رؤوساء دول ووزراء ومبعوثون خاصون يحضرون في 13 نوفمبر 2018 مؤتمراً دولياً حول ليبيا في باليرمو. يلتقي اللاعبون السياسيون الليبيون الرئيسيون مع قادةٍ عالميين في أحدث محاولةٍ من القوى الكبرى للدفع بالعملية السياسية المتوقفة منذ فترةٍ طويلة وإجراء الانتخابات. Photo AFP

تتنافس فرنسا وإيطاليا على قيادة المحاولات الدبلوماسية لتحقيق الاستقرار في ليبيا، بيد أن جهودهما من شأنها أن تزيد من تفاقم الصراع.

في مايو 2018، استضافت باريس محادثاتٍ ضمت العشرات من المندوبين ورؤساء الدول، فضلاً عن أربعة شخصيات ليبية متنافسة: فايز السراج، الذي يقود حكومة طرابلس المدعومة من الأمم المتحدة؛ واللواء خليفة حفتر، الذي يرأس السلطة المناوئة- الجيش الوطني الليبي المعلن ذاتياً في الشرق؛ وعقيلة صالح عيسى، رئيس البرلمان والمعارض للسراج؛ وخالد المشري، رئيس المجلس الأعلى للدولة في ليبيا. وعلى الرغم من أن المحادثات جمعت اللاعبين الرئيسيين في الصراع الليبي، إلا أن روما كانت غائبةً بشكلٍ ملحوظ: إذ كانت تتعامل مع أزمتها السياسية الخاصة، التي أشعلها تفكك الحكومة الائتلافية الإيطالية.

في مؤتمر باريس، وافق القادة الليبيون المتنافسون على إجراء الانتخابات بحلول 10 ديسمبر، والتي توقع الخبراء أنها غير قابلة للتنفيذ. وفي أغسطس، صرح السفير الإيطالي في ليبيا، جيوزيبي بيروني، للصحفيين أنه لا يريد إجراء انتخاباتٍ في ليبيا بأي ثمن. وعليه، أثار تصريحه احتجاجاتٍ في شوارع العديد من البلدات الليبية.

وقال عامر أبو دية، أستاذ العلوم السياسية في جامعة طرابلس، لصحيفة جلف نيوز: “سعى السفير لاستفزاز الشعب الليبي من خلال إثارة إرث إيطاليا الاستعماري في ليبيا.”

وعلى الرغم من تعليق بيروني، تأجلت الانتخابات الليبية عندما اندلعت اشتباكاتٌ عنيفة في طرابلس بنهاية أغسطس واستمرت لمدة شهرٍ كامل. أثناء القتال، قام وزير الداخلية اليميني المتطرف في إيطاليا، ماتيو سالفيني، بمهاجمة فرنسا.

قال سالفيني للصحفيين، “يجب على إيطاليا أن تدافع عن السلام والاستقرار في منطقة البحر الأبيض المتوسط ولا يجب أن يحل توغل الآخرين، الذين لا يفعلون ذلك سوى لأسباب اقتصادية، محل السلام.”

Libya- Macron haftar
الرئيس الفرنسي إيمانويل ماكرون (وسط) يتوسط رئيس الوزراء الليبي فايز السراج (يسار) أثناء مصافحته الجنرال خليفة حفتر (يمين)، قائد الجيش الوطني الليبي، في أعقاب محادثاتٍ تهدف إلى تخفيف حدة التوتر في ليبيا، في قصر لاسيل سان كلو، بالقرب من باريس، في 25 يوليو 2017. Photo AFP

من جهته، شجع فشل فرنسا في تحقيق الاستقرار في البلاد إيطاليا على تنظيم مؤتمرها الخاص، الذي عقد في مدينة باليرمو في 12 نوفمبر. وكان الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترمب قد أبدى وجهة نظره بالموضوع مؤيداً طموح إيطاليا إجراء محادثاتٍ عندما أشاد “بالدور القيادي لإيطاليا في تحقيق استقرار ليبيا وشمال إفريقيا،” في يوليو 2018.

ولكن كحال محادثات باريس، لم يساعد المؤتمر في باليرمو على استقرار البلاد، بل بالكاد خرج بوعدٍ من الجنرال خليفة حفتر بعدم مهاجمة الحكومة المنافسة في طرابلس. ومنذ ذلك الحين، اعترف المسؤولون الإيطاليون والفرنسيون بأن اختلاف المصالح هي المسؤولة عن التنافس الحاصل في ليبيا.

على صعيدٍ متصل، يفضل الإيطاليون التعامل مع حكومة الوفاق الوطني المدعومة دولياً في طرابلس. فقد وقعت إيطاليا على اتفاقيات مع حكومة الوفاق الوطني، والتي تسمح للميليشيات باعتراض قوارب المهاجرين وإعادتهم إلى مراكز الاعتقال المروعة في ليبيا. بل وصل الأمر إلى إرسال إيطاليا سفناً حربية لمساعدة المليشيات في هذه المهمة، وأرسلت قواتها للاحتراس من طرق التهريب في جنوب البلاد. وفي حين أن الهجرة هي القضية الإساسية، تمتلك روما أيضاً مصالح في تأمين أصول الطاقة المربحة في ليبيا.

لكن فرنسا لديها أهداف مختلفة، فالرئيس إيمانويل ماكرون، أولاً وقبل كل شيء، يؤيد استقرار الجنوب الليبي، حيث يستغل المهربون والجهاديون الحدود التي يسهل اختراقها مع السودان وتشاد والنيجر. فقد ألقت باريس بثقلها وراء ظهر حفتر وتعتقد أنه أفضل شخصٍ لمكافحة الإرهاب في ليبيا وتأمين دائرة اهتمام فرنسا بمنطقة الساحل.

المصدر: Wikipedia, occhidellaguerra.it and geopoliticalfeatures.com. إضغط للتكبير. @Fanack

فرنسا أيضاً لديها مصالح اقتصادية في البلاد، إذ ذكرت صحيفة ميدل إيست أي في 28 مايو 2018 أن شركة الطاقة الفرنسية، توتال، ضمنت الوصول إلى احتياطيات النفط الرئيسية في الشرق، حيث امكانيات التنقيب هائلة.

بيد أن الجنوب الليبي هو نقطة التنافس الرئيسية بين إيطاليا وفرنسا، إذ حاولت كلتا الدولتين التوسط بشكلٍ منفصل لوضع حدٍ للقتال القبلي في الوقت الذي تستغل فيه الميليشيات لتأمين مصالحها. ومع ذلك، أدى عدم التنسيق بين فرنسا وإيطاليا إلى تفاقم التوترات المحلية.

بل إن زعيم قبيلة أولاد سليمان، وهي قبيلة بارزة في الجنوب، قد قال في أبريل 2018 أن الفصائل المختلفة في المنطقة تجري محادثاتٍ تحت إشراف فرنسا. وكان من المقرر أن تحل أهداف المحادثات محل اتفاق “الاستقرار” السابق الذي توسطت فيه إيطاليا في عام 2017.

من جهته، لاحظ ماتيو إيلاردو، وهو باحثٌ في المعهد النمساوي للسياسة الأوروبية والأمنية، أن روما وباريس “أعميتا بسبب طموحات الطراز الاستعماري،” وأن مبادراتهما في ليبيا “غالباً ما تتداخل أو تتنافس.”

كما تقول فيديريكا سايني فاسانوتي وبن فيشمان، المعلقين على الشؤون الليبية، إن المنافسة بين فرنسا وإيطاليا في ليبيا لها علاقة بالسياسة الأوروبية أكثر من كونها تتعلق بالمصالح المتباينة.

وكتبت فاسانوتي وفيشمان في فورين أفيرز: “يعتبر ماكرون نفسه – وفرنسا – حامل راية الاتحاد الأوروبي، مدافعاً عن القيم الليبرالية والتعاون الدولي في وقتٍ تتزايد فيه النزعة القومية الشعوبية.” وأضافا “من الطبيعي أن يرى [ماكرون] في الحكومة الإيطالية الجديدة تهديداً لرؤيته السياسية.”

النفور لدى كلا الحكومتين من بعضهما البعض آخذٌ في التزايد. ففي خطابٍ ألقاه في 21 يونيو، حذر ماكرون من أولئك الذين يكرهون أوروبا وقارن الشعبوية بـ “الجذام،” في انتقادٍ مبطن للحكومة الإيطالية.

سارع نائب رئيس الوزراء الإيطالي وزعيم حركة خمس نجوم، لويجي دي مايو، إلى الرد على هذا التعليق، إذ قال إن الجذام الحقيقي هو نفاق ماكرون الذي أدان سياسات الحدود الإيطالية لكنه لم يسمح لسفينة إنقاذ بها 600 مهاجر بالنزول في فرنسا.

لم تتوقف المشاحنات منذ الصيف الماضي، وفي 22 يناير 2019، استفز سالفيني الحكومة الفرنسية مرةً أخرى عندما قال إن فرنسا لا تهتم بإحلال الهدوء في ليبيا لأن مصالحها في مجال الطاقة تعارض مصالح إيطاليا.

بينما قال مسؤولٌ في مكتب ماكرون إن الاتهام لا أساس له من الصحة و”مثير للسخرية،” في حين حاول رئيس الوزراء كونتي التخفيف من الضرر الذي أسفرت عنه تصريحات سالفيني بإخبار المراسلين بأن العلاقات بين البلدين ما زالت قوية.

في حين أن هذا قد يكون صحيحاً، إلا أن العلاقات الدبلوماسية في تباعدٍ واضح، إذ تجلى ذلك بعد أن استدعت فرنسا نائب رئيس الوزراء الإيطالي، لويجي دي مايو، عندما اتهم فرنسا بنهب موارد أفريقيا من خلال الاستعمار وتوليد هجرة جماعية إلى أوروبا. ويحذر أبو دية، الأستاذ في جامعة طرابلس، من أن التنافس المستمر سيكون له عواقب وخيمة على بلاده.

وقال لجلف نيوز: “إن التنافس بين إيطاليا وفرنسا لا يشكل بأي حالٍ من الأحوال عاملاً إيجابياً يؤدي إلى أي تقدمٍ في العملية السياسية البطيئة في ليبيا،” وتابع القول “بل على العكس، فهي تغذي الانقسامات بين الليبيين.”

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Libya / Past to Present / Italy and France Battle over Libyan Peace

Italy and France Battle over Libyan Peace

Libya- Libya conference
Heads of State, ministers and special envoys attend on November 13, 2018, an international conference on Libya in Palermo. Libya’s key political players meet with global leaders in the latest bid by major powers to kickstart a long-stalled political process and trigger elections. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ Filippo MONTEFORTE

France and Italy are competing to lead diplomatic attempts to stabilize Libya, but their efforts risk exacerbating the conflict.

In May 2018, Paris hosted talks that brought together dozens of delegates and heads of states, as well as four rival Libyan figures: Fayez al-Sarraj, who leads the Tripoli government which is backed by the UN; General Khalifa Haftar, who heads the rival power, the self-described Libyan National Army (LNA) in the east; Aguila Saleh Issa, the parliament speaker and opponent to al-Sarraj; and Khalid al-Mishri, the head of Libya’s High Council of State. Despite the talks reuniting key players of the Libyan conflict, Rome was noticeably absent: it was dealing with its own political crisis, which had been triggered by the Italian coalition government coming apart.

At the Paris conference, rival Libyan leaders nonetheless agreed to hold elections by December 10, which experts predicted was impractical. The following August, the Italian Ambassador to Libya, Giuseppe Beroni, told reporters that he didn’t want elections in Libya at any cost. His statement sparked street protests in several Libyan towns.
“The ambassador sought to provoke the Libyan people by stirring Italy’s colonial legacy in Libya,” Amer Abu Dawya, a professor of political science at Tripoli University, told Gulf News.

Despite Beroni’s remark, Libyan elections were postponed when violent clashes erupted in Tripoli by the end of August and lasted a whole month. During the fighting, Italy’s far-right interior minister, Matteo Salvini, took a swipe at France.

“Italy should advocate for peace and stability in the Mediterranean and the incursion of others which only act upon economic prompts should not replace peace,” Salvini told reporters.

Libya- Macron haftar
French President Emmanuel Macron (C) looks on as Libyan Prime Minister Fayez al-Sarraj (L) shakes hands with General Khalifa Haftar (R), commander in the Libyan National Army (LNA), after talks aimed at easing tensions in Libya, in La Celle-Saint-Cloud, near Paris, on July 25, 2017. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ JACQUES DEMARTHON

France’s failure to stabilize the country encouraged Italy to organize its own conference, held in the city of Palermo on November 12. U.S president Donald Trump had previously weighed in, endorsing Italy’s ambition to hold talks when he praised “Italy’s leadership role in the stabilization of Libya and North Africa” in July 2018.

But like the talks in Paris, the conference in Palermo didn’t stabilize the country. It merely secured a promise from General Khalifa Haftar to not attack the rival government in Tripoli.

Since then, Italian and French officials have acknowledged that diverging interests are to blame for their competition in Libya.

The former prefers to deal with the internationally-backed Government of National Accord (GNA) in Tripoli. Italy has signed agreements with the GNA, permitting militias to intercept migrant boats and return those on board back to Libya’s horrific detention centers. Italy has even sent naval vessels to help militias with the task and has sent troops to guard against smuggling routes in the south of the country. While migration is the hot issue, Rome also has interests in securing lucrative energy assets in Libya.

Libya- France italy libya
Sources: Wikipedia, occhidellaguerra.it and geopoliticalfeatures.com. Click to enlarge. @Fanack

But France has different objectives. President Emmanuel Macron first and foremost favors stabilizing Libya’s south, where smugglers and jihadists are exploiting the increasingly porous borders with Sudan, Chad and Niger. Paris has thrown its weight behind Haftar and believes that he is the best person to combat terrorism in Libya and secure France’s sphere of interest in the Sahel region.

France also has economic interests in the country. Middle East Eye reported on May 28, 2018 that the French energy company Total secured access to major oil reserves in the east, which has considerable potential for exploration.

But it’s mainly in the south that Italy and France are competing. Both countries have tried to separately broker an end to tribal fighting while coopting militias to secure their interests. Yet the lack of coordination between France and Italy has exacerbated local tensions.

The leader of the Awlad Suleiman, a prominent tribe in the south, even said in April 2018 that various factions in the area were conducting talks under the guidance of France. The aims of the talks were to reportedly replace a previous ‘stabilization’ agreement brokered by Italy in 2017.

Matteo Ilardo, a researcher for the Austrian Institute for European and Security Policy, has observed that Rome and Paris are “blinded by colonial-fashion ambitions” and that their initiatives in Libya “often overlap or compete.”

Federica Saini Fasanotti and Ben Fishman, two commentators on Libya affairs, further argue that the competition between France and Italy in Libya has more to do with European politics than diverging interests.

“Macron considers himself – and France – to be the standard bearer for the EU, defending liberal values and international cooperation in a time of rising populist nationalism,” Fasanotti and Fishman wrote in Foreign Affairs. “[Macron] naturally sees the new Italian government as a threat to his political vision.”

The distaste that both governments have for each other is growing. In a speech on June 21, Macron warned against those who hate Europe and compared populism to ‘leprosy,’ a veiled criticism of the Italian government.

The Italian Deputy Prime Minister and leader of the Five Star Movement, Luigi Di Maio, quickly responded to the remark. The real leprosy, he said, is the hypocrisy of Macron, who condemned Italy’s border policies but didn’t allow a rescue ship with 600 migrants to dock in France.

Since last summer, the bickering hasn’t stopped. On January 22, 2019, Salvini again provoked the French government when he said that France didn’t care about bringing calm to Libya because its energy interests were at odds with those of Italy.

An official in Macron’s office said that the accusation was baseless and ‘ludicrous,’ while Prime Minister Conte tried to mitigate the damage of Salvini’s comments by telling reporters that relations between the two countries were still strong.

While that may be true, diplomatic ties are clearly wavering. That was indicative after France summoned Italy’s deputy prime minister, Luigi Di Maio, when he accused France of pillaging Africa’s resources through colonization and generating mass migration to Europe. Abu Dawya, the professor from Tripoli University, warns that the ongoing rivalry will have debilitating repercussions for his country.

“The rivalry between Italy and France is by no means a positive factor that would lead to any progress in the slow-paced political process in Libya,” he told Gulf News. “On the contrary, it feeds inter-Libyan divisions.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ Filippo MONTEFORTE | ©AFP ⁃ Filippo MONTEFORTE | ©AFP ⁃ JACQUES DEMARTHON

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.