فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / ليبيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / الحرب الأهلية الليبية: تاريخٌ من الإنقسامات القديمة والشروخ الحديثة

الحرب الأهلية الليبية: تاريخٌ من الإنقسامات القديمة والشروخ الحديثة

Libya- Government of National Accord
مسلحون ليبيون موالون لحكومة الوفاق الوطني، الحكومة الليبية المعترف بها دولياً، يحتفلون يتحقيقهم التقدم في الميدان في جنوب العاصمة الليبية طرابلس في 25 سبتمبر 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ MAHMUD TURKIA

لا تزال الأوضاع في ليبيا متقلبةً بشدة والعاصمة طرابلس غير مستثناةٍ عن هذا الواقع. ففي 26 سبتمبر 2018، تم التوقيع على هدنة لإنهاء الإشتباكات العنيفة، بيد أنه لم يتم قط حل الأسباب التي أدت إلى نشوب القتال.

فالميليشيات المسلحة- أولئك الذين يسيطرون على أصول طرابلس والذين يريدون قطعةً من الكعكة – لم يخضعوا للمساءلة عن ترويع المدنيين.

هذا ليس بالأمر المستغرب، ذلك أن حكومة الوفاق الوطني المعترف بها دولياً لا تملك أي نفوذٍ على الميليشيات؛ ولا حتى بعثة الأمم المتحدة للدعم في ليبيا، والتي تجاوزت تفويضها للتفاوض وإنهاء القتال.

فقد تطورت الميليشيات التي تحكم طرابلس إلى شبكةٍ شبيهة بالمافيا تُسيطر اليوم على الشركات والوزارات والإدارات الرئيسية. وحذر فولفرام لاشر، الخبير في الجماعات المسلحة الليبية في المعهد الألماني للشؤون الدولية والأمنية، من أن الجماعات المستبعدة من هذا الترتيب يمكن أن تتعاون فيما بينها لزعزعة توازن القوى في العاصمة.

فقد كتب لاشر في ورقةٍ بحثية نشرت في أبريل الماضي، “إن نهب أموال الدولة – السمة المميزة للاقتصاد السياسي الليبي – يعود بالفائدة الآن على مجموعة أضيق وبما يتجاوز أي مرحلةٍ سابقة منذ ثورة 2011.”

وكالعادة، يدفع المدنيون ثمناً باهظاً للاشتباكات بين الجماعات المسلحة، ففي 23 سبتمبر، أفادت وزارة الصحة إن 115 شخصاً قُتلوا في الاشتباكات في طرابلس، بينما ذكرت اليونيسف أن عدد النازحين يتجاوز 25 ألف شخص.

ولتهدئة القتال، مرر رئيس حكومة الوفاق الوطني ، فايز السراج، إصلاحاتٍ اقتصادية جديدة في 12 سبتمبر. تهدف الإصلاحات إلى وقف أزمة السيولة وتحسين القدرة الشرائية للدينار الليبي. فقد ارتفعت أسعار السلع الأساسية، في عام 2017، بنسبة 28% مقارنةً بالسنة السابقة.

تسعى تدابير سراج الاقتصادية أيضاً إلى تقليص الفجوة بين سعر الصرف الرسمي (1,3 دينار مقابل الدولار) وسعر الصرف في السوق السوداء (6 أو 7 دينار مقابل الدولار).

واستخدمت الجماعات المسلحة والمسؤولون الفاسدون الإكراه لاستغلال هذا التفاوت بشراء العملة الأجنبية الليبية بأسعار الصرف الرسمية ثم بيعها في السوق السوداء لتحقيق أرباح.

وفي محاولةٍ للحد من الفساد، فرضت حكومة الوفاق الوطني رسوم خدماتٍ بنسبة 184% على سعر الصرف الرسمي لجميع مشتريات العملات الأجنبية، مما ساعد على تقليص التباين بقيمة الدينار الليبي في السوق السوداء بينما تم رفع الأموال العامة.

وذكرت مجموعة الأزمات الدولية، وهي منظمة غير ربحية متخصصة في تحليل النزاعات ومقرها بلجيكا، أنه يبدو أن التدابير الجديدة تعود بالأثر المطلوب، إلا أنها حذرت أيضاً من أن الحل الوحيد المستدام للأزمات الاقتصادية في ليبيا هو توحيد البنك المركزي لتتمكن من خفض قيمة العملة.

المصادر: Wikipedia and polgeonow.com. إضغط للتكبير. @Fanack

“إن الجانب السلبي المباشر لإعلان الحكومة أحادي الجانب عن هذه التدابير هو أنها قللت من الضغط الدولي على سلطات طرابلس لعقد اجتماعٍ لمجلس إدارة البنك المركزي الليبي، التي تعدّ خطوةً ضرورية نحو إعادة توحيد البنك المركزي،” حسب ما أفادت مجموعة الأزمات الدولية في بيانٍ موجز نشر في أكتوبر 2018.

ومع انقسام البلاد وتراجع الاقتصاد، عاد تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية “داعش” للظهور من جديد بشن تمردٍ عنيف. ومنذ طرده من درنة وصبراتة وسرت في نهاية عام 2016، شن التنظيم عدداً هائلاً من العمليات. وفي عام 2018، أعلن داعش مسؤوليته عن 12 هجوماً مختلفاً.

حصل آخر هجومٍ في 29 أكتوبر، عندما اقتحم مسلحون من تنظيم الدولة مدينة الفقهاء الشرقية الصغيرة وقتلوا أربعة أشخاص، بينهم شرطيان وابن رئيس البلدية. كما اختفى ما لا يقل عن عشرة من سكان المدينة بعد الهجوم، الذين تم اختطافهم على ما يبدو من قِبل داعش.

وبعد ذلك، قام الجيش الوطني الليبي المُعلن ذاتياً بقيادة الجنرال خليفة حفتر، والذي يسيطر على شرق ليبيا، بمطاردة المسلحين في الصحراء. وقال سكان البلدة لصحيفة بوسطن غلوب إنهم يعتقدون أن الهجوم كان ثأراً على اعتقال الجيش الوطني الليبي لكبار المقاتلين من داعش.

وبحسب ما ورد، لا يزال الجيش الوطني الليبي منخرطاً بالقتال ضد الجهاديين في مدينة درنة في أقصى شرق البلاد. فقد أعلن حفتر في مايو الماضي عن تحرير المدينة من قوة حماية درنة، وهي فصيلٌ متنوع من الإسلاميين والجهاديين. إلا أن ساجدة النيهوم، التي تتحدث بشكلٍ متكرر مع أقاربها وأصدقائها في المدينة، أخبرتنا في فَنَك أن القتال مستمر. وفي 30 أكتوبر، ذكرت أن عشرات المقاتلين من الجيش الوطني الليبي قتلوا في اشتباكاتٍ مع الجهاديين.

وقالت ساجدة، التي تحدثت لنا من منزلها في كندا، “كان يوماً سيئاً للغاية في درنة. أخبرني [الناس] أنهم لا يزالون يسمعون أصوات إطلاق النار والقنابل في وسط المدينة.” وأضافت “لا تزال بعض الشوارع خاضعةً لسيطرة قوة حماية درنة، الذين يقومون في بعض الأحيان بإلقاء الزجاجات الحارقة على قوات حفتر.”

وعلى صعيدٍ متصل، يُفاقم التدخل الفرنسي والإيطالي الصراع. فقد كتبت فريدريكا سايني فاسانوتي وبن فيشمان، وهما خبيران في السياسة الليبية في معهد بروكينغز ومعهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى، على التوالي، أن التنافس الفرنسي-الإيطالي حول الهجرة والهيمنة على أوروبا والنفوذ في ليبيا يُفاقم قائمة مشاكل ليبيا الطويلة.

فقد جعل التحالف الشعبي الإيطالي – وهو تحالفٌ بين حركة النجوم الخمسة الشعبية وحزب العصبة الوطنية- من منع اللاجئين من طلب اللجوء في إيطاليا أولويةً قصوى. تزعزع هذه السياسة توازن القوى بين الميليشيات بينما تجبر المهاجرين على البقاء في البلاد التي يغيب عنها القانون، حيث تنتشر الإساءات والاتجار بالبشر.

ففي الوقت الذي تضغط فيه إيطاليا على طرابلس لمعالجة مصالحها، تُشجع فرنسا حفتر، إذ ترى باريس أن حفتر الشخصية الوحيدة القادرة على فرض الأمن في ليبيا عن طريق الحكم العسكري. وعليه، قوّضت طموحات كلا الدولتين الأوروبيتين على نحو فعالٍ خطة عمل مبعوث الأمم المتحدة الخاص إلى ليبيا غسان سلامة، في البلاد.

فقد كانت خطته تسعى لتعديل الاتفاق السياسي الليبي، الذي خرجت من رحمه حكومة الوفاق الوطني، بالإضافة إلى عقد مؤتمرٍ وطني لجمع كافة أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين في ليبيا. وكان من المفترض أن تتضمن الخطوات التالية مسودةً دستورية واستفتاءً، مما يمهد الطريق لإجراء انتخاباتٍ برلمانية ورئاسية. وبعد أكثر من عام، يبدو أن خطة العمل هذه باتت في عداد الموتى.

وكتبت إليسا ميلر- زميلة غير مقيمة في المجلس الأطلسي، وهي مؤسسة بحثية مقرها واشنطن العاصمة: “تظهر الأحداث على مدار العام الماضي بوضوح كيف أن خطة عمل سلامه وقعت ضحية – على نحوٍ متوقع – لتدخلات الجهات الأجنبية الفاعلة في ليبيا.” وأضافت “إذا لم يتمكن سلامة من تحقيق الوحدة بين اللاعبين الدوليين المشاركين في ليبيا في عام 2017، فإن الأمل ضعيف في قدرته على إنجاز ذلك الآن.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ MAHMUD TURKIA

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Libya / Past to Present / Libya’s Civil War: A Chronicle of Old Divides and New Fractures

Libya’s Civil War: A Chronicle of Old Divides and New Fractures

Libya- Government of National Accord
Libyan militiamen loyal to the Government of National Accord (GNA), Libya’s internationally recognised government, celebrate their advances on the field in the south of the Libyan capital Tripoli on September 25, 2018. Photo AFP

Libya remains highly volatile and the capital of Tripoli no exception. On 26 September 2018, a truce was inked to end heavy clashes, and yet the causes that spawned the fighting were never resolved.

Armed militias – those controlling Tripoli’s assets and those wanting a piece of the pie – have not been held accountable for terrorizing civilians.

That is not surprising, since the internationally-recognized Government of National Accord (GNA) has no leverage over the militias; neither does the UN Support Mission in Libya (UNSML), which went beyond its mandate to negotiate an end to the fighting.

Militias ruling Tripoli have evolved into a mafia-like network which now control businesses, ministries and key administrations. Wolfram Lacher, an expert on Libyan armed groups at the German Institute for International and Security Affairs, warned that groups excluded from this arrangement could team up to upset the balance of power in the capital.

“The pillaging of state funds – a hallmark of Libya’s political economy – now benefits a narrower group than at any previous point since the 2011 revolution,” Lacher wrote in a research paper published last April.

As usual, civilians are paying the steepest price for the militia infighting. On 23 September 2018, the Health Ministry said that 115 people were killed from the clashes in Tripoli, while UNICEF put the number of displaced at more than 25,000.

To de-escalate the fighting, the head of the GNA, Fayez al-Seraj, passed new economic reforms on 12 September. The reforms aimed to halt a liquidity crisis and improve the Libyan Dinar’s (LD) purchasing power. In 2017, the price of basic goods increased by 28 per cent compared to the previous year.

Seraj’s economic measures also seek to reduce the gap between the official exchange rate (1.3 LD to the dollar) and the black market exchange rate (6 or 7 LD to the dollar). Armed groups and corrupt officials have used coercion to exploit this disparity by purchasing Libya’s foreign currency at the official rate and then selling it on the black market to make a profit.

In a bid to limit corruption, the GNA has enforced a 184 per cent service fee on the official exchange rate for all foreign currency purchases, helping to shrink the disparity with the LD’s black market value while raising public funds.

The International Crisis Group (ICG), a non-profit organization based in Belgium that specializes in conflict analysis, stated that the new measures seem to be having the desired affect, but it also warned that the only sustainable solution to Libya’s economic woes is to unify the central bank so that it can devalue the currency.

Sources: Wikipedia and polgeonow.com. Click to enlarge. @Fanack

“One immediate downside of the government’s unilateral announcement of these measures is that it reduced international pressure on the Tripoli authorities to hold a meeting of the board of the Central Bank of Libya, a necessary step toward reunification,” ICG reported in a briefing published in October 2018.

With the country divided and the economy flagging, the Islamic State group (IS) has re-emerged by waging a violent insurgency. Since being routed out of Derna, Sabratha and Sirte at the end of 2016, the group has carried out a myriad of operations. Already in 2018, IS has claimed responsibility for  12 different attacks.

The last attack was on 29 October 2018, when IS militants stormed the small eastern town of Al-Fuqaha and killed four people, including two policemen and the mayor’s son. At least a dozen townspeople went missing after the attack, presumably having been abducted by IS.

Afterwards, General Khalifa Haftar’s self-declared Libyan National Army (LNA), which controls eastern Libya, chased the militants into the desert. Residents of the town told the Boston Globe that they believe the attack was a retaliation for the LNA’s capture of senior IS militants.

The LNA is also still reportedly embattled with jihadists in the far eastern city of Derna. Haftar announced the liberation of the city from the Derna Protection Forces (DPF), a broad band of Islamists and Jihadists, in May. But Sagida Elnihum, who frequently speaks with her relatives and friends in the city, told Fanack Chronicle that fighting is ongoing. On 30 October 2018, she reported that scores of fighters from the LNA were reportedly killed in clashes with jihadists.

“It was a very bad day for Derna. [People] tell me that they still hear shooting and bombs in the middle of the town,” said Enlihum, speaking from her home in Canada. “Some streets are also still controlled by the DPF and sometimes they throw Molotovs at Haftar’s militias.”

French and Italian meddling is also exacerbating the conflict. Federica Saini Fasanotti and Ben Fishman, two experts on Libyan politics at the Brookings Institute and Washington Institute for Near East Policy, respectively, wrote that the French-Italian rivalry over migration, hegemony over Europe and influence in Libya is adding to Libya’s long list of problems.

Italy’s populist coalition – an alliance between the Five-Star Movement and the League – has made stopping refugees from seeking asylum in Italy its top priority. This policy is upsetting the balance of power among militias while also forcing migrants to languish in the lawless country, where trafficking and abuse is rife.

As Italy pressures Tripoli to address the latter’s interests, France is coveting Haftar. Paris sees Haftar as the only figure capable of bringing security to Libya by way of military rule. The ambitions of both European countries have effectively undermined UN Special Envoy to Libya Ghassan Salame’s action plan for the country.

His plan was designed to amend the Libyan Political Agreement (LPA), out of which the GNA was born, as well as hold a national conference to bring together all of Libya’s key stakeholders. The next steps were supposed to include a constitutional draft and referendum, paving the way for parliamentary and presidential elections. Yet more than a year later, the action plan looks to be all but dead.

“Events over the past year clearly show how Salame’s action plan fell victim – predictably – to the interventions of foreign actors in Libya,” wrote Elissa Miller, a non-resident fellow at the Atlantic Council, a think tank based in Washington, D.C. “If Salame could not corral unity among the international actors involved in Libya in 2017, there is little hope he will be able to do so now.”

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.