فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / ليبيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / ليبيا: عقبات في طريق السلام قُبيل محدثاتٍ سياسية صعبة

ليبيا: عقبات في طريق السلام قُبيل محدثاتٍ سياسية صعبة

Libya joint military commission
أعضاء في اللجنة العسكرية الليبية المشتركة في صورة جماعية في غدامس، وهي واحة صحراوية على بعد 465 كيلومتراً جنوب غرب العاصمة طرابلس، 3 نوفمبر 2020. Photo: AFP

مات ناشد

لدى الليبيين سببٌ للتفاؤل الحذر بعد أن توسطت الأمم المتحدة في وقف إطلاق نارٍ دائم في جنيف في 23 أكتوبر الماضي، حيث وصفت ستيفاني وليامز، رئيسة بعثة الأمم المتحدة للدعم في ليبيا (أونسميل) بالإنابة، الهدنة بـ”الإنجاز التاريخي،” الذي يمهد الطريق لاستئناف منتدى الحوار السياسي الليبي.

انطلقت المحادثات في 9 نوفمبر في تونس بهدف تنفيذ بنود وقف إطلاق النار، إذ تدعو الهدنة المقاتلين إلى الانسحاب من مواقع الخطوط الأمامية ومغادرة المرتزقة للبلاد في غضون ثلاثة أشهر. وأضافت وليامز أن النازحين واللاجئين سيتمكنون أيضاً من العودة إلى ديارهم.

والأهم من ذلك، تمثل الهدف الأساسي لعملية السلام التي تقودها الأمم المتحدة بنزع سلاح الميليشيات وتسريح مقاتليها ودمجهم في وحدة متماسكة تخضع لهيئة سياسية جديدة. ومن المرجح أن يحاول الاتفاق أيضاً إعادة توزيع المؤسسات السيادية، والتي كانت نقطة نقاش خلال المحادثات الأخيرة في بوزنيقة بالمغرب.

ومن المأمول أيضاً أن يتم تقاسم الهيئات الوطنية الأساسية– مثل المحكمة العليا والبنك المركزي- بالتساوي بين مناطق ليبيا الثلاث: طرابلس في الغرب، وفزان في الجنوب الغربي، وبرقة في الشرق. تعد هذه الخطة طموحة بيد أنها قد تكون ضرورية لكسر الجمود السياسي.

في الوقت الراهن، يشعر المحللون بالقلق من أن روسيا وتركيا تهددان محاولات التوسط في سلامٍ دائم. فقد تدخلت الدولتان على نحوٍ حاسم في النزاع وتفضلان الحفاظ على الوضع الراهن لصون مصالحهما الرئيسية. تمتلك روسيا، على سبيل المثال، مرتزقة متمركزون على طول جبهات سرت، مسقط رأس الدكتاتور الراحل معمر القذافي والبوابة إلى منطقة تعرف باسم الهلال النفطي. يتم توظيف هؤلاء المرتزقة من قبل الشركة العسكرية الروسية الخاصة مجموعة فاغنر، وهي قوة تستخدمها موسكو تقليدياً لتعزيز مصالحها الجيوسياسية. ومع ذلك، نفى الرئيس الروسي فلاديمير بوتين أن يكون مرتزقة فاغنر يعملون بأمرٍ من موسكو، مما أثار تساؤلات حول ما إذا كانت جهة خارجية أخرى مثل الإمارات العربية المتحدة تدفع الأموال لهم. وعلى أي حال، قد تسحب كل من موسكو وأبو ظبي المرتزقة فحسب في حال تم تحويل نفوذهم العسكري إلى نفوذ سياسي.

كما لدى الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان حافزٌ ضئيل للحفاظ على الهدنة بسحب المرتزقة السوريين الذين تم نشرهم رسمياً لإنقاذ حكومة الوفاق الوطني في طرابلس في يناير الماضي.

ففي نهاية المطاف، استثمر أردوغان بشكلٍ كبير في مجال الحفاظ على حكومة الوفاق الوطني، فقد وقعت أنقرة وطرابلس اتفاقياتٍ ثنائية تمكّن تركيا من توسيع نطاق استكشافها المعرقل للغاز في مياه البحر الأبيض المتوسط. ومع ذلك، يمكن إلغاء هذه الاتفاقات أو تعليقها إذا تم حل حكومة الوفاق الوطني لصالح كيانٍ سياسي جديد. وبالفعل، سبق وأشار أردوغان إلى أن الهدنة “لا تبدو قابلة للتحقيق بشكلٍ كبير،” وهو تعبير ملطف محتمل يشير إلى نيته إحباط عملية السلام في ليبيا ما لم يتم التطرق لمصالحه في المتوسط.

علاوةً على ذلك، تزيد الإنقسامات الداخلية من خطر عرقلة الحوار بين الأطراف المتحاربة. فقد تراجعت مكانة الجنرال المارق خليفة حفتر بشكلٍ خاص منذ هزيمة قواته أثناء محاولتها استعادة طرابلس في يونيو الماضي، بينما رفع الداعمون الأجانب لحفتر اليوم من مكانة الوجه السياسي للشرق، عقيلة صالح، لحماية مصالحهم في المفاوضات.

Libyan joint military commission
أعضاء في اللجنة العسكرية الليبية المشتركة في صورة جماعية في غدامس، وهي واحة صحراوية على بعد 465 كيلومتراً جنوب غرب العاصمة طرابلس، 3 نوفمبر 2020. Photo: AFP

وما يزال حفتر يقود تحالفاً عسكرياً أساسياً، لذا يمكنه محاولة إفساد الاتفاقية، لكن تعتقد أليس ألوني، الخبيرة في الشأن الليبي وباحثة الدكتوراه في كلية دورهام للإدارة الحكومية والشؤون الدولية، أن أي محاولةٍ للقيام بذلك هي مجرد محاولةٍ عبثية. من وجهة نظرها، تأتي أهمية حفتر المتراجعة في وقتٍ انقلبت فيه الهياكل القبلية المحلية – التي كانت في السابق جزءاً رئيسياً من مسانديه في الشرق – ضده.

وبحسب ما قالته ألوني لنا في فَنَك عبر الهاتف “السؤال المطروح هو ما الأمر الذي سيقبل به هؤلاء الداعمون الخارجيون الذين ساندوه طوال هذا الوقت.” وأضافت “إن الدعم المذهل الذي تقدمه القاهرة للجنة العسكرية الليبية المشتركة (5+5) مؤشرٌ واضح على موقفها، بيد أن الإمارات إلتزمت الصمت. فهم يُعيدون النظر في موقفهم ويُقيمون كيف يمكنهم لعب أوراقهم على المستوى السياسي بدلاً من المستوى العسكري.”

وعلى الرغم من الحسابات المتغيرة لداعمي حفتر، لا تزال الميليشيات المتنافسة في الغرب تخشى أن يضاعف الجنرال المارق في نهاية المطاف طموحه في حكم البلاد بقبضةٍ من حديد، بينما تقاوم الميليشيات الأخرى ببساطة اتفاقاً سياسياً جديداً يهدد احتكارها للوزارات والقطاعات الرئيسية في الاقتصاد، وبحسب ألوني “هذا هو الخطر الرئيسي لأنه منذ اندلاع الثورة كان هناك انفصالٌ كبير بين الفاعلين السياسيين والعسكريين.” وتابعت القول “النقطة المهمة هي البحث عن كيفية استيعاب المسار العسكري للجماعات والقوات المسلحة المختلفة في ليبيا.”

بالنسبة لليبيين، تتمثل أحد المخاوف المتمحورة حول المحادثات بعدم إيلاء الأولوية للمساءلة. فقد كتبت حنان صالح، باحثة أولى في هيومن رايتس ووتش، أن الإطار الحالي يعد بالحصانة لمن ارتكبوا أعمال قتل واعتقالات غير قانونية. وتضيف أن عملية دمج المقاتلين في أجهزة أمن الدولة لا تنطوي على نظام فحص وتدقيق صارم.

من جهته، غرّد ولفرام لاشر، الخبير في الشؤون الليبية في المعهد الألماني للشؤون الدولية والأمنية، لاحقاً بأنه لن يتم تمثيل الضحايا الذين أجبروا على النزوح على يد قوات حفتر في بنغازي ولا أولئك الذين فقدوا أحباءهم في عمليات القتل الجماعي في ترهونة في تونس الأسبوع المقبل.

ومع ذلك، تعمل المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان على إعداد تقريرٍ يُحمّل الأطراف المتحاربة المسؤولية عن ارتكاب جرائم جسيمة منذ عام 2014. وتأمل رئيسة المفوضية السامية لحقوق الإنسان، ميشيل باشليه، أن يكون التقرير “بمثابة رادع لمنع المزيد من الانتهاكات والمساهمة في السلام والاستقرار” في ليبيا. مع ذلك، يخشى المنتقدون أن تصدر المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان تقريراً يثير خصومة أي من المعسكرات المدعوة للحوار السياسي في تونس. ولربما يعدّ هذا ضرورياً لحماية محادثات السلام الهشة بالفعل، ولكنه قد يرسل أيضاً رسالة مفادها أن اللاعبين ذوي النفوذ يمكنهم ارتكاب جرائم بمأمنٍ من العقاب.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: AFP ©AFP | AFP ©AFP | AFP ©AFP

الجهل يقود إلى الخوف، الخوف يقود إلى الكراهية، والكراهية تقود إلى العنف هذه هي المعادلة.
ابن رشد (١١٢٦ – ١١٩٨)

إن مؤسستنا منظمةٌ هولندية غير حكومية لا تسعى لتحقيق الأرباح. هذه المؤسسة يجري تمويلها بصورةٍ حصرية عبر أفرادٍ يشاركوننا الإيمان بضرورة نشر معلومات موثوقة وغير متحيزة عن منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، محاكين بذلك المزاج الشعبي السائد في المنطقة ولنعبّر عن صوت أبناء المنطقة بما نقدمه من معلومات ناجعة وتتحلى بالمصداقية.

ولذلك، فإننا نقدّر عالياً ما تقدمه لنا من دعمٍ وسنحرص على أن يعكس هذا الدعم بطريقةٍ إيجابية على الصالح العام!

Fanack Home / Libya / Past to Present / Libya Faces Obstacles to Peace Ahead of Tough Political Talks

Libya Faces Obstacles to Peace Ahead of Tough Political Talks

Libya joint military commission
Members of Libya’s joint military commission pose for a group picture in Ghadames, a desert oasis some 465 kilometres southwest of the capital Tripoli, on November 3, 2020. Photo: AFP

By: Mat Nashed

Libyans have a reason for cautious optimism after the U.N brokered a permanent ceasefire in Geneva on October 23. Stephanie Williams, who heads the U.N Support Mission for Libya (UNSLM), called the truce a ‘historic achievement’ that paves the way for the resumption of the Libyan Political Dialogue Forum.

Talks  kickstart on November 9 in Tunisia, with the aim of implementing the terms of the ceasefire. The truce calls for fighters to pull back from frontline positions and for mercenaries to leave the country in three months. Williams added that those internally displaced and refugees will also be able to return home.

More fundamentally, the aim of the U.N lead peace process is to disarm and demobilize militias and incorporate fighters into a cohesive unit that answers to a new political body. The agreement is also likely to attempt to redistribute sovereign institutions, which was a point of discussion during the recent talks in Bouznika, Morocco.

The hope is that key national bodies – such as the Supreme Court and Central Bank – will be shared equally among Libya’s three regions: Tripolitania in the west, Fazzan in the southwest, and Cyrenaica in the east. This plan is ambitious, yet it could prove essential in breaking the political deadlock.

For now, analysts worry that Russia and Turkey threaten attempts to broker a long-lasting peace. Both nations have decisively interfered in the conflict and would prefer to maintain the status quo to preserve key interests. Russia, for one, has mercenaries stationed along the frontlines of Sirte, the birthplace of fallen dictator Muammar Gaddafi and the gateway to a region known as the Oil Crescent. These mercenaries are employed by the Russian private military company Wagner Group, a force that Moscow has traditionally used to advance its geo-political interests. However, Russian President Vladimir Putin denies that Wagner mercenaries are operating at the behest of Moscow, raising questions over whether another external actor like the UAE is paying for them. In any case, both Moscow and Abu Dhabi might only withdraw mercenaries if their military leverage is converted into political influence.

Turkey’s President Recep Tayyip Erdogan also has little incentive to uphold the truce by pulling out Syrian mercenaries that he formally deployed to rescue the Tripoli based Government of National Accord (GNA) in January.

Erdogan, after all, is heavily invested in preserving the GNA. Ankara and Tripoli have signed bilateral agreements that enable Turkey to extend its gas exploration in disrupted Mediterranean waters. But those agreements could be annulled or suspended if the GNA is dissolved in favor of a new political entity. Erdogan has already noted that the truce “doesn’t seem too achievable,” a possible euphemism signaling his intention to thwart the peace process in Libya unless his interests in the Mediterranean are addressed.

Internal divisions further risk derailing dialogue between warring parties. The status of rogue General Khalifa Haftar has particularly been diminished ever since his forces were defeated in their bid to retake Tripoli last June 2020. Foreign backers of Haftar have now elevated the political face of the east, Aguila Saleh, to safeguard their interests in negotiations.

Libyan joint military commission
Members of Libyan joint military commission meet for talks in Ghadames, a desert oasis some 465 kilometres southwest of the capital Tripoli, on November 2, 2020. Photo: AFP

Haftar still commands a major military alliance, so he could try to spoil the agreement. But Alice Alunni, a Libya expert and a PhD researcher at Durham’s School of Government and International Affairs, believes that any attempt to do so is futile. In her eyes, Haftar’s diminished relevance comes at a time when local tribal structures – previously a key segment of his support in the east – have turned against him.

“The question is what his external backers that supported him all this time are willing to settle for,” Alunni told Fanack over the phone. “The incredible support Cairo is giving to the 5+5 network committee is a clear indication of where it stands. But the UAE has remained quiet. They’re reconsidering their position and evaluating how they can play their cards on a political level rather than a military one.”

Despite the shifting calculus of Haftar’s backers, rival militias in the west still fear that the rogue general will eventually double down on his ambition to rule the country with an iron fist. Other militias simply resist a new political agreement that threatens their monopoly over key ministries and sectors in the economy. “This is the main risk because since the revolution there has been a huge disconnect between political actors and military actors,” noted Alunni. “The point is to look for how the military track can accommodate the different armed groups and forces in Libya.”

For Libyans, one concern with the talks is that it doesn’t prioritize accountability. Hanan Saleh, a Senior Researcher for Human Rights Watch (HRW), writes that the current framework promises immunity for those who have committed unlawful killings and arrests. She adds that the process of integrating fighters into state security services doesn’t have a strict vetting system.

Wolfram Lacher, a Libya expert at the German Institute for International and Security Affairs, later tweeted that neither the victims displaced by Haftar’s forces in Benghazi nor those who lost loved ones to mass killings in Tarhouna will be represented in Tunisia next week.

Nevertheless, the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) is in the midst of producing a report that calls out warring parties responsible for grave crimes committed since 2014. The chief of OHCHR, Michelle Bachelet, hopes that the report can “serve as a deterrent to prevent further violations and contribute to peace and stability” in Libya. But critics fear that the OHCHR will release a report that doesn’t antagonize any of the camps invited to the political dialogue in Tunis. Doing so may be necessary to safeguard fragile peace talks, but it could also send the message that powerful players can commit crimes with impunity.

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: AFP ©AFP | AFP ©AFP | AFP ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!