فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / ليبيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / إنتشار عمليات الخطف في ليبيا يُدمر الأسر

إنتشار عمليات الخطف في ليبيا يُدمر الأسر

Libya- Retno Marsudi
وزيرة الخارجية الإندونيسية ريتنو مارسودي (يمين) تتحدث مع الرهائن الذين تم الإفراج عنهم مؤخراً (ثاني وثالث يمين) وعائلاتهم (يسار) في حفلٍ حكومي شهد التقاء مجموعة من الأسرى الذين عادوا مؤخراً من ليبيا مع عائلاتهم، في وزارة الخارجية في جاكرتا في 2 أبريل 2018. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ ADEK BERRY

منذ سقوط نظام معمر القذافي في عام 2011، أرهبت الميليشيات المدنيين باختطاف المنشقين لأسباب أيديولوجية أو للحصول على فدية. فقد تم استهداف السياسيين ورجال الأعمال والناشطين، وبمجرد أختطافهم، تتلاشى فرصة عودة غالبيتهم.

ويشتبه أن الشيخ مالك الفاسي، وهو عالم صوفي شاب اختفى في 27 يناير 2012 في مدينة مسلاتة الغربية، كان من أوائل الأشخاص الذين تعرضوا للاختطاف. ويعتقد السكان أنه اختُطف بسبب تحديه للآراء غير المتسامحة لبعض المتطرفين الإسلاميين في المدينة. ورغم أن والده كان يتوسل إلى الميليشيات المدعومة من الحكومة للتحقيق في مكان وجود ابنه، إلا أن أحداً لم يساعده.

وقال إدريس الفاسي، والد مالك، لموقع المونيتور، “خلال السنوات الست الماضية، ذهبت إلى السلطات الليبية لطلب المساعدة للحصول على معلوماتٍ حول ابني، لكن لم يفعل أحدٌ أي شيء.”

وكحال إدريس، يعتمد معظم الليبيين على وسائلهم الخاصة لتعقب أحبائهم. فقد قالت لينا (وهذا ليس اسمها الحقيقي) لهيئة الإذاعة البريطانية (بي بي سي) أن عائلتها وضعت لائحة بأسماء أشخاص قد يكونوا قادرين على مساعدتهم في العثور على والدها. فقد قالت ” ليس لديك مؤسسات يمكنك اللجوء إليها لحماية وخدمة المواطنين. لذلك، يصبح الواقع هو أن على المواطنين معالجة الأمور بأيديهم.”

العدد الإجمالي للأشخاص المفقودين في ليبيا غير معروف، على الرغم من أنه يُعتقد أن الرقم ارتفع بعد سقوط البلاد في حربٍ أهلية ثانية في عام 2014. فقد كان الاقتصاد في حالة تدهورٍ حاد في ذلك العام، مما غذّى أعمال الخطف للحصول على فدية. ووثقت جمعية الهلال الأحمر الليبي اختفاء أكثر من 600 شخص بين فبراير 2014 وأبريل 2015.

وتعتبر المنطقة الغربية لورشفانة سيئة السمعة على وجه الخصوص فيما يتعلق بعمليات الاختطاف. فقد كتب أحد المحليين ساخراً أنه إذا ما قامت عصابات ورشفانة بإيداع أموال الفدية في البنوك الليبية، فسيتم حل أزمة السيولة في البلاد.

كما أن الخطف متفشٍ في طرابلس العاصمة، ووفقاً لوزارة داخلية حكومة الوفاق الوطني المدعومة من الأمم المتحدة، تم اختطاف ما لا يقل عن 189 شخصاً في مارس 2017، بينما تم اختطاف 68 شخصاً في الشهر التالي، أبريل.

كما أن شرق البلاد، الذي يسيطر عليه في الغالب الجيش الوطني الليبي، ليس أكثر أمناً. ففي مدينة أجدابيا، جرت 121 عملية اختطاف في مارس 2017 وحده. ويعتقد أيضاً أن الخطف متفشٍ في بنغازي، رغم أن الأرقام الدقيقة غير معروفة.

وقالت الجمعية الليبية للديمقراطية وحقوق الإنسان، وهي منظمة شعبية تأسست في فبراير 2018، للمونيتور أنها أيضاً تعمل على جمع قاعدة بيانات لتوثيق المفقودين. ولا يزال السجل في مراحله المبكرة، ولكن بحلول نهاية مارس، قامت المجموعة بإحصاء فقدان 60 شخصاً.

وكان أبناء رياض الشرشاري من بينهم. ففي 2 سبتمبر 2015، تم اختطاف ابنته وابنيه، وهم ذهب وعبد الحميد ومحمد، في صرمان، وهي بلدة تقع على بعد 60 كيلومتراً غرب طرابلس.

وبعد يومٍ من اختطاف الأطفال من والدتهم، اتصل الخاطفون بالشرشاري للمطالبة بفدية قدرها 20 مليون دينار، أي ما يعادل أكثر من مليوني دولار في السوق السوداء. ولكن عندما طلب رياض الشرشاري التحدث إلى أطفاله، أنهى المسلحون المكالمة ولم يعاود أحدٌ الإتصال.

Libya- kidnapping in Libya
المسؤولون التونسيون المختطفون من قبل المليشيات المسلحة في القنصلية التونسية في العاصمة الليبية طرابلس عند وصولهم إلى مطار العوينة العسكري في تونس العاصمة في 19 يونيو 2015، بعد احتجازهم لمدة أسبوع. Photo AFP ©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID

وخلال العامين والنصف التاليين، قامت عائلة الشرشاري بممارسة الضغط على السلطات لمساعدتها في تعقب الخاطفين. وأخيراً وجدت ميليشيات مكافحة الجريمة المتحالفة مع حكومة الوفاق الوطني العصابة المسؤولة عن العملية في 15 مارس 2018.

وقتل أربعة من الخاطفين الخمسة في ذلك اليوم، بينما تم نقل الناجي الوحيد إلى المستشفى حيث دخل في غيبوبة. وعندما استيقظ في 7 أبريل، سرعان ما كشف عن مكان وجود الأطفال. وبمجرد وصول عمال الإنقاذ إلى المكان، كان كل ما عثروا عليه هو جثث الأطفال المتحللة. وتعتقد السلطات أن الأطفال قُتلوا قبل أشهر. كانت ذهب في الحادية عشرة من عمرها، وعبد الحميد في الثامنة من عمره وكان محمد في السادسة عند اختطافهم.

وكتبت أساور الشرشاري، شقيقة الأطفال الكبرى على الفيسبوك “[على مدى العامين الماضيين] توقفت كتاباتي وتخيلاتي وآمالي عند الألم والحزن والخسارة.” وأضافت “وفي النهاية، كان [مصير أشقائي] الموت.”

كما تم اختطاف الأجانب وقتلهم في ليبيا. ففي نوفمبر 2015، تم اختطاف السفير الصربي وزميله الدبلوماسي عندما أوقفت مجموعة مسلحة قافلتهم. وفي وقتٍ لاحق قتل الاثنان في غارة جوية أمريكية قال مسؤولون انها كانت تهدف الى ضرب معسكر تدريبٍ تابع لتنظيم الدولة الاسلامية.

بعد ذلك بعامين، في 3 نوفمبر 2017، اختُطف ثلاثة أتراك وجنوب إفريقي في جنوب غرب ليبيا. تم الإمساك بهم وهم في طريقهم إلى موقع بناءٍ حيث كانوا يقومون ببناء محطة للطاقة. وحتى الآن، لا يزال مصيرهم غير معروف.

وفي حين تصدر اختطاف الأجانب في ليبيا عناوين الصحف، إلا أن مواطني الدول الواقعة في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى هم الأكثر عرضة للخطر. يفر معظمهم من الاضطهاد والحرب والمجاعة، مما يدفعهم إلى الاعتماد على العصابات الإجرامية لنقلهم إلى أوروبا. ومع ذلك، منذ أن بدأت أوروبا في التعاقد مع الميليشيات الليبية لاعتراض القوارب في البحر في فبراير 2017، لجأ المهربون إلى خطف المهاجرين للحصول على ربح بدلاً من ذلك.

وقال جلال حرشاوي، المرشح لنيل شهادة الدكتوارة من جامعة باريس 8 والمعلق المختص بالشأن الليبي، لنا في فَنَك أن مدينة بني وليد المؤيدة للقذافي، إلى الجنوب الشرقي من طرابلس، معروفة باختطاف المهاجرين. فبعد تهميشها من قبل الثورة في عام 2011، أهملت جميع السلطات المتنافسة سكان المدينة، مما منحهم حافزاً إضافياً للاستفادة من الفوضى.

وقال رجلٌ من إقليم دارفور السوداني الغربي، يدعى مولتزم، لفَنك إن أخاه تعرض للاختطاف على يد عصابة إجرامية في بني وليد، حيث وصل أسرة مولتزم بعد ذلك شريط فيديو يُظهر مسلحين يقفون فوق شقيقه ويقومون بإذابة البلاستيك على جسده. “لا يمكننا تحمل دفع أي أموال،” قال مولتزم لفَنَك في فبراير، دون الكشف عن حجم الفدية.

وبعد أسابيع، علم مولتزم أن شقيقه قد هرب ولكن لم يخبره أحدٌ كيف. ومع ذلك، لا يزال وضعه غير مستقر. فمع وجود ميليشياتٍ تحكم ليبيا، لا يوجد لدى شقيق مولتزم مكانٌ يذهب إليه ولا أماكن للاختباء، مما يعرضه لخطر الاختطاف مرةً أخرى.

“إن مفهوم الخطف شائع جدا في ليبيا” ، قال حرشاوي لفنك، وأضاف “ترى الميليشيات أنها طريقة جيدة للقيام بالأعمال التجارية.”

© Copyright Notice

click on link to view the associated photo/image
©AFP ⁃ ADEK BERRY | ©AFP ⁃ ADEK BERRY | ©AFP ⁃ FETHI BELAID

image_pdfimage_print

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Libya / Past to Present / Libya’s Kidnapping Epidemic is Shattering Families

Libya’s Kidnapping Epidemic is Shattering Families

Libya- Retno Marsudi
Indonesia’s Foreign Minister Retno Marsudi (R) speaks with recently released hostages (2nd R and 3rd R) and their families (L) at a government handover ceremony reuniting a group of captives recently returned from Libya with their families, at the Foreign Ministry in Jakarta on April 2, 2018. Photo AFP

Since the downfall of Muammar Qaddafi’s regime in 2011, militias have terrorized civilians by abducting dissenters for ideological reasons or for ransom. Politicians, businessmen and activists have all been targeted. And once taken, many never reappear.

Malik al-Faissi, a young Sufi scholar who disappeared on 27 January 2012 in the western town of Masalatta, is suspected of being one of the first people abducted. Residents believe that he was snatched for challenging the intolerant views of some Islamist extremists in the town. Although his father has begged government-backed militias to investigate his son’s whereabouts, nobody has helped him.

“For the last six years, I have gone to the Libyan authorities to ask for help to get information about my son, but nobody has done anything,” Idris al-Faissi, Malik’s father, told al-Monitor.

Like Idris, most Libyans must rely on their own means to track down their loved ones. Lina (not her real name) told the BBC that her family has assembled contacts of people that might be able to help find her father.

“You don’t have institutions that you can turn to that are there to protect and serve the citizens. So, the reality then becomes that it is the citizens who must take matters into their own hands,” she said.

The total number of people who are missing in Libya is unknown, although the figure is believed to have soared after the country plunged into a second civil war in 2014. The economy was in freefall that year, fuelling a business of kidnapping for ransom. The Libyan Red Crescent Society documented the disappearance of more than 600 people between February 2014 and April 2015.

The western area of Warshefana is particularly notorious for kidnappings. One local satirist even joked that if the gangs in Warshefana deposited their ransom money into Libya’s banks, the country’s cash shortage would be solved.

Kidnapping is also  rampant in Tripoli, the capital. According to the Interior Ministry of the UN-backed Government of National Accord (GNA), at least 189 people were kidnapped in March 2017, while 68 people were reportedly abducted the following April.

The east of the country, which is mostly controlled by the self-styled Libyan National Army (LNA), is not any safer. In the city of Ajdabiya, 121 abductions took place in March 2017 alone. Kidnapping is also believed to be rampant in Benghazi, though exact figures are unknown.

Allebya for Democracy and Human Rights (ADHR), a grassroots organization that was founded in February 2018, told al-Monitor that they are also compiling a database to document the missing. The registry is still in its early stages, but by the end of March, the group counted 60 people who had gone missing.

The children of Riyad al-Shershari were among them. On 2 September 2015, his daughter and two sons – Dahab, AbdelHamid and Muhammad – were abducted in Surman, a town located about 60km west of Tripoli.

A day after snatching the children from their mother, the kidnappers phoned al-Shershari to demand a ransom of 20 million dinars, which is equivalent to more than $2 million on the black market. But when Riyad al-Shershari asked to speak to his children, the militants hung up and never called back.

Libya- kidnapping in Libya
Tunisian officials kidnapped by armed militia at the Tunisian Consulate in the Libyan capital, Tripoli, arrive at Aouina military airport in Tunis on June 19, 2015, following a week-long captivity. Photo AFP

For the next two and a half years, the al-Shershari family lobbied authorities to help them track down the kidnappers. Anti-crime militias that are aligned with the GNA finally found the gang responsible on 15 March 2018.

Four of the five kidnappers were killed that day, while the lone survivor was rushed to hospital where he fell into a coma. When he woke up on 7 April, he quickly revealed where the children were. When rescuers arrived at the scene, all they found were the children’s decomposing corpses. Authorities believe that the children had been killed months earlier. Dahab was just 11 years old, AbdelHamid was 8 and Muhammad was 6 when they were abducted.

“[Over the last two years], my writings, imaginations and hopes stopped for pain, grief and loss,” wrote Ashawer Alshershari, the children’s older sister, on Facebook. “And in the end, [the fate of my siblings] was death.”

Foreigners have also been kidnapped and killed in Libya. In November 2015, the Serbian ambassador and a fellow diplomat were abducted when their convoy was stopped by an armed group. The two were later killed by a US air strike, which officials say was intended to hit an Islamic State training camp.

Two years later, on 3 November 2017, three Turks and a South African were kidnapped in the south-west of Libya. They were seized and route to a construction site where they were building a power plant. Until now, their fate remains unknown.

While the kidnapping of foreigners in Libya has made headlines, nationals from countries in sub-Saharan Africa are arguably the most vulnerable. Most of them are fleeing persecution, war and famine, pushing them to rely on criminal gangs to take them to Europe. However, since Europe began contracting Libyan militias to intercept boats at sea in February 2017, smugglers have resorted to kidnapping migrants to earn a profit instead.

Jalal Harchaoui, a PhD candidate at the University of Paris and a frequent commentator on Libyan affairs, told Fanack Chronicle that the pro-Qaddafi town of Bani Walid, to the south-east of Tripoli, is well known for kidnapping migrants. Marginalized by the revolution in 2011, residents have been neglected by all competing authorities, giving them added incentive to profit from the chaos.

One man from the west Sudanese province of Darfur, who goes by the name of Mueltazim, told Fanack Chronicle that his brother was abducted by a criminal gang in Bani Walid. Mueltazim’s family was then sent a video, showing militants standing over his brother and melting plastic on his body.

“We can’t afford to pay the [the gang] any money,” Mueltazim told Fanack Chronicle in February, without disclosing the size of the ransom.

Weeks later, Mueltazim learned that his brother had escaped but was not told how. His situation, however, remains precarious. With militias ruling Libya, Mueltazim’s brother has nowhere to go and few places to hide, putting him at risk of being kidnapped again.

“The notion of kidnapping is very common in Libya,” Harchaoui told Fanack Chronicle. “Militias see it as a good way of doing business.”

image_pdfimage_print

We would like to ask you something …

Fanack is an independent media organisation, not funded by any state or any interest group, that distributes in the Middle East and the wider world unbiased analysis and background information, based on facts, about the Middle East and North Africa.

The website grew rapidly in breadth and depth and today forms a rich and valuable source of information on 21 countries, from Morocco to Oman and from Iran to Yemen, both in Arabic and English. We currently reach six million readers annually and growing fast.

In order to guarantee the impartiality of information on the Chronicle, articles are published without by-lines. This also allows correspondents to write more freely about sensitive or controversial issues in their country. All articles are fact-checked before publication to ensure that content is accurate, current and unbiased.

To run such a website is very expensive. With a small donation, you can make a huge impact. And it only takes a minute. Thank you.