فَنَكْ وقائع وأحداث عن الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا / ليبيا / من الماضي الى الحاضر / معمر القذافي / “الثورة الجماهيرية”

“الثورة الجماهيرية”

العقيد معمر القذافي يلقي كلمة في السبعينات
العقيد معمر القذافي يلقي كلمة في السبعينات

رغم أن حركة الضباط الأحرار قدّمت أعضاء مجلس قيادة الثورة، إلا أن القذافي حظي بدعم أكثر من المؤسسة العسكرية. وكان معظم مؤيدي القذافي من أصدقائه وأساتذته أيام الدراسة، الذين وفروا مخزوناً من الموظفين الذي شغلوا مناصب حكومية (مثل الدبلوماسيين والإداريين والأساتذة الجامعيين). وكلا الطرفين كانا أقل رسمية من مجلس قيادة الثورة واستمرا طيلة فترة حكم القذافي. استمر مجلس قيادة الثورة حتى آذار/مارس عام 1977، عندما تم إلغاؤه ودمجه في الأمانة العامة لمؤتمر الشعب العام الذي أصبح بمثابة هيئة تقود الثورة في آذار/مارس عام 1979.

بدأ مجلس قيادة الثورة يفقد أهميته تدريجياً لأن أعضاءه لم يكونوا على اتفاق دائم مع القذافي. حدثت محاولة الانقلاب الأولى في كانون الأول/ديسمبر عام 1969. لم يشارك في الانقلاب أعضاء مجلس قيادة الثورة بشكل مباشر، إلا أنهم سرعان ما بدأوا بالانفصال: غادر أربعة منهم بإرادتهم في فترة السبعينيات، وقتل أحدهم في حادث سيارة؛ وتم إعدام آخر لمحاولته تنظيم انقلاب.

في الوقت ذاته، أدرك القذافي فشله في تعبئة الشعب. لم يحصل حزب الاتحاد الاشتراكي العربي، الحزب الناصري الوحيد الذي تأسس عام 1971، على دعم شعبي ولم يستطع فرض مراسيم النظام الثورية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية. وفي 15 نيسان/أبريل عام 1973، وفي خطابه الشهير الذي ألقاه في زوارة بعد فترة من التأمل في الصحراء، أعلن القذافي عن نظام سياسي جديد مصمم وفق المبادئ الثورية، تاركاً النموذج المصري. وبدلاً من ذلك، ستكون ثورة جماهيرية تعيد تشكيل هيكلية الدولة وفق النظرية العالمية الثالثة الجديدة المذكورة في الفصل الأول من الكتاب الأخضر الذي وضعه القذافي. قدمت هذه النظرية نهجاً جديداً لا رأسمالياً ولا شيوعياً، وإنما جمع النظريات الاشتراكية والإسلامية.

الكتاب الأخضر بالإنجليزية والروسية
الكتاب الأخضر بالإنجليزية والروسية

تألف الكتاب الأخضر من ثلاثة فصول. صدر الفصل الأول في أيلول/سبتمبر عام 1976 تحت عنوان “حل مشكلة الديمقراطية، سلطة الشعب”. وصدر الفصل الثاني عام 1977 تحت عنوان “حل المشكلة الاقتصادية – الاشتراكية”. وتضمن الفصل الثالث والأخير، صدر في حزيران/يونيو عام 1979، “الركن الاجتماعي للنظرية العالمية الثالثة”. قدم الفصل الأخير توجيهات في مجالات الرياضة والعلاقات بين الرجل والمرأة وشؤون الأسرة.

تمت فبركة الكثير من الروايات حول الكتاب الأخضر. وانتشرت شعارات الكتاب الأخضر، مثل “الاعتراف بالربح هو اعتراف بالاستغلال” و “شركاء لا أجراء” و “اللجان في كل مكان”، في كل أنحاء البلاد. وأخذ كل زائر إلى ليبيا نسخة عن الكتاب معه إلى بلاده. تمت ترجمة الكتاب إلى 84 لغة، حتى اللغة العبرية. وتولى المركز العالمي لدراسات وأبحاث الكتاب الأخضر مهمة توزيع الكتاب وترويجه. وفُرض على طلاب المدارس حفظ الكتاب عن ظهر قلب. ومع ذلك، لم يكن الكتاب شعبياً، وصرف عدد كبير من الليبيين النظر عنه ضمنياً. وخلال السنوات العشر الأخيرة من عهد القذافي، كان عدد كبير من الليبيين يهزون أكتافهم عند سؤالهم عن الكتاب الأخضر. وكانوا يعتبرونه “كلاماً فارغاً”، قائلين إنه “لا فائدة منه”.

باختصار، اقترح القذافي رقابة شعبية للثورة من القاعدة، وذلك عن طريق إنشاء لجان شعبية في مؤسسات الدولة والحكومات المحلية والشركات التجارية والمدارس والجامعات. وفي النهاية، كان هناك أكثر من 2000 لجنة تقريباً.

من بين الشعارات الأخرى: “الديمقراطية الحقيقية لا تقوم إلا بوجود الشعب نفسه لا بوجود نواب عنه”. وفي أيلول/سبتمبر عام 1976، تم تأسيس هيئة جديدة عُرفت باسم “مؤتمر الشعب العام” لاستبدال مجلس قيادة الثورة ولتكون المنظمة الوطنية للجان الشعبية. أتاحت هذه الهيكلية للقذافي استبدال الكوادر التقليدية القائمة داخل القبائل بقادة جدد من الطبقات الاجتماعية الدنيا، كما أفسحت له المجال لعزل المئات من أعضاء المعارضة (شيوعيين وبعثيين وإخوان مسلمين).

في آذار/مارس عام 1977، أعلن القذافي قيام “سلطة الشعب”، وألغى ما تبقى من مجلس قيادة الثورة، وأعاد تسمية ليبيا لتصبح “الجماهيرية العربية الليبية الشعبية الاشتراكية العظمى”، اللفظة العربية المستحدثة التي تجمع بين مفهومي “الجمهورية” و “الجماهير”. وأفضل ترجمة للفظة “جماهيرية” هي “دولة الجماهير”.

دعمكم عونٌ لنا

فَنَك هي مؤسسة إعلامية إلكترونية مستقلة، لا تمولها أي دولة أو مجموعات مصالح. تلتزم فَنَك بنشر تحليلاتٍ مبنية على الوقائع ومحايدة، إلى جانب التقارير المواضيعية حول الشرق الأوسط وشمال افريقيا.
شهد الموقع نمواً سريعاً في نطاق وعمق المعلومات التي يُقدمها، واليوم، بات يُشكل مصدراً غنياً وقيماً للمعلومات عن 21 بلداً، من المغرب إلى عُمان ومن إيران إلى اليمن، باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. حالياً، وصل عدد القراء إلى 6 ملايين سنوياً، والعدد آخذٌ بالإزدياد.
لضمان حيادية المعلومات على موقع فَنَك (وقائع وأحداث) ، تُنشر المقالات دون ذكر أسماء الكتّاب، مما يُتيح أيضاً لمراسلينا مساحة أكبر من الحرية عند التطرق إلى القضايا الحساسة أو المثيرة للجدل فى بلادهم. وإلى جانب ذلك، نتحرى حقائق جميع المعلومات الواردة في مقالاتنا قبل النشر لضمان دقة المعلومات، وحداثتها وحيادها.

استمرارية تشغيل مثل هذا الموقع الإلكتروني مُكلفة للغاية. بتبرعٍ صغيرٍ منك، يمكنك المساهمة في الحفاظ على حرية واستقلالية تغطيتنا.

Fanack Home / Libya / Past to Present / Muammar Gaddafi / The ‘People’s Revolution’

The ‘People’s Revolution’

 Colonel Muammar Gaddafi in the 1970s Libya history
Colonel Muammar Gaddafi in the 1970s

Although the Free Officers’ Movement provided the members of the Revolutionary Command Council (RCC), Gaddafi’s support ran wider than the military. The Forum of the Companions of Gaddafi was a group of supporters mainly drawn from former school friends and teachers of Gaddafi who provided a reservoir of personnel to staff civilian posts (such as diplomats, administrators, and university professors). Both were less formal than the RCC and lasted through his period of rule. The RCC itself remained formally in existence until March 1977, when it was abolished and incorporated into the General Secretariat of the General People’s Congress, which became the Revolutionary Leadership in March 1979.

The progressive decline in importance of the RCC as an organization came about because its members did not always agree with Gaddafi. The first coup attempt was in December 1969. It did not involve RCC members directly, but they too soon started to break away: four of them left of their own accord in the 1970s. One was killed in a car accident, another was executed for trying to organize a coup.

At the same time, Gaddafi realized he was having little success mobilizing the population. The Nasserist-style single party, the Arab Socialist Union (ASU), that was founded 1971 did not elicit popular support and could not enforce the revolutionary socioeconomic edicts of the regime. On 15 April 1973, in a famous speech in Zuwara that he gave after a much publicized period of reflection in the desert, Gaddafi outlined a new political system. It would be designed according to revolutionary principles, abandoning the Egyptian model. There would instead be a People’s Revolution that would recast state structures according to a new Third Universal Theory outlined in the first part of the Gaddafi’s Green Book. This theory offered a third way that was neither capitalist nor communist but combined socialist and Islamic theories.

The Green Book has three parts. The first, published in September 1976, is titled ‘The solution to the problem of democracy, the authority of the people’. The second, in 1977, states, ‘The solution to the economic problem, socialism’. The last part, in June 1979, contains ‘The social basis of the Third Universal Theory’. This last volume offered guidance on the field of sports, male and female relationships, and family matters.

An enormous cult was fabricated around The Green Book. Slogans from the Green Book, such as ‘Profit is stealing’, ‘Partners, not wage labourers’, and ‘Committees everywhere’ were found throughout the country. Every visitor to Libya took a copy home. The book was translated into 84 languages, including Hebrew. It was the Green Book Studies Centre’s task to distribute and promote the work. Pupils in school had to learn the book by heart. Even so, it was not always popular, and many Libyans quietly dismissed it. During the last ten years of Gaddafi’s reign, many Libyans used to shrug their shoulders when being asked about The Green Book. They called the book ‘blah blah’, saying ‘it didn’t bring anything’.

In short, Gaddafi proposed popular control of the revolution from below by creating people’s committees in state institutions, local governments, businesses, schools, and universities. Eventually, there were more than 2,000 of these committees.

‘True democracy exists only through the participation of the people, not through the activities of their representatives’, was another slogan. In September 1976 a new body was established, the General People’s Congress, to replace the RCC and act as the national organization of the committees. This structure allowed Gaddafi to replace existing and traditional cadres within the tribes with new leaders from lower social classes and allowed Gaddafi to demote or depose hundreds of opposition members (Communists, Baathists, and Muslim Brothers).

In March 1977, Gaddafi announced ‘Authority of the People’, dissolved what was left of the RCC, and renamed Libya the Great Socialist Libyan Arab People’s Jamahiriya, being an Arabic neologism that conflates the idea of jumhuriya (republic) and jamahir (masses). The best translation of jamahiriya is ‘state of the masses’.

Further Reading

Libya, the country drowning in chaos today, is governed by multiple sides since a national alliance led by the NATO over...
Fanack’s Libya country file provides a comprehensive overview about Libya, its history, politics, culture, economy and...
The arrest of Fathi Terbil sparked the protest that led to the rebellion against Gaddafi. At the end of January, the go...

© Copyright Notice

Please contact us in case of omissions concerning copyright-protected work. The acquired copyright protected images used on/as featured image of this page are: AFP ©AFP



"The heritage of knowledge is more valuable than gold."
Yahya ibn Abi Kathir (769-848)

We are a Dutch not for profit organisation (NGO), financed solely by individuals who share our belief in the importance of publishing and disseminating reliable, unbiased information on the Middle East & North Africa region. To represent the voice of the region’s people, we carefully echo the region’s heartbeat by offering fact-checked and therefore credible information.

Your support is greatly appreciated and helpful!